89 reviews

Optimizely

Website optimization platform with A/B & multivariate tests

4,5 /5 (89 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,5
/
5
Value for Money
3,9
Features
4,4
Ease of Use
4,3
Customer Support
4,4
92% recommended this app
89 reviews
Crystal I.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Optimizely is the tool taught in CRO classes

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/06/01
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I took a CRO course this past year and Optimizely was the go-to A/B testing software. Here's why:
#1: Super easy to use. You do not need to know how to code, anyone can set up a test and launch it same-day.
#2: Super easy to understand data. Optimizely essentially analyzes your data for you. Obviously, you should know your stuff when it comes to statistical significance when to stop a test (hint: not just when you reach statistical significance), etc, but the graphs and data charts are crisp and clean.
#3: Only what you need. I'm sure Optimizely has a TON of features, but I just used it for simple A/B testing. It worked well for this, and I wasn't bogged down with complex aspects that I didn't need. For someone who does want a more complex tool, I'm sure you can find that in Optimizely with more of the advanced features.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Catherine C.

Excellent AB testing tool!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

With this tool, you can check which web page or landing page is working best, thanks to the A / B tests.

This option allows you to compare two pages with their different elements. In real time, you can see which one is getting more visits and more conversions. All this without having to have programming knowledge, since you will not have to write a single code.

The page that gets the most interactions and the best results will be the one chosen. A good way to guarantee more success in each of your creations.

Cons

This software is very expensive, but it is really worth its initial price, everything else is wonderful

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Absolutely the best solution in market... until they went enterprise focused

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/11/08
Review Source: Capterra

Overall was a great platform and I miss using it since they've gone up market.

Pros

Really enjoyed using Optimizely prior to their shift to enterprise. Found their platform very useful and some really good graphs that prevented me from ending split tests too early!!

Cons

Too expensive now. I don't know anyone using it for this reason. Hard to justify the cost with other solutions in market like google optimize now.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

James P.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Okay A/B testing tool - there are better options

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/12
Review Source: Capterra

I got the ability to set up A/B tests on my website. Nothing too special, since there's a bunch of other software out there that will do the same thing.

Pros

I was attracted to Optimizely because it's a low-cost tool to run A/B tests on websites. Even though their prices have changed over the years, it's still one of the lowest-cost solutions out there. It's also easy to use, because the most time-consuming step is putting the code on your site. If you have a small website, you can get it done in a few minutes.

Cons

Preview mode is really buggy. I also wish there was a way to segment the results by audience. For example, if I'm running a different type of traffic to a page I want to be able to see a separate page of data specifically for that. The new goal setting flow is also buggy, but it is new. Hopefully they fix all the kinks as time goes on.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Chad W.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Easiest A/B Testing Platform Out There

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/10/07
Review Source: GetApp

I have been using Optimizely for over 2 years now. In my previous role I used another testing and targeting tool that was much more complex to use. Optimizely's user interface is intuitive and the statistical algorithms give you confidence in selecting a winner. The best part about Optimizely is it's support. They have a support line and they will work tirelessly until your issue is resolved. I recommend Optimizely's platform to anyone looking to increase web conversions or provide more personal web experiences.

Pros

- Easy to use
- Support
- Great UI
- Statistical modeling
- Large optimization community

Cons

The price is higher than some tools but you get what you pay for.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Steven S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

MVT concepts and phase release features

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/30
Review Source: Capterra

We use Optimizely primarily for data and headline testing. We have also used Optimizely to release in a phased manner to allow control testing of new features on a smaller section of users.

Pros

Ability to segment users based on attributes (such as age, location, and platform) and evaulate interface concepts, data and headline changes, as well as phased deployment of completed features. Rich dashboard to monitor experiments and provide data snapshots during a campaign.

Cons

App integration is more challenging than the script used for web, though there are client libraries in Swift, Java, and other languages to make this easier.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Zsolt M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Most advanced in its class

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/08/08
Review Source: GetApp

Optimizely is definitely the most advanced and widely referred to as "industry standard" conversion optimization tool currently on the market. It's easy to use for beginners and incredibly flexible for the most advanced users/tests. Top notch support and community, always eager to help out and inspire new optimization ideas.

Pros

Robust, trustworthy, flexible, huge user base, huge knowledge base

Cons

Expensive, but only if you're not using it to its full potential.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Alexandra D.
Industry: Entertainment
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Still requires some features

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/15
Review Source: Capterra

A product you can rely on. Good documentation and fact customer support

Pros

Easy to use, reliable and an overall well though product. I use it daily and it is my to go recommandation for AB testing

Cons

The fact that the metrics can't be filtered down by propertries and that you can't create your custom metrics based on existing metrics and properties in the Full Stack version

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Gianni G.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: Self Employed

Optimizely is a great experimentation platform

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Optimizely makes it very easy to create the most appealing site for customers, because you can test several scenarios and determine the setup that has the highest conversion rate.

Cons

The problem with Optimizely is that it make take a long time to create the different variant for the tests.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Josh H.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great tool for sample sizes and testing

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It was fairly straight forward on how to use it to ensure that we were testing adequate sample sizes in order to get significance from our testing.

Cons

One thing I wish it had was more information about different testing strategies or ways to optimize current practices.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Airlines/Aviation
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Optimizely is the easiest yet powerful A/B testing tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/08/09
Review Source: GetApp

We have ran optimizely for more than 2 years and getting know the tool was pretty easy since the beggining, We have made some great sucessful test and started changing (more likely, creating) the testing culture.

Despite of being so easy, it hold a great power allowing you to make changes to your website without knowing to much about web development. Overall its a great tool

Pros

Ease of use
Customer support
Code edition allowed
CSS changing allowed
Complete traffic control
Results with statistical significance

Cons

Not reporting incremental revenue per product (just total revenue)
Editor loading can be hard to get with proxy activated

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ciprian P.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The best A/B testing tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/01/05
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

The best A/B testing tool in my opinion. Light footprint, no screen flickering for variants, experiments easy to set up using the integrated editor and code IDE.

Cons

I can't think of anything I didn't like about this software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Very powerful A/B Split Testing software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/31
Review Source: Capterra

Optimizely is very reliable and powerful. The software has worked flawlessly over the 2 years I've used it.

It has enabled me to run many profitable A/B split tests for a large UK brand.

Pros

Their tech is flawless.

They've put a ton of effort on their stats engine - so you can trust their data.

Because the software is so functional and powerful, you'll occasionally need to reference their documentation. Thankfully the documentation is very thorough, concise and helpful.

Cons

It's expensive. Not just subjectively. Relatively, within the split testing technology space, Optimizely is one of the most expensive options.!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Very well marketed product, doesn't perform up to the hype

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the WYSIWYG editor and I like the user interface. It's relatively intuitive and easy to use, and there are a lot of features that you can customize.

Cons

We had some serious issues with flickering and lag time. The Optimizely team tried to help us fix this for over 9 months. At the end of the day, we gave up, and given the amount we were paying for this service, it was a huge waste of time and money.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great testing tool

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/07
Review Source: Capterra

Optimizely is one heck of a tool that every marketer should use. Recommended.

Pros

As a marketer, I love Optimizely for several reasons.

1. It makes testing a piece of cake.
2. Optimizing a website or any landing page for conversions is one of the best things Optimizely offers you with.
3. It is extremely easy-to-use.
4. Real-time a/b testing lets you monitor any two landing pages for conversions, clicks, and more.
5. User-interface is amazingly intuitive.

Cons

1. It is expensive. Lowering the price a bit will make it affordable and a lot of startups and small businesses will then be able to use it.
2. It might hurt your site load time which will impact SERPs. So make sure what you prefer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Expensive, but does its job well

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

If you've got the money to spend, I haven't found a more comprehensive solution than Optimizely for A/B testing websites. There's a decent amount you can test without being able to code, but fair warning: you're going to need a front-end coder handy for many more-than-basic tests.

Cons

Their test results are misleading; they've adopted the most generous tests of statistical significance so that it feels like you're having more successful tests more often. (I.e., results where there are actual differences between the test variances.) Just make sure you do the math yourself on the test results (using any one of many available online statistical significance calculators).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Tim G.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great product for mid to large sized web businesses

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/01/10
Review Source: Capterra

Optimizely is very easy to implement, and anyone can start experimenting with the product. To get the most value out of the product you will need to invest in managing a test backlog, test plans, and documenting the results of each experiment. It also helps to have someone with strong front-end development and JS skills to implement experiments as it opens up the capabilities of the product dramatically.

Pros

Easy to set up, easy to use, good professional support services available

Cons

Hard to get to all the functionality without investing development resources

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Oleksandr T.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A tool for website optimization

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/24
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

The greatest thing about Optimizely is its setup mode. It is very fast and functions greatly both for websites and mobile devices. Your task is to add their code to your website and you can start optimization. What is more, this software tests everything from button colors to all titles. All changes and errors are depicted on your dashboard. All reports are clear and simple, so you will see everything in front of your eyes.

Cons

It should be stated that Optimizely has a few distinctive drawbacks that should be improved. Firstly, a preview mode isn’t perfect. There are cases when it is buggy and it’s rather annoying. Secondly, a function of testing in general lacks of functionality. Often, it is hard to set up and manage tests. Moreover, redirect tests work very badly. The same thing is with Metrics because it isn’t developed enough.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Laura W.

Goldmine when it comes to experimenting - but not affordable for small businesses

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I've witnessed clever usage of Optimizely increase the revenue through cart checkout conversion by 15% by simply testing the removal of elements on the check-out page that are not essential. The set-up for the experiment was straightforward and required only some technical assistance at hand.

Cons

I'd have liked to continue using Optimizely for my own small venture, however the pricing makes it unaffordable for a small business. But that's definitely one to keep on the radar as it has powerful and comprehensive solutions for A/B Testing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

User-friendly AB Testing Tool

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/10
Review Source: Capterra

Great AB Testing platform. Easy to integrate

Pros

We used the standard version of Optimizely for our website and campaign landing pages. It was very effective for A/B testing and and Conversion rate optimization (CRO). I appreciated that it allowed filtering of audience data and that is supports multivariate testing

Cons

The pricing model is too high as compared to other competitor products in the market. We did not renew our subscription after a year owing to this fact

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Justin R.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Valuable A/B testing functionalities that are unmatched in other services.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/09
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to A/B test anything, and I mean ANYTHING!

Pros

Allows us to A/B test versions of our websites and landing pages that we would normally not be able to test. A lot of website builders offer integrated A/B testing, but none of them can offer the insights Optimizely can.

Cons

For an A/B split tester, it is a tad on the expensive side, but if you ask me and my team, it is well worth the expense and has paid itself off many times over in optimized conversions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 51-200 Employees

General usage of Optimizely

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/10/12
Review Source: GetApp

We're using Optimizely to confirm our improvement hypothesises and our front end/design team wants to make changes to the UI. Using A/B tests with Optimizely, we measure different kinds of user engagement (search actions, registrations) and use the results to help drive design decisions. On-boarding and support from Optimizely was first-rate. I'd recommend for anybody looking to start use A/B testing for their front end.

Pros

- Test setup is fast and easy, without using lots of time and effort.
- Customisable metrics allow flexibility in monitoring and reporting of experiment performance.
- Constant updates ensure that experiments run cleanly on all devices and platforms.
- Intuitive user interface allows users to learn the platform quickly and efficiently.

Cons

- The previews often never load - this could just be our network.
- Having to routinely click the little shield in the address bar to load the editor is annoying - again I think this is just our network.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Sorin A.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: Self Employed

Gives Google Optimize a run for its money

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/26
Review Source: Capterra

I've used Optimizely for clients' websites. It generally felt snappy and proved very useful, especially using analytics to prove theories and success.

Pros

- Ease of use: Simple to get started experimenting and testing within the app.

- Focused product: The key here is to have the experimentation and not feel left out by other features.

- Fast: Neither the UI, nor the actual experiments felt slow. So I really appreciated that.

Cons

- The business model: It started of as a simple SaaS tool and balooned into B2B-ish enterprise land. Where you need to contact sales to even create a trial (if it's even available).

- Not easy for beginners: Coming over from other a/b testing tools, it was using the same concepts I was used to. But I can understand why it might seem scary for some.

- Not always user focused: The product seems more focused on its image and global standing than focusing on user needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Getting know the tool was pretty easy since the beggining,

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/12
Review Source: Capterra

Getting know the tool was pretty easy since the beggining, Despite of being so easy, it hold a great power allowing you to make changes.
With this tool, can check which web page is working best, thanks to the A / B tests. This option allows you to compare two pages with their different elements. In real time.

Pros

Is a robust and reliable application, easy to configure, easy to use, with good professional support services. I like the fact that you do not need to know how to code and allows us to concentrate on running multiple tests. Very intuitive and easy to use. For more advanced users, you can also access the raw code, which you can specify to those things that the editor may have done. I enjoy the Optimizely analyzes.

Cons

The URL does not have a bulk upload option for unrelated URL lists. It has matches of substrings and regular expressions that cover most other needs. The price is higher than some tools. It is difficult to reach all the functionalities without development resources.desarrollo.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Introduced Our Team To World Of A/B Testing - Great Product

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/23
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

- Absolutely amazing dashboard for analysis, really saved our team time vs. individually getting our developers to change one element only to find out it performed worse.. This tool will save you from that
- Customer support was great
- SUPER easy to use given it's capabilities
- Ton of features to utilize

Cons

- Incredibly expensive for what our team paid for BUT in terms of a cost/benefit analysis it's paid off (with the time we've saved going to our developers for A/B testing changes to the website, it'll pay itself off in a 1 year or so)

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10