Atlassian Confluence Reviews

Atlassian Confluence

Create, organize, and discuss work with your team

4.4/5 (148 reviews)
Arturo M.

Best documentation tool I ever used

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/09/05
Review Source: Capterra

I use this almos daily and I think it is a great tool for team performance. It allows to create and view all the info in no time and pretty well structured.

Pros

The main advantage about Confluence is that is part of the Atlassian Suite which involves Jira and Bitbucket among others. This makes pretty easy to integrate them and add quick references to a jira issue with just write the reference number.
The text editor in Confluence is pretty complete, allowing to create really decent pages for any kind of documentation desired. The possibility of create nested pages makes really easy to organize the information in "chapters" "sub-chapters" and so on, giving your documentation a really neat look.
This feature also allows to segregate the information, so you can have your product's documentation on one place, perfectly organized and set another "Chapter" for your team info, where you could store info about code conventions, timetables about overtime or availability, and so on.
Confluence is also useful in order to create software designs, since it allows to create pages where you can paste your diagrams and so on and allows to discuss on them by adding comments or remarks.
And the Watch utility keep you posted via e-mail whenever a page you're watching is modified in any way so you can keep track of a discussion or whatever.

Cons

So far didn't find any big issue with confluence. Maybe for beginners it has a bit of learning curve and some option like the page nesting and so on is a bit difficult to learn. Besides that, I think is a pretty complete software.
Something I miss is the possibility of "downloading" a page with all nested ones into a pdf. That would be a great feature in order to generate documentation files.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Anna M.

Awesome

Reviewed on 2016/01/21
Review Source: GetApp

Company: Midsize
Industry: Legal
Documentation is my bread & butter and I have never used a better solution than Confluence. I also use JIRA and JIRA Service Desk, which taken all together amount to a mostly-seamless solution for all of my documentation needs!

Pros

With Confluence we have an environment that is very efficient to work in to add new content, very easy to update articles and manage file attachments. The keyboard shortcuts are second to none. It is an absolute pleasure to work in Confluence all day. Setting up spaces for various audiences, including a "personal space" allows me to draft documents privately and then move the document over into a space with an audience. Effectively I can "publish" content to employees with a couple of mouse clicks.

Permissions are very well thought out. The permission scheme is based on spaces, individuals and groups, with flexibility from super-locked-down to wide open on the public internet. It allows control of various actions per person or per group, and affords us maximum utility of the product. People within the business are dreaming up different ways to use it faster than we can implement them.

As with any full-featured system that allows you total control as an administrator, successful use of the product requires that you lay out your business requirements clearly first so that there are no unexpected outcomes. Establishing best practices for content creators within the system is also advisable.

I have used other systems in the past, notably MediaWiki and SharePoint, and while I enjoyed them at the time, Confluence blows everything else out of the water. The control and flexibility is unparalleled and the product has obviously been designed for use in environments where project priorities, staff hierarchies, etc can experience rapid significant change.

I also highly recommend the Atlassian sister product JIRA and add-on JIRA Service Desk for task based work management. It is incredibly useful.

Cons

With great power comes great responsibility and great potential to make an absolute mess of things. Deployment of this tool to a large user base would require some serious preparation to establish access schemes, permissions for user groups, best practices for editing and creating new content, and organizing content within the spaces. End user training is critical to cement those rules and establish a culture around using it effectively. I would not recommend deploying this tool in a slapdash hurry (Although, given it's innate flexibility, it would be easier to correct it later with Confluence than some of its competitors!)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Verified Reviewer

Good documentation and wiki tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/14
Review Source: Capterra

Easy project tracking, effective documentation and the ability to have integration with other tools are some of the good features that I like in Confluence.

Pros

It is designed well and is helpful is storing team tracking and information documentation. Confluence acts as our central repository and acts as the wiki for projects across various departments to document a project starting from design to implementation and maintenance. Any document/task could be properly managed to editing features for the team and a history of changes that are made to keep track of the iterative updates that are made on a document. Also, integration with other Atlassian tools like JIRA is very useful to tracking a feature from difference perspectives and keeping everyone aligned within the team on the current status and next steps.

Cons

Organization of the pages can be improved as it is sometimes not straightforward to find content related to a particular project or task. Also, the inline editing tools for a document could be enhanced as you end up relying on macros and other tools very often to be able to properly structure and format a confluence page. Searching the documents is not very easy and it is sometimes difficult to find the right content when needed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Krystyna L.

A multifunctional wiki system, but not a storage repository

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/02/28
Review Source: GetApp

If you are looking for a way to collaborate better, Confluence will provide you with all the necessary features for this. Definitely, Confluence deserves to be recommended thanks to its high level of productivity, multifunctionality, and ease of use.

Pros

The abilities provided by Confluence to work with documents and other content are incredible. It is a pretty simple action to attach various types of documents, as well as track, look them through, and search the necessary ones. The latter is available due to the possibilities of the advanced program’s search system as well. Apart from this mentioned functionality, our company also likes the security level of Confluence, its administrative and management features, and powerful configuration capabilities.

Cons

We like how powerful Confluence is as a wiki system. However, this product is not a storage repository at all. That is why our employees and clients of our services are sometimes confused because of the constant need to switch between different platforms. It may be really hard to figure out which solution should be preferred in every particular case (for instance, SharePoint or Atlassian Confluence). Otherwise, we do not have any other serious drawbacks we have found about Confluence to share with potential users of the solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Abizer A.

A very useful tool for managing the complete knowledge repository and team-management information.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/11
Review Source: Capterra

There are quite a few business problems that we solve using Confluence, the most important one is team collaboration. with confluence our team can collaborate and share information and documents with ease. We can archive information, we can add information to confluence and every stakeholder will be notified about any updates etc which is quite useful in a high-demand scenario as ours. Another business problem that we solve using confluence is progress tracking and reporting by integrating it with Jira.

Pros

The way we can organize the information and the complete knowledge repository is pretty good. Here we can manage all the data with ease and in properly organized manner. The searching of any information is quite easy. Another good factor is its various integrated tools like I can manage a team calendar here, make various add-ons and integrate it with Jira etc which is quite useful for us.

Cons

Some of the things which I dislike is its Page-Tracking. Sometimes we have seen that the page tracking doesn't work pretty well. Another thing which makes me uneasy is its formatting of pages which is trivial at times and I cannot add much graphics

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jenny R.

This is the enterprise svn-wiki

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/17
Review Source: Capterra

I used to journal ever since I was a little girl. Now everything I do is systematically recorded and documentated on my own hosted Confluence server. So that whenever I want to repeat anything I have done: code that I have written, system which I developed, game that I played or idea that I have heard - I can now search and call them up to reimplement elsewhere - all thanks to Confluence which has also excellent permissions and protections.

Pros

We have used this to document projects and write protocols which can be used for reference without scrolling through months of chats to find what you need. It is best used as a static repository of the final work or versions which are fairly stable. For tasks, we use the sister product which can be integrated - JIRA. The main benefit of your Confluence is that all your changes are tracked and versioned using svn.

Cons

Like I hinted previously, that it should used as a repository of protocols and documentation where changes are not very frequent since although it has versioning it gets rather unmanageable when there are hundreds of changes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Marcus H.

Create an Org level Wiki in Minutes

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/09/05
Review Source: Capterra

Confluence is a game changer when it comes to internal information sharing. It's quick, aesthetically pleasing, and reliable. Atlassian created a great and very practical product.

Pros

When working within a system where information is constantly updated and the owners of the info are constantly contacted for content accuracy, Confluence becomes a huge asset. Confluence allows you to build a Wiki library of information that can be shared departmentally or organization wide. The settings are customizable--you can be the sole contributor or teams can collaborate on pages to update information. This allows users to refer to these wiki pages before needing to contact the owner of the information they seek. Furthermore, this integrates with JIRA so ticket tracking and live updates as well as archiving is possible. Wonderful if your field is face pace in need of quick response on content.

Cons

If you're not a current Atlassian customer, the learning curve may be a bit jarring, but for the most part it's intuitive. There are a lot of features and a lot of clickable items upon starting, so it's advised to utilize the help section and tutorials before diving in.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ken J.

Confluence Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/29
Review Source: Capterra

Not everyone uses it which makes it seem pointless in some use cases. That may be more of an internal workflow issue, though.

Pros

The minimalistic interface makes it easy to navigate and read the material posted on each of the pages.

Cons

Editing pages and reordering them is not intuitive. There should be an "edit mode" which allows free movement of page trees and such. There are also certain functions which should be baked in, such as outdated page reminders and automatic archiving.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Collaboration wiki

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/10/06
Review Source: GetApp

Confluence shines as a collaboration platform which is easy enough to use that people are encouraged to publish on it. It's ultimately safe, as attachments and page history are actually very difficult to completely eradicate, as opposed to the considerably more fragile SharePoint. It's reasonably appealing in format and can be effective as a wiki.

Pros

Reasonably easy to use with lots of powerful functionality for non-administrator users
Handles a good variety of attachment types
Pure, uncheatable security settings for visibility
Some nice Confluence content utilities
Very searchable
Quite bomb-proof- comfortable to let users muck about at will, as it's hard to really damage anything irretrievably

Cons

Formatting can be fickle
Does not display Word or Excel files nicely
Does not allow links to files on mounted drives
Will not copy and paste attachments straight from email
Hierarchical permission structure can make it difficult to share content selectively
Administration is not well aligned with JIRA
For-charge add-ons can increase price

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Excellent wiki documentation and collaboration tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/30
Review Source: GetApp

Allows distributed teams to collaborate effectively

Pros

Simple to use, and very easy to collaborate with others to create sophisticated knowledge bases

Cons

Some of the content authoring controls are not intuitive and need to be learned

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Confluence is well integrated with JIRA

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/05/05
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Fairly easy for anyone to create a new page
Love the built-in page templates
Love the ability to add new templates
Love the plugins
Love the default pages (when creating a new space) that help you onboard and discover more features
Really convenient "in-page comment" and "create a JIRA from selection" features
Excellent integration (both ways) with JIRA
Once you have mastered the left hand menu and configured your spaces properly, it's very convenient
Much easier to configure and use than Sharepoint sites, doesn't require IT just to create a new space.

Cons

As any Atlassian tool, pricing is pretty steep when you move from 50 employees to 51 (price almost doubles!)
Plug-ins can also add to your bill
It's hard to make content "look good", it always looks like a programmer Wiki. I wish there were "skins" or templates instead of having to dive into the detailed configuration.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Really good value Knowledge management collaboration platform

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/29
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

The fact it combines a wiki structure and linking with a page hierarchy makes it a really good way to capture information and its both flexible and rich enough that you can use it with a structured documentation process and in an ad-hoc way. In the ad-hoc side, its also really easy to rearrange things after the content is created. The plugin is handy and are what makes it really rich although the cost of the plugins can start to add up if they are used they are good value.

Cons

It would be nice to have a way to only pay for plugins for people who are using them (Where relevant) for example a mockup tool might only be used by 100 people out of 5000 but if you use the plugin you tend to have to pay for the whole 5000. Also, it would be nice to have more tightly integrated communications and discussion around the pages.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

So much functionality

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/02
Review Source: GetApp

Very happy with the product and how much more collaborative much of the work in the office has become.

Pros

My company has been slowly adopting more an more of the functionality available with Confluence and the various direct integrations with other systems.
It is now the primary software in use in the office for almost any information sharing, collaborative work and RFP response prep.

Cons

For all of the functionality it does still suffer a bit in the UI and the convoluted way some tasks need to be accomplished.
Secondly, I wish the document formatting had a bit more functionality in order to have less formatting work on printed or submitted documents when they are pulled form Confluence.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Ashish M.

Great tool for working collectively

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/28
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

We are using this tool in our project to save project architecture, new joiners go through the document, release plan, and other important documentation. The confluence is very easy to edit and add or remove pages. It is easy to find a particular page with the search option. All the pages are arranged in tree type structure. You can attach or give reference to a JIRA ticket right from here. It even sends email to the watchers if any update happens to a page. you can change the theme too and even if required download a page in pdf format.

Cons

The main issue which I face is slow loading, it takes a lot of time to load a particular page. By default notify watchers is selected and it triggers an email to everyone, sometimes it is annoying. It is really hard to edit table it keeps on moving left to right.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

go to documentation platform but lacks innovation

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/12
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

we use Jira, Jira service desk and Confluence.
Everything works really well all together and we don't have to train anyone on how to use Confluence as it's really easy to get into.
I like the different integrations and snippets that are available.
it's quite basic but helps to keep everything simple and clear

Cons

the new UI make it a bit difficult to find what you need in Jira so hopefully they are not bringing this UI over to Confluence.
THe only challenge is to keep your documentation up to date
it feels like in 2018 we should have a system that disrupts this documentation management process and I don't see confluence going into that direction.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Ben M.

A great solution for our company's internal wiki

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/31
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Confluence offers many features, and it's available either self-hosted or in the cloud. There is a lot of documentation about how to use it. There are many applications and add-ons that plug into it. It's relatively simple to learn how to edit pages. There are great dashboards and collaboration features. Spaces are a nice way to split up content among different teams or areas of concern.

Cons

Can be a bit pricey. Administration can be cumbersome or complex due to the powerful features available. Can be slightly slow / resource hungry.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

The Best for Tribal Knowledge

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/05/18
Review Source: GetApp

Confluence is one of the best applications to document Tribal Knowledge. We are in the process of standardizing our entire company one it. It's a must for companies that struggle with internal communication & transparency.

Pros

Versioning, collaborating is wonderful.

Cons

You cannot look at comments while editing a confluence page. I, honestly, cannot understand how this isn't a feature. I know for a fact that hundreds of Confluence users across hundreds of companies would use this. Now, I need to have two pages open, one in edit mode, and another out of edit mode so i can actually view, and resolve, comments.

The only reason i can think of for why this isn't a feature is because the way Confluence is coded (the foundation) doesn't allow for this feature without significant code-changes. But I'm just spitballing at this point.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Useful Collaboration Tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/07
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I really love this tool. It functions great as both and external wiki for our clients and an internal place to store processes, share information and develop ideas. I love the JIRA integration and it is a useful project management tool when combined with add-ons. This tool is so integrated into my job that I cannot work without it.

Cons

It does have limited word processing functionality and there are some bugs with macros that occasionally rear their head.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Use this for my work and product teams every day and its very valuable

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the ability to organize information and details about my teams. Love the various macros to make creating team pages or any page with content that much easier.

Cons

Learning curve. It can be difficult to figure out what macro does what and how to efficiently use features when you first start. I find myself editing other pages just to see "behind the scenes" and using best practices. A better tutorial perhaps for new users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

All documentation in one place

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/28
Review Source: GetApp

An application that is ideal for document management in a team, company and project worthy of attention of every employee

Pros

A big plus is that the application allows you to store all documentation in one place in the test document forimage, contains a lot of additions that simplify the work of the team

Cons

The only minus is to use the application you need to buy it, it is worth the price but it is the only minus

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

When your project grows, this it the tool to maintain all the knowledge

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I've working with developing some custom plugins for this software. It's not easy, but the possibilities are endless. In just a few days I created a plugin that saved my company many man-hours in a long run.

As for storing all your companies know-hows, it's easy if you have a vision how to structure everything, because it let's you do everything the way you want, without forcing you to follow a strict structure. This means that you can always adjust it so it works for your project as you need it to.

Cons

Sometimes a bit overwhelming with all the features. If you need something simple, maybe this is not the right tool as it is very powerful, and has a pretty steep learning curve. A lot of plugins are behind a fee.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Bryan P.

We use confluence to keep track of all of our departmental records/instrucitons

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like that we can have an online bulletin board of sorts. It allows us to keep track of things like personnel details or important instructions.

Cons

It can be a little hard to track things down since they are classified between departments or heading groups. This is useful for limiting access but if you need to move across the platforms it makes it a little harder to find materials.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Centralize your knowledge base

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/26
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

A simple and intuitive way to centralize and organize your organizations knowledge base. Ideal for documenting and sharing knowledge while maintaining a centralized and easily organized Space.

Cons

One small issue we have with Confluence it the formatting and layout of new pages. It is not the intuitave and takes quite a bit of time to get to grips with it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Robert D.

WikiConfluence

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

I like the portal setup and tight integration with the entire Atlassian stack for development

Pros

This is an easy CRM based platform for a great internal portal for posting of all/any company information and events

Cons

not as simple to configure as it appears to be, but it seems to be better than configuration of share point online version

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Great Wiki style product

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/12
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Great for documentation, especially for the larger projects and recording all the steps from decision to implementation to how to articles to FAQ's
Being able to link the pages together is a great feature to have and makes it easy for users to navigate

Cons

Some of the pages we don't want to make public and only want internal users to use as they are company specific processes. Having to organise many licenses and maintain these is a bit of an inconvenience.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10