34 reviews
Overall rating
4,6
/
5
Value for Money
4,4
Features
4,5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4
97% recommended this app
34 reviews
Alexander H.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The swiss army knife

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/17
Review Source: Capterra

It makes it ridiculously easy for me to sketch out brainstorming ideas and send them to the team. And they look professional.

Pros

Essentially if you want to create a diagram, you can make it in OmniGraffle. It has stencils for brainstorming, UML, AWS diagrams, site mapping, almost any kind of diagram and that is amazing. You could easily just have one piece of software.

Cons

It can do too much. It can do brainstorming, UML diagrams, app mockups, vector drawing... and it's not the best tool at many of those things. You just have to know what you can do quickly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Charles M.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Excellent Alternative to Visio for Mac Users

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/21
Review Source: Capterra

My go-to tool for non-trivial wireframe, laster-cut, IT architectural diagrams. This is a powerful feature rich tool and its import / export capabilities allow me to exchange work with Visio users.

Pros

Professional graphics with many import / export options. Outstanding for making flow charts, org charts and architectural diagrams for IT. Also a great tool for designing laser cut templates for on-line services as the object oriented approach is dimensionally correct and the wide format options improves chances you will meet the services' file format requirements.

Cons

Some of the features take a while to master. This is not a tool that you will pick up quickly or that you would use to create a drawing for a simple business presentation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Damon D.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Easy To Use After Learning Curve

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I use OmniGraffle Pro on my Mac desktop for engineering design documentation. The tool is generally easy to use after learning a few key combinations for editing. It is easy to center and line up objects using the very smart alignment tools. The default shapes are nice and clean and objects with curves render smoothly. There is a lot of functionality that might not be immediately obvious until you start using the tool.

Cons

I have difficulty manipulating the connection lines. The key combinations to edit a line position are not immediately obvious and I had to use outside resources to figure it out.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Omnigraffle is Visio for Mac

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/28
Review Source: Capterra

I love omnigraffle helps me wireframe or produce flow documents of any process or project I am working on.

Pros

Oh my so many things you can do with this layers check, a good library of stencils, check solid community of users check many more checks to count

Cons

The only thing I would say on the downside of things is there are so many ways to use this product and finding the more advanced features will take a lot of mastery of use of the product.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Nathan M.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Flexible, powerful, somewhat quirky OS X native Visio alternative

Reviewed on 2016/03/29
Review Source: GetApp

OmniGraffle is marketed largely as an OS X native alternative to Visio, but it shines as a separate product in its own right, and a perfect accompaniment to Adobe CS for technical drawing. It's fine for all those Visio-ish things, org charts and information maps and whatever else, but I mostly use it for circuit diagrams and other 2-D technical drawings, and it works very well for these purposes.

Pros

Flexible units, canvas sizes, pen colors, objects, magnet positions, routing algorithms, etc.; it does pretty much anything you'd expect, and then some. The ability to specify double lines with outline and gap color is especially useful for my purposes: automotive wiring diagrams where wires often have a main color and one or two tracer colors. I also use OmniGraffle for diagramming fluid flow in fuel and cooling systems. It's great for all such symbolic diagramming.

Cons

Object libraries are a bit wanting, as are the tools for drawing custom objects (I prefer to draw custom objects in Illustrator, and import them). But that's about it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Yeni O.
Industry: Computer Software

Serves my wireframing needs well.

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Using Omnigraffle for my projects makes me work faster.I like the ease at which I am able to tweak my wireframes ,flows and maps on this program.I am provided with loads of templates to aid the quality of my work and draw inspiration from.
It is cross platform and this fits well with the nature of my job,which almost forbids me being behind my desk regularly .With Omnigraffle ,I stay in control of my projects even while on the move and I am able to quickly make amendment to my wireframes ,if there is a need to.

Cons

It is obviously far from the most intuitive diagramming tool I have used and takes far too much time to learn for new users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Research
Company size: 201-500 Employees

OmniGraffle is indispensable for creating publication-quality graphics

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/07
Review Source: Capterra

Create publication-quality graphics
Illustrate complex systems

Pros

Draw on a fixed size canvas, what you see is what you get on the print -- very helpful for IEEE/ACM papers
Magnets and grid that connect and align objects
So many features and shortcut keys that I am still discovering, but all features are to maximize productivity

Cons

Learning curve is steep.
Documentation is still very long. Should have a shorter getting started documents that introduce all key concepts of OmniGraffle

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Steven S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Powerful Architecture Diagram Tool

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/05/31
Review Source: Capterra

Use OmniGraffle Pro for quick diagrams to review with the engineering team, as well as more structured diagrams for presenting concepts to stakeholders.

Pros

Very powerful tool for UML and other diagram conventions. Ability to map out system interactions and present in a clear format. Export to image format or save as a graffle file for future editing and collaboration.

Cons

Feature-rich interface can appear daunting for beginners and this creates a steep, but short, learning curve.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Andrew H.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Multipurpose diagramming and design software

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have been an omnigraffle user for around 7 years now. I have used it to layout tiles for tiling floors and backsplashes, laying out designs for audio visual systems for signal flow and also have use it for designing patterns used to cut out stage design pieces on a CNC router. Line routing is very helpful for making signal flow diagrams. An extensive stencil library covering a variety of industries is a huge benefit making this software useful for many different purposes. Multiple export options of your document is also a huge plus.

Cons

It has a little bit of a learning curve in the beginning but if you have any previous experience with other design software it is not too difficult to learn Omnigraffle.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ryan R.
Industry: Consumer Electronics
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Block Diagram Creation

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/03/16
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, omnigraffle did exactly what it was supposed to do and did it well.

Pros

Omnigraffle is fantastic alternative to Visio for use on MacOS. It makes creating block diagrams of complex systems fairly easy. The interface is clean and the software was reliable.

Cons

At times, I found it hard to customize existing shapes or create new custom shapes. This was not really a deal breaker, just a mild annoyance.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Thomas R.

Great tool for Macs!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The design capabilities of OmniGraffle Pro are excellent. Multiple layers for objects, plenty of formatting options for text and graphic objects, and easy to use and create templates, are all hallmarks of this application. It's pretty easy to build a library of art that can be re-used, and it's relatively simple to share that library across multiple users. There are also a number of already-made libraries of graphic items that can be downloaded and used. I use this tool regularly for flow charting and process mapping for professional use, as well as some design work for personal use.

Cons

It would be nice to see some connectivity features added, perhaps something like a "web part" that could return a graph from Google Charts or data from another API.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Scott B.

Great alternative to Visio for the Mac

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like pretty much everything about this software. It is easy to create flows and drawings for my projects. There are numerous stencils available online for download which improve my productivity.

Cons

I wish I could export directly to native Visio format instead of Visio XML for sharing files with clients.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Alexander A.

Have no fear... OmniGraffle is here! (Don't even think of looking at Illustrator.)

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

For most "business"-related or academic tasks, you don't need Illustrator to make a quick schematic. It'd be overkill. And for most people, learning Illustrator is hard. To the contrary, OmniGraffle is specifically designed for making professional-looking, crisp vector graphics in a very intuitive and effortless way. Like other Omni Group products (e.g., the excellent OmniFocus task management software), OmniGraffle is robust and packed with features. But it's also user-friendly and easy to understand and use. It's the perfect choice for technical schematics, circuit diagrams, org charts, flowcharts, wireframe diagrams, etc.

Cons

I wish there were more high-quality free stencils in the Stencil Town marketplace. Most of the nice ones cost some money. This doesn't detract from the software at all -- you can create whatever you want from scratch -- but if you'd like to jump ahead and use some nice "clipart-style" vector graphics, you might end up spending a few bucks like I did!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Solid Layout tool, Very nice UI

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/23
Review Source: Capterra

It's a solid tool, and if you need a native flowchart/layout app to help with flows, this is the one. However, it's not as functional or collaborative as other tools out there.

Pros

The UI is familiar to those familiar with Sketch and other Design-based software. The Ui is clean and gives you a lot to work with. Nice for laying out flows and for VERY simple wireframes.

Cons

Feels somewhere inbetween a vector-based design tool and a flowchart/layout tool. It does both good, but neither great. Also, it's not as collaborative as other tools out there. The rage right now is real-time collaboration. Omnigraffle requires you to attach and share files.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Daniel D.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 11-50 Employees

OmniGraffle - Better Than Visio

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

This is an outstanding piece of software for creating diagrams. On the Mac there is nothing better.

Pros

If you are a Mac User and need something to replace Visio, or just need a good diagraming program I would highly recommend OmniGraffle. It is easy to use, has a great set of features, and allows you to create powerful documents. It can't be beat.

Cons

I would love to see them offer this solution on Windows. I think there is a great opportunity there.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rene S.
Industry: Apparel & Fashion
Company size: 11-50 Employees

One of the best diagram tools I've used.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/03
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using omnigraffle to design my business flow process charts including software implementation and project management. Every time I require any kind of process flow charts I design them with omnigraffle.

Pros

You can design any kind of diagrams, charts, etc. You can export them to different type of formats that make it easier to visualize and organize.

Cons

I am a mac user, never had any problems or complains with it. Works just fine with everything i need.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Best UX Software outthere

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/19
Review Source: Capterra

I have had a great experience with this software it's definitely my go-to.

Pros

This software's amazing. Very user-friendly and most importantly is that it maintains the UX Designer focus on the wireframe. Other software is very heavily on the design that sometimes you might end up losing focus.

Cons

Better curation for the stencils that are included in the Omnigraffle website. There are quite some that are useless.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Management Consulting

I regularly use OmniGraffle for creating process flow charts and influence diagrams.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/01
Review Source: Capterra

Easily clarify complex thought processes.

Pros

OmniGraffle is very easy to use. It allows a user to create lucid charts that capture the essence of the logic of a process. I particularly like the fact that arcs drawn from one object to another are drawn such that they virtually pass through the center of an object so that arrowheads don't pile up on each other. One of the best features of OmniGraffle is that it allows a user to create layers that can be turned off and on to reveal successive layers when talking through the build-up of a process map.

Cons

OmniGraffle is packed with so many features that it can be difficult sometimes to figure out how to use those features in a chart as the supporting documentation is a little thin.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

This product helps us organize projects and as an admin it's easy to download and set up on laptops.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Project organization just got easier with this software

Pros

This software it's used mainly by our engineering team and production team. They use it to help them organize and prepare projects.

Cons

It is very expensive and wish that they offered a bulk plan to be able to assign multiple users to this account.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Gena A.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Solid Tool for Various Visualizations

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Omnigraffle is an easy to use tool with a wide variety of available stencils to help you rapidly create visualizations. It also has a ton export format options.

Cons

Converting Vizio files for use almost always results in display issues. There are a few unusual hot keys that take some time to get used to.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

One of the Best Apps to create Diagrams, flowcharts, org charts, and layouts

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of use of this app due to the intuitiveness is the best feature. It's very easy to convert your thoughts to a presentable form/diagram easily.

Cons

Actually nothing. May be there are a lot of features that I do not use currently. But havent found anythign that I dislike yet.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Arts & Crafts
Company size: Self Employed

Great tool to quickly create content maps, site maps and more

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/11/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The quick drag and drop shapes make creating site maps, user flows, content maps, user flows, etc.
The familiarity of the shapes, line tools, arrows, etc. can make quick work of projects that would take much longer in a program such as Illustrator.

Cons

If more sharing with team features and collaborative notes were added, it would definitely add even more to the app. It's great for building site maps quickly!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Versatile and easy, provides all your diagram-making needs

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

OmniGraffle Pro is a diagram making software that enables you to create different types of diagrams, graphs or model. Possibilities for diagram making are endless. There are many graph needed for our company's clients' websites, which I made through OmniGraffle Pro. The layouts are almost limitless with lots of different graphs, diagrams, and models which are highly modifiable depending on my own measurements.

Cons

The unavailability in different operating system is a downside especially that my workplace desktop operated on windows.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Hands Down, teh Best Mac Tool for Diagramming

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/20
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

For beginners, the program has useful stencils and templates that you can get for free to get you started. You can also import illustrator assets if you feel more comfortable creating vector assets in that program.

Cons

Hard to find much wrong with the software. The mobile iOs client is a little archaic - however, it works.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: Self Employed

Great app to quickly mock up any project

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is quite easy to work with predefined objects. Whether you want to make a website wireframe or a mobile app UI, you can quickly set the elements and reuse them. I’ve used it even to build my office setup, once I built the objects representing the furniture I could make multiple proposals in no time, and see if everything fit.

Cons

It’s not very easy to make stencils from scratch, but not impossible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10