181 reviews

Kaseya VSA

IT Systems Management Software for Internal IT and MSPs

4,1 /5 (181 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,1
/
5
Value for Money
3,7
Features
4,2
Ease of Use
3,6
Customer Support
3,6
77% recommended this app
181 reviews
Michael H.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Kaseya VSA Review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/23
Review Source: Capterra

Good overall experience although my service desk have had confidence knocked in the product with recent outages.

Pros

Monitoring, Remote Control and Patching all within one management console. Ease of access to multiple features.

Cons

At times, not user friendly and hard to navigate.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Brett V.
Industry: Design
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Overall positive experience with Kaseya so far, but getting down to brass tacks.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/02
Review Source: Capterra

This software allows my company to support and manage the networks, workstations, servers, and technology of our customers. It allows our technicians to remotely access and administer customer systems, automate maintenance tasks, monitor security and end user behavior, and also gives us a direct link into Kaseya's BMS product for support desk access with direct customer asset access and information. It has saved us many labor hours through automation of system patching and simple end user request or issue resolution.

Pros

I very much like Kaseya VSA's patch management capabilities, discovery, remote control and Live Connect, as well as the many integrations with 3rd party products. VSA has made troubleshooting and reporting on ours and our customer's networks exponentially easier. I like that Kaseya is plotting out a roadmap to a software version that encompasses all aspects of Managed IT Services, and am looking forward to the next release.

Cons

I am not particularly fond of Kaseya's Cloud Backup integration with Acronis, and while customer support was exceptionally good prior to our purchase, and for almost the next full year after, it seems that there have been some internal changes of late. We've had 4x account representatives in the 1.5 years we've been using VSA, and this last fellow just isn't cutting it. I've also noticed that our version (permissions) to the SAAS VSA do not reflect the same dashboard as others and getting features added or removed has been a process.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Meir G.

A full-featured product that could use better support and documentation

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/13
Review Source: Capterra

Remote Monitoring and Management of user PCs.

Pros

This software is very full-featured and allows quite a bit of granular control and automation. It continues to improve and has a nice amount of features that are included.

Cons

Features that would be nice to have in the base version must be purchased as additional plug-ins so that one feels somewhat "nickeled and dimed" every time you want to expand your feature-set.
The cost is on the higher end for a remote management product which could be justifiable if the support were better. I have found that it is a mixed bag of tricks in terms of how quickly you get a response and every time my ticket is addressed it is outsourced to someone for whom English is a 2nd or 3rd tongue. I don't have a problem with the outsourcing aspect but I often find there is more than a bit of a communication gap and it can be frustrating spending a solid chunk of time trying to get my point across due a language barrier. If this were a very low-cost product this would be more understandable but it is not.
There is also a very solid learning curve in terms of understanding all of the features. They offer a Kaseya University option to address that (which I am currently involved with) but it requires a subscription that keeps having to be renewed or you lose access. As the content is static, it would be much better to have a pay once and access forever -certainly for the same version.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Rick R.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Longtime user

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We have used Kaseya for quite a long time. Over the last decade, we have tried to change to other providers when we felt issues were mounting, but never felt like we could find a better option. After a number of years of fighting through a variety of issues, we have seen the product settle down for us. We did recently deploy MSPassist with our VSA and hope that it helps add a lot of functionality we were missing with straight VSA. The pros for me center around the agent and scripting. These are much stronger than others we've used in the past. They have modules for other add-ins like Webroot, Veeam, etc. These are nice, but they sometimes are inconsistent. They have made some acquistions recently with IT Glue, Rapidfire tools and IDagent that are exciting with regards to possible integrations into the base VSA.

Cons

My main issues with Kaseya deal with support. We have had many times where it was difficult to get an issue addressed if we didn't "light a fire" or raise the devil with account managers. This even extended to professional services and some problems completing scope items. Also, reporting could be better with product. I generally craft my reports in other applications with information from VSA.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Doug M.
Industry: Computer Networking
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great software. Has a learning curve but there is nothing you cant do.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/11
Review Source: Capterra

To many to describe. Remote access, auditing, reporting, patch management, scripting....the list goes on.

Pros

Live Connect is a great feature, giving everything from remote support sessions to remote shell access. The scripting gives you ability to do almost everything behind the scenes making end users very happy. There is no better feeling than being able to tell your customer you fixed a problem without ever needing to bother them or interrupt their day. The reporting functions of Kaseya VSA allow administrators to parse almost any information possible, into nice PDF or Excel reports. Customers are usually very impressed and excited to see the reports, showing them any and all information they want to see regarding their company.

Cons

The user interface is a little dated, and before you learn it can be cumbersome to get around in. Another issue, when you schedule a script for a date/time that already occurred, it executes immediately, without warning. Not a big deal for some things, but when you accidentally schedule a reboot script for the wrong time, you don't get any warning before your customer computers are rebooting in the middling of the day. Live and learn :)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Scott B.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

We have been using Kaseya for many years. There are some frustrations . Overall the VSA works well

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/11
Review Source: Capterra

Asset management and OS and software patching have been very valuable. The Kaseya Remote Control is fast and easy to use. Our entire team uses it every day to support our end users.

Pros

We are a private company that uses the VSA for supporting our internal network and users. As an asset management platform the VSA works well. We are able to leverage the many support features to provide assistance to our end users.

Cons

The integration with end point security has been tough. The management platform for EPS was frustrating and difficult to understand. We experienced false positives on a daily basis on the EPS solution. Ultimately we moved away from the Kaseya/Kaspersky solution for end point security.

We used the ticketing system for years before moving away from it last year. We found that the ticketing module did not provide the flexibility our team needed to track and manage tickets in the most efficient way possible. The ticket module was one of the modules that did not get much attention and did not get updates because we were pushed to the service desk solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Prosper T.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Combionation VSA and Vorex

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/10
Review Source: Capterra

We use AzureAD. Only AzureAD. This means we don't have a legacy Active Directory. As we don't have legacy Active Directory, we don't have group policies. We do have Intune but Intune is not yet mature. We needed to find a way to control our pc's. We started with VSA at first. We do want to move over to full Intune and we did move some management tasks over to Intune. Still we do use VSA to have a quick overview of our pc's. Also VSA feeds our Ticket and Assets system Vorex.

Pros

We do have a good and fast overview of all our pc's. We can see where a laptop is logged in and who was the last person who was logged in.

Cons

Pushing policies and scripts cannot be don at startup of logon. Wen you reinstall a pc a pc is duplicated in VSA. This costs double on licenses and gives a distorted overview. Deduplicating must be done by hand.
It would be nice to have a serialnumber check or something.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Jack A.
Industry: Computer Networking
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Best RMM Tool Hands down

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/23
Review Source: Capterra

I purchased Kaseya over 10 years ago. During the evaluation, I was concerned that I would make the right choice and not waste time and money on a mistake. Best decision I have ever made. It allows us to manage and automate like no other product can. Some other products have pieces of what Kaseya can do, but no one has it all.

The scripts you are able to create give you the power to re-mediate, install & manage most things automatically. I love this program and would recommend to all. It is a huge reason for my continued success.

Pros

Scripting - Single biggest reason this software is so powerful
Monitoring - Alerts - Remediation
Automation
Information quickly
Remote control

Cons

Costly - But you get what you pay for
Menus - They are working to standardize the UI

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ryan L.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Highly Recommend VSA

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/05
Review Source: Capterra

Have used this product for over 2 years and have no regrets. Has helped us respond to our clients faster. In fact we have been able to lower our on site calls.

Pros

The remote connection to pc's has reduced our response times greatly. The ability to see what they are doing helps troubleshooting the problems quicker. The ability to have their service tags / serial numbers allows us to check and verify warranty. Also, information that is shown on the main screen can help us locate PC's that are older or out dated.

Cons

Updates with Live Connect, some times install will fail and have to uninstall and reinstall. Some connectivity issues when using live connect is slow.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Frank V.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The Rolls Royce of RMM tools for MSPs. Not perfect, but better than its competitors.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/11
Review Source: Capterra

Significant reduction in operational costs and increase in our ability to deliver value.

Pros

The feature set is huge and its automation capabilities are excellent. Support is generally good and their techs are knowledgeable more often than not. The company behind the product is one of its greatest strengths - no product is perfect, but it's easy to work with Kaseya and they go out of their way to make things right.

Cons

It can be finicky. We have several thousand agents on it and the database needs frequent pampering. Their support engages and helps willingly and quickly, but I feel this should be handled by the application or some support automation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Josemaria G.
Industry: Building Materials
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Best tool for Sysads!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/28
Review Source: Capterra

Super happy to have this tool. It makes life funu for our IT office which makes them even more proactive than traditional reactive. :)

Pros

Best feature... remote access to end-points! This allowed our small helpdesk team us to monitor and manage hundreds of end points (mostly desktops) all over different sites. No need to physically go to the office to install a patch or troubleshoot.

Also, it was very useful for our hardware and software inventory. The reports are easy to generate and use especially for budget decisions.

We get to monitor also unauthorised software, and sometimes, with the consent of the respective pc users, we get to monitor their pc activity in real-time.

Plus! It supports all our devices (mac to pc and even linux, iOS and android).

Cons

Functionality wise, I have no complaints. However, in terms of UX, it looks a little dated. Perhaps the interface navigation can be improved.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

It was great

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/06
Review Source: Capterra

We have been working with Kaseya since an early version. It was a great tool back in 2009, but they haven't change too much. Functionality is there, but the interface is inconsistent between the different modules.
Support has been terrible, but it got better on the last year.

Pros

Kaseya VSA is a powerful RMM solution that includes everything you need to manage your customers networks. From remote access tool, network discovery, patch management to scripting.

Cons

VSA seems to be made from different teams each one with its own interface. It is not consistent and it you need to click several place just to do another task in the same machine.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Erik R.
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best package for the money

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

As a managed services provider, we thrive on all the diferent combinations of services that is easy created with Kaseya VSA.

Pros

No tool suits all needs but Kaseya VSA is pretty darn close. The sheer amount of functionality and integration makes it very easy to use as foundation for tons of easy to sell services. The user role system can be customized for many levels of security and the API-access is complete.

Cons

Apart from the basics, the learning curve is pretty steep and the GUI is in need of an innovative overhaul. The servicedesk-module had hugh potential, but was unfortunalty discontinued and left a big hole in the suite.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jeff L.

As a user since 2008, Kaseya has been a very decent RMM

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Fast, powerful remote control and scripting. Easy to use and understand scripting language. Through monitoring.

Cons

the VSA has had some rough spots in the past, but their renewed dedication to the product gives us hope they will keep up with their competition. There are still some bugs and occasional inconveniences/annoyances, but support is dedicated and fast to respond. I guess they're all doing this now, but some of the features that are nice to have are only available at an additional cost. Reliance on legacy technologies like Flash.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Rajendra B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent tool to automate regular system admin activities

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

The feature set is good and it is stable overall. It has been very good at alerting, monitoring and backups.

Pros

Patch Management, Remote Monitoring and Scripting
LiveConnect, plug-ins, Automation Exchange.
Automation Ease of use Fully Featured Great integration
The feature set is good and it is stable overall. It has been very good at alerting, monitoring and backups.

Cons

terrible customer service, NO Support, slow, lousy features for the price

Constantly have to uninstall live connect and reinstall. Seems the only way to maintain good connections.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Shawn O.
Industry: Information Technology & Services

Excellent Platform for Running IT

Reviewed on 2016/11/18
Review Source: Capterra

I've been around the industry for long enough to have used most of the rmm providers, and I'll start by saying that they all have their strengths and weaknesses. Some are robust and powerful, others are easy to use but limited. Kaseya VSA falls into the robust and powerful category - it takes some expertise and configuration, but what you have here is a system that is capable of automating the majority of your IT operations.

Alerts and logs work as you would expect, and are pretty dependable. Patching is really solid in the platform, you'll be able to setup automation scripts to do most of what you need once you get some experience in the platform. Remote Control is pretty darn good too - it's fast and the UI was recently improved.

You'll need to dedicate time and resources to getting it up and running. It's not the worst startup in the world, but it takes some learning and hours of configuration. Support is hit or miss, just expect that with pretty much every rmm player in this space - I've yet to be truly wow'd by support. Lean on the community if you hit roadblocks and support isn't coming through. There are some good groups of people who can assist or share practices.

The service desk in VSA needs to be extended with something else though, so consider that when purchasing.

Pros

Remote control is integrated into the product, and actually works. Very powerful scripting and automation. Pretty good selection of add-ons to extend services out to other areas (SSO, PSA, etc). Product is improving.

Cons

The UI needs an update, and some of the workflows are less than ideal. Support could be better.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Best IT Management Software We've Tried So Far

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/18
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using Kaseya to manage our fleet of computers (500+) for about 10 years. We have tested other platforms, but keep sticking to Kaseya. The price is great compared to others. The back end and configuration could be easier and more intuitive.

Pros

Tons of features. Price is where it needs to be. Has great capability.

Cons

Not intuitive. Support takes a long time to get back on issues. Bland looks.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

One of the best RMMs available for managed service providers

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/03/21
Review Source: Capterra

I absolutely love Kaseya VSA. It's made managing client endpoints and servers a breeze.

Pros

The If/Then style of scripting is easy to figure out and hit the ground running. Software management does a pretty good job with Windows and 3rd Party Patching, to where I don't feel like I need any additional software to help me maintain this.

Cons

The interface makes it feel a little overwhelming for someone new. It's difficult to find things/features because of how capable the software is.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jamie S.

Product is great when it works

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Agent procedures to automate scripts are the best thing about it.
The Remote Control and Live connect work well.
Policy management in kaseya makes it easy to automate everything in Kaseya.

Cons

Their tier 1 support is bad. If you get escalated to tier 2 they are great.
The VSA website does not work well in Chrome.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

David D.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great MSP Tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The main feature you will always use is the remote control sessions, which always work flawlessly. But the feature that will save you time in the long run is automation

Cons

Soltuion such as deploying software, the method seems to be overly complicated.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Dhaval B.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Flawed Genius

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/24
Review Source: Capterra

Furstrating but necessary. Our business runs on it.

Pros

It has more functions than any other RMM product on the market

Cons

Support is horrible because the company is horrible. A bit like Apple. They are after money don't have not invested in developing core product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Joe G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Kaseya Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/16
Review Source: Capterra

Kaseya VSA is a must-have for us. Its integral into our day-to-day options.

Pros

Functionality is fantastic. Must-have in our company

Cons

Connection issues and ease of use related to settings and administration. Sometimes hard to find where things are

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Dave E.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Does what it says on the tin

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/25
Review Source: Capterra

RMM, Patch Management and Remote Access in one console (alongside other integrations) makes life much easier and has allowed us to scale our IT business.

Pros

Once configured it is largely bulletproof.

Cons

Takes some time to learn and configure but the same goes for all RMM.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Levi D.
Industry: Banking
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Old technology with no changes

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/01
Review Source: Capterra

We started with Kaseya over 8 years ago. At the time the product was good. It has slowly went downhill from there. Recently we decided to attend Kaseya Connect. We saw their CEO & other executives talk about things they wanted to do, but it seems to have ended there. We try to communicate this with our "account manager" but we don't even know who that is anymore as every few months that changes.

Pros

Remote Control feature is quick on systems no matter where they are. Also, the ability create and run Agent Procedures is awesome.

Cons

The software hasn't changed. They rolled out Live Connect years too early as it has been an application that couldn't be ran in production. They focus on new things like new backup & office 365 integration but the Core of their product is still terrible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Laura N.

Great software - I use this every day!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/08/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I can get all of my work done in a single screen and I don't have to have multiple tabs open and also makes me more productive.

Cons

Can be a little buggy sometimes, but support can usually can help fix the issues in no time at all.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10