OmniGraffle Reviews

OmniGraffle

Diagramming tool

4.7/5 (26 reviews)
Juan T.

LOVE THIS APP I find it indispensable on my macs

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/28
Review Source: Capterra

This application just gets better with each release, the developers really listen to what the users want and they have made a standard and pro model based on how much you want to spend and what features you need. As a a developer I find this easy to use to show ideas and create workflows or prototypes.

Pros

The ability to pretty much model or diagram anything you need from remodeling your house to building a new website. You can pretty much create any type of layout with real scaled models. The number of templates and icons within the app are good but the user base has created and shared a whole bunch of available templates for everything.

Cons

The newer versions with layering have made the learning curve a little steeper, it use to be a real simple app. The con is for you to make a presentable model you will have to spend some time in the app.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Thomas R.

Great tool for Macs!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The design capabilities of OmniGraffle Pro are excellent. Multiple layers for objects, plenty of formatting options for text and graphic objects, and easy to use and create templates, are all hallmarks of this application. It's pretty easy to build a library of art that can be re-used, and it's relatively simple to share that library across multiple users. There are also a number of already-made libraries of graphic items that can be downloaded and used. I use this tool regularly for flow charting and process mapping for professional use, as well as some design work for personal use.

Cons

It would be nice to see some connectivity features added, perhaps something like a "web part" that could return a graph from Google Charts or data from another API.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Nathan M.

Flexible, powerful, somewhat quirky OS X native Visio alternative

Reviewed on 2016/03/29
Review Source: GetApp

OmniGraffle is marketed largely as an OS X native alternative to Visio, but it shines as a separate product in its own right, and a perfect accompaniment to Adobe CS for technical drawing. It's fine for all those Visio-ish things, org charts and information maps and whatever else, but I mostly use it for circuit diagrams and other 2-D technical drawings, and it works very well for these purposes.

Pros

Flexible units, canvas sizes, pen colors, objects, magnet positions, routing algorithms, etc.; it does pretty much anything you'd expect, and then some. The ability to specify double lines with outline and gap color is especially useful for my purposes: automotive wiring diagrams where wires often have a main color and one or two tracer colors. I also use OmniGraffle for diagramming fluid flow in fuel and cooling systems. It's great for all such symbolic diagramming.

Cons

Object libraries are a bit wanting, as are the tools for drawing custom objects (I prefer to draw custom objects in Illustrator, and import them). But that's about it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Scott B.

Great alternative to Visio for the Mac

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like pretty much everything about this software. It is easy to create flows and drawings for my projects. There are numerous stencils available online for download which improve my productivity.

Cons

I wish I could export directly to native Visio format instead of Visio XML for sharing files with clients.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Alexander A.

Have no fear... OmniGraffle is here! (Don't even think of looking at Illustrator.)

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

For most "business"-related or academic tasks, you don't need Illustrator to make a quick schematic. It'd be overkill. And for most people, learning Illustrator is hard. To the contrary, OmniGraffle is specifically designed for making professional-looking, crisp vector graphics in a very intuitive and effortless way. Like other Omni Group products (e.g., the excellent OmniFocus task management software), OmniGraffle is robust and packed with features. But it's also user-friendly and easy to understand and use. It's the perfect choice for technical schematics, circuit diagrams, org charts, flowcharts, wireframe diagrams, etc.

Cons

I wish there were more high-quality free stencils in the Stencil Town marketplace. Most of the nice ones cost some money. This doesn't detract from the software at all -- you can create whatever you want from scratch -- but if you'd like to jump ahead and use some nice "clipart-style" vector graphics, you might end up spending a few bucks like I did!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Yeni O.

Serves my wireframing needs well.

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Using Omnigraffle for my projects makes me work faster.I like the ease at which I am able to tweak my wireframes ,flows and maps on this program.I am provided with loads of templates to aid the quality of my work and draw inspiration from.
It is cross platform and this fits well with the nature of my job,which almost forbids me being behind my desk regularly .With Omnigraffle ,I stay in control of my projects even while on the move and I am able to quickly make amendment to my wireframes ,if there is a need to.

Cons

It is obviously far from the most intuitive diagramming tool I have used and takes far too much time to learn for new users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

OmniGraffle is indispensable for creating publication-quality graphics

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/07
Review Source: Capterra

Create publication-quality graphics
Illustrate complex systems

Pros

Draw on a fixed size canvas, what you see is what you get on the print -- very helpful for IEEE/ACM papers
Magnets and grid that connect and align objects
So many features and shortcut keys that I am still discovering, but all features are to maximize productivity

Cons

Learning curve is steep.
Documentation is still very long. Should have a shorter getting started documents that introduce all key concepts of OmniGraffle

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Solid Layout tool, Very nice UI

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/23
Review Source: Capterra

It's a solid tool, and if you need a native flowchart/layout app to help with flows, this is the one. However, it's not as functional or collaborative as other tools out there.

Pros

The UI is familiar to those familiar with Sketch and other Design-based software. The Ui is clean and gives you a lot to work with. Nice for laying out flows and for VERY simple wireframes.

Cons

Feels somewhere inbetween a vector-based design tool and a flowchart/layout tool. It does both good, but neither great. Also, it's not as collaborative as other tools out there. The rage right now is real-time collaboration. Omnigraffle requires you to attach and share files.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Daniel D.

OmniGraffle - Better Than Visio

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

This is an outstanding piece of software for creating diagrams. On the Mac there is nothing better.

Pros

If you are a Mac User and need something to replace Visio, or just need a good diagraming program I would highly recommend OmniGraffle. It is easy to use, has a great set of features, and allows you to create powerful documents. It can't be beat.

Cons

I would love to see them offer this solution on Windows. I think there is a great opportunity there.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Andrew H.

Multipurpose diagramming and design software

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have been an omnigraffle user for around 7 years now. I have used it to layout tiles for tiling floors and backsplashes, laying out designs for audio visual systems for signal flow and also have use it for designing patterns used to cut out stage design pieces on a CNC router. Line routing is very helpful for making signal flow diagrams. An extensive stencil library covering a variety of industries is a huge benefit making this software useful for many different purposes. Multiple export options of your document is also a huge plus.

Cons

It has a little bit of a learning curve in the beginning but if you have any previous experience with other design software it is not too difficult to learn Omnigraffle.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

I regularly use OmniGraffle for creating process flow charts and influence diagrams.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/01
Review Source: Capterra

Easily clarify complex thought processes.

Pros

OmniGraffle is very easy to use. It allows a user to create lucid charts that capture the essence of the logic of a process. I particularly like the fact that arcs drawn from one object to another are drawn such that they virtually pass through the center of an object so that arrowheads don't pile up on each other. One of the best features of OmniGraffle is that it allows a user to create layers that can be turned off and on to reveal successive layers when talking through the build-up of a process map.

Cons

OmniGraffle is packed with so many features that it can be difficult sometimes to figure out how to use those features in a chart as the supporting documentation is a little thin.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

This product helps us organize projects and as an admin it's easy to download and set up on laptops.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Project organization just got easier with this software

Pros

This software it's used mainly by our engineering team and production team. They use it to help them organize and prepare projects.

Cons

It is very expensive and wish that they offered a bulk plan to be able to assign multiple users to this account.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

One of the Best Apps to create Diagrams, flowcharts, org charts, and layouts

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of use of this app due to the intuitiveness is the best feature. It's very easy to convert your thoughts to a presentable form/diagram easily.

Cons

Actually nothing. May be there are a lot of features that I do not use currently. But havent found anythign that I dislike yet.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Great tool to quickly create content maps, site maps and more

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/11/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The quick drag and drop shapes make creating site maps, user flows, content maps, user flows, etc.
The familiarity of the shapes, line tools, arrows, etc. can make quick work of projects that would take much longer in a program such as Illustrator.

Cons

If more sharing with team features and collaborative notes were added, it would definitely add even more to the app. It's great for building site maps quickly!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Versatile and easy, provides all your diagram-making needs

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

OmniGraffle Pro is a diagram making software that enables you to create different types of diagrams, graphs or model. Possibilities for diagram making are endless. There are many graph needed for our company's clients' websites, which I made through OmniGraffle Pro. The layouts are almost limitless with lots of different graphs, diagrams, and models which are highly modifiable depending on my own measurements.

Cons

The unavailability in different operating system is a downside especially that my workplace desktop operated on windows.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Hands Down, teh Best Mac Tool for Diagramming

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/20
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

For beginners, the program has useful stencils and templates that you can get for free to get you started. You can also import illustrator assets if you feel more comfortable creating vector assets in that program.

Cons

Hard to find much wrong with the software. The mobile iOs client is a little archaic - however, it works.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Great app to quickly mock up any project

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is quite easy to work with predefined objects. Whether you want to make a website wireframe or a mobile app UI, you can quickly set the elements and reuse them. I’ve used it even to build my office setup, once I built the objects representing the furniture I could make multiple proposals in no time, and see if everything fit.

Cons

It’s not very easy to make stencils from scratch, but not impossible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
James T.

Wireframes have never been easier

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

1) The tools is so stripped down and simple you can figure it out in an afternoon
2) And yet, there is nothing stopping you from making clean and exact wireframes
3) It is so functional yet simple, I use it in place of Adobe Illustrator when making some graphics
4) There is a trial, use it

Cons

There is a lot of clicking around for some basic functions I use over and over again. I wish the shortcut options were a little clearer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Florian cosmin S.

This is an amazing diagramming and graphical tool

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software is full of features and practically you can make any diagram. We are using this and our diagrams stand out compared to the others.

Cons

The software is not really easy to use and you need a bigger period to get familiar with the features and tricks.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Alex W.

Not an easy transition from the competing product

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/19
Review Source: Capterra

I have not been impressed. Costly, doesn't allow for an easy transition from Visio. Not user friendly in my opinion.

Pros

It has the features of Visio (supposedly)

Cons

It is a very hard transition from Visio, it does not work the same way.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Henry E.

Good system for drawing on the Mac

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to draw quick diagrams on the Mac - flowcharts too.

Cons

Little hard to figure this out and learn exactly how the system worked - reminds me of Photoshop in that way.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Eric W.

Great for making charts

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/17
Review Source: Capterra

Wonderful

Pros

Flexible enough to make just about any type of information graphics

Cons

Takes a while to learn how to use it if you aren’t familiar with the workflows

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Draw me a process

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the slick interface, the computing power of the application and the fact that you can easily arrange sbhapes to make your graph look great.

Cons

As the application is not cloud based, it is time consuming to upload your graph and share it with collaborator. Draw.oio is a better alternative there

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Full featured

Reviewed on 2015/11/25
Review Source: GetApp

After using Microsoft Visio for years, it was not easy to get going with a similar diagramming app in Mac. However we found OmniGraffle the best in its class with an intuitive user interface and capability to import / export multiple formats. You will find it very easy to create or import your own stencils and start creating professional looking diagrams instantly.

Pros

- Easy to use
- Intuitive (yet powerful) user interface
- Ability to create custom stencils easily

Cons

- Limited support for complex SVG files
- Limited support for visio documents and stencils
- Limited set of built-in stencils

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Kim D.

A slick diagramming tool for easy visualizations

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/22
Review Source: Capterra

We mainly use Omnigraffle to diagram workflows and content maps, and it has been a very useful tool in the short time that we've been using it!

Pros

For me, I like that the program can export your designs in a number of formats (PDF, JPEG, etc).

Cons

I wish it had the ability to allow for team collaboration. To be able to have multiple people edit the same file would be nice to have.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10