145 reviews

Workzone

Cloud-Based Project Management Made Easy

4,7 /5 (145 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
96%
recommended this app
145 reviews
Alex A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great app with lots of support

Reviewed on 2021/02/15

Mentioned it above, but their support is really great. You get to know the folks who work there and even though we're not a huge client, we feel totally supported. That really helps with communicating ideas, asking for advice, and making it a useful tool for your company. You're meeting with folks who know their software and not some third-party service reading through a decision chart.

Pros

I've toured a number of project management systems and it's surprising how many can't deliver what needs to get done. WorkZone does a great job at being a functional project management system. Our company needs a blend of project mgmt that is effective, yet not so robust its unwieldy, and WZ really fits the bill. It doesn't have some of the flashy features others might, but often those systems are super pricey, or don't work as advertised. WZ has plenty of features we don't utilize, so I don't mean to make it sound basic. But it works great for our team and does what it needs to, and well. Oh, also, they've been super supportive, great customer service, are continually adding new features, and open to feedback.

Cons

I guess the biggest con is that there isn't an app (like for an iPad), but that's definitely not a deal-breaker. We tested other systems that offered apps and maybe looked prettier, but weren't functional when we kicked the tires. Another con might be that, at the start, it isn't super intuitive (like most new things), but it didn't take long to get your bearings. Again, once we were up and running, it's been really smooth and useful.

Christine M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Project Management tool!

Reviewed on 2019/08/19

My team uses this for our corporate marketing efforts. We support all internal teams with collateral, graphic design, powerpoint deck creation, landing page and website updates, internal emails, external emails, social media posts, etc. We use Workzone to keep track of all of our deliverables and to show the value we are bringing to our business.

Pros

I really like the features and functionality and the customer service for this tool. You can tell that the company really cares, and they help me solve for specific project management organization and reporting issues that my team faces, and taught me some best practices for utilizing this tool to solve for our problems. Great tool if you have multiple team members and multiple projects going on at once. My favorite feature is the calendar, and how you can select which tasks you want to appear on the calendar. Great in helping our team have greater visibility to everything going on each day.

Cons

The price is steep for multiple users, we have about 20 users. They do have a tiered pricing structure, but it's still more expensive than our previous tool.

Joseph P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A welcome addition to our project management arsenal

Reviewed on 2020/05/06

Business problems are the quest to keep the myriad projects we have established moving forward. We have had more than 500 projects, many of them Campaigns with multiple sub tasks and deliverables, and it shows management what progress has been made, and where our manpower issues are in relation to the amount of work being produced.

Pros

Notifications are the key to keeping everyone honest. You know when your work is due. It's easy to use, and logical, once you figure out how the platform works. My coworkers begrudgingly respect it, but don't always embrace it. It has kept us honest and gives a clear-eyed view of the state of projects, either from the 10 feet level or the 10,000 foot level.

Cons

No, there are some quirks that you have to understand. My boss doesn't like to check off his tasks in "Approval Requested" and then "Creative Approval", but I understand why it's like this, so I'm OK with it. There was some initial resistance to the platform by some on the tea, but training and use have made that situation better.

Kevin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Workzone rollout, Daily use

Reviewed on 2019/08/02

Excellent experience, the tech support is terrific, online questions are answered immediately, most times a simple Google search results in your answer. Phone support is off the charts, I only had to leave a voicemail a few times and a follow up call was returned right away. Follow up from the sales/implementation team is excellent as well. I have used other products in a past work environment and this has been a main issue for me in the past, not so with the Workzone team.

Pros

Intuitive design/functionality. Flexible configuration/set-up, the product allows you to define user roles between different project types with the same individuals, (i.e. users can be reviewers in one work space while having a higher role defined in a different work space). Very cost effective product for our size of a company, to receive this powerful functionality at this cost point was important. We use it for engineering, sales/marketing as well as production/shop projects. We intend to eventually adapt our Quality-Six Sigma projects to use Workzone. Management really likes the visibility/accountability and reporting provided by Workzone. The time tracking function is easy to use and was a big seller for management.

Cons

When entering new tasks it is a little cumbersome to set the sequence of the tasks in the project view. The due date and task completion time automatically re-shuffle the sequence so if you make a mistake entering a task or sub task it can get confusing. It is easier in the GANNT chart view. Some users who aren't comfortable using a GANNT chart struggle a little bit with this when first starting out.
Project numbering by the automatic feature is restrictive, you cannot adapt it if you have a current method for numbering projects, so you still have to keep a data base/list of project numbers.

Sharon B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fantastic customer service

Reviewed on 2020/05/04

The professionals at Workzone were always available to assist with one-on-one instruction, team instruction, prompt answers, troubleshooting, and solutions. By making the process and system easy to understand through a customized training video, we experienced a smooth launch to our campus community with a high adoption rate and positive feedback. This proved to be highly beneficial. Despite launching only a few weeks prior to the Covid-19 pandemic, we were able to work remotely without missing a beat and easily onboard new users.

Pros

A project management system and a standard process for intaking design projects did not exist in our work environment prior to implementing Workzone. Workzone provided the structure we needed while being user-friendly. The dependencies and automated notifications allow for an efficient workflow and ensure projects are kept on track. The customer service is outstanding!

Cons

Our team found the markup functionality to be cumbersome when there are numerous comments/edits as it's difficult to easily tie the comment to the markup on the proof. Fortunately, the folks at Workzone are open to suggestions and are working to improve upon this.
The approval status can be confusing when there are multiple rounds because it retains the previous response and approval comment.
From the perspective of the admin and contributors, navigation isn't always direct—you're not always taken to the correct project or folder, requiring more clicks to get to the correct place.

Christine C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WorkZone is a lifesaver!

Reviewed on 2019/03/13

The team at WorkZone has been very involved with our experience, always making sure we are up-to-date on the latest changes, asking for feedback and making sure we are getting the most out of the software.

Pros

WorkZone has been a game-changing software for our company. We had originally planned to use Microsoft Project but ran into issues with complex training for the team. We found WorkZone and it solved all our problems -- simple, ease-to-use, very intuitive. It has streamlined our workflow, allowed for commenting regarding schedules and status and given everyone up-to-date task lists. We couldn't live without it now. It is also a great value and works for both Mac and PC, which was an issue with Project.

Cons

Nothing— WorkZone has been the best decision we've made in recent years.

Nausica O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Workzone Works Well for Us.

Reviewed on 2019/08/21

Our team uses it daily to run our entire company's projects.

Pros

The ease of use made this platform the best solution for our company at the time we decided to purchase.

Cons

Currently there is nothing worth mentioning as Workzone makes updates often in the year.

Barbara M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Software

Reviewed on 2019/08/05

We used to track our deadlines with multiple spreadsheets. This allows one comprehensive place to organize our projects across all of our clients and all areas of the business - from project implementation through to invoicing.

Pros

We implemented Workzone years ago, and now our team relies on it daily. We can track all of our projects and deadlines for design, media, reports, etc. It offers the flexibility for us to use the software the way it works best for our company, and everyone is accountable to their tasks.

Cons

N/A - I do not have a "least" something I like about this software.

Marcia C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, simple interface

Reviewed on 2019/09/25

Excellent customer service. Can always get someone on the phone and they check in every once in awhile to talk about issues or wishlist items.

Pros

Not a big learning curve to start utilizing the software. Like that the company is easy to work with, responsive to customers, and that they are always trying to improve the product.

Cons

Could use some improvements on expenses and calendar, but hopefully those are coming.

Zoey B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Workzone - Improving Agency Process and Relationships

Reviewed on 2020/02/19

Customization has given our team the freedom to create more effective internal processes and Gantt charts have revolutionized our Account Management touchpoints with clients. The markup feature has helped our clients clarify their needs and have more direct references while feeling more a part of the creative process. Not to mention the great support staff. Workzone has been a huge step in making our business more successful!

Pros

Customization, Gantt Charts, To-Do lists, markups, approvals

Cons

Page glitches when switching projects, some occasional UI malfunctions

Lisa W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Changed the way we work!

Reviewed on 2020/11/04

I have been extremely pleased with Workzone, and I regularly recommend this software to our sister institutions.

Pros

The overall view of all our College's projects is not only a lifesaver in terms of organization, but the software also allowed our department to establish College-wide processes that let our "customers" know what to expect in terms of time, budget, and production.

Cons

Occasionally, some of the more granular features have hiccups, but I've always found the Workzone team to be responsive in providing alternatives and fixing issues.

Jeannette P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Keeps all of us on schedule

Reviewed on 2019/08/15

First we loved it just for being able to track, maintain up to the min. Now downloading from WZ to do analysis on time spent by different criteria with ease.

Pros

Easy to setup, maintain, update and use. One place to keep notes, docs, time for all members to see.

Cons

Calendar export to outlook is limited if your projects can be longer than a month.

Mike A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WorkZone Keeps Me Sane!

Reviewed on 2019/05/13

I love WorkZone! I look forward to the evolution of the platform and addition of more cool features!

Pros

I love the ease of use and the collaborative features that keep the team updated.

Cons

I would like to see a consolidation of all the communications on a project level (so that all threads for tasks, project, and request are all combined into one area can get fragmented.

Drag and drop tasks and projects would be cool :D

Margo Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Change is hard, but it was worth it!

Reviewed on 2019/11/21

Pros

It makes working on projects with multiple components and people easy to stay organized and keep track of the progress.

It is easy to use.

Customer service is great.

The WZ team is always looking to improve their product and service

Cons

Being a user (rather than administrator), I don’t do a lot of back end stuff. For my needs, I have no complaints.

Audrey T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WorkZone was the answer!

Reviewed on 2021/01/15

Our experience has been exceptional! The transition had to be put on hold and our representative was fantastic to work through our issues until we were ready to implement. I don't know how we managed our work flow without this product.

Pros

Tracking multiple projects at various stages in the process.

Cons

The cost can be prohibitive, especially in higher education.

Jeffrey H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Workzone gets the job done

Reviewed on 2020/12/21

We use WorkZone for real estate and construction project tracking. It is effective and works well for us.

Pros

Easy to use, but robust in functionality. Also like that WorkZone is frequently and consistently improving the product.

Cons

Recent enhancements have addressed any issues we have had.

Kitty H.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Product

Reviewed on 2019/02/28

A representative is always available to answer questions, offer suggestions.

Pros

Ease of use. Tutorials readily available for all functions. Great customer service--professional, knowledgeable and friendly.

Cons

We don't have any cons to report because the software is very adaptable to our needs and requirements.

Heather C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Association Management

Reviewed on 2019/04/02

We love the ease-of-use. We are a virtual team and Workzone keeps us organized, on-task and cohesive. It is a great value and a sound investment for any company. Customer service is excellent.

Pros

It keeps my team organized and on track.

Cons

Perhaps an integration with Outlook calendar might be helpful.

April W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Work Zone is a great tool for organizations who are looking to focus on project management.

Reviewed on 2019/03/13

The customer service team at Workzone is great. They are very responsive and are always able to help you.

Pros

It's easy to use and it really helps an organization not only request work/projects, but also keep track of them all in one place.

Cons

There really isn't something I don't like about the software.

Jason L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great planning tool

Reviewed on 2019/03/05

Workzone has really help us manage the planning aspect of starting new jobs.

Pros

1. The ability to upload documents
2. Project history is captured no matter what action is taken.
3. To do lists

Cons

Would like better control of when auto-email criteria.

Albert V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Workzone operation process

Reviewed on 2019/06/17

Pros

1. The software is easy to use and understand

Cons

It times out to quickly when using it for a long period of time

Alanna W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy System!

Reviewed on 2020/07/15

The system is extremely easy to use and I love all the reporting. Our account manager is also very helpful.

Pros

The system is very user friendly and easy to learn on the spot.

Cons

Tasks can be tedious to change project dates if you initially enter wrong.

Sandra B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sandy Brooks' Review of Workzone

Reviewed on 2021/01/18

I like that we receive a message that the project has been "accepted" but still falls short on anticipated completion date.

Pros

User friendly, much improved from the past

Cons

Prediction of completion, would like to receive an approximate completion date

Cheryl D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Work Zone

Reviewed on 2019/06/27

It lessens the amount of communication - check the box and it goes forward

Pros

It is easy to design to the platform of information needed

Cons

It does require people to be involved in its success

Ryan D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic Product with Exceptional Support

Reviewed on 2017/10/25

Great Product!

Pros

From initial inquiry into their services to carryout of implementation, Workzone has met my teams needs completely.The product is extremely easy to use and and allows for a diverse range of functionality. Being able to store our data within Workzone was an added bonus and their security is second to none. The rep from the company was eager to answer any questions we had in the initial talks and very thorough in helping us get the request pushed through to start implementing workzone.