50 reviews

concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

4,6 /5 (50 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
94%
recommended this app
50 reviews
Marybeth K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Have we lost 15 years of work?

Reviewed on 2019/11/30

The theme we paid hard-earned donor money for was never upgraded to keep up with the updates Concrete 5 made to its operating system. Our theme no longer works with current versions of Concrete 5 (5.6) and I have no idea how to fix it. "Explanations" online require a Computer Science PhD to understand and I don't have the knowledge to figure out what they say to do. We've just let it go for years, but now we have t to change servers and I don't think the new server can handle the outdated version of Concrete 5 needed for our site to operate. YEARS of work are going to go down the drain if I cannot somehow salvage this. I have NO IDEA WHERE TO TURN for a plain-English response as to what to do.

Pros

Concrete 5 was OK in the beginning but now it looks like our choice to use this is going to cost us YEARS of hard work.

Cons

It is VERY hard to understand what to do with this software. Support is poor to nonexistent. Vendors are not required to keep up their products, leaving customers hanging. See our dilemma, below.

Response from concrete5

I'm disappointed to hear this Marybeth.

You're right that in the 10 years we've been open source we've changed a lot. Keeping your site on the latest version is something that does require ongoing attention from a somewhat technical resource. Version 5.6 is actually legacy at this point, we're all the way to version 8.5 and are looking at a version 9 release in 2020.

Today, to keep your concrete5 site running in a healthy manner it will need occasional attention from a web developer, who we'd happily make an introduction to if you filled out the contact form or the "We can build it together" overlay at the top of every page on concrete5.org. That said, I'm sure it will cost more than the $30-$50 you spent 10 years ago on that theme, and I completely understand if that's not the right choice for your non-profit.

This is pretty common with open source software, but we are working on some new hosting approaches that mitigate some of the challenges around this in the future.

Janne W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Well-implemented, clean code and good modular approach!

Reviewed on 2021/02/16

For secure and well-written code, and a solid, logical module approach, this is a unique solution, and has been reliable for many years already.

Pros

Concrete5 CMS is written by those who love clean, secure code. Especially if you are wishing to write your own PHP code for special requirements, C5 is really the most solid and affordable solution out there!

Cons

The marketplace is smaller than other CMS like Wordpress.

Marco K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best CMS on the market for the moment

Reviewed on 2021/02/17

from simple one pager to complex applications

Pros

Inline Editing, Workflows, Permissions, packaging system

Cons

Documentation is really bad, for developer and enduser

Michael J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Works as expected, a bit resource intensive

Reviewed on 2021/02/17

I've used this software for my own companies as well as a few client websites. There are improvements to be made.

Pros

I generally found Concrete5 to be easy to install and quite extensible. There are a variety of themes available to customize the look of the site.

Cons

It is quite resource intensive. Errors in configuration may require a rollback to a prior backup. Some old extensions are still on the marketplace that are not compatible with the current version and aren't well marked what version they apply to.

Malessa B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best CMS I've ever used, very flexible

Reviewed on 2020/11/19

Pros

Allows you to build a website exactly how you envision it. You are forced to structure your site to fit it's framework - Concrete5 is very flexible to your needs. Extending C5 is also very straight forward.

The in-context editor is extremely easy for non-tech users to use. IMO, it's the best user experience compared to all other website editor type CMS with in-context editing.

Cons

Not as many developers making plugins/extensions like for other tools like Wordpress. That said, if you are technical you could port a Wordpress plugin to Concrete5 fairly easily.

Kelly F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Obsolete

Reviewed on 2021/02/16

We were happy at the outset of our Concrete5 journey, but it didn't last long making us feel we were thrown into the ocean wearing concrete shoes as support was no longer available to fix problems on our site. Needless to say we did not have our website rebuilt in Concrete5. None of the vendors with reasonable rates even recommended using this platform for creating a website.

Pros

When our website was first built in this software we were thrilled. It was truly an upgrade from our former site. We could fairly easily make updates and changes. The website looked good, was mobile responsive (though not without issue) and was able to handle some plug-ins for some of the things we needed our site to be able to do.

Cons

Our site was built on a version that was already on the fast track to becoming obsolete. This was something we did not know, I'm not sure if the vendor we selected to build our site new that it was about to expire. At any rate, we had spent thousands of dollars to get this beautiful site and once it expired in 2019 we had no option but to start again from scratch. Costing our organization a great deal of hard earned donations.

Luis N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good functionalities

Reviewed on 2019/10/09

Positive experience. We have used it for a project and also decided to use it for other similar projects because it is very easy to deploy

Pros

Very easy to use. A project can get running in no time. Very intuitive and good numebr of themes available

Cons

Limited amount of plugins for some specific purposes

Chris K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Concrete5 is fast to setup and looks amazing while being very easy to use

Reviewed on 2021/02/23

Fast setup and easy to use. Just enough expansion to make everything work the way we needed it to.

Pros

Its ease of use and high quality looks. It has just enough addons to make everything work as it should and the community is there for you if you have any issues. Plus, since it is open source you can make changes where you need to or even make your own addons.

Cons

The addons market is a little on the small side, but Concrete5 is growing fast and that won't always be the issue. The ones that are there are of high quality.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy, drag and drop type of website creator

Reviewed on 2018/08/26

Pros

Concrete5 allows its users a sweat-free creation of a website. It’s versatile and simple. Being a content producer, I am tasked to create websites to promote our clients and their offers. Concrete5 has helped me achieve that goal without the need for coding.

Cons

Package is good but outdated. Bugs are also noted a few times.

Besides that, it still works better than other similar software. Still gets the job done easily and without much hassle.

Gina G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Not much to compare it to, but it works for me!

Reviewed on 2019/09/27

I did not choose it, but have learned to work with it. It meets my needs adequately. Any shortcoming that I have with the website are due to the design and not the CMS.

Pros

It's user-friendly for those who are not technologically savvy.

Cons

Custom modules are difficult to create and implement for an intermediate-level user/admin.

Scott S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great balance between power and ease of use

Reviewed on 2019/08/15

My business often recommends this CMS instead of WordPress for novices.

Pros

Easy for novices to use.
Easy to build custom plugins and widgets
WYSIWYG editing

Cons

"Under the hood" documentation is lacking.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazing CMS, easy to use for both developers and admins

Reviewed on 2021/02/24

A great CMS that makes updating a site easy. So easy, that as a web developer I choose it for my own sites safe in the knowledge that I can make updates quickly and easily without having to alter the code in most cases.

Pros

- As a dev, the Page object (coupled with page attributes, nav menus and page lists) makes structuring a website or web app a dream. The separation of page templates from page types also helps, the former being about layout while the latter is more conceptual.
- As an admin, you pretty much have as much control as the developers of the site decide to give you.
- The versioning system allows admins to roll changes back and work on changes before publishing them.
- The permissions system is exceptionally powerful, allowing roles and/or individual users to be included or excluded from each permission.
- The attributes system allows pages, files and users to be given custom properties of various types (e.g. text, image, colour).

Cons

- Lack of a REST API for using as a headless CMS (although I believe this will change with the next major version).
- No built-in way that I'm aware of to integrate React and/or Vue components.
- No equivalent to Wordpress + Advanced Custom Fields' "repeater" fields for adding an indefinitely long list of page/file/user attributes.

Garrett E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The right CMS for me for years

Reviewed on 2021/03/08

No idea why people use any other CMS. Hard to be Betamax in a VHS world. Appreciate that add-ons can be tested on new sites before buying. Also the compact marketplace is easier to navigate, though there are some more advanced ones that haven't been developed/ported yet. The Major upgrade to Version 8 was manageable for them in a way other platforms can't pull off no matter how badly they need them.

Pros

When I first started using it more than 10 years ago the field of CMS platforms was pretty rough. It had the best user interface for users to manage content. More recently others have imitated their approach but they still show their clumsy roots in a way C5 doesn't. Impressed by their commitment to update and upgrade over the years.

Cons

The transition to the latest version a few years ago was a tad rough (it was a major update), but it was worth it. Required starting over for most sites, though the old version still runs so disruption was minimal. The user forum needs a shakeup and update. Wish it was easier to manage lots of sites, but luckily they don't require much attention. Some template designers use tricks that undo the ease of use.

Glyn J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful, easy-to-use website content management

Reviewed on 2021/02/19

We deliver content managed websites to our clients who find concrete5 easy to use. concrete5 has increased our client's enjoyment of the editing process and has enabled us to efficiently deliver sites that meet a very wide range of requirements.

Pros

concrete5 delivers a complete content management system including WYSIWYG editing, forms etc. without the need for extensions to accomplish basic tasks. That said, concrete5 also provides an excellent modern php framework for further development and the marketplace provides a range of useful AddOn components.

Cons

Documentation has previously been criticised but this is improving steadily and Portland Labs recognise the need to continue this.

John E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hands down best cms / framework

Reviewed on 2019/03/16

Even for complexly applications it's usually my preferable platform even over frameworks as it provides the functionality of a framework yet still provides additional functional that is almost always useful regardless of your use case.

Pros

The system is architected using modern object oriented php. It's very easy for front end devs to create websites from mocks that are intuitive to edit for end users using the cms. It provides a foundation similar to a traditional framework for more complex applications with enterprise level permissions and features out of the box. Extending the cms uses an intuitive pattern allowing changes to persist thru updates to the software. It promotes professional programming design concepts and favors traditional programming design patterns over strict convention. The editing experience from a end users standpoint beats drupal, wordpress and joomla hands down. The security track record is impeccable as well contrasted to other cms systems.

Cons

Off the shelf plugins are limited but the plugins that are available are properly vetted and less likely to be insecure than wordpress. Developer docs are lacking but if you have a good understanding of php it's easy to follow the code as it follows industry conventions and concepts and theming is a breeze.

Vernessa T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Maybe Aptly Named for Non-Developers

Reviewed on 2019/12/13

I use a particular blogging/CMS platform for most projects but it is not necessarily suitable for every project. On numerous occasions I've tried to build a project out on Concrete 5 but meet with both usability challenges and prohibitive costs to integrate features.

Pros

I like the notion that Concrete 5 can be a replacement or alternative to CMSes like Joomla, Drupal, WordPress and others. I like the ways others have taken ideas and realized them with Concrete 5. My own efforts over the past few years have been amatuerish. Concrete 5 has remained a hobby.

Cons

Usability challenges and prohibitive costs to integrate features. The platform is not easy to learn. The theming system is considered robust by some but doesnt have a wide range of good-looking affordable themes. The free ones are not easy to modify. Concrete 5 has plugins but they are costly to implement and the selection is not as wide-ranging as those for other CMSes like Drupal, WordPress or Joomla.

Dragan K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Happy to use it

Reviewed on 2021/02/18

Pros

It is very easy to use, very easy to set up, very easy to develop

Cons

I am not pretty sure, there are not any special part that I am not satisfied...

David K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Flexible, Customizable, Edit Anywhere Web Sites

Reviewed on 2019/09/22

We needed to upgrade a very old website and do it in stages, when we had time. We needed the website to work on mobile devices as well as computer browsers. Finally, we are a professional firm, so we needed a website that looked professional and not canned or weak. Concrete5 provided us with a solution that worked on cross platforms and provided templates that look professional from the start. We have also been able to develop the site in stages. While we are not completed, we are much closer, much faster than other tools would have provided us. Page styles give us some structure on different sections and multiple users also allow faster setup and maintenance. I will use this on other websites I manage.

Pros

Concrete5 is very customizable regardless of the template used, and many templates exist that let you hit the ground running. Most of the editing capabilities work on iOS, so you can perform most edits and design work on an iPad and mobile. The interface is clean and the version control allows some experimenting. I have used blog software and computer based software, but this allows the best of all worlds so far.

Cons

The learning curve to purchase a template and add controls to a web site took a little bit to figure out, but this is done very infrequently. Using a templated page, it also took some time to figure out some heading columns and other columns were fixed and not movable, but so many other areas are customizable, workarounds were fine.

Pamela B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Intuitive, Easy Changes, Modern

Reviewed on 2021/02/20

I've used Concrete5 for two websites. One was for the Massage and Bodywork world and the most recent is for a Blog/Writer/Editor site. Its features are simple and easy to accommodate both types of sites.

Pros

It's versatility with blocks, stacks, add-ons, file sets, tree links. Wonderful to get the technical creative juices flowing!

Cons

Incomplete documentation. While it's largely 'computer intuitive' I still needed to go through some tutorials and documentation to get 'under the hood' understanding...

Tim M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing and really well thought out CMS. Works out of the box

Reviewed on 2021/02/16

This is now my go to CMS, I don't need to keep going and installing updates to keep it secure like WordPress, none of my site have ever been hacked. The feature set out of the box is perfect and you don't need to get loads of extra plugins.

Pros

Amazing and really well thought out CMS. Works out of the box, easy to setup and is packed with features so you don't need loads of plugins. Great for editors and very good for developers to build off. The code base is excellent.

This has been design with the basic user in mind, the UX and UI is very well thought out and being able to edit content wihtin the page without having to go to a backend is very valuable.

The team behind this CMS is constantly improving and updating it but not just fixing bugs, really user improvement. The community that supports it is vast and there is always someone on the forums to help you out.

Cons

There is not much to dislike, some of the documentation needs cleaning up for really development heavy code but it generally is a well made CMS with very little flaws

Liv G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Concrete5 Easy to use

Reviewed on 2019/09/13

It's easy and fast to post, edit, and update. The menus are comprehensive and simple and makes keeping your site running easy.

Pros

It's intuitive - the block system is much easier than Wordpress. This power is in the simplicity - but you can make it as complex as you need with add ons. It's much easier to organize your site with Concrete5, also.

Cons

There may be fewer add ons than Wordpress options? But I can't say for sure.

Wayne S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great CMS for 80% of websites on the web.

Reviewed on 2019/07/29

Pros

Concrete5 ease of use for the end user, is its clam to fame. Simple to learn on page editing and the ability to build out more complex pages.

Cons

From a development stand point, concrete5 can be hard to use for 3 or more developers on a project. There is no syncing process between local development environments and remote environments this can cause issues on large projects. Also scaling the CMS for very large project (250+ plus pages) might be an issue however, that is more of dev-op issue then a CMS problem.

Response from concrete5

Thanks for the great review Wayne,

We regularly use bitbucket/github to collaborate with large teams on concrete5 projects and it works very effectively. We've also got sites that are serving well over 10m page views per month by just turning on full page caching and storing some assets in S3, all very easy with concrete5.

Carsten J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great CMS

Reviewed on 2021/03/04

Projects reach from standard websites that need CMS-functionality to portals with a lot of individual customization

Pros

It has a wide range of features and can be easily customized and extended. Concrete5 serves as a framework.

Cons

It is not known very much in Germany, so it might happen that you have discussions in the selection process and have to prove more than with other systems that this CMS is the right choice.

Raymond K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Scaling with CMS with Concrete5

Reviewed on 2021/02/16

Its the best CMS service if you want to scale content management in your application

Pros

Easy integration and good marketplace to get the third party integrations, also has the best templates for landing pages

Cons

Need more channels for seeking support service at the moment we using slack which is not easy to track messages

Raphael P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome tool for a better web

Reviewed on 2021/02/25

I build a lot of websites for different industries like medicine, construction, food, automation, real state etc. The principal benefit is the time I save building with concrete5.

Pros

Easy: installation, configuration, customization and to do improvements. A great community that help everyone in trouble (if hapens). Tons of add-ons and great numbers of theme options (could be more, but is ok).

Cons

A few options to customize a theme on core system and few themes selling on market place.