89 reviews

Optimizely

Website optimization platform with A/B & multivariate tests

4,5 /5 (89 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
92%
recommended this app
89 reviews
Steven S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MVT concepts and phase release features

Reviewed on 2020/06/30

We use Optimizely primarily for data and headline testing. We have also used Optimizely to release in a phased manner to allow control testing of new features on a smaller section of users.

Pros

Ability to segment users based on attributes (such as age, location, and platform) and evaulate interface concepts, data and headline changes, as well as phased deployment of completed features. Rich dashboard to monitor experiments and provide data snapshots during a campaign.

Cons

App integration is more challenging than the script used for web, though there are client libraries in Swift, Java, and other languages to make this easier.

Laura W.
Overall rating
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Goldmine when it comes to experimenting - but not affordable for small businesses

Reviewed on 2018/04/11

Pros

I've witnessed clever usage of Optimizely increase the revenue through cart checkout conversion by 15% by simply testing the removal of elements on the check-out page that are not essential. The set-up for the experiment was straightforward and required only some technical assistance at hand.

Cons

I'd have liked to continue using Optimizely for my own small venture, however the pricing makes it unaffordable for a small business. But that's definitely one to keep on the radar as it has powerful and comprehensive solutions for A/B Testing.

Justin R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Valuable A/B testing functionalities that are unmatched in other services.

Reviewed on 2018/02/09

The ability to A/B test anything, and I mean ANYTHING!

Pros

Allows us to A/B test versions of our websites and landing pages that we would normally not be able to test. A lot of website builders offer integrated A/B testing, but none of them can offer the insights Optimizely can.

Cons

For an A/B split tester, it is a tad on the expensive side, but if you ask me and my team, it is well worth the expense and has paid itself off many times over in optimized conversions.

Natasha S.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

A great way to test page layouts

Reviewed on 2018/04/23

Pros

This is a great program to AB test web pages. There are some functionalities that let you tweak designs without coding. The analysis is displayed nicely and in a great format to present to other stakeholders.

Cons

To get really different pages with certain functionalities you will need development to help create this.

Kevin V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent A/B Testing and analytics

Reviewed on 2018/11/21

Pros

Optimizely makes it easy to setup different A/B testing scenarios, as well as tracking any kind of custom website events you can come up with. With the various tracking options and different tests you can run, it makes it easy to figure out what the best course of action should be.

Cons

Overall Optimizely has worked well, but the pricing is a bit high.. I suppose it's a case of you get what you pay for!

Luke V.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Decent tool to optimize

Reviewed on 2018/01/28

Pros

I have used several ab testing software and this one is the easiest in use. Furthermore their support is very good. When I experienced an issue a solution was found very fast

Cons

Compared to other software I used this one is the most expensive and furthermore there also needs to be an investment in development resources

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Does the job

Reviewed on 2018/01/31

Pros

It did the job. We were looking for an A/B testing solutions that had support for campaigns and Optimizely did the job and fit the bill.

Cons

The cost is on the expensive side but if you have the budget you get what you pay for. Otherwise there are cheaper alternatives that may fit your needs.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Expensive But Worth it if Your Business Can Afford It

Reviewed on 2018/02/13

Pros

Split-testing is essential to any online marketing success. Optimizely is one of the best tools on the market, and with good reason. It's easy to setup, use, and implement changes to make sure you're getting the results you want.

Cons

The cost is highly prohibitive for many small businesses that are just getting started. That said, those who make the investment will see it provide a good return.

Olga D.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good website testing solution

Reviewed on 2018/03/31

Pros

If ou are looking for a simple set up website testing solution allowing AB Testing, split test or multiviraiant testing - AB Testing is a good option. Still not very expensive solution and wih easy set up you can learn your audience preferences.

Cons

Preview function can be buggy, especially for complex long web pages. Optimizely is expanding business so their pricing model might be changing

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good testing tool

Reviewed on 2018/12/26

Pros

It's full of features and can be easily customized. Good WYSIWYG editor with clean interface.

Cons

A bit expensive, but really powerful. Can be laggy at times.

Martijn S.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Extensive and intuitive AB testing tool

Reviewed on 2018/03/10

Set AB testing without needing IT

Pros

- Very intuitive; after initial implementation, you can add and change elements without any need of IT anymore. Freedom!!

Cons

- the pricing is steep, especially if your website has a large user base (when AB testing becomes more valuable)
- For more advanced AB testing, coding skills are required

Brooke O.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Testing platform.

Reviewed on 2016/11/11

Have been using Optimizely for a year and love the WYSIWYG editor (which works great 90% of the time - but can be glitchy on design details).

Pros

Easy of use and ability to test before implementing site changes

Cons

Support was great during on-boarding process but account management could use some work.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easiest A/B testing platform

Reviewed on 2019/03/13

Pros

Supereasy to use, implement, track and analyze. Our team uses this frequently and everyone knows how to use it, it's just that easy.

Cons

None. Great tool for optimization from A/B testing.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Attempted to use for a/b test, but didn't end up working

Reviewed on 2018/03/05

Pros

I liked that it provided examples of tests you could run and suggested best practices for executing those tests.

Cons

There were a few times I'd create a landing page and it looked great, but then I would come back and check on it a few days later and the copy would be in the wrong spot, or covering an image. Overall, I couldn't trust that it was doing the right test.

Jamie C.
Overall rating
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Amazing A/B Testing Tool

Reviewed on 2017/02/02

It is really easy to use and create experiments. With easy drag and drop interface. You don't need to be an expert to create a test.

Cons

Pricey.

Catherine C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent AB testing tool!

Reviewed on 2018/04/10

Pros

With this tool, you can check which web page or landing page is working best, thanks to the A / B tests.

This option allows you to compare two pages with their different elements. In real time, you can see which one is getting more visits and more conversions. All this without having to have programming knowledge, since you will not have to write a single code.

The page that gets the most interactions and the best results will be the one chosen. A good way to guarantee more success in each of your creations.

Cons

This software is very expensive, but it is really worth its initial price, everything else is wonderful

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Absolutely the best solution in market... until they went enterprise focused

Reviewed on 2020/11/08

Overall was a great platform and I miss using it since they've gone up market.

Pros

Really enjoyed using Optimizely prior to their shift to enterprise. Found their platform very useful and some really good graphs that prevented me from ending split tests too early!!

Cons

Too expensive now. I don't know anyone using it for this reason. Hard to justify the cost with other solutions in market like google optimize now.

Ciprian P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best A/B testing tool

Reviewed on 2020/01/05

Pros

The best A/B testing tool in my opinion. Light footprint, no screen flickering for variants, experiments easy to set up using the integrated editor and code IDE.

Cons

I can't think of anything I didn't like about this software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very powerful A/B Split Testing software

Reviewed on 2019/05/31

Optimizely is very reliable and powerful. The software has worked flawlessly over the 2 years I've used it.

It has enabled me to run many profitable A/B split tests for a large UK brand.

Pros

Their tech is flawless.

They've put a ton of effort on their stats engine - so you can trust their data.

Because the software is so functional and powerful, you'll occasionally need to reference their documentation. Thankfully the documentation is very thorough, concise and helpful.

Cons

It's expensive. Not just subjectively. Relatively, within the split testing technology space, Optimizely is one of the most expensive options.!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Very well marketed product, doesn't perform up to the hype

Reviewed on 2018/03/08

Pros

I like the WYSIWYG editor and I like the user interface. It's relatively intuitive and easy to use, and there are a lot of features that you can customize.

Cons

We had some serious issues with flickering and lag time. The Optimizely team tried to help us fix this for over 9 months. At the end of the day, we gave up, and given the amount we were paying for this service, it was a huge waste of time and money.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

Expensive, but does its job well

Reviewed on 2018/03/18

Pros

If you've got the money to spend, I haven't found a more comprehensive solution than Optimizely for A/B testing websites. There's a decent amount you can test without being able to code, but fair warning: you're going to need a front-end coder handy for many more-than-basic tests.

Cons

Their test results are misleading; they've adopted the most generous tests of statistical significance so that it feels like you're having more successful tests more often. (I.e., results where there are actual differences between the test variances.) Just make sure you do the math yourself on the test results (using any one of many available online statistical significance calculators).

Marissa W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best Experimentation Option

Reviewed on 2019/02/01

Pros

Optimizely is a great option for experimenting on your website, especially if you aren’t a designer. It lets you easily A/B test what works.

Cons

The price point is a little high, especially when you consider that Google offers a free software that is very similar.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fairly easy to use but powerful

Reviewed on 2018/11/29

Pros

We have ran this software for quite a bit and overall is a great product, easy to use and rich from a feature standpoint.

Cons

We found a couple of minor things that were reported at the time and fixed in the following release.

Jovan M.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

My first choice when it comes to A/B testing tools

Reviewed on 2018/06/28

Pros

With Optimizely you can create multiple tests and you can expect right directions for landing page improvement. The software is not complex to use, all features are well described.

Cons

I have more successful tests than losers, and sometimes I cannot believe that is in 80% my improvement that what I really need. The new pricing model is very hard to understand, they can be improved.

James B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Used this on a free basis - It's amazing!

Reviewed on 2016/12/15

I've used Optimizely in their free account, and I can't believe how powerful the software is. I was able to replace content on my site for half of the visitors, finding out that an old call to action was actually more effective than a new one we'd replaced it with - by 33% over a 10,000 visitors test. Having this information makes my efforts so much more useful and strategic. No one in marketing should be blindly creating content.