64 reviews

Bronto

Marketing automation for eCommerce

4 /5 (64 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4
/
5
Value for Money
3,8
Features
3,9
Ease of Use
3,8
Customer Support
4
81% recommended this app
64 reviews
Orly T.
Industry: Design
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Gets the job done well and easy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/07
Review Source: Capterra

Customer service is great. Our dedicated account person also got the answer we were looking for. Their online support chat is also a huge help if you have a quick question. They have helped me out quite a bit.

Pros

Workflows are easy to maintain and create. Webforms that we put on our website is a great help to get new contacts. The email Message Editor is pretty easy to use if you don't know code and you can still put in your own css if wanted to.

Cons

RSS Feed emails was something we were looking into for our blog. Wasn't fully functioning at 1st but think we are going to get something from the new Tool Box

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Gareth J.
Industry: Sporting Goods
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good ESP

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Straight forward to use and build emails

Cons

Can be clunky at times and RFM functionality isn't as native as others such as Emarsys

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ken H.
Industry: Banking
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great service. Reliable. Intuitive.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/31
Review Source: Capterra

Increased customer contact, increased revenue

Pros

I've never experienced any glitches. The workflow process is intuitive. This is a workhorse; very dependable.

Cons

Uploading images is a painful process. Too many steps. Also, difficult to add new contacts and to edit customer lists.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Entertainment
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Learning Curve of Using Bronto

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/12/02
Review Source: Capterra

I was fortunate enough to get in at the very beginning when Bronto was a prototype and did worked with some of the developers to assist me in figuring out some of its features/functions.

Pros

The idea of Bronto's capability is off the charts as in Expectations. We were using it at the time to not just to promote a product but was using the keyword function that it had with twitter. Like best time to tweet certain keywords/phrases. Also, the best days to send out to increase open rate and click thrus.

Cons

The learning curve of it all, if you had the time and not on a time cruncher to get things done. Then, thats fine for you to learn as you go on how to implement auto responders, when the best keywords to use for your emails.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Lengthy implementation, but overall good experience

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/03
Review Source: Capterra

Bronto helped take us from an unsustainable growing cost in email marketing on another platform and essentially fix that cost as our company grows

Pros

Bronto makes it easy to integrate with our other ecommerce platforms, and creates avenues to increase revenue through marketing with little human oversight once it's properly configured.

Cons

The amount of space/pricing for image hosting within Bronto is paltry

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Shawn S.

We are just launching the program so it's still yet to be determined.

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The options to segment customers and follow up with them quickly. Though we have just started using this software, we are expecting it to help develop our business.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Bill S.

Quick and responsive, but not very flexible

Reviewed on 2016/11/21
Review Source: Capterra

Creating and adapting new templates is not very easy with this email platform. Managing audiences could be smoother too.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Sporting Goods
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Very expensive platform with poor support and missing features

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/22
Review Source: Capterra

Poor. Bronto is very expensive with very poor support and service. Their business model appears to revolve around how they can get the most amount of money possible out of the customer with add ons, missing features, support, integration etc.

We were forced to do a finance agreement, instead of monthly payments for the year. I understand now, why they did this, as I would have disputed and stopped paying when their service stopped working. However, now we have no choice.

Pros

Not much. The email design interface is basic at best. The user interface is clunky. Most of the advanced features never worked for us or worked for a very brief period of time, like until we upgraded our shopping cart, then they wanted more money for implementation and support again.

Cons

Expensive with lots of nickel and diming. The sales rep promised the world, however when it came time to implement these, it never happened. We ended up using Bronto as a really (REALLY) expensive version of Mailchimp. We make very clear exactly what we needed and were given a crash course in the software and implementation with an Indian support team. We made a change to our shopping cart and lost the connection and were charged for the entire implementation again.

Features like cart recovery worked for a very brief period, then stopped and we were not able to get the support to get it to work again.

Other advanced features like B2B marketing and trickle campaigns just never happened.

Things like coupon codes, were part of our discussions all along but somehow left out fo the contract and we were hit with more fees and were never able to get it set up.

They also don't tell you that you need an extra license (at your cost) in NetSuite to use Bronto.

Initially they only included 1m emails, even though we never discussed a limit. They changed this to 4m, which was used up in 6 months. Now they want more money to continue to use it.

Response from Oracle Bronto

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to review Bronto and sharing your concerns with us. We are truly sorry you have not had a positive experience using Bronto thus far as our goal is always to provide our customers with an excellent and supportive user experience. We want to help you in any way that we can, so please email us directly at [email protected] so that we can ensure you get the support you deserve.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Hospitality

Fantastic platform with big capabilities.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We started using the Bronto Marketing Platform about a year ago for all of our in-house email marketing efforts. Compared to our previous platform, it was easy to tell that Bronto was a more robust platform from the get-go. It's easy to work with, extremely smart and offers powerful strategies to get the most out of email marketing. This includes automated responders which are helpful for our e-Newsletter welcome email, campaign signups and more. Bronto also allows us to target subscribers based on what content they have clicked on in previous emails. We love the ability to optimize sends by time of day or day of the week and how easily we can segment our lists. Even the reporting within the Bronto platform itself is top notch and provides the detail we need. We've had it for a year, but there is still much more capabilities that we have yet to explore.

Cons

It would be nice if Bronto had an easier way to identify hard vs. soft bounces each email send. You either have to run a segmented report or pull from all contacts in Bronto and sort based on list. It would be great if this was a Legacy Report option. We also track list growth each month in the Legacy Reports, but it would also be great to track segment growth. Right now I jump in at the beginning of each month to compare growth from the previous month for all segments.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Bronto has helped in growing our email results across our 2 unique storefronts.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Bronto was instrumental at the start in helping us manage our lists better, and through A/B testing refined what our customers enjoy seeing from our email marketing.
Cost - for our usage there are others who are now providing the capabilities for our needs as Bronto at cost savings. Bronto still continues to offer innovations to help in customer engagement, but these are all offered as an additional monthly charge and not part of their standard package.

Pros

Bronto's WYSIWYG user interface to design emails is extremely user-friendly and a knowledge of HTML is not required to design fantastic emails. A code view is available if preferred, and is sometimes needed to add in elements like animated gifs. A/B Testing, delayed sends, and Netsuite integration for more personalized send have all contributed as our email revenue has grown in our time with Bronto.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Olivia S.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Once I got used to using the software, I have found that it is extremely powerful and functional.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/01
Review Source: Capterra

Very custom designed emails, learned more about segmenting and analytics of emails, learned more about coding for email

Pros

The flexibility in design- lots of powerful tools (e.g. the content tags). I use MailChimp for some other clients and I find it to be very frustrating and limiting in comparison. The ability to segment and create lists that are extremely nuanced is nice. I also have had great experience with customer service.

Cons

I think that it isn't the MOST user friendly platform -- it took me a while to get used to using it. Sometimes it is hard to find exactly what you are looking for.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Printing
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Good platform that has worked well overall.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

email list send with high-end features

Pros

We switched to another platform for a few months, but had difficulties with them. They were able to easily have us return because they hadn't permanently deleted.

Cons

We have never been able to get the functionality that is related to ROI to work properly. They, essentially, switched to REST from SOAP without telling us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Marie R.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Mixed Thoughts

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the time release of emails, and the resend option for emails that weren't open. I also really like the list cleaning options.

Cons

It isn't very easy to use on mobile I have to use the desktop version on my phone. I wish there were more ways to learn how to use all of its features. I also think the site can be slow at times.

Response from Oracle + Bronto

Hi Marie! Thanks for taking the time to review Bronto. Feedback like yours helps us continually improve the Bronto experience on mobile and desktop. For help learning more about our features, we recommend utilizing the Bronto Help tab in the BMP. The Help tab contains links to the content that is relevant to the Bronto page you are on. The content includes links to help topics, videos, page tours, and guided walk-throughs. To access the Help Tab, click the Help icon in the top banner, and the Help Tab will slide open. For personalized help, you can reach out to your Account Manager about specific features and they will be happy to assist.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Kelly R.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great for larger companies

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/05
Review Source: Capterra

It provides a good solid foundation for all of our email marketing requirements.

Pros

Bronto works with a lot of large, successful business and therefore has a good amount of experience in dealing with corporate clients and larger tasks. There are a lot of valuable features in Bronto and (most of) their strategists are pretty good.

Cons

Bronto is definitely not for the small business as the cost and features may be more than the start up desires. In addition, their tech support never seems to know what is going on when there is a technical issue. You can ask and ask again and they basically tell you, "It's being looked into." Problems do get solved eventually but they don't give you much insight as to why the things that are going wrong, are going wrong.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Danielle P.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Experience as a User

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/02/12
Review Source: Capterra

I like this ESP much more than our previous one which was Oracle. Much easier to navigate!

Pros

Easy to use and navigate! Reporting seems robust and provides good insight into consumer behavior.

Cons

Customer Support for challenging issues seems to be delayed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Platform is good. It works but needs some TLC

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Features, support and comoany name behind the product.

Cons

API, integrations, GUI & a few other items.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Juan M.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Expensive for the value created

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/01/07
Review Source: Capterra

Bad experience in customer service and paying lots of money.

Pros

It has a good database management. It has a corporate backup giving trust in the tool.

Cons

But the tool is old and inflexible. We had a lot of trouble configuring it and at the end we decided to go for a simpler solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Full Email Marketing Suite

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/02
Review Source: Capterra

Being able to have everything autoresponders, webforms and more in one place instead of paying for and integrating lots of software.

Pros

I love that i'm able to map out my workflow for autoresponders, create welcome series on the fly and also use the webform feature on my website. Bronto is a one stop shop unlike it's competitors that are either just for email blasts or has to integrate with 3 different softwares to keep everything automated.

Cons

The dashboard is a little aged, slow to load and some of the features are not initiative. It is functional but could use an overhaul to make it easier for users to get the information they need.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Tons of features with a great UI

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/16
Review Source: Capterra

Increased ROI from virtually every aspect of our emailing campaigns

Pros

The Bronto mailing platform has ENDLESS features. The team is always willing to help with support and/or special projects.

Cons

It's very expensive and the reporting could definitely benefit from a remodel. Other than the reporting it really leaves nothing to be desired.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Tabetha C.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Year over Year Improvements

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

The support staff has helped us evolve and integrate with our website to create a better and more effective shopping experience and marketing strategy

Pros

Ongoing improvements to reporting and new tools for better marketing continue every year

Cons

Nothing...overall we haven't been able to test all the new tools yet.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Email creation has never been easier

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very easy drag-n-drop email builder. No need to edit the code. This makes it very easy to train new employees that have no HTML experience.

Cons

Cost. A lot of the advanced features are add-on apps that can up the cost quite a bit if you are not careful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Michael M.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Bronto does the trick.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Bronto is a great product that contains all the features we looked for in an e-blast solution. We send thousands of emails to thousands of customers and Bronto has always been reliable.

Cons

It's weird how you have to "create" the list, then "attach" the spreadsheet to the list. The UI could be spruced up to be more intuitive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ash M.

Super Easy To Use

Reviewed on 2016/12/06
Review Source: Capterra

Bronto is very very easy to use. I love the fact that you can create an email in so many ways. There are HTML created layouts, HTML created emails, drag and drop, and so much more. Their customer service is very helpful and I love that they have a live chat for quick help needs. Our reps that we deal with on a monthly basis are very helpful and I enjoy chatting with them. I do wish that Bronto provided some more reporting though. Sometimes there are specific data needs I have, that Bronto does not meet. But for the most part, everything is pretty on par.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Michael W.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Probably the best

Used Weekly for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2018/09/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ecommerce integration is excellent, CRM features are excellent, marketing automation is second to none.

Cons

Unfortunately the cost is very high. They put a lot of emphasis on the likely return of investment, obviously there's no guarantees however.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Egan J.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Evolving platform with strong customer support and accessible features

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/05
Review Source: Capterra

My experience with Bronto was always positive. 6 years ago, when I began using it at a company acquired by Fandango, it was the best platform at creating sophisticated customer segments and personalized automated campaigns. Fast forward 5 years when I came back to it at a new role at DIFF Eyewear, I saw how it evolved and improved. Revenue tracking, site integration, deployment speed and the ui all improved significantly within the platform.

Pros

- Customer care team is top notch
- Segmentation is fast and easy even with databases containing over 2mm subs
- Deployment time improved greatly over the last 5 years
- Easy-to-use journey builder with drag and drop tools
- Exporting stats and reports is also fast and easy compared to many other ESPs
- Owned by Oracle and strongly supported by mother organization
- Competitively prices
- Integrates natively with many other 3rd party platforms, e-commerce shops and content management systems

Cons

- Like most platforms, there is a learning curve to understand all if its features, but they offer online learning, documentation and hand-held tutorials.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10