Showing 171 reviews of 152

SAP BusinessObjects

Self-service business intelligence (BI) platform

4,2 /5 (152 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,2 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
86%
recommended this app
Showing 171 reviews of 152
Pawan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good tool for developing reports, but not quite nimble enough

Reviewed on 2021/02/11

Pros

The overall architecture of BO XI (with UDT v14.2.7.3130) is intuitive to understand. Most of my experience, however, has been using it with derived tables for more flexibility in the clinical trial space. This is one of the features that I like because it allows me to not only deliver custom reports but also standardized reports that integrate data from different sources.

Cons

I think that BO's lack of OLAP functionality could use some beefing up. In my company, it's usually BO, Spotfire or Tableau that are used for reporting. If BO had OLAP capabilities, processes within the company that rely heavily on other tools may also change to account for that.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy and Convenient

Reviewed on 2019/05/07

It's easy and fun to drag and drop columns, but as I mentioned above, the Informatin Design Tool application is a bit slow. I recommend Sap Bo in general.

Pros

I can easily find the solution in internet. And I can easily drag and drop the columns of the tables I selected in DFX to BLX.

Cons

Information Design Tool app to be accelerated for the designer

Alla G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent software for data analysis

Reviewed on 2020/05/26

Overall, really great product used by many international banks.

Pros

This software is excellent to use for data analytics, to create graphs, tables, and overall financial reporting.

Cons

The software is locking a really good support team to address user's issues. The 24 hours support is necessary

Glendy m U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool, reliable architecture and very useful

Reviewed on 2018/11/29

In space, the area that I address is the customer service through this fantastic tool we can keep a real-time control of the requests for services from our customers, assigning numbers of events that link the whole process with the areas involved, from that the service request is made until it ends with the invoicing process of it.

Pros

The scope advantages and the ability to link the data available in our organization by SAP BusinessObjects has allowed us to optimize the administrative and operational processes in a way that allows us to access the correct information.

Cons

I do not have negative opinions of the tool, within the organization has been very useful the use of it.

Henrijs J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy BI tool

Reviewed on 2020/09/09

Apart for loading speedn, its well designed, intuitive and easy to maintain.

Pros

Easy to set up the backoffice part of the tool.
Simple way how to organize and manage access rights.
Perfect for dashboard customization, its even possible to add some html code and thus custom designs and outputs.

Cons

The data universes takes some time to load.
It takes time for system end users to learn how to create and format their ad-hoc reports.

Trivikram B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Front End reporting tool which enhances the business decisions more effectively on the...

Reviewed on 2016/10/20

I have been using the tool from past 9+ years for the development of reports to our clients and the improvements to the overall BO product suite over a period of time are absolutely fantastic and you will have a wide range of products in the suite which will cater all your business requirements irrespective of the domain you are in
It is highly recommendable to the business who wants a better results,growth and improvements in the areas where they are lagging because the kind of visualizations and stunning dashboards that Business objects provides will give business head a clear cut idea on their improvement areas so that they can concentrate more on improvements and decision makings
I have had an experience from various clients in different sectors like Finance,Telecom,Oil and Gas, Fleet and so on where they always gave a positive and really a five star rating about the product feasibility and various options SAP Business Objects provides

As a developer and Technical specialist working on SAP BO I had a wonderful experience with the customer support from SAP and also whenever we raise an OSS Message or case about the product functionality the kind of response we got is really great and helped us a lot to solve the customer issues at the earliest
It is ultimately a great product which sustained nearly a decade after SAP acquired now due to its tremendous capabilities and improvements in reporting and universe modelling and various versions of product releasing as and when required based on customers feedback

Overall I would highly recommend SAP BO to any client be it small , medium and large due to its robust sizing guide lines this will be the best product and also this is one of the world's best reporting tool till date, no wonder after the introduction of SAP Design studio this will become the number one in the space of reporting

Also I would like to mention about some of the important reporting tools in the product like WebIntelligence, SAP BO Exlorer, SAP Lumira which will definitely add an advantage to the organizations growth in providing the most thoughtful decisions on the fly to the clients

Stunning,Astonishing,Intelligent and Beautiful Dashboards and Visualizations will only be possible with SAP Business Objects!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sue R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Greatest business investment

Reviewed on 2018/12/19

I've used multiple sections of SAP and throughly enjoyed how each section works so smoothly with the others. It has the added bonus for companies that are global being able to link all business as well.

Pros

Once it's been implemented for the entire company it integrates every aspect smoothly. The ability to link every part of the business is invaluable. From HR to logistics to production, managing warehouse inventory cost saving are realized.

Cons

Implementation can be tricky if the people setting it up dont take the time to learn the business from one end to the other. It takes a team working in unison to develop a fully functional system. I've seem great things from SAP and I've seen a company sinking from a poor implementation.

Romer R.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Satisfied but I can still see a lot of rooms for improvement of the products.

Reviewed on 2018/02/28

Pros

SAP BusinessObjects is a wide collection of softwares that businesses can use to handle different functions such as reporting, business analytics, forecasting, etc.

Based on my experience, the softwares are easy to use with interactive graphical user interface. Also, with its point and click functionality, new users can easily familiarize with the system. In addition, the ability to customize the system for more advanced users is absolutely commendable. Few systems are flexible enough like SAP BusinessObjects. The integration of SQL Database Management makes it easier for more advanced users to customize the system according to the company's needs and demands.

Cons

Since the software is mostly Window-based, computers using other programming language might have some difficulty in using the system. The wide variety of functionality also makes it a little bit confusing with new users especially those with no knowledge of SQL syntax.

Robert S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I use Business Objects to write production reports and analysis

Reviewed on 2015/07/09

Pros

Its best feature, in my opinion, is the ease of building reports through its drag and drop interface. We have several data universes which we use to generate the reports. Business Objects makes it quite easy to manipulate the data fields and build professional looking reports.

Cons

My least favorite thing about this product would have to be the lack of download capability in more current versions of Excel. Currently, Business Objects only downloads in Excel 2007 format, which can sometimes complicate pulling millions of rows of data into one spreadsheet. Office 2010 and 2013 are capable of handling millions of rows of data, but B.O. cannot deliver it into those new formats.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My experience with BusinessObjects at a few institutions has been very positive.

Reviewed on 2018/05/15

Improved organizational reporting.

Pros

The interface is very easy to use for all audiences, allowing us to empower basic users to run their own reports. The ability to combine database elements with custom script to customize reports is very useful.

Cons

Sometimes the report formatting can be finicky. It is very responsive but can overcompensate for small formatting (size, spacing, etc) adjustments.

Laurie N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Business Objects embedded capabilities

Reviewed on 2018/12/09

I used Business Objects over nearly 10 years at 2 different corporations and generally was able to accomplish what I set out to do with it. Customer Service was usually able to point us in the right direction to resolve issues we ran into. I also like the Universe concept that facilitates combining the business and data layer for self-service reporting.

Pros

I liked that it could be embedded with single sign on with a transactional application in a SaaS environment. This enables companies to build the software they have domain knowledge in and take advantage of reporting capabilities that tools like Business Objects has.

Cons

It can sometimes be difficult to work through navigation issues when embedding the software. It requires someone to understand how to get into the toolkit, which has a learning curve.

Shiva R.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

This is a very good transaction level analytical took that can be used in enterprises

Reviewed on 2017/07/18

Pros

facilitates self service and is user friendly to write queries with basic training of users thereby reducing reliance on central IT. Also data can be exported to excel/pdf etc.

Cons

This product works well when there is a data warehouse and data is regularly uploaded to the data warehouse so that users can write query and generate data from the query.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Front-end

Reviewed on 2018/12/01

Pros

Using BOBJ has been light years better than previous database front-ends that I utilized, it is full of functions andhas a much more user friendly interface.

Cons

Many of the functions are at a more basic level and require you learning their program to be able to nest them together and get the results you're looking for.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Nice Way to Interface with Data

Reviewed on 2018/07/29

Pros

SAP Business Objects provides a nice way to interface with data, allowing both power and flexibility through its structure.

Cons

With each new version there seems to be some flaw that needs to be corrected or feature that should be added and at an enterprise level it becomes difficult to continuously deploy the updates.

Aubree S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Business Intelligence Solution for all sizes

Reviewed on 2019/07/18

Overall, SAP BusinessObjects offers multidimensional data analysis. This allows you to create reports on multiple business parameters from multiple external data sources.

Pros

SAP BusinessObjects allows the company to integrate with external systems, such as SIMS Claims and Microsoft Office and combine data from these for business analytics and reporting functions. There is a drag-and-drop interface which allows you to create custom reports using the perimeters you want.

Cons

The drag-and-drop interface is sometimes difficult to use especially when working with a large amount of data. Once you use this program more, it seems to get easier to use.

Jill B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SAP Business Objects

Reviewed on 2018/09/06

Pros

Being able to pull data easily from our data warehouse.

Cons

Sometimes tricky to move fields around without leaving spaces in columns that you don't want.

Syed saad Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use reporting tool for SAP

Reviewed on 2020/01/09

Very valuable tool for my department which uses sap modules and finds ABAP reports cumbersome and slow.

Pros

I have worked as an SAP Consultant so I know the importance of reporting for clients. SAP business objects are the best way to quickly design and integrate reporting tools with SAP source systems.

Cons

For an end user, there is limited flexibility when it comes to modifying reports once deployed. I would like some more customization options.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for Data Analysis and Reporting

Reviewed on 2019/02/18

SAP BusinessObjects is a critical part of our internal software application; it excels in solutions like these.

Pros

BusinessObjects is great for data analysis and reporting about data. You can make a template for a specific report and trust that when someone needs this report, it is generated exactly how you defined it.
Also you can analyze your data, see trends and report on them.

Cons

It's not really point-and-click; you need some experience to use it. But given the fact that many software vendors prefer BusinessObjects must mean something for its quality.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2019/01/09

It was a good experience.

Pros

The web reports functionality is great. The concept of crystal reports is good.

Cons

Resource allocation and Server intelligence agent.

Resul Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

BI Tool

Reviewed on 2019/08/14

Pros

self service reporting function & easy of use

Cons

poor wiev of dashboard & no entegrated solution for data masking

Albano G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A complete BI solution with the best visualization tools

Reviewed on 2015/10/28

Pros

Business Objects provides an easy way to generate and format reports, This solution provide a multiple way of visualization. reports, queries, dashboards.

Cons

Business Objects would be more integrated and more usefull.

Gp N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Robust, scalable and user friendly enterprise BI solution

Reviewed on 2015/10/29

Pros

SAP business objects is a no frill enterprise BI suite, it is very stable, robust and deliver good performance on large scale use.
Self service quite easy once universe is built
One click Scheduling and Publishing capabilities.
Data is cached, giving users the ability to work offline.
Wide variety of support for charts and functions.
Abundant online forum for help.

Cons

Know how is quite complicated for new users. specially syntax and dealing with measures, attributes and variable
Data base integration often malfunctions for some RDMS, for example Netezza queries are often lost in queue.
Adding new data sources and change request require complicated changes in Universe.
Poor capability ability for adhoc analysis like users want to load data to check against warehouse.
relatively less visual appeal for dashboard compare to other BI tools

Tyler D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SAP Business Objects

Reviewed on 2016/10/25

I find Business Objects to be an extremely useful tool to organize, display and share useful data throughout the company. My current and past employer both use the the enterprise reporting tool and have been for quite sometime. It is very end user friendly as well as super user friendly whenever edits need to be made or errors need to be fixed. This product has been around for a while and has constantly been updated with better improvements over time. All the data can be manipulated through queries or a drag and drop method for those who aren't as SQL savvy.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Limited data visualization capabilities

Jose alejandro C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SAP BO makes easier the reporter on the company

Reviewed on 2019/03/30

Pros

It have been improved very much since i used it from version 3.1 to the last version 4.2, always creating new features and new integration with new tools, its very complete and fast, also can be good modeled from final user, make your own reports, customize it, and share it, its really works good, can be integrated with sap erp sap bw, sap bpc, it has many purposes.

Cons

SAP BO becomes a bit slow when its a high amount of data for processing, if you have to create a big data report, its heavy to create it.

Naveen C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Managing Consultant

Reviewed on 2016/10/07

SAP - Integrations and S4HANA for the past 15 years. Integrations for the past 12 years. Integrated SAP and NON-SAP with SAP proprietary solutions.

Pros

Integration with SAP. Easy of use. Seamless integration with SAP HANA

Cons

There is confusion about the different products under the BOBJ suite.