623 reviews

LinkedIn

Get the most from your professional network

4,5 /5 (623 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,5
/
5
Value for Money
4,3
Features
4,3
Ease of Use
4,4
Customer Support
4,1
91% recommended this app
623 reviews
Nathan S.

An honest review of LinkedIn

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/25
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

LinkedIn is everything work professionals need to connect and interact.
1) Professional social network feel - I like the ability to share posts, add comments, message connections and find jobs, or opportunities.
2) The connections feature is probably the most underrated feature of LinkedIn. It's not just enough to have connections, if your connections know you well, they can recommend you for skills, on job applications and more.
3) LinkedIn Premium features may not seem like they are worth the extra money but if you can afford it, there are some valuable features that you can use
- The most obvious one is see who had viewed your profile. For some reason you have to pay for this but it is a good feature to have.
- The Featured Applicant feature under LinkedIn Premium is great for job seekers, where you can apply for jobs and are put at the top of a recruiters list.
- E-Learning courses - LinkedIn allows you to also take elearning courses (from their purchase of Lynda.com) to update your skills and even save courses for future reference.

Cons

1) LinkedIn tends to send too many emails notifications over the course of the week. There is a way to turn them off but it seems a bit odd that a social network would be sending out so many emails.
2) Not everyone will find the premium features useful. Yes it is great to be able to apply for jobs or see who has viewed your profile, but those do not always seem to justify the cost of membership.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Textiles
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

A Trust Worthy Professional Network

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/28
Review Source: GetApp

I love it and I use it daily. There are some amazing professionals on the platform that share their experience through their post. It's like your daily business education.

Pros

I love the ability to search for the people in your professional network and connect to them on LinkedIn. I have also gotten good opportunities to get mentored from the people who are doing well in my fields of interest. It gives amazing insights about career progression, emotional resilience to succeed through its amazing author posts.

Cons

Some of the hollow recruiter messages that appear on the platform and that ask for you to comment to get shortlisted to hire seem like hollow schemes by recruiters to get more eyeballs on the platform. indeed, its a representation of Corporate practices that may not always mean well.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Abdul waudud C.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Nothing to compare with LinkedIn

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/31
Review Source: GetApp

My overall experience with LinkedIn is so far so good. And I will not be going to discontinue Linkedin in the near future.

Pros

LinkedIn is the best Social networking platform for Professionals. You can say it as your virtual portfolio that open to the whole world. You can showcase your education, professional skills, and past job experience here in an organize way. Millions of job seekers publish their profiles here and millions of recruiters look for professional talents. It also uses as a marketing and lead generation tool. Its available on all os platform and devices.

Cons

There are some fake employers and fake user profiles in LinkedIn, which is not acceptable in professional social networking platform. Also, the Linkedin premium is a bit costly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Yaroslav K.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Professional Social Network that is trying HARD to reach you | Only for GrownUps!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/05
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

*Linked in is a great tool for professionals

In comparison to Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, VK and others, Linkedin is not searching for traffic or huge amount of visitors. The platforms aims to target only relevant people.

It has no fun(technically) or no specific aim to connect genders.

And this is the beauty of the network. It is the best tool to find job, have your work contacts separated from your REAL LIFE and expand your possibilities and career.

Cons

*Design is quite old, which is the same issue with almost any social network today,
*Great functionality and integrations come at the cost and they made Linkedin slow and unusable on old devices.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Saugat S.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Serious About A Career? -Have a LinkedIn Account!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/10
Review Source: GetApp

My overall experience has been outstanding since I started using it. It was in 2014 I guess that I started using it and since then, I have got connected to 100+ people with whom I learn a lot from. Likewise, I also use it to see job listings and its amazing.

Pros

LinkedIn I believe is a professional development app because it allows you to connect with likeminded people, learn from their expertise and share your knowledge and opinion too. It has reformed a way that CV or personal profile is shared. It alsoballows to add multimedia pieces in profile which isvery unique than that of other apps. If you really want to build your career or to network with people, LinkedIn is one of the best.

Cons

Since, I am habitual to use general network apps, LinkedIn seems to have a little busy look or maybe a bit sophisticated that makes me use the featurea less.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Shawn C.
Industry: Publishing
Company size: Self Employed

Still underrated

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/08
Review Source: GetApp

I've found it incredibly useful as a journalist to find company or public figures, because on other social networks it always feels like you're invading people's space. On LinkedIn, it feels like everybody is there to network, ready and open.

Pros

What I like most about LinkedIn is that it's only lazy people who say: "nobody uses LinkedIn."
If you can get over just the initial awkwardness of putting yourself out there for the entire job market to see, then you're already a percentile jump ahead of the competition. But just having your profile out there forces you to polish off your credentials and start asking yourself the question: "how do I want to market myself?"

Cons

The downside of LinkedIn is that there isn't a clearly defined etiquette. Sure, we know that it's more professional than other social networks, but the script becomes vague when it comes to asking people for things who are more senior, or bluntly saying that you want a job.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ron Q.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: Self Employed

Essential software for networking with work colleagues and keeping up to date on workplace info date

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/25
Review Source: GetApp

I have learned a lot of work related info that I never expected to learn..and I have connected with so many people that I never expected to connect with.

Pros

Linkedin makes it easy to connect with work colleagues and it is the site for learning all about work related info and trends

Cons

Linkedin for wireless seems to act differently than LinkedIn for desktop. The mobile version doesn't seem to sync as quickly as the desktop version. Also, the mobile version doesn't allow for attachments in Messaging, while the desktop version allows attachments in Messaging.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ja'net A.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Linkedin A Great Tool For Entrepreneurs

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/08
Review Source: GetApp

I have had a great experience with linkedin over the years. I have used it for business needs and marketing.

Pros

I like that on Linkedin you can connect with potential clients. Then once you are connected you are able to engage with them and possibly move to doing business together.

Cons

Linkedin does not allow you to see those who look at your profile in private mode. It does not matter if you buy premium or not.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kush M.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

One stop for Networking

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/11
Review Source: GetApp

Good. It's positive

Pros

LinkedIn is relevant to anyone, everyone in any field. It is great for sharing academic knowledge and information.
It’s useful for Networking with people in industry.

Cons

A common platform on the app which connects possible applicants for a position in industry to the recruiters, like a virtual career fair

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Anjana P.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Must use for recruiting and reviewing candidates

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/20
Review Source: GetApp

There's no other tool than LinkedIn that's in it's weight class.

Pros

Easy to use without needing too much instruction. LinkedIn is a great tool for finding candidates for positions.

Cons

Seems a little expensive if you want the added bells and whistles. The platform is also a little slow.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Navin N.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

A Great Professional Networking Platform enabling connections and life time learning

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/21
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

LinkedIn is a great platform for professional networking primarily. The platform enables individuals to connect with people and build connections, share ideas, thoughts and perspectives and also look for prospective employers. Businesses leverage LinkedIn for building a customer base and potential partners/suppliers. Over a period of time, LinkedIn has scaled the number of functionalities it used to provide. LinkedIn is a great platform to share innovative ideas, trends, white papers, Point of View (POV). Its a perfect medium which continues to churn exponential knowledge management in any field/domain.

I love the structure of LinkedIn. Anyone can send an invite to connect and take forward the connection from there. Whether its a job opportunity or a business proposition or invitation for a professional event, LinkedIn makes it easy in 2-3 clicks. There is a lot of security inbuilt to avoid anyone using your personal data which is fantastic in todays world where data is compromised easily. Next is creating your profile which is simple and gives a very clear picture of professional achievements. The All-star rating indicates that the profile contains all mandatory data needed for profile. If one is open to actively pursuing opportunities, enable a button "On" and recruiters would clearly be able to identify an active candidate.The Premium feature enables you to send an 1-1 Inmail and chat with the other person, also enables you to see who is viewing your profile. The Publishing functionality enables you to put your thoughts and point of view across any domain area, one can track view-ability and likes and comments of people who have viewed your article. Overall, a great medium to leverage and build strong life time connections.

Cons

There are a lot of jobs which have either expired or have been filled. There should be a regular update mechanism to archive those postings to ensure relevancy of job or role. Sometimes the UI has an interpretation challenge but over a period of time you get used to it. The Groups can be more structured and guided to enable quick conversations and moderation can overcome irrelevant topics being discussed in the group.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Virginia B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Professional profiles suitable for any and every guru in the world

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/25
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

LinkedIn (LI) is the world’s largest professional network and career website, that allows you to easily connect with like-minded peers and industry leaders for trading ideas, sharing advice, etc. Whether you’re looking for a career, seeking out employees, or trying to become recognized as an expert within your industry LI’s simplistic platform provides it all. As a Marketer, I feel it’s important to show my own expertise to demonstrate the knowledge I have acquired and how it can be applied across various industries. LI is a great place to start a professional network. LI’s mobile application provides all the same features as the desktop platform (i.e. post, notifications, jobs, and professional network).

PROS
•Become a member of the groups in your area of interest allows you to ask specific questions, collaborate with other members, and/or post content. This is probably my favorite feature as it helps me to keep up with all the latest and greatest marketing trends, tools, and platforms. You can also revisit your LI responses to groups at any time; LI will keep a digital record for you which you can locate from your profile in “recent activity”. Regularly engaging with groups in your industry also helps to showcase your expertise and gain more visibility across your niche.
•As an alternative to gaining knowledge through the online community via LI groups, you can also use LI Messaging to connect directly with your connections one-on-one and/or can choose to include multiple individuals in a message. (LI has helps me connect my personal and professional network – I have hired helped hire two friends from my personal network this way).
•LI Ads are a simple and effective, they pertain to a smaller niche and shared focus; a great alternative to utilizing Google Ad’s.
•Businesses can create a LI company page as well as showcase pages (for events, open positions, etc.) at no expense. I would recommend that every business should have a company page on LI, as it’s the most popular professional network. Out company page has helped us bring in more sales, increase traffic to our website, find candidates to fill open positions, and helps others understand what it is that we do/what we have to offer. Company pages are used to post regular company updates and/or news, social posts about your business, content, and/or open positions… which you can measure the performance of with the analytics available to you.
•LI’s blogging interface can be used to gage where people are spending their time, what followers are interested in, and helps to boost visibility outside your network.
•Maybe there is truth to the saying, “it’s all about who you know.” I have had the opportunity of helping one of my friends get hired, when a past co-worker of mine asked if I knew any qualified candidates. If you are someone looking for a job, don’t get discouraged – keep in touch with the ones you know as well as your new connections.

Cons

•When posting on LI’s company pages make sure to completely optimize your images. Sometimes, your posts appear differently on your company pages as they do on LI’s home feed.
•Much like Google, I would not recommend running a targeted LI Ad unless you have a fairly large budget; advice I received from LI, directly account manager. In the past, we have run ads with lower budgets with an ending result, nowhere close to our ROI.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Linkedin to everyone

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/26
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Linkedin is a professional career website, it allows users to create social and business connections amongst friends, family, colleagues and business acquaintances. If your pursuing a business adventure having Linkedin is a added bonus, you can build your network of friends and see which friends have careers in desired fields in which you seek to start or grow your business in. You can get advice and directions from connections. You can also see connections, connections and go from there. You can allow for friends to independently or upon request endorse you for skills they know you have professionally or personally. You can write references as well on members profiles. It is a great way to share your personal resume with employers by sending them to your personal linkedin page via a link that linkedin provides you at no cost. you can login with other social sites such as GetApp to write reviews. Linkedin is the number one professional site amongst professionals. You can also create groups of intrest public or private and allow anyone or specific members access to discuss amongst liked minded individuals different ideas, launches, concepts, concerns, etc. You can share on your page and like things on other pages which shows up on a feed to your followers. You can send personal messages via instant messaging or you can send private mail to others. You are alerted of job changes, work anniversaries, promotions of contacts. You can apply for jobs or post jobs. You can take tutorials or watch tutorials on Linkedin. You can advertise as well on Linkedin. They have several different professional aspects across different occupations, sectors, and amongst entry level to corporate professionals. You can see some people who have viewed your page. You can have your resume set up to be viewed in other languages besides English. You can see how many times you pop up in a search result, or if a company you applied to on Linkedin has viewed your resume or profile.

Cons

You have to have a paid memebership to uncover additional features. You have limited access to the entire site without the paid membership. You can view every single person who viewed your page with a paid membership and how they found you via a search or directly inputting your name in the url. You still have a lot of features you can access without a paid membership, a paid membership will give you more access to networking and building connections to grow your brand, name, and/or company.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Brittney C.
Industry: Publishing
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Newest Features Transform Communication between Employers and Job Seekers

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/20
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I love how LinkedIn has added features that drive traffic to user profiles, allowing your profile to serve as an online resume. Rather than constantly reaching out to employers, it enables recruiters to easily reach out to potential candidates as well. One of my favorite features is the recommendation section. I have recommendations on my profile from previous supervisors and co-workers that really legitimize my work experience because recruiters can see my skill set and accomplishments, but they can also see that I have soft skills that can't be easily validated in an interview like being a team player or having a personality that meshes well with others. There's also a switch on your profile that can be turned on to let recruiters know when you are (or are not) open to new opportunities. I was offered my first full-time job 2 months before finishing grad school because I was contacted by a recruiter on LinkedIn and I am forever grateful because its been one of the best jobs I've ever had. LinkedIn is more than a professional network and I believe that it's really transforming the way that we network and approach job searching.

Cons

The things I don't like about LinkedIn are more about the people on LinkedIn than the application itself. However, I think that LinkedIn should do more about preventing those things. What I hate the most is that there are illegitimate jobs posted on LinkedIn that can be scams. In my younger years, I wasn't able to tell these scams from decent jobs. But now, I can tell the difference very easily. I wish LinkedIn would do more to filter these jobs and/or remove them, but I understand how that could be difficult to do without taking away someone's right to post what they want.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

David h. D.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Global Connections + Self-Publishing = Key Benefits

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/20
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Personal and Corporate use of LinkedIn has evolved during the decade that I've been a member. Originally conceived as a directory of professionals across the globe, the site now includes many additional features. The basic 'Profile' content enables LinkedIn (and now Microsoft) to aggregate information about people and companies. The 'Groups' feature enables LinkedIn to align people and companies with topics. Also, publishing on LinkedIn enables people or companies to post an article, photo or video that can be shared with followers. The site can be effectively used with the 'Free' version (which is advertiser supported), with many more capabilities available in the 'Premium' version. Note, LinkedIn owns 'Slideshare' which enables the publishing of presentation content, also available for 'Free' use, that can be embedded in posts on the LinkedIn site.

Cons

LinkedIn periodically updates the user interface of the site. Sometimes the changes are an improvement, other times the UI updates create minor confusion (until members discover the benefits). Also, LinkedIn is constantly being challenged to counter the acts of Spammers who attempt to manipulate the capabilities of the site. At times, changes targeting the acts of Spammers negatively impact other members. Members must learn to configure their own 'Settings' to limit the unwanted solicitations of Spammers.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chantel S.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Excellent Tool for Building Relationships - Tech Needs Work to Dazzle

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/12
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

The ability to connect with professionals across the world is absolutely remarkable. This tool encourages authentic engagement and community building which, in turn, often brings referrals and business opportunities. Platforms are only as strong as their users, and there have been some incredible power-users lately that make the platform truly shine which is why it is important to govern activity to prevent fraud / spam and promote super-users who can advocate for the business. Since Microsoft purchased LinkedIn, there have been many incredible adjustments, such as the addition of LinkedIn video, using GIFs and voice recordings in messaging, and I can't wait to see further enhancements.

Cons

The "Groups" functionality has a LOT of work to be done to really make it shine.
There is no "Events" category or way to show and promote networking events.
The messaging feature is very unorganized which looks like a CEO's, messy, ignored inbox.
The support is really horrible. It's basically set up as DIY in forums, but when you do have a customer service representative respond, they often aren't very well versed in the technical aspects of the tool and cannot provide adequate information / support.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Benjamin B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great Business Network Tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/06
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I have been using LinkedIn for years as a mere employee, to remain in touch with my co-workers and to find new job opportunities. Both tasks are well managed by LinkedIn. Now, being a business owner myself, I use far more features of LinkedIn, I use it for recruiting, for remaining it touch with partners and employees, and so on.

The option to be endorsed and to receive and give recommendation is a nice extra, which I really love. Just as being able to upload titles and certificates, or to compile all your profile data into a fully fledged resume. Great tool, which I wouldn't wanna miss and almost use as much as Facebook.

Cons

LinkedIn is great and the free version does offer a lot of features. However, many of the interesting features, a business owner or recruiter would need, are included in one of the several premium packages. These appear to be quite expensive in their fees, though they do a great job. Just smaller businesses might not be able to afford it. In addition, I did not like the fact, that LinkedIn moved a way from a single Premium Subscription to a one, where you have to choose between several packages – or subscribe for more than one of these, which gets even more expensive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: Self Employed

LinkedIn is the Best for Lead Generation, Jobs, and More!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/02/07
Review Source: GetApp

My overall experience with LinkedIn is great! I plan on implementing Lead generation strategies with LinkedIn to grow my business as LinkedIn has high quality leads that no other platform has. It's easy to build a portfolio and build yourself from the ground up.

Pros

It's easy to connect with people and engage with their activity on their posts. People are generally much nicer and willing to listen to what you have to say. LinkedIn comes with many great things such as LinkedIn Sales Navigator and it also comes with LinkedIn Pro Finder to have monthly leads sent to your email in your local area. LinkedIn is overlooked by many people that don't know much about it and they should be using it because they are missing out on all the great rewards and tactics that you could utilize.

Cons

What I least liked about this software is sometimes connecting with other people that have sent you messages for the sole purpose of buying their product. They need to connect 1 on 1 and it has to be more genuine before people start calling each other and purchasing things from each other. I also don't like that sometimes I look at my new feed and people post things that are not related to business or the LinkedIn platform. It should be strictly for business and not entertainment. It's all about networking.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

My go-to networking tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/23
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I use LinkedIn more than any other application/program for my job as an editor for a tech magazine. I was one of the first in the company to request a Premium membership, and now the whole company has a Sales Navigator account. Some of my best writing projects have come as a result of a cold intro on LinkedIn or seeing something in my feed. As long as people continue to see LinkedIn as a trustworthy, professional source of info, it will continue to be worth the paid/upgraded account.

Cons

The customer support has a lot to be desired. Last year an employee left the company and we didn't realize until after he was gone that he was the administrator of a group. LinkedIn customer support was zero help whatsoever in getting his admin privileges revoked, and furthermore we couldn't change basic info about the group because he controlled the settings.

Also, the new limitations in the groups are really disappointing. Our team had invested many years in to building one group page to 5,000+ opt-in people, and now being able to send a message to them is next to impossible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Joseph K.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

A superb platform to build networks and improve your visibility.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/08
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

It is a very simple to interact and connect with candidates through LinkedIn and it is one of the biggest networks and it helps us in increasing the exposure of the business. Not just sourcing the right talent, but we can also stay updated with the trends and upcoming news in our areas of interest. You get a lot of information that is for free! I get to see the professional information of all individuals, from candidates to employees to investors. People who have a very limited budget can build a trusted professional network with ease. It has helped us to reduce overhead costs and get a lot of details about various customer segments.

Cons

It takes a lot of time to build connections, I should say that you have to invest a lot of time for the same. It is true that you would find a lot of news but the credibility of this information is questionable. The premium accounts charges are quite high and the linked in that is for business makes you get a lot of personal data that is not desirable!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Praveen R.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

I use LinkedIn to stay connected to the professional world

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/19
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Searching for jobs was not an easy job before and job sites were charging considerably high fees from the candidates just for applying for a job. LinkedIn came in to the market to change all these conventional job searches. There are different ways to get hired through LinkedIn. First is, through the connections, if you add connections sensibly after doing some research you will surely land in your dream job with the help of this connections' recommendations. Next is through the dedicated job section provided. We can search for jobs using keywords, location, title or salary and apply. Nowadays, I can see that high profile jobs also are being posted though LinkedIn.

Cons

LinkedIn is free for normal users and to enable advanced search features like sorting the search results using number of employees, total revenue, job function etc., we need to upgrade to either Sales Navigator or Recruiter which costs high. Other premium features doesn't actually give unlimited people search in fact.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sean P.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

A must have for any professional in need of an online presence

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/20
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I have used many social networks, however largely only for personal use. LinkedIn, however, is designed to meet the needs of a more professional audience. As a university lecturer I always recommend my students create an account on LinkedIn and assuming they complete their profile they will normally start to receive messages from potential employers within a couple of days. Aside from the obvious potential of receiving relevant job opportunities, LinkedIn also creates an environment were it's possible to keep in touch with colleagues and professional friends in an often very informal way which is definitely a benefit.

Cons

Unfortunately, you will sometimes notices SPAM messages appearing in your LinkedIn inbox. This is my largest issues with LinkedIn. Another problem I find with LinkedIn is it's recording of profile views. If you view someones profile, they are notified. While this could in some cases be helpful it does make you think twice about viewing someones profile.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kevin W.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

LinkedIN if Used Properly for Networking its worth its weight in Gold

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/10
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Ive been using Linkedin for at least 6 years now when I first started to use it of course it was a learning curve being that I am a business owner I was please to know that there was a social network that doesn't have all the clutter and meaningless photos of say Facebook and Twitter. If im being honest I have probably developed at least 200+ leads just through messaging and targeting based on finding specific groups and posting relevant content.

Cons

My major problem with Linkedin is the change to how you access and find new groups. It use to be as simple as going to the dropdown at the top of the page and clicking "Groups" then you could place search inquires and add relevant groups to that search. Now it seems like you have to go though like three areas just to find it. Also the mailbox gets too cluttered I know you can get a purchased account an circumvent that with Inmail but on the normal account it can get annoying.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Victor B.
Industry: Think Tanks
Company size: Self Employed

Go to networking application for technology professionals

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/07
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

LinkedIn has been and continues to be the go to application for networking professionals. Microsoft not only continues to support LinkedIn but is building great training, office, document, HR/recruiting, and other integrations vastly adding to its value. I've never used LinkedIn as a salesperson, but I've certainly been on the receiving end of salespersons looking to sell products. I can clearly see the value for them.

Cons

I think LinkedIn could do a better job of helping sales folks intelligently (instead of blindly) follow matching customers. I also think that there is a huge gap in standards development and how that is NOT overlaid on LinkedIn. Right now standards groups are there as "groups" they same as alumni groups (which could also be better organized). I think this is not all that it could be. I could imagine some amazing possibilities if standards development were really integrated to be a core service of the platform.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Roger S.
Industry: Human Resources
Company size: 51-200 Employees

For the Technical Recruiter - NO OTHER Product Matches Identifying / Contacting Passive Candidates

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/10
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

It is the only database and application platform that passive high tech candidates use in their career to stay available when, and in case, they decide to change companies. The typical profile of LinkedIn members in high tech are they always have employment, and stay available to see if there is a next step in their career they need to consider when a job req is Inmailed to them.

For hiring managers they can increase their network of possible people they could hire on their team, or get the word out to their network that they are hiring and through referral find candidates.

I like the education section as a goto when i need to learn something - that is a nice additional function

Cons

always lots to explore and more than you can use at any one time, so I never feel i am utilizing it fully.

I have to hunt around for things in the menu as it never seems to be where i would think it should be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10