92 reviews

Axure RP

Wireframing and prototyping solution

4,4 /5 (92 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,4
/
5
Value for Money
4
Features
4,5
Ease of Use
3,8
Customer Support
4,1
91% recommended this app
92 reviews
Javier A.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Great tool loosing its market

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/10
Review Source: Capterra

Honestly, it is a great tool of its purpose.

Pros

It is by far the best tool to create hi-fi interactive prototypes. No other tool comes close to its features to create interactive behaviors.

These prototypes are so good they can be used for intensive user testing, as users are not able to tell them apart from real apps or websites.

I can mock with Axure in a couple of weeks what would take a dev team months to code and deploy. And that can save huge amounts of development costs.

Cons

Learning to use Axure is complicated. Mostly because of the ton of options, and partly because it is difficult to discover how the internal mechanics operate.

But the biggest con is that when I look into the UX design job market, practically there are no positions requesting knowledge of Axure. Everything is Sketch or Figma, that while great to create UI mockups are no rivals of Axure when creating interactive prototypes. However Axure has lost totally its market appeal.

Probably Axure should have bought Sketch or Figma when it realized it was going to be overwhelm by these tools in the UI authoring arena.

Also unlike Sketch, Axure does not have a 3rd party plugin market. And this closedness has reduced further more its utility.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Good tool for creating mock up for complex application

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

We are reducing the business and development conflicts by generating the mock ups.

Pros

The tool comes with a lot of standard function which is used day to day basis for designer and developers for different application development practice. Learning curve is less compered to it's competitors. You can publish your design and allow user to review and share your feedback. You can also take the output in to your local folders and share with developers so that they can refer as the base of the design and development. The out of box copy feature allows a lot of style and content copying which saves a lot of time.

Cons

The default graphic set is not vast so you might have to rely on some external graphics. Many of the common graphic components are missing, I hope they add quickly

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 51-200 Employees

It is the best software out there to create high fidelity prototypes.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/16
Review Source: Capterra

Getting feedback from clients and users quickly.

Pros

You can create prototypes almost identical as the final product. What I like the most about this software is that you can get feedback from users and clients quickly.

Cons

It takes a lot of time to be a pro using this software but once you learn how to use it you can create prototypes quickly. Also, sometimes it can be frustrating the way some of the simple interactions have to be built to work as the user expect.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Brittane R.

If you're a developer, you need Axure RP

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I've tried many wireframing software and I can safely say that Axure RP has met all my needs. My favourite feature is how easy to use it is. All the mock up features are at your fingertips; shapes, colours, fonts, tags... you name it! All of the necessary wireframing necessities are easy to find and the drag and drop feature makes it hassle free to use.

Cons

If you're going to use this software as an html converter you won't be pleased. Exporting to html does not capture all features and presents several bugs. In my opinion, this tool is best used for mock ups and not necessarily as a html resource. This tool is best used to develop your UI/UX skills, rather than your front end web programming.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Powerful design tool.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Axure RP is a tremendous program compatible with popular operating systems, creating designs where is easy, the program comes with functions that are ready for use.

Cons

one of the major con is its price, but you have to know that the good news is expensive and this tool is worth it for its versatility.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sukhpreet singh W.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Wire-framing

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is most easy tool to create prototypes both functional and conceptual. A user can create HTML prototypes with this tool. It is very simple to use and it has inbuilt codes which will run the HTML functionality.

Cons

In this too, Image cropping is difficult.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Alexandra G.
Industry: Design
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Hard Learning Curve but Amazing Prototyping Tool

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Sketch has a lot of limitations when it comes to prototyping. It really only allows for hotspot clicks to other screens you've created. However, Azure offers all of the prototyping capabilities Sketch doesn't minus the high-fidelity component.

Cons

I have just started using it, mind you I am very proficient in Sketch and all of the Adobe Creative Suites and I am definitely having a harder time grasping all of the ins and outs. I think once I get the hang of it, it will be my go to prototyping tool, but right now there is still a lot I am trying to figure out.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Anton T.
Industry: Renewables & Environment
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Wonderful interactivity modelling

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Full-functional interactivity , nice libraries available, good speed of prototyping once it's learned

Cons

I'd say, steep learning curve. And it's expensive

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer

It is a very good tool to create wireframes and prototypes.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/07/20
Review Source: Capterra

Help friends and colleagues to make web prototypes.

Pros

It allows you to create web prototypes professionally and best of all, they work on any computer and the prototypes can be very similar to the final product.

Cons

It has a very high price and if using it for the first time you do not have previous experience it can seem very complex.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Renny A.
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A rich prototyping tool ideal for testing features ideas with your audience.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

You can create user flows and the actual prototype from the same tool and also publish to an easily accessible web link that makes sharing really easy.

Cons

All tho Axure has fantastic features, the price was a bit to high to acquire given the free prototyping tool landscape.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Hasin A.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

By far the best prototyping tool

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/07/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use, prebuilt functions, third party libraries, the online axure iser community. Someone is always able answer questions.

Cons

Can't handwrite the logic, always need to use the menu. However, you are able to copy/paste logic from one widget to the another.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Joi W.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

A great interactive prototyping tool for developers or designers with graphic design software exp.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love that you can make FUNCTIONAL prototypes with this software! Being able to present a "working prototype" is a huge benefit of this tool. With the use of "behaviors" and "widgets", you can ensure that the stakeholders get a interactive demo BEFORE you start development!

I also love the fact that you can have "pages" that when published can mimic a real working website. The publisher feature of Axure allows you to share prototypes with clients or stakeholders and get feedback from an unique URL. There are so many pre-made widgets out there as well that can be imported for use right in the prototype, making it truly adaptable to development frameworks, like Google Material Design.

Cons

It was easy for me to get up and running using this software given my background and experience with Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator. I think without some background in those applications, this software may have a learning curve.

Also, it may have limitations when compared with web-based versions when it comes to portability of your source files.

The constant updates can be annoying to keep track of, as I often end up with multiple installations instead of a true upgrade, but that could be user error or lack of knowledge of proper Axure updating on my end.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

John H.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great for large scale detailed projects.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Axure can be a beast but it's great for very large scale super detailed projects. If you need to easily tie requirements into your UX work, Axure is perfect for you. Is available for MAC and PC,

Cons

Can be a memory hog. Though it does easily tie requirements into your files, the data it spits out can be lengthy. Layering is very difficult. Does not create interactions easily.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ekaterina B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The best prototyping tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

I am a heavy user of this program. Axure helps to create prototypes of the websites before the web development step. It helps me to discuss and to arrange all the details with the client before web development stage.

Pros

It is one of my favorite tools. As a web developer, I need a tool to prototype future websites. I have been choosing among different solutions, but finally stick with Axure, because IMHO it has the best interface and the widest set of opportunities to implement actions. Especially its work with dynamic panels and its ability to implement animation.

Cons

Works slowly with large files, freezes often, the back-ups aren't 100% accurate sometimes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Cynthia G.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Wonderful tool to wireframe

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/11/16
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I enjoy how intuitive it is to start creating right away. I use Axure to create wireframes and prototypes of applications. Additionally, when I find myself not understanding how the software works, I reference the online materials provided and am able to quickly resolve my issues. Axure provides wonderful documentation and tutorials for beginners, which really led to my understanding of the software and its capabilities. One of my favorite features include being able to comment on the pages and specific elements of the prototype. Another one would be being able to share a prototype through a link, especially being able to put a password on it so only people that I want to access it are able to. I highly recommend Axure for those looking to create mockups and prototypes.

Cons

Something that would really help me create prototypes faster would be providing more templates or drag and drop options. An example of something that would help my line of work is having drag and drop options to make prototypes for mobile apps. Some of the elements might be just having cell phone bodies, or popular cell phone UI buttons and widgets ( ie. back buttons on either iPhone or Android). Axure allows me to create nice prototypes from scratch but I would enjoy being able to use already made elements.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Doug G.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The most advanced prototyping on the market

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/03
Review Source: Capterra

When I need to produce a prototype that users would struggle to distinguish from a fully functional production-ready piece of software, Axure is the way to go. It's not always ideal for smaller quick projects because its more time-intensive and the learning curve is higher than other prototyping tools, but I recommend it if you need the best prototypes you can create.

Pros

This application is incredible at producing realistic/true-to-life​ prototypes of websites and mobile applications. It allows users to produce responsive website prototypes (not-production ready) with intricate interactions, animations, transitions, etc.

Cons

The learning curve is steep, so you have to commit to really understanding the tool well. It's mostly HTML based prototyping, so working with vector designs produced from sketch, figma, and illustrator are a little more challenging than one might desire.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Great App for all UXers

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great for prototyping both basic websites and complex solutions, has plenty features that automate the process, teamwork regime is a blast

Cons

Paid version is a bit pricey, some controls are not very intuitive, other than that it is a great software for any professional UX expert

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jose A.

The application is to my liking I met it 1 month ago due to the matter Information System.

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/01
Review Source: Capterra

The main benefit of the application is that it allowed us to make prototypes allowing the progress and correction of the project without the need for a complete development

Pros

I consider Axure as a very complete tool and at the same time, easy to use, during its trial period we use it (my classmates and me) as a tool to design basic prototypes and some more advanced in the matter. Information system 1 belonging to the degree in Computer Science without the need to program the entire system, another of the advantages of the software is its functionality in any browser because it is HTM and allows you to upload the prototype to a server to send it to the rest of the team. In addition you can find on the internet various libraries, modules, icons and other design elements that can contribute many to the project as well as an extensive amount of tutorials on how to use and exploit the tool in our favor.

Cons

As for the tool itself, we do not find great criticism beyond its high cost for developers and students in Venezuela who lose the opportunity to use this tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Elaine S.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Very proprietary look and feel.

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/07/18
Review Source: Capterra

Interactive prototypes rather than plain jpg mockups.

Pros

I like being able to create interactive prototypes, not just simple mockups. Letting stakeholders click through to see the navigation and flow of an application is infinitely more valuable than static images.

Cons

Seemed like a steep learning curve. It was a bit more complex than I would have liked. Balsamiq proved much easier to pick up on the fly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Kaushal A.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

This is a best tool for create wire frames and prototype

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

Wire framing. I designed complex wire frames and prototypes for my client.

Pros

I like the most about this software is prototyping. We can easily link the pages with each other. We can show the working demo to our clients.

Cons

As such there is no any feature I like least about this software. However, there should be morw tutorials about all the features of this software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great light-weight tool

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Really simple took to create quick wireframes and share designs. Really like the quick share links to solicit feedback and gather comments.

Cons

It's a bit clunky. Compared to other design software, it feels a bit dated and there is a bit of innovation lacking. Does the job, but not cutting any edges here.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Natasha S.

Axure is a pretty great product for wireframkng and prototyping

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's easy to use and has a wide feature set to help designers mock up apps and sites. Their publish features makes it so you can share links with stakeholders.

Cons

It does have some restrictions and does take a while to learn all the abilities and short cuts. So the learning curve is large.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Oscar M.
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

It seems to me that Axure Rp is a versatile and friendly tool for high quality prototypes

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/05/08
Review Source: Capterra

It helps me to develop part of my work

Pros

Axure is a prototyping tool that allows you to simulate web applications, with similarities of a real web page

Cons

The tool is a bit complex to learn how to use it, it has many functions that you must learn to simulate a specific behavior, although user support is fast, sometimes you should make several queries if your problem is a little complicated

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Daniel P.
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Axure RP is good software to create modern prototypes.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

Application that I have used for the creation of prototypes of applications and websites and mobile. I like the interface, the colors, the components and the easy handling. I do not like that you have to buy many components to design simple applications, and the license also has a high cost.

Pros

Its quality is incomparable, the elements are very well defined in the interface. The use and management of it is easy and intuitive, also the components available.

Cons

Creating prototypes is easy, it is difficult to show them because there are browsers that do not support their features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Rupashree

Experience with Axure

Reviewed on 2014/02/18
Review Source: GetApp

This is an awesome tool. It does not make you realize that you are prototyping, feels as if creating the actual product. It provides ultimate features and functionalities. I have been working with this tool for nearly 3 years now and would always recommend to use this.

Pros

Conditional Formatting
Dynamic Panels
Collaborative
Easy to use

Cons

Wish those HTML pages could be directly used and hope to see this work on Ubuntu soon!