72 reviews

Egnyte

Enterprise file sharing & content governance

4,5 /5 (72 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,5
/
5
Value for Money
4,2
Features
4,5
Ease of Use
4,5
Customer Support
4,3
92% recommended this app
72 reviews
Lauren H.
Industry: Media Production
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Business Storage Hosting In A New Light

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/05/09
Review Source: Capterra

Egnyte is what happens when you combine Elon Musk's brain capacity with digital file hosting: Genius integration.

Pros

I really appreciate the way Egnyte naturally integrated into our existing business. It calculated the items we had to store and kept them in an impressive bow. The interface is very clean and distinguishable. The features all stand out in their own presence. But the one factor that really earned my loyalty to the software was the storage performance. Egnyte is the powerhouse of online file hosting. It has the durability to carry highly dense files and load them in a concise, quick manner.

Cons

Aside from not knowing of this software sooner, I do hope that Egnyte will create the opportunity for collaborative sharing through external mail hosts (email to be specific). Otherwise, I hold the software in high regards.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jeffrey D.
Industry: Design
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The biggest offering for cloud storage on the market

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/13
Review Source: Capterra

It literally makes an all cloud central server possible.

Pros

Everything it does.

Google Docs and O365 docs in the same ecossytem.

Version control.

SUPER granular access privilege control.

Trash for up to 6 months.

AND Protect as an optional add on that give AMAZING levels of data security.

And on top of all that the support team is super helpful and fast to respond.

Cons

It has its buggy moments. The mobile offering is definitely weaker than the desktop. Deployment can be tricky because it has its quirks you have to train users on.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Absolute must for fast growing companies

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/24
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Egnyte and its various integrations is an absolute must for a shared file system in any startup. As a growing company, employees have their favorite tools - Engineers seem to prefere Google, Marketing and Sales and Administrative generally need MS Office, etc. Egnyte allows everything to be accessible from a single interface. "where is that slide deck? was it Google Drive or One Drive or just local to your computer?" is a major problem in a fast moving, growing company. Egnyte solves that as part of everyday business.

User administration is simplified with straight forward AD integration and also key is inviting outside consultants to share documents is trivial as well. All huge workflow advantages.

Cons

The robust feature set can sometime confuse folks who's user behavior has been set by Google Drive or OneDrive (or even Box or DropBox).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nik K.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Nice platform with good management tools

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/05
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to share information with the team as well as outsiders is the biggest reason we use Egnyte. There is plenty of storage on the lower-end plans.

Pros

I use the previous version functionality once in awhile, but when I need it, it's invaluable! Also, I like the notifications on folder changes to keep me up to date without checking in.

Cons

I don't have a ton of cons to add, but I will say not all filetypes preview, but most do. The only thing we've had issues with is the desktop sync, but it wasn't anything major and was quickly addressed by the support team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Easy to use, great price, excellent customer service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Offers easy to use cloud computing storage. Makes collaborating on documents within our team a breeze and gives us piece of mind being able to save everything on the cloud so no work will be lost in case of computer failure. Customer service is outstanding!

Cons

Used to offer an easy automatic backup for your personal computer drives, which is no longer offered. Wish they'd bring that back. If you want to view photo thumbnails without opening each photo, it can take a little while to load.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Marie debbie K.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Awesome once you learn it!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/22
Review Source: Capterra

I use Egnyte on a day to day basis, and it is a great package for cloud storage of all files, and for collaboration between teams.
The reports are awesome, you can pull up exact details about your users and what files they have accessed and when.
However, you need an Admin that knows the ins and outs in order to take full advantage of all the great features.
Overall it is a great software with a very helpful customer service, also their training videos are awesome and very helpful.

Pros

Put together well, lots of options

Cons

The learning curve is steep

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Saad S.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy and Efficient

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/25
Review Source: Capterra

Overall the experience has been great. Has improved workplace efficiency and collaboration tremendously.

Pros

Remote access to work server files make working on the go a breeze. I can access anything from anywhere so that I can have all the information I need even when on client meetings.

Cons

It can get a little getting used to at first. You no longer will store files on your desktop or folders but rather within a folder in Egnyte.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Anya T.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Cloud Software Great for Collaboration

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/06
Review Source: Capterra

Great for our smaller office solution to keep a lot of files organized between many users, probably good for large offices too, has a very functional phone app for adding pictures or viewing files on the go.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to track who is working on what, it provides a way to email out of company large file links to download from.

Cons

I don't think I have any complaints with this software. The issues

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Zachary V.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Egnyte Review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This product allows my clients to send me large files with great ease. I prefer its functionality to SharePoint or Dropbox because its interface is more user-friendly and the ability to download multiple folders to a single zip folder is very convenient.

Cons

My clients have encountered a few problems on the uploading end that have required uploading an item more than once.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Derek E.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Egnyte was a game changer for our company!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/28
Review Source: Capterra

Being able to collaborate and share our files all in one place will save our team and company countless hour / even days from sending and searching for files like we used to do in the past. Time is money!!

Pros

Working with large teams and large files, Egnyte was the thing we were always missing. The ability to access and control collaborative files across our team has streamlined our entire process. The ability to integrate numerous app already in place in our company is what put this over the top.

Cons

It may be very pricey for the average team, but at the enterprise level, it is highly recommended.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Brian K.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Egnyte

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Egnyte is an easy to use file sharing software. It is easy to navigate and set up files. Click to share with other users is a piece of cake.

Cons

I see no flaws in using the software. So far - so good

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Medical record storage

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/16
Review Source: Capterra

Great billing and customer service interactions

Pros

They were HIPPA compliant at the time my company used it years ago, I'm guessing they still are

Cons

No complaints. It isn't a full featured EMR, but we wanted something simple

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Dr jacob H.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best hippa compliance back up online system

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/11
Review Source: Capterra

The biggest benefit we have for this is being able to use this system for backup data instead of bogging down our computers with files

Pros

The software is easy to share with others within the company that can access the account for file share

Cons

Sometimes the open and edit mode for a Microsoft word document can take a while to upload In order to re write a form

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Most secure file sharing

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The security is unparalleled. Never worry about breach of data.

Cons

The UI could be cleaned up a little, but well worth it for the security.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tully C.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 2017/07/14
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jared K.
Industry: Renewables & Environment
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 2016/04/28
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Secure Organization

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/11/04
Review Source: Capterra

Overall it was easy to implement and for end users to understand how to use it. My team did not need to undergo much training or assistance while working through implementation

Pros

I really like how Egnyte is able to sync up with a computer's own folder system making the ability to save and work with secure documents on your computer where ever you are and maintaining files solely within the frame of Egnyte. Also being able to customize our home space with our own logo and colors was a nice touch.

Cons

Some of the APIs come with an additional cost, which is sometimes less than satisfactory, and the APIs sometimes have limitations, but otherwise, it's been an entirely positive experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Semiconductors
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Egnyte is Dropbox done right

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/29
Review Source: Capterra

Egnyte has been a professional and customer-focused company. They continue to improve the product across their product offerings, maintaining parity across the ever-changing landscape.

Pros

No desktop footprint! This is a big win when dealing with distributed workers with laptops. Everyone has full access to files they are allowed, and they take no space (until they are accessed).

I also love the ability to fine-tune permissions at the sub-folder level.

Cons

Permissions are the hardest thing for some users to get the hang of. In Egnyte, they aren't difficult, but some users have difficulty managing the permissions on the website, since they only use the folders on their desktop (sync'd).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sofia G.
Industry: Research
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Sturdy for Mid Size companies

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Better than Dropbox, more secure than Box.

Cons

The mobile app sometimes experienced glitches and sync issues. And the desktop app doesn’t have a good offline mode in case of lost connectivity.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Eric P.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Egnyte: great cloud based file storage solution

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

First thing I like about Egnyte is the simplicity and ease of use. It's very easy to use straight out of the box and doesn't take a lot of time to get used to.
I also like how easy it is to share files externally with clients by simply sending them a link.
Another thing is the fast syncing. It's so fast that files i upload into a shared folder becomes available to others in seconds.

Cons

I think the user interface needs to be updated as it looks rather dated.
Another issue is that support seems to be sluggish the few times I've contacted them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Beth M.
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Egnyte is best for backup and FTP with HIPAA compliant security

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/30
Review Source: Capterra

Secure backup of all our documents, easy to set up FTP sites, that have HIPAA compliant security.

Pros

Easy to set up and share FTP sites. Backup is usually seamless and they email if the computer hasn't been heard from in some number of days that you determine. Egnyte has HIPAA compliant security and lots of good security settings, like invitation links that expire and cannot be forwarded. They can actually provide a HIPAA certificate! The price is very reasonable for everything that's included, and the amount of control you have over your data and settings. There's even an app for android and iPhone. There are lots more features that we don't even use.

Cons

Sometimes the backup function locks up without reason. It can usually be resolved with a few clicks, but I've never figured out what happens to prompt the shutdown. The app is great for uploading photos and similar to the site, but I've never been able to use the app to invite a user - everything looks like it's working, but the "save" screen doen't pop up the way it does on the computer, and so it doesn't save the invitation and thus doesn't work. Overall, though we love this software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tom Y.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Cloud solution with top notch sharing options

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

I'm very happy with Egnyte. Once I got the touch on how to use it I have found it easy. The desktop version works really well and sync my files automatically.

Pros

Egnyte is a super cloud solution that have a nice folder structure with a really manageable permission scheme. It's easy to share files - internally and externally. I really appreciate the option for changing url when sharing files. I can also backtrack all my shared links and I can see who have accessed it when. The applications also do the job.

Cons

The application have required manually installed updates. I think they might have solved this now. The reports option should maybe have some more options and flexibility.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Construction
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Egnyte

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of use, accesability to files from any network, super easy to transfer files to anyone via a link so that emails don't get bogged down. I'd say my favorite feature is the outlook add-in that lets me upload and share my large media files.

Cons

At first, I didn't like the desktop sync because it confused a lot of users in my office and created double storage caches of files. However, they switched to egnyte connect and I believe these problems were solved.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Delaney M.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Great document manager

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/28
Review Source: Capterra

Very, very easy to organize and manage file, doc, pdfs. super easy to move them around and download. I really like how you can send invites for others to view a document.

Pros

I love that is can make multiple folders and put permission on it. I like how i can construct a filing system that meet the job needs/criteria and able to keep it a standard.

Cons

the favorite star, it never seems to work for me to go to a shortcut folder fast

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lee S.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Very Capable Software for Document Security and Sharing

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/08
Review Source: Capterra

Great!

Pros

Very robust software for storing documents in the cloud. Allows everyone to access latest versions. Favorite aspect is the ability to share files and be notified when and where they are opened from. It's also nice to have version history for files. Lastly, having desktop file access makes using very seamless. It's just like using your regular (C:) drive.

Cons

Sharing capability has to be done through the online site. It would be nice to be able to get a sharing link straight from the desktop file system.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10