Showing 219 reviews of 217

Overall rating

4,2 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
83%
recommended this app
Showing 219 reviews of 217
Shannon M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Great product...poor performance in QBO

Reviewed on 2019/01/08

Support has been mediocre. The current issue is on it's 4th month with no anticipated resolution timeframe. In the meantime my client is paying me to manually enter these and reconcile Avalara to ensure that the system reports the proper totals as well as to educate their support team. I feel bad that they are paying a lot of money for a product that is not functional...to my knowledge, all of my requests to get them a credit for their inconvenience and the product issues have been ignored. As the title states, a great product "in theory", but it needs to work! Sales Tax is nothing to screw around with.

Pros

Avalara has a great concept if it works as designed. Auto-calculates sales tax based on address, ensures updated tax rates, filing assistance for multiple states...it really is a business owners friend...in theory.

Cons

Unfortunately, Avalara does not work well with QBO. There seem to be many bugs experienced with QBO. We have used Avalara with QBO for over 1yr and seem to be their guinea pig to alert them of issues. Currently, Avalara's connection is preventing us from saving and updating invoices in QBO and is not posting tax to the Avatax console for approx. 50% of our $2mil/mo client. We have to manually enter each invoice into Avatax to ensure that the proper taxes are paid. Unfortunately, if we need to update a class, memo, email address or any other aspect of the invoice (not related to ST) we cannot update those 50% of transactions. After support reviewed the issues multiple times, they tried to blame the issue on QBO. But when we disconnect the QBO from Avalara and try to do the same transaction - it works...so Intuit has confirmed the issue is isolated to

Response from Avalara

Shannon, we're sorry to read you've experienced challenges using AvaTax with QBO. We understand it's been frustrating, and we'd like to address your concerns. If you're open to a conversation, we'd like to learn more about your specific experience and how we can improve. Please contact our VP of Customer Excellence Bobby Sands at [email protected]

Reanna R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Security & Investigations
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Takes the hassle out of filing taxes

Reviewed on 2018/11/27

Pros

- Portal is easy enough to navigate. Lots of training and tutorials provided
- "Set it and forget it" .. well not exactly .. you still have to monitor and reconcile monthly to ensure everything is running smoothly. But saves a lot of time logging in and figuring out how to file taxes monthly for each state.
- Reporting is very transparent. Easy to download reports, and compile and save info for auditing purposes.

Cons

- Use Tax functionality is not fully automated for all software. We use NetSuite, and there's no way to capture Use Tax on Expense Reports so these must still be entered into Avalara manually.
- Customer Support is sometimes lacking. It takes forever to get a hold of someone on the phone, and when you do, many of the times the case just gets escalated to someone else so no immediate help. Also, they may point you to an article online that you've already found by Googling on your own.

Greg H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Avalara review

Reviewed on 2019/03/19

Avalara Avatax for SAP is one of the key add-ons that our users use to get their job done on time.

Pros

Using the add-on for SAP has made tax calculations something that our users don't ever worry about when performing their work in SAP.

Cons

Customer services is a bit on the slow side. We have a user that occasionally calls for support and waits nearly an hour before getting service.

Response from Avalara

Thank you for sharing about your experience with the AvaTax integration with SAP, we're happy to hear it's been positive. We are committed to offering a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Tim C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simply the best in sales tax management

Reviewed on 2019/10/01

Automation of sales tax management provides enormous value.

Pros

Avalara integrates with every major accounting system and seamlessly calculates sales tax on all transactions. Reporting is excellent and filing is easy. Sales tax no longer hurts.

Cons

No complaints about Avalara. I've been a customer for over 8 years.

Response from Avalara

Tim, thank you for sharing about your experience with Avalara, we're happy to hear it's been positive. We are committed to offering a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we look forward to continuing to serve you.

Brian G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Customer Service is Horrible

Reviewed on 2019/08/19

My company and I decided to outsource our sales tax filings in the 3rd quarter of 2018 in the wake of the impactful "Wayfair" sales tax ruling. I have to say that our experience thus far has been wholeheartedly disappointing. It is a textbook case of a vendor over promising and under delivering. Avalara failed to support us during the implementation period in that we could not even reach our implementation specialist for nearly a month after contracting with them! We were reassigned a new specialist who was very hands off and over promised their ability to reach our go live date. In addition since we went live we have been passed onto 4 different account managers in 7 months, only one of which seemed to particularly care about our account. Sadly he has since moved on. They disavow mistakes and responsibility for failure to register their clients in the requested states and their customer support consists of sending you dozens of links to their online handbook. If you are looking for sales tax help I HIGHLY suggest your company look elsewhere.

Pros

Not much really. It is mostly out of necessity that we must use Avalara otherwise we would be spending days just filling out state sales tax filings for our monthly sales.

Cons

The software itself is not terribly bad; however the customer support is atrocious! If you have any questions it may take days or weeks for someone to get back to you (if ever).

Response from Avalara

Brian, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience; it's not the type we aim to deliver. We apologize that the implementation process has been a challenge and we'd like to help. Please contact our VP of Customer Excellence Bobby Sands at [email protected] so we can work to address your frustrations.

Nancy N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Tax Tool

Reviewed on 2019/08/28

We are an ecommerce business that needs this to function and grow.

Pros

Automatically calculates and files taxes, even by city limits. We don't have to worry about the intricate detail they cover.

Cons

You need to make sure you set up everything correctly with the right tax codes - true for any program really.

Response from Avalara

Nancy, thank you for sharing about your experience with Avalara AvaTax, we're happy to hear it's been positive. We are committed to offering a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we look forward to continuing to serve you.

Stacy C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Avalara makes sales tax a breeze, especially when dealing with tax in several states.

Reviewed on 2018/04/06

Pros

I like how easy it is to use. There are little help buttons that will walk you through anything you need to do on the website. Also, customer support is very quick to respond to any issues you have.

Cons

Lately I have had a problem with Avalara not being consistent about when they charge tax on shipping or not. So then I don't know whether to set up my online accounts to collect tax on shipping or not in the states where we collect sales tax.

Cynthia T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Love the Query Wizard!

Reviewed on 2018/11/27

Avalara has taken the time to employ individuals who are a great asset when working with continued struggles in the Aviaiton Fuel Tax World.

Pros

Love the New Query Wizard, offers ease of creating a spreadsheet based on perimeters that you define. Ex. BOL's, Schedules, Date range, Supplier, etc...

Cons

Creating scenarios can sometimes be challenging. Would be nice to have more documentation to assist with this task.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Avalara is as great solution for our sales tax process.

Reviewed on 2017/12/12

Pros

The product is very easy to use from calculating the sales tax for invoicing to summarizing the monthly data for sales tax filings. It is a very affordable solution.

Cons

If I had to pick one area to improve perhaps more features could be added for reporting monthly activity. However, this product meets all of our needs at this time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tools

Reviewed on 2017/12/07

Pros

simplifies a very difficult subject, calculating sales tax, determining nexus and get filings in on time has become much easier.

Cons

They good do a slightly better job of onboarding new customers, the process was much simpler once it was understood, but getting rolling took a bit of time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Avalara !!!

Reviewed on 2018/12/04

Doing business in California - too many rates to master

Pros

Ease of use, seamless into Sage. Gives us a heads up on other areas with potential nexus. CertCapture is wonderful way to keep forms organized and up-to-date

Cons

not tied directly to CertCapture software - 2 logins requried

Victor C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Sales Tax Solution to Manage Sales Tax for your Business

Reviewed on 2018/11/29

Avalara is a great indirect tax risk management solution that reduces spreadsheet error and manual decisions about tax rates to apply and taxability of products/services in different jurisdictions.

Pros

Easy to implement as it integrates directly with our ERP system, NetSuite. Software is intuitive and easy to navigate. Automation of tax rates and taxability of revenue streams is a huge time saver and ensures much better accuracy.

Cons

Customer support can be hit and miss sometimes. They can be prompt and responsive and other times, the support person seems like a novice and you get passed around until you find the right person.

Russ D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Avalara Saves Sales Tax

Reviewed on 2018/11/28

Nexus issues are solved, registrations and accurate billing of sales tax to the appropriate customers are all corrected using Avalara

Pros

System is easy to use, the compatible Cert-Capture option is a valuable tool for recording your customers sales tax exemption certificates.
All returns are filed on your behalf and in a timely manner. Reports that are generated are easy to use and manual adjustments , when necessary, are easy to add.

Cons

That we doid not implement it sooner, there really is no downside to Avalara

Alex J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Avalara- So far Impressed

Reviewed on 2019/10/01

So far its been great and reliable. Looking forward to the new features rolling out in the coming years

Pros

It is very easy and reliable once everything is set up

Cons

Still not the clearest when coming to defining tax code as pertains to the custom work we do, that varies per job.

Response from Avalara

Alex, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Avalara. We work hard to deliver our customers a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we're grateful for the opportunity to serve you.

Sam J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great certification/ document validation tool

Reviewed on 2019/03/20

I use it every day and it provides a good experience to notate/approve & validate documentation.

Pros

We use it to manage account/address validation and works great for that.

Cons

No issues and no bugs. I did not really find anything wrong in the software.

Response from Avalara

Hi Sam, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Avalara CertCapture. We work hard to deliver an easy-to-use solution, and are grateful for the opportunity to serve you.

Jim G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Reviewed on 2017/12/11

Monique T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Makes it easy to calculate tax in the USA

Reviewed on 2018/11/09

Seems to work easily, provides reports on taxes. Takes this headache away.

Pros

Onve it is setup, it is very easy to get the correct tax amount for various products for addresses all across the USA. Integrates with all kind of software

Cons

Just takes a bit of time to setup and integrate with this software. Hard to rectify a mistake.

Karla P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

AvaTax allows me to sell online and choose the states I am required to collect tax from.

Reviewed on 2018/04/12

I am legally collecting tax in states that I am required to collect tax.

Pros

Since I work in multiple states and have to collect tax in those states, AvaTax allows me to pick and choose the states that collect tax through my website. Those states can be added or deleted as needed.

Scott B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Business Owners opinion

Reviewed on 2018/11/27

Pros

The main use/benefit of Avalara is the ability to get the appropriate sales tax rate in all jurisdictions in the USA.

Cons

Avalara needs to more fully integrate e-commerce platforms. Specifically my company uses Wix for our website and they have not integrated this platform for our e-commerce sales. Kind of ridiculous given the popularity of Wix.

Ron S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

If you need to maintain tax tables and calculate sales tax in many states & provinces

Reviewed on 2018/12/14

Pros

No need to manually update tax tables in our own databases.

Cons

Complex implementation with our CRM and ERP systems. Does not handle simple Canadian taxes without complex configuration/set up.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Tax calculation for finance and CRM applications

Reviewed on 2018/11/13

Overall, Avalara is a good 3rd party product for tax calculations.

Pros

Avalara integrates to many finance and CRM systems. It automates the tax calculation process without much effort. It seems flexible and intuitive as well.

Cons

I have found the customer service side to be a little lacking with Avalara. Also, there can occasionally be incorrect data that comes back to our systems.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

We find Avalara to be a fraudulent organization

Reviewed on 2019/01/21

Pros

Integration with Zoho was easy to set up. Nothing else positive to say, so now I'm just filling up room.

Cons

Moving away from their service they have made difficult. They randomly decided to change our program from minimal needs to that of an organization with much greater needs. They increased our price a couple of thousand dollars without prior authorization, and are refusing to reimburse us. I do NOT recommend, and we are changing to TaxJar. Much less, and without the bad reputation.

Response from Avalara

We're sorry to read that you've had a negative experience. The frustrations you've described do not meet the high standards we aim for with our clients. It is never our intention to surprise anyone with charges, and we can understand how unexpected costs would be upsetting. We'd like to talk with you further about your situation. If you're open to a conversation, please contact VP of Customer Excellence Bobby Sands at [email protected]

Brendon B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

I am on the fence, Avalara

Reviewed on 2018/08/16

Pros

The time savings are there, oh the time savings. Anything that keeps me on track, automating my tax reporting is a wonderful, cherished product. Avalara rolls up my sales tax for yearly processing, and when it's complete, it's really good!

Cons

Issues with integrations are at the top of my mind - Avatax for Magento2 module was not ready for prime time and caused some headaches. Also, Avatax won't allow you to maintain an ongoing sandbox for development, so you have to go and renew your license every few months - seems disrespectful of my time.

Kathryn T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User friendly, efficient, easy to reconcile accounts and export to excel

Reviewed on 2018/04/13

Pros

Very automotive service once your implementation is done and your sales items have been assigned a sale tax code.

Cons

easier to look up a tax code for specific item and updated state sales tax rates. Our company use Workday, we had trouble integrating Avalara and Workday, but things are better now. Very few companies use Workday so it is not one of the main accounting software they integrate with.

Lisa B.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Online Tax Cert Saver, but takes time.

Reviewed on 2018/03/19

Pros

We use CertCapture to track all the Resale Exemption Certificates for dealers. It is nice that you can add more than one certificate per dealer, you can add multiple cert's at once for many dealers, and you can run a campaign from within CertCapture.

Cons

The biggest thing I don't like about CertCapture is that once you add a certificate, you have to refresh the page for it to show up in your queue to work it, then you have to click it & review it, THEN refresh the page again & wait for it to show in the queue again. All before finally clicking & assigning the cert to a dealer.