142 reviews

Oracle Primavera

Integrated Project and Portfolio Planning and Scheduling

4,3 /5 (142 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
3,9
Features
4,3
Ease of Use
3,6
Customer Support
3,8
88% recommended this app
142 reviews
Amjad M.
Industry: Maritime
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Market leader scheduling and planning software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/23
Review Source: Capterra

It was my daily driver for years and despite the steep learning curve, it was an extremely capable tool.

Pros

- has everything required for project scheduling using critical path method (WBS, activities, cost and resource loading)
- Global change offers an unbelievably powerful solution to change thousands of activities on the fly.
- Can handle very large schedules that include tens of thousands of activities at ease.
- Works using databases rather than project files which makes it suitable for working on many projects and offers many types of databases (Oracle, SQL server, SQLite)
- supports single or multiple users
- now has the EPPM version which is cloud-based and has improved immensely over the years

Cons

- It shines for large and complex projects, for smaller and simpler schedules it tends to be more cumbersome.
- It requires a very good understanding of how the software and CPM work when analysing results. Otherwise; mistakes can be done easily
- While powerfull, the reporting feature of the Pro version (Standalone) looks antiquated in comparison to the EPPM cloud version.
- The standalone version has not received any important feature updates for years.
- Lacks the seamless integration with MS Office that MS Project has
- Requires IT assistance to migrate the database from one computer to another

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Tabrez R.
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Daily user and Implementer

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

My client was looking for many optiosn with their requirements and it suits client needs as per their expectations.

Pros

It is very friendly and understandable with all inbuild features for my needs and my clients requirements.

Cons

Support and workflow of the software is good but limited to user level and we can scale our needs as per license usage

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rodrigo R.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Powerful but not intuitive PM framework

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2020/01/03
Review Source: Capterra

Working as expected for experienced project managers. Poor interface for less experienced users.

Pros

Powerful platform with options for most of the PM areas of interest. I really liked the capabilities to manage resources and cost.

Cons

Not intuitive at all. The user interface may look complex and hard to use for not so experienced users. The data import feature is super confuse and had to be improved.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Muhammed anshad K.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Project Scheduling Software that works

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/04/12
Review Source: Capterra

No doubt, it's the best project scheduling tool that is available for construction industry till date. Overall I would prefer this software over any other similar software for its pros mentioned.

Pros

Oracle Primavera P6 is one of the best Project Scheduling tool that works on Critical path Method. I like the following features the most
- Vast integration capability with Web, EPPM, Primavera Mobile and other oracle tools
- Ability to generate large amount of data especially in the form of spreadsheet
- Fully functional Earned Value Management

Cons

The software UI is old style and the options are not properly organised. There are some software bugs that are still persistent and oracle has been very slow in debugging them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Prof. dr abdel J.
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Precise calculations, great for complex scheduling of projects

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using Primavera for about 12 years now, and I've been training people how to use it, I've managed to train government engineers, construction contractors, engineering firms, and sponsors, it has been a great experience, the program is very precise when it comes to time, cost, resource, risk, and schedule calculations (CPM, PERT).

Pros

- Great for large scale projects
- Detailed scheduling with time and cost breakdown
- Perfect filtering features
- High level resource management functionality
- Expense distribution over activity duration

Cons

- Graphics are not very appealing
- Jumping between tabs on the lower ribbons is very annoying compared to the tabs functionality available now on office software, and Autodesk products

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Chathura J.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Project Planning Sheduling & Monitoring with Primavera

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/17
Review Source: Capterra

Very like, my overall profession "planning engineer" fully based on this software. Now i am using since 3 years this Oracle Primavera Project Management Software for getting the most success in every project till the handover.
Compatible with report generation.
Esay for analyzing reviewing of project progress status.
Can export to different files and easy sharing.
Updated versions coming more features continuesly.

Pros

Complex, but it is full fix with more powerful tools which can help for more accurate project planning, scheduling and monitoring purposes.

Cons

Tools are little Complex - need more training and practice
Undo feature is not enabled

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Oracle Primavera

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/14
Review Source: Capterra

I would say that it is less challenging to use primavera than Microsoft project.

Pros

It is best project management software, planning, scheduling, resource managing, controlling can be done for any project . Eventhough it is a complex analysis and process, It is not much difficult to use.
Some advance features like top-down scheduling, longest path critical activity definition , activity steps and etc are now available . VBA is not required to separate and material cost.

Cons

In my experience, It would be slightly difficult to adopt for beginner.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Lots of Documentation

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/27
Review Source: Capterra

I liked it a lot more after I got access to their support portal and was able to actually get into their documentation and submit support tickets.

Pros

They are BIG and have been around for along time. This means there is a tremendous amount of support documentation they provide as well as user/administrator forums and notes.

Cons

Oracle products in general are a bit more expensive than other similar applications and their support is always extra.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Construction
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

One of the best project scheduling software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/05/10
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I am satisfied with the easy interface of the software. It is really a user friendly software.

Pros

You can easily link predecessors successors including the lag time as well. Scheduling and resource loading is very easy.

Cons

Sometimes when you refresh the software it automatically changes many dates even without a prior warning that you are making a mistake which is really annoying.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jason L.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Primavera

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Primavera works great for construction companies in tracking information from many areas

Cons

Primavera was limited in certain areas causing extra work.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jasvin D.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

A must For Every Project Managers

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/09/17
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have used MS Project in my College days and we use to work on extracts of the Big Commercial and Private Project and it explained us the little and major differences between the MS Project and Primavera. Primavera is overall the best detailed software for Project Management Professionals out there.

Pros

The main thing WBS is seperated from the activties. You can add sub-activities and even the minor expenses like travelling and training costs. You can put in the percentage of completion in the sub-activities. Since it is EPPM software you can work on multiple projects. It's user defined controls and access makes it more easier to set roles and responsibilities to each and every OBS and activities and only allows multiple users to work at the set EPS & WBS level as per pemissions allowed.

I was once working on a Villa project and we had the option to set more than one relationship between two activities. You can also create resources as per composition based on the Schedule of Rates(SOR) from whichever region you are working from. It makes it more easier to assign for a particular project.

One another big benefit is that you can create 'n' number of Baselines as compared to other project management softwares. You can add risk and issues as well. Overall I feel Primavera P6 EPPM is a detailed project management software and you can work it at any verticals and horizontals.

Cons

What i don't like about this software is that it doesnt allow multiple entries on it's own based on the formulae set. Again you need to check out your project and schedule with correct date and time, well that is plus point definitely but in case you missed the proper date and time as per your working calender then it will affect the project at a minor level initially and major differences will be made if that remains ignored. Another drawback for it is that if you are working on a single project then it will require lot of detailing for WBS, OBS, EPS, Roles and responsibilities which can be unnecessary in some cases. You have to remember each and every detail wherever you are putting it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Gustavo R.

Oracle Primavera has been a great tool to integrate different schedules.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/05/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Oracle Primavera provides the flexibility to integrate different schedules while maintaining each on as a stand-alone schedule when needed. The ability to create different layouts, filters and baselines is a great feature to satisfy different requirements from our stakeholders. We use Springboard platform to access the software through a web connection adding additional flexibility and real time access. We had use the software with a peak of seven planners including two CM companies in a Green Field project with great success.
In addition, we are currently planning a shutdown and the ability to schedule using different calendars and resources has been very useful in identifying gaps and peaks in our plan.
The option to have multiple baselines is also useful to compare current schedule through different phases of the project.

Cons

Resources/progress graph and histograms are not as good as I am used to get from other application like Excel. Data export is not always as expected and some data manipulation is required in the other application (like Excel) to get the appropriate formats.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

João luís M.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Tool of the Future

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/12/01
Review Source: GetApp

The software described here is ORACLE PRIMAVERA CLOUD, which more than a tool, it is a platform that combines different tools for different needs, addressing different domains of Enterprise Project Portfolio management.
Even the shared video is describing the first implementation of this tool in Europe (lead by me and a colleague).
People commenting here are talking about Primavera P6 which is a tool dedicated mainly to schedule and resource management. Eventually Risk Management if combined with Primavera Risk Analysis (other tool).
In fact, the tool was called Oracle Prime until 2019 and this rebranding lead to an obvious confusion. The problem with this is that some remarks about the interface not having an appealing look and not being intuitive are for P6.

Pros

This is the most modern and broader project management platform in the market, still combining very powerful and some unique tools

Cons

This is still a young tool, and of course still has features that are currently under fast development

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Design
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Primavera is a life saver

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/12/03
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I really love the software and the problems it solves. I am able to export to an excel file to analyze which makes things a lot easier for me. Then I can re-upload the excel file and it will adopt any changes I have made in the spreadsheet.

Pros

I love how easy is it to see linked attributes in the gantt chart. There is simple connecting and coloring that allows you to track exactly where you are on a program, project or task level. It is relatively easy to use. As long as you are familiar with Excel you should be able to use most of the basic features. The WBS structure is similar to other programs I've worked in and the ability to copy and past at different levels helps to speed up the setup of a project.

Cons

There are a ton of functionality with the software but I have found it difficult to get any instruction or help when I get into some of the more complex features. Googling is about your best bet when you have a questions about something. There have also been some issue when you switch between versions. New versions aren't able to connect to the older version's server and therefore do not have access to the other schedules.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Daniel B.

This is a review for P6: like democracy, it's not great, but it's the best we have

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/12
Review Source: Capterra

Anyone working in putting together a schedule, in particular intricate schedules such as those required in a construction project.

Pros

P6 is utilized industry wide in construction, so becoming familiar with it provides all the tools you need to generate and analyze schedules.

It's very robust in the amount of things you can do with schedules. You can modify the relationships, type of activities, durations, calendar settings, views.

Provides the ability to export data to excel, which is useful when analyzing schedule delays and performance.

Cons

It's not too user-friendly software. Since it operates as a database and does not work like Microsoft or Apple software (because it isn't) but it sort of looks like it, it's easy to believe it operates in the same way as software you are used to using, but it's fundamentally different. One example is how projects are "saved", which is not as straightforward as saving and/or copying files. There's more to it.

P6 is rather rigid in that it's for the most part limited to Gantt charts. It has other views but they do't provide much value.

One improvement the software could do would be to add flowline diagram features for producing and visualizing schedules.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Juan R.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Better thatn Scheduling

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/06
Review Source: Capterra

I use the P6 version of Primavera on a daily basis allowing me to maintain record of all milestones, resources and material needed on my projects. The many ways of reporting data, showing completed work, work in progress and progress completed it is very useful to keep track of the actual things happening at your project. Baselines are used to keep track of how a project has changed since day one, and re-baselining is so easy to do. The manpower can be entered and reported knowing how many employees are assigned to a specific line item.

Pros

powerful, multiple ES-FS, LS-ES, and many more ways of scheduling

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Getting a job done in multiple sectors has never been this easy

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/19
Review Source: Capterra

It saves so much time from keying in entries and it is easy to teach older managers to use because of the ease of use. It just makes sense

Pros

This product allows me to work with people who work in different segmentation in our industry seamlessly on each and every project. It's so easy.. its a no brainer really. Approval processes are easy, everything is simple. If there is ever any kind of issue it has been resolved with in moments of reaching out to tech support. I also was able to teach myself this program which is always a bonus.

Cons

Exporting software to other platforms is hard. for our all employee meetings it is difficult to show some processes and such with ease. A mobile platform would also be beneficial to our company

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Allison W.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Not an easy scheduling software for beginners, but excellent tool!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Most owners that my company works for require this type of scheduling, and for a basic schedule and a background in the program, it is easy to put one together. I went through a P6 training, and still have to refer back to my manual sometimes. Once you figure out how to manuever through, you can build great cost loaded, resource loaded schedules. Using these schedules for claims is beneficial as well when having to prove critical path activities.

Cons

I can always figure it out eventually, but some functions don't seem as user friendly. I went through a P6 training, and still have to refer back to my manual sometimes. I feel some type of training is required to build really good schedules rather than just being able to figure it out.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Soumi R.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Best project management in construction world

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/24
Review Source: Capterra

One of the required software in construction industry for early planning and monitoring the activities.

Pros

We can easily create activity with required input. We can easily monitor our progress and can make necessary decisions timely. We can forecast future delays and mitigate risks.

Cons

Premium for this software is considerably high. Some of the outputs from this software leads confusions and
questioned on reliability

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Angie M.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Comfortable to use and understand

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/24
Review Source: Capterra

I would highly recommend Oracle for anyone in the construction/blueprint reading/editing field!

Pros

I used Oracle software for 6+ years and I felt very comfortable with the software from the beginning. It wasn't hard to navigate and understand and made my everyday use of the program helpful and efficient.

Cons

I was not the purchaser of the product, however, I was told it was a bit expensive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Emir B.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Great for large scale projects

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/08
Review Source: Capterra

I use it most for tracking the progress of over 500 road construction project. I find it great for reporting to the board. It's really easy to arrange data you want to see on your screen and report from that set of data.

Pros

Easy to learn and use. Great for reporting and managing big sets of data by all attributes.

Cons

Import and export functions is kind of basic, it would be more useful if there are greater options.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jeff C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/11/09
Review Source: Capterra

We are a System Integrator and have implemented scalable project management solutions since 1993. Of all the applications available to support Project Portfolio Management, Oracle Primavera is the most robust and intuitive solution on the market. Our customers have raved about how Primavera helps them deliver their projects more effectively.

Pros

Flexible, Scalable, Intuitive and market tested.

Cons

To maximize the value, it's best you partner with a partner.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Robert S.

Great and easy product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's a logical and accurate software that I use for scheduling construction projects. Keeps things organized and easy to update changes as they come up during a project lifecycle.

Cons

This product is pretty complex and takes a lot of getting used to. It's not very intuitive more user-friendly so you need to train yourself on the program before using.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Andrew S.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

P6 is a great product for schedule management

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/10
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

All in all, P6 is a great product to use for programs and projects.

Pros

P6 does a great job in managing schedule for large programs and projects. P6 gets very powerful as you cost load your schedules and use data to construct reports and dashboards.

Cons

P6 can get pretty complicated with their functionalities. P6 can use a better printable report for schedules.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Daniel F.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

A One-Stop Shop in Project Management

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/30
Review Source: Capterra

As stated above, this tool is great as project management software. The time tracking capability was so easy to implement and met our companies needs, that we used it throughout.

Pros

The software seems straight forward and easy to use. Our company used it across our whole organization for time tracking, as that was such a useful feature. There are many more components that can be used in various project collaboration, as well as customizations to the software that can be made through coding.

Cons

As far as using it as a time entry tool, the interface does seem a little overdone, more like a glorified spreadsheet. I sometimes get the feeling "what's all this?" when I just want to enter time.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10