14 reviews
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
4,4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4,2
86% recommended this app
14 reviews
Christopher D.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best software for sales tax and maangement without the overhead

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/01
Review Source: Capterra

We were able to get rid of our expensive hosted server solution and the maintenance that came with it. Being able to access Vertex data from anywhere in the world made our team more productive across the board.

Pros

The best part of the cloud was not having to have a dedicated remote server for all our software. The old Vertex ran but required constant maintenance, monthly updates, SQL knowledge. With the cloud, no longer do you worry about down times, corrupted databases and the like.

The Vertex team is very helpful from the moment you buy the software. Our support rep spent hours with us configuring everyhting out of the box to our exact specifications

Cons

The cost of the software is pretty immense since you're pretty much renting a server
Hold times can be a bit long in the customer support queue
SaaS so once you stop paying, you lose access the software and any data if not backed up.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Amy N.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Vertex cloud is very accurate and easy to use for small to medium size businesses.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/01/25
Review Source: Capterra

accurate tax calculations, low cost of ownership, easy to learn

Pros

The value for the money spent makes this solution a wise investment. There is no server maintenance or monthly tax rate update files to be applied. The application can accommodate customer and product level taxability decisions.

Cons

The features and functionality of the cloud product vs. O-series are very different. There are very few customizations/configuration changes that can be done following implementation that do not involve additional developer cost. The processing time to save a customer exemption certificate is excessive. Heavy users of this application will find this very frustrating. Customer support is also very different from O-series in that the communication is via e-mail and the response time is often much slower with support reps being less knowledgeable about the application and its functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Steve M.
Industry: E-Learning
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Poor service

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/19
Review Source: Capterra

Customer service is poor.

Pros

The software is all online which makes use easy.

Cons

Customer service is all by e-mail and it's poor.

Response from Vertex

Hi Steve,

My name is Jen Armstrong, Marketing Specialist at Vertex. I am sorry to hear that your experience with our customer support team has not been the best. We at Vertex are dedicated to our customer¿s success. I would like to further investigate why you rated Vertex customer service as poor. Our Customer Success Manager, Jenna Stroup has been made aware of your feedback and will share your responses with our Support Team. We would like to set up a phone call to better understand your needs. Please email your contact info to Jenna at [email protected] so she can coordinate with you.

Thank you,
Jen Armstrong
Vertex Inc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Doug K.
Industry: Human Resources
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Vertex has been great to work with, especially the customer support group.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/01/25
Review Source: Capterra

I know that the tax calculations that are being made are accurate and the customizations for our company have been minimal. There customizations are based on specific tax audits/decisions that are specific to our products and how we do business.

Pros

The software is fairly easy to work. Most importantly, customer support is there to help you out. They understand that not every business is run the same and they take the time to work with you so you can accomplish the desired results when you have exceptions. They also respond very timely when issues are raised.

Cons

Is the software perfect in every aspect, no. But is any service exactly what you need out of the box. I can not say enough about how attentive the support group is to help you understand the software and assist you when an issue does arise.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Julie W.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Needs some more development

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/05
Review Source: Capterra

Handles all our states :) I no longer have to try and interpret the various states laws.

Pros

creates both an excel report and tax return

Cons

it took a very long time to get the bugs worked out after we started to use the program

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Misty R.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Works as promised

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/26
Review Source: Capterra

Inexpensive and creates returns as required.

Pros

Simple to use; we upload our activity and returns are created quickly and accurately. It appears to be perfectly suited for a small company who processes invoices through the system as they occur.

Cons

Searching capability is limited within the products and exempt customer lists. Once you have entered a product or customer as exempt it is very difficult to undo it for that period. The reporting can be difficult to understand as well.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Great Customer Support

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/25
Review Source: Capterra

The automatic feed, calculation and development of our returns is key. This saves me a lot of time.

Pros

Vertex's customer support is amazing! Our adjustments and returns are due in by the 10th. It was late on the night before they were due and I noticed that a return appeared wrong. I was very nervous that it was too late to do anything about it but I emailed support anyways. Within minutes I had a response and the person communicated back and forth with me to answer all my questions and help me straighten things out.

Cons

The upload process for adjustments is clunky. I would rather see a better interface that allows me to add transactions with a fill in the blank instead of an uploading process,

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Michael W.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Vertex was implemented over the course of the last few months, with the scope being US-centric.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/01/26
Review Source: Capterra

Vertex Cloud granted the ability to automate the tax function with a graphic user interface that is both comprehensive and easy to learn.

Pros

Vertex Cloud has a very easy to use and comprehensive user interface, a robust product mapping capability, and the ability to user test within the interface.

Cons

Currently, Vertex Cloud doesn't have the ability for the user to configure rules on the front end; this in effect forces users to have to work with Vertex on the back end in order to configure rules if necessary.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Paul S.
Industry: Wholesale
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Does run smoothly and integrated with Info LN 10.4 after weeks of setup

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/01/31
Review Source: Capterra

Some what affordable

Pros

Tax reports are good once the data is set up.
Exports to Excel if you want to create external reports

Cons

Vertex running updates WITHOUT notice or testing causing our ERP to be down for DAYS!
Reporting is weak
Some Tax report forms do not match State online forms
Some limits on taxability at local levels

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Janet Y.

Wonderful customer support for helping me to get through how to use this software.

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/01/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Real time updated sales and use tax rate saves us a lot of time to search online. Criteria for helping decide if our product taxable in each state is really the best tool.

Cons

Not clear which part is not in the subscribing package and need to pay extra cost. There's no criteria for deciding if out-of -state business needs to pay sales and use tax or not.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Preston B.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Vertex Cloud Review

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/09
Review Source: Capterra

Very user friendly. Nice to have a software that can tax in different states as every state tax rate is different.

Pros

Fairly easy to use
Nice to generate reports for specific states
User Friendly
Has all the taxing jurisdictions in each state outlined

Cons

How long it takes to generate a simple transaction report for a state sometimes
I would not trust Vertex submitting an actual tax return. The numbers never match up from what generated report says to what the numbers on the state sales tax return.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jason S.

We use this software to update sales tax information in our back end system.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/25
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to use, and obtain sales tax rate files.

Pros

The Vertex cloud makes it very easy to obtain the sales tax rate files that we require for billing out of our back end system.

Cons

The only thing that we don't like is being charged a minimum fee if we do not use the software in any given month.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Rick W.
Industry: Plastics
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good product

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/09
Review Source: Capterra

The portal works fine but lack of phone representatives leave a feeling of isolation when experiencing an issue.

Pros

Cloud portal is easy to navigate and clear to understand.

Cons

Nothing at this time, interface was easy to navigate.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Veronica P.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 51-200 Employees

It has been ok.

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/01/26
Review Source: Capterra

Other than some kinks we are trying to work out it is very nice to have the returns already generated.

Pros

The returns already generated versus filling in the information from a spreadsheet.
It is pretty simple to use.

Cons

All the little issues like sales versus use tax. It is generating two returns when we are only set up for use tax which creates filing issues with the states.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10