Balsamiq Reviews

Balsamiq

Mockups and Rapid Wireframing Tool

4.3/5 (128 reviews)
Rosa G.

Balsamiq Mockups, the most incredible tool for your UI/UX designs

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/04
Review Source: Capterra

I just love using Balsamiq! It makes it really easy and fast to build your mockups. I have use it for both desktop and mobile apps with very good results. Clients usually love its friendly appearance. Since the project can be exported as an interactive PDF (if you programmed any interactions), you can show your clients a simulation of the UX and they just love that. Anyone can program this interactions using the software, you do not require any previous experience, it is just a matter of connecting slides, similar to programing a Power Point presentation. 100% recommended.

Pros

I absolutely adore this tool and have done it for more than five years now. I discover it when I was working as an intern at Intel, and I just fell in love with it. Have use it ever since for a lot of projects that involve interface and user experience design. It is the most intuitive tool, extremely simple but also extremely efficient. It takes almost no time to understand how to use it, it is as simple as dragging and dropping elements from a wide menu to your canvas and start arranging them the way you want your interface to look like. It has a lot of elements to build your design and you can "program" them so that you can simulate user interactions. It makes it so easy to build your mockups and on top of that it is extremely fun to use. If you don´t believe me, try it, you can download a free 30 days trail version. It is available both as a desktop app and online, which is a great option if you are working with a team and multiple people need to access to the files. You can convert it to a PDF version once you are done with the project, which makes it really easy to show it to your customers, peers, clients, etc.

Cons

I know is going to sound like a lie, but I honestly don´t have any complains about this software. If I had to name one, I guess it would be the price, but is not really that expensive and it is totally worth it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ishara M.

specifically for developers and designers

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/28
Review Source: Capterra

This is an efficient and fast program for creating mockups and brainstorming ideas. Easy to use with many features that play a very important role as the beginning point before refining the final design or idea. Also, it's a significant time saver, unlike using paper to illustrate you ideas and eventually waste a lot of time, this program, with its drag and drop wirefram, would allow the users and designers to take control and focus more on details

Pros

Balsamiq-Mockups is a software, made specifically for developers and designers to be able to design layouts and screen mockups. In this article, we are going to illustrate the pros and cons of the program, as well as giving an overview of the software's experience from an end-user's perspective.
1- Easy To Use This is a very quick to learn program, unlike like other programs in the same category where you have to go on courses to learn how to use it. Also, it's got a very simple and user-friendly interface to get you started right away.
2- Light Balsamiq-Mockups is a very light and fast program, yet very efficient. It has a drag and drop feature that is smooth, effective and saves a lot of time.
3- A Variety Of "ready to use" Components Also a time saving factor. It translates brainstorming ideas to the screen in no time. with its wide variety of ready to use components or templates, will save the user a lot of time wasted drawing or creating something from scratch.

Cons

1- Multiple Display Screens The size of the canvas could be improved, as it could be an issue if the user would like to draw multiple screens
2- Not Dynamic Enough The program only exports to certain file formats, which is inefficient to many users.
3- Built-in Shapes If the user wants to build something custom from scratch, Built-in shapes might be a bit restricting. This is definitely an area of improvement to this program.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Ashish V.

Light and Efficient

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

Does the job quickly and efficiently, great to have collaboration​ and prototyping capabilities.

Pros

I mainly use Balsamiq to wireframe ideas, it's light and fast for the job. I like how you can quickly translate ideas to screen in no time in black and white. I use it mostly to create wireframes to present the ideas quickly with the team and brainstorm on top of it. It has ready to use components for different form factors so you don't need to draw/create anything from scratch, just drag and drop. In case you need to run a quick paper prototype usability test, just print your screens and you are good to go.

Cons

Though it is a robust tool to work in silos, it misses the collaboration part. In the cloud age, the expectation is to quickly add team members and take feedback on the flow, structure or the solution itself in real-time. Default small canvas size is also an issue if you need to draw multiple screens, you need to manually configure the canvas size as per your need. Also to make things interactive you need to export the screens in PNG format and use another prototyping tool to connect them all.

Response from Balsamiq Studios

Hi Ashish and thanks for sharing your thoughts!

We definitely agree that collaboration is essential for most teams these days and we recently added many ways to collaborate in real-time in our new web version. More details here: https://docs.balsamiq.com/cloud/collaborating/

About linking your wireframes together, you can actually do it directly from our tool: https://docs.balsamiq.com/cloud/linking/

Hope this helps!

-Virgin

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

I love using Balsamiq as a tool to create simple + effective wireframes for web applications.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/14
Review Source: Capterra

Simplistic nature of the software allows me to design software products quickly and effectively - files are easy to share, and have been very effective in communicating with my dev team.

Pros

I've experimented with several different wireframing softwares, and Balsamiq is definitely my favorite. I love that it focuses on product functionality, rather than design elements. I generally find wireframing for design to be distracting and preventative in coming up with a functional product design. Favorite features include:

- Built-in shape templates make it fast and easy to mockup any sort of software or application
- Black + white, hand-drawn feel removes distractions + allows me to focus on the actual product
- Desktop app has one time license fee
- Exporting to PDF is simple, and you can include links within the PDF that allow the user to mimic clicking between pages

Cons

Although I love the simplistic nature of Balsamiq, some people might be frustrated with the lack of certain functions:

- Wireframe is not dynamic - only exports to static file formats
- Built-in shapes might be restricting if you're looking to build something custom
- Lack of folders, etc for organizing multiple pages, so if you're designing something complex you may find yourself searching for which page you left off on (this is something I would add if possible)

Response from Balsamiq Studios

Hey there! Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your thoughts about our tool. :)

Just wanted to let you know that our hierarchy feature might help you to organize your wireframes/pages: https://docs.balsamiq.com/cloud/overview/#using-a-hierarchy

Hope this helps!

-Virgin

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Shaun R.

Best Wireframe Software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The best attribute of this software is that it is very easy to use and user friendly. There are different versions available that you can either have a free trial or pay for a license. The free version comes with less features but the main ones are still available. Its interface is very easy to use as it is very much drag and drop. You are also able to convert your wireframes into different formats in order to save them, such as pdfs.

Cons

There are very few User Interface elements which is a disadvantage to this software as UI is constantly being updated. There are also little collaborative features to this software, which is a disappointment as you have to physically show others in order to gain feedback instead of inviting them to edit or view.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Caleb B.

A must-have for efficient UI design workflows

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/15
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience with Balsamiq has allowed me to create A to Z interfaces, complete with live links and elements, to test and share concepts with my team. It's made it easy to share ideas for interface design and has become the first step to every new site we build out.

Pros

Balsamiq allows you to make speedy, basic wireframes and nail down all the details of your site/interface before implementing or designing them with graphics. The best feature is being able to depict any possible element used in web design: Menus, radio buttons, text boxes, popups, forms, anything you can imagine. It also allows you to show those items in different states--for instance, if you needed to depict a drop-down menu that had been opened to view all the available drop-down options. The deep customization allows you to work out every detail of an interface before going to production. Revision histories and alternate layouts provide lots of room for creativity--a critical part of building great user interfaces.

Cons

Some of the features, like revision histories, are hard to figure out at first and require a short learning curve. It takes some time to play around with elements and find all the available options, and also requires time to realize what elements are available to use. It's difficult to browse elements and all their states; you have to select them, and then dig deeper within the element's settings.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Keerthi P.

Easiest mock up creation software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

An excellent experience for rapid prototyping and a life saver for requirements discussions

Pros

I have a lot of clients that are not able to clearly express their requirements or visualize the outcome of the project. Step in balsamiq software that helps me to showcase the forms and development of very rapid prototyping screens. The software has the option to create mobile screens, grids, all the easier ux elements in a different sketch format. This gives the client an idea of what the product will look like and also confirm that it is a model and not the final product

Cons

Editing of grids or adding rich text elements is a bit painful process

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Useful low-fidelity mockups that allow designers to communicate flows, not UI

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/01
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to use, drag and drop wireframe and design flow communication tool. Allows for the designer to control the focus of feedback to be at a higher level than UI detailing and really discuss the merit of the experience that is being proposed.

Pros

Balsamiq is a great way to describe the flows (or potential flows) of an application or website, without getting bogged down into UI-level details. The library of low-fi components is super useful to quickly and easily communicate a concept, and have it evaluated at the level that you would like. I like the scrappy styling, as opposed to doing some greyscale geometry in another tool (which just doesn't set the right tone).

Cons

A minor wish I have that I would like Balsamiq to be be able to do, is actually integrate with other tools like Sketch. I'm not sure how that would work, but being able to work using our own design components (we have a shared GUI pack) but then be able to flick over to a "sketchy" versions of these would be super valuable for elements of the screen that are very particular to our products.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Would never start a mockup without it

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/11
Review Source: Capterra

A beautifully created tool that is a pleasure to use.

Pros

It doesn't matter whether it is a web site or a full blow desktop or mobile app, Balsamiq will make it as quick and simple as can be.

One of the things that Balsamiq really shines at is that a newbie can start using it immediately as it has a well thought out userinterface. But then dig deeper under the service, and you'll find all sorts of powerful features that allow even the most complex mockup to be created with ease.

I also love the look of the created mockups. Unlike some tools that try to create photorealistic versions of your design, Balsamiq focuses more on creating a proper wireframe mockup (although other options are avialable) and there actually look darned cool and are very presentable.

Cons

What's not to like. Balsamiq does exactly what it claims to do and it does it beautifully. I've used it for years and I honestly can't think of any times when I thought it was lacking.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Christian B.

Balsamiq for All Your UI Needs

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/01
Review Source: Capterra

I use Balsamiq anytime I need to create user interfaces and get approval from stakeholders. This allows me to rapidly prototype and prepares the team for software development. It is indispensable.

Pros

- Make mockups lightning quick
- Get approval without nit picking
- Very affordable
- Runs on all my computers
- Easily export for sharing
- Import your own graphics

Cons

- It could offer additional built-in templates
- It requires an update to Adobe Air if you don't use it for a while
- Importing media could be a little better
- It would be nice if you could integrate pre-built Javascript scripts into the mockups

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Aaron D.

Essential for communicating website and mobile layouts

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/20
Review Source: Capterra

Balsamiq is the best way to communicate complicated ideas with clients.

Pros

For anything of any complexity, I love using Balsamiq to quickly wireframe what a website, form, mobile app, or component. By keeping with the 'sketch' look, clients don't get sidetracked with imagery, or colors, or fonts - instead they focus on the layout and functionality of the website or app. I love creating navigational PDFs for clients with this tool.

Cons

Sometimes it can be hard to find the right icon - there's got to be some way to search and find them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

The perfect mockup tool for non-designers

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

When I'm collaborating with designers and/or engineers on a new website or mobile app experience, Balsamiq is my go-to resource for creating mockups.

First, it strikes a very good balance between features and complexity; it's quite easy to find, manipulate, and edit the visual elements you need, even though the range of elements is quite large and the "canvas" is so customizable.

Second, the "hand-drawn" style of the elements is perfect for early-stage mockups, because it allows you to create pretty good approximations of the look-and-feel of a user experience without suggesting (or being responsible for/beholden to) pixel-perfect mockups.

Cons

I sometimes wish the Balsamiq team was more aggressive about releasing new visual elements in the tool to reflect new design styles being produced out in the wild, but usually I can either use a similar element or mush other elements together to create the same effect.

And at the end of the day, this isn't a deal-killer--after all, Balsamiq allows you to create approximations and capture the intent of your design, and if there were an endless supply of element options, you might get too caught up in trying to be precise (which hamstrings the designers).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Mockups for Everyone

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/08
Review Source: Capterra

Balsamiq has allowed myself and others at our company to quickly put together mockups to thoroughly explain and show new features or changes we would like to make on our site. They are easy to share and easy for others to understand.

Pros

Balsamiq is one of the most intuitively easy tools I've used in a long time. I had to teach myself how to use Balsamiq and was able to quickly learn the basics on my own and get a page mockup ready in very little time. If you take the time to dive deeper, there are some very complex features that can really improve your mockups as well.

Cons

The only real complaint I have about Balsamiq is that the search feature doesn't work very well. It seems as though a lot of the assets available to you are not tagged correctly which can make searching almost ineffective. It is usually easier to dig through the category menus when looking for a specific asset.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

My first rapid wireframing experience turned a success thanks to Balsamiq

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/18
Review Source: Capterra

One of the best tools I've discovered recently. Cheap and easy to use. A must have for quick back and forth on your UX plans.

Pros

Great tutorial to get you started, a ton of elements to use out of the box to create wireframes quickly and painlessly.
Balsamiq is perfect for someone with no wireframing experience. The process of transferring your vision to a visual design is a breeze for a person with no experience in graphic design so your product owners and stakeholders could use it too.
I love the rough-edged design of the app, and the free-handed look your initial designs get but you can make things more presentable if needed.

I am using a Google Drive addition for only $5 a month and couldn't be happier with the value for the money. Only the editors need a license. Any number of people can view your designs that you can share like regular Google docs, slides, or sheets.

Cons

There are several different fields you can use to comment and write descriptions, so it can be confusing as to where to put the most important information about the design so that your team can always see it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Few things to know about Balsamiq

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/17
Review Source: Capterra

Must to have a product like this for building prototype.

Pros

1. A very good tool to learn wireframing and the concept of wireframing.
2. I am glad to say that it provides a top notch level of UX that helps me a lot to build wireframe of any display quickly and easily.

Cons

1. Limited access to icon library there can be scope of improving it.
2. Boring user interface as it don’t attacts me just because it doesn’t have any color options.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Rahul Y.

Effective and easy to handle Mock-up Tool around !!

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

As a BA, whenever we receive technical specification from the client and break these down to user cases, it becomes important for us to design Mock-ups and confirm if we are on the same page as to the client before we rush into development to do so Balsmiq Mock-up is the one of the best tool around.
Designing the User interface design is faster with available element in User interface library. Just need to pick and drop items in the mock-up.
It is simple & easy to master. Interactive prototypes can be easily created by linking the mock-ups together to give operation view in the real time.
When you are done with prototyping the requirement then export option is also available. Either you can export the single mock-up or all together in PNG format or export the Mock-up as PDF. Export to PDF option is my personal favourite as I usually attach the mock-up in mail and share initial design with client and hence entice their feedback that let us to improve our design as directly from customer perspective. PDF exported file facilitates navigation between mockups through links present in pdf ensuring better understanding of functionality to the client.
It also has chat box and multiple user can operate simultaneously to create mock-ups and access the existing mock up as well . This provides the better communication between the team member and a quality experience of software development
It facilitate plugin from Google drive and Zora allowing to add mockup to and issue.

Cons

I think the tool lacks in integration with other tools that are used in software design as well as export option is limited to export as PDF or PNG and you can't Print to the printer directly. Except that I think it's a wonderful tool as it's web, desktop as well
as Google drive plug in is available

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Excellent for Quick Mockups

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/22
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using Mockups before I start building websites or apps because it helps me visualize what I want my project to look like and to see how each element will look next to each other. Although I use other design/prototyping tools, I find that doing low fidelity mockups on Balsamiq is a lot quicker and more efficient because it helps eliminate assets and design elements that I don't need for my projects so that I don't waste too much time when creating a higher fidelity prototype.

Pros

This software was very easy to use due to its clean, basic interface and great keyboard shortcuts. I like that you can change the skin of your mockups with a cartoonish hand-drawn look or a more cleaner wireframe for that professional look. I also like the fact that it's a one time payment only and NOT a monthly subscription that you have to pay to use, especially in this day and age when almost everything is moving towards subscription based services.

Cons

I don't really have much negative things to say about Mockups just because it does what it was designed to do, but it would be great if there was an Android/IOS app for people who want to create really quick mockups on the go.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

If you talk about mockups, you are talk of Balsamiq

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Have to describe an app? no problem. Create mockups and link all it.
Have to describe a flow? no problem. Create using mockups.
Have to describa an application? no problem. You have Balsamiq.
Can use everywhere, also inside google and Atlassian products.

Cons

Cost can be a problem, but my opinion is: spend a lot and earn the great results :)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Justina E.

Short learning curve.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Balsamiq has a short learning curve and comes with a simplified user interface,making it easy for new users to understand its work environment.
It comes with a great search feature which makes it easy for me to search faster for graphical images needed for my wireframes.

Cons

I wish I am able to integrate my Balsamiq with other great design tools like Adobe XD,Invision, and Edraw max pro. which I currently am unable to do. Thereby missing out on ways to make my wireframes better.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Gulshan K.

Best to create mockups and wireframes

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/30
Review Source: Capterra

Well, my over experience is good and using this software from few months. Hope i won't get any hurdle.

Pros

It is always a challenge to show how the software will look like before developing it, but with balsamiq it is actually possible by creating mockups very easily. I love the user interface. I use to create mockups and wireframes them in a proper way to show to them to my clients.
To show them the progress i create flowchart which is easy to build and export it in pdf or png which is another good feature and i like it.
It has huge UI library which is very helpful.

Cons

Multiple displays organizations not supported in balsamiq.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Brice P.

A no-frills mock-up platform

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

It served its purpose nicely, and was a big help for our small business to manage software development. It may not be the most comprehensive, but it will certainly get the job done.

Pros

I used this software in my previous job to design new service features for our content management products. Balsamiq was useful in being able to very quickly sketch out and edit mock-ups and then share them with our development team. I liked the visual style they employed (made to look like hand-drawn sketches), and the palette of components, including smart phone screens, which were very nice when doing mobile compatibility layouts.

Cons

The software could be slow at times, and it lacked certain design I would have otherwise expected to find in a standard mock-up program. I would suggest looking at the hosted version instead of downloading.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Casen S.

Very Useful Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/11/01
Review Source: Capterra

For what it is, it is amazing. Very good software that needs to be supplemented with additional programs for further refinement. I highly recommend it.

Pros

It's incredibly Simple. I can generate a usable wireframe mock-up in just 10 or 15 minutes with the use of symbols and default options

Cons

It just doesn't quite go where I'd like it to go. It's not easy to refine designs and it has some unusual export options (misplaced alpha channels and such)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Great Tool For Price-Conscious Users

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/20
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Balsamiq is lightweight is the way to go as far as wireframing for products, websites, and apps. It requires very little training to begin using other than general knowledge of design and prototyping.

Cons

Limited options for exporting/integrate with other tools in the design process. Charging users per project instead of a monthly fee is a bit odd for a product used on a fairly regular basis.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Rohit Y.

Good tool for wireframing!!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/11/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Balsamic is a wire framing Tool and best for designing mobile and website apps mock-ups. It is a tool which is easy to learn and use can create mock-ups easily just by drag and drop.
Last but not the least, it is a fast and reliable tool.

Cons

While using I didnt see anything which I have liked the least as it is very good tool for beginners.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Quick to create wireframe

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

1. Time it takes to create wireframe is few mins.
2. All the components required to build is available on the tool.

Cons

Not very interactive when it comes to the click through wire framing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10