108 reviews
Overall rating
4,6
/
5
Value for Money
4,3
Features
4,4
Ease of Use
4,4
Customer Support
4,3
94% recommended this app
108 reviews
Florian G.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

That really made my Day!

Reviewed on 2016/04/29
Review Source: GetApp

First of all: Actually (April 2016) the product is free for up to 100 Sensors!

I was searching for an easy solution to monitor the internetconnection of one of my customers from outside. They sporadically experienced strange bandwidth problems and the cable provider didn't solve the problem within months. So while searching for an easy to install and use monitoring (simple ping) solution I found PRTG from Paessler in Nuremberg. I 've heard of it before as the Windows based alternative to Nagios.

What can I say: I expected a solid Dice Game and ended up in Las Vegas!

Installed withing minutes on a small Celeron machine running Windows 7. This runs the core Server and the Probe. You create Groups within the Windows (or Browserbased) Desktop. Within those Groups you create Devices and Sensors (Ping, HTTP, FTP, NTP, SIP, SMTP, SNMP Switch Traffic, ... and I'd say hundreds of others) at Locations you can define and are shown on a map. A configurable HTTPS allows secure Browser and mobile APP access. I use the one for my Windows phone that shows me my favorite (customer) Sensors directly.

Automatically scan your Network (that might create a lot of Devices and Sensors, especially when you are using SNMP ready Switches, but don't worry, just pause them before you run out of your licenses). Monitor Switch Traffic if you wonder how long the Windows 10 updates disturb your other Machines. You can install remote Probes in other networks to monitor them and still collect all data on one central monitoring server.

PS: In the end, the cable provider changed the modem after I sent them several times very clear screenshots from PRTG where you could see the 1800 ms echos all three weeks instead of 32 ms the rest of the time.

Pros

Very good structure and overview of your devices and systems load, usage, availability and traffic
Easy install and use. No deep knowledge of MIB, RMON, LINUX or SNMP necessary
Free for small environments
Very Flexible (google 'prtg netatmo' for an impression :)
Be aware and informed about uprising problems (Mail, SMS, Mobile)
You literally see what your users experience

Cons

Really! I have been thinking, but didn't find that much.
Rather ... nothing?
OK, one: you need a Windows system. That might be an issue for some.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Reski A.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

PRTG is simplified my work Everyday.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/25
Review Source: Capterra

PRTG can do Monitor all systems, devices, traffic and applications of your IT infrastructure.
Everything you need, and don't expect more for custom weekly / monthly reports

Pros

This is the Recommended software that I often use to monitor or improve the Information Technology infrastructure. Very easy to install, user friendly and supports mobile devices. It can detect our problems quickly. We can check all critical Service Application components on the bus :)

Cons

This software does not yet have a weekly custom report for audit needs, so we do a manual retrieval :(

Response from Paessler

Dear Reski,

thank you for leaving us a review!

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Gopal P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Very Good Software for Network Engineer

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

As a Network Engineer this is Great Software for to monitor and Control IP Packet trafic. I am CCNP (R&S) Certified. My daily work in my company to monitor IP traffic flow & Bandwidth usage. This software is very easy to understand and provide almost everything to Network engineer needed.

Cons

IP Traffic Flow control management & Bandwidth management.

Response from Paessler

Dear Gopal,

Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community!

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chris A.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Zero customer support / loyalty

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/23
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have been a longtime customer of PRTG 7+ yrs now. I contact them about once a year for little things I run into with the program. This time around they refuse to help, beyond basic email support in the middle of the night. If you want a program that provides support this isn't the product for you. If you are in the US the best you get is email support and they usually only respond while you are sleeping. Don't expect them to go out of the way for you. PRTG has wasted 2+ hrs fighting with me on fixing something their software caused, something they could likely fix in a 5min phone call. After paying them for support all this time I am done with this company, they are a scam!

Pros

Great for monitoring bandwidth usage or finding health problems/over utilization of resources. All using the SNMP protocol.

Cons

Support, they don't provide much beyond an KB article or emails in the middle of the night.

Response from Paessler

We're sorry to hear about your frustration and that our support has not lived up to your expectations.
We always try to give you the best possible support in case of problems.

Kind regards,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Umair ali K.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

All in one NMS

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/07/12
Review Source: Capterra

it is a great tool for monitoring your infrastructure and the support is also great.
the only issue is when you need to migrate the server to a new machine. it is difficult and error prone.

Pros

it has support for all monitoring protocols.
it has builtin templates for most commonly used devices.
it has a tree like structure in which devices can be arranged and connected to each other in a hierarchy.
the magic map feature is a great option to view entire network at a glance.

Cons

the free version has very less number of nodes supported and it should be increased.
it does not support netflow with juniper srx devices.
migrating a server to a new system or VM is very complex and lengthy.

Response from Paessler

Thank you for leaving us a review!

In the free version there are 100 sensors available. It has the full functionality of the commercial version.
Feel free and get in contact with our [email protected] team for further assistance.

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ivan B.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

PRTG monitoring software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/22
Review Source: Capterra

We are monitoring our complete infrastructure, from network switches and routers, over servers to virtualized infrastructure and storage's.

Pros

Helped us many time with alert so our infrastructure did not go down.

Cons

I would like more vendor specific alerts to be included like Fortinet,

Response from Paessler

Dear Ivan,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

David S.
Industry: Human Resources
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

The software you want monitoring your network

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/13
Review Source: Capterra

Fantastic, we can proactively monitor connections and equipment, often we are working on fixing it before the end users know it is broken

Pros

Easy to use, reliable, can email or text about alerts, can execute scripts etc.

Able to monitor snmp, pings, https and all sorts of things.

Cons

It is licensed by sensor, so you can easily run out of you monitor everything, you'll need to be careful to only monitor what you need to

Response from Paessler

Dear David,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We are happy that PRTG supports you and your team that well.

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Retail
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

prtg usage

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/11
Review Source: Capterra

We fix the access errors of system devices by seeing them. Thanks to e-mail notifications, we are instantly informed.

Pros

It is software that helps simple monitoring of prtg systems. Prtg is very easy to use and install.

Cons

more attention can be given to visual interfaces. Prtg is not an easy to use software that allows for fine changes.

Response from Paessler

Thank you for leaving us a review!
We are already looking at improving the web interface.
For more details, please have a look at our roadmap: https://www.paessler.com/prtg/roadmap

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jack A.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Network monitoring and custom sesnors

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

Monitoring most services and getting notification when sensor go down.
Essential in healthchecking and performance monitoring.

Pros

The ability to consolidate and monitor all devices in network in one place.

Cons

The gui interface is now a bit dated and should be refreshed.

Response from Paessler

Thank you for leaving us a review!
We are already looking at improving the web interface.
For more details, please have a look at our roadmap: https://www.paessler.com/prtg/roadmap

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mohammad I.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A mid tier monitoring solution

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/08/17
Review Source: Capterra

Product was good but customer support is not on prompt.

Pros

This one is easy to deploy, not as tough as zabbix, but you have to pay a price for that.

Monitoring is good using the mibs, you may monitor switches, firewalls, load balancers, storages, servers and even ACI but LEAF and Spine should be added as individual devices.

Cons

Customer support was taking huge time to respond.

Response from Paessler

Dear Mohammad,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We are sorry to hear that you had to wait a long time for an answer from our support. We always try to answer requests as soon as possible.

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Irfan A.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Network & Bandwidth Monitoring Tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/03/05
Review Source: Capterra

Good Product to monitor your networks but for huge network its not sufficient, but for normal networks its good to notify and other feature are very good i-e up time, alert system and cluster fail-over solutions ,
in the last PRTG interface must be need improvments.

Pros

Its a Simple Software to Monitor Network and bandwidth user, application wise.
Monitoring & Manage all applications in details statistics in network,
Correct Up-time/downtime for devices.
*Flexible alerting (different types or Alert are available in this product)
Cluster fail-over solution

Cons

Interface is no good and creating huddles in configurations,
automatically connection between links is unavailable.
Cluster fail-over solution not so good.

Response from Paessler

Thank you for leaving us a review!

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ryan F.
Industry: Banking
Company size: 51-200 Employees

PRTG Feature and Functionality in summary

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/10
Review Source: Capterra

The application has helped us monitor all types of equipment and proactively resolve issues early.

Pros

This monitoring application has helped us stay on track of what is happening at every corner and for every device on our network, from Storage to network, security and usage statistics and notifications for each, this application has saved us many times in restoring and fixing problems before they get noticed by end users. From our desk and our our phones using the app, we can monitor and get visibility into many device types, including Cisco, Linux, storage systems, Microsoft operating systems just to name a few, with thousands of sensors to choose from. Very powerful and constantly improving.

Cons

While just a few sensors were not performing well, like the Ping 30 for Cisco 1900 routers, PRTG has constantly released new updates that once applied, these issues are rectified.

Response from Paessler

Hi Ryan,
Thank you for your review!

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Know when there's a problem before the end users start calling

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/13
Review Source: Capterra

We monitor customer routers that we service and their ISP gateways. We can find out rather quickly when a customer goes down, or when a customer is having an issue with just the router, and we do not have to be actively doing it ourselves. We are just notified when there's an issue and jump in and start resolving right it away.

Pros

It tells me when there is a problem without much overhead on my part, and it puts me ahead of the game before end users start notifying me there is a problem. Its a pretty great feeling being able to call the end user up and tell them that you have already detected a problem and that you were actively working on before they have gotten around to notify you there was even an issue.

Cons

It takes some time to set up and configure the software. Its not as intuitive as I'd like it to be, but its entirely manageable. You just need to invest the time to learn it get it working the way you want and then from that point on its a breeze.

Response from Paessler

Thank for your review!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mauricio A.

Top five monitor app for IT departments on SMB and corporations 24/7 365 days.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/28
Review Source: Capterra

Most of my clients are SMB and need a free option to monitor his IT devices, with a free option it's easier.

Pros

-The free version allows up to 100 sensors to be included on his interface. This feature helps allot of companies IT departments to monitor and compare without limitations.
-Easy installation process for core app, available for SNMP devices (almost every tech device has this option).
-Add devices for a monitor it's easier than other competitors because its agent less and his auto discover feature make deployment process fast and secure.
-Available as web interface with every OS and app for the most important devices (iOS and Android).

Cons

-User guide needs to be adapted for none IT users.
-Reports need an experienced partner to customize executive options.
-Customer Support it's not the best part of this company, sometimes take days to solve an issue that would take minutes on other monitoring software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Matteo T.
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Best monitoring solution I know our there

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/24
Review Source: Capterra

with PRTG we can relax and react quickly when something goes wrong in our infrastructure. all in all it a great investment!

Pros

This software is quite easy and intuitive to set up and use. We have done the installation on our own and have been since then really happy with it. PRTG scans our infrastructure and notifies immediately when something goes wrong. Whenever we install new systems, we look at PRTG and set some basic sensors for each important service, and we are all set. it's a work of a few minutes, you can get most needs coevered with little effort

Cons

the web based UI is much better now, but could still be improved a bit in the usability. selecting multiple objects is a bit awkward and not intuitive. some sensors are buggy and we have stopped using them. but that's only a very low percentage of the total

Response from Paessler

Hi Matteo,

Thank you for your review!
Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Scott J.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Robust and reliable monitoring solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/12
Review Source: Capterra

This is your one stop shop for a monitoring solution. Best value and most functionality all in one package.

Pros

Very wide variety of sensors for monitoring of various applications from SQL servers to custom scripts to ping to SNMP and WMI. Can be configured in a distributed configuration to spread out the load that the sensors place on a monitoring server or to consolidate WAN traffic between the central host and branch offices. Can be setup in a cluster for ultra high capacity server. Very robust selection of reports available with the ability to create custom reports. Beautiful Android client with push notifications. If you are looking for a monitoring solution this need be your one and only stop.

Cons

Support can be a little slow to respond often taking a day to respond via email. Only Windows hosts can be used as full sensor probes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mark T.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

PRTG Great but missing some features for scale

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/28
Review Source: Capterra

For network monitoring, daily use and ad-hoc to solve specific problems this software is perfect - you wont find a better all in one tool that is as easy to use as this tool.

Pros

PRTG has a lot of customization ability and can monitor almost anything with the right know how. From very simple stuff like SNMP to script based monitoring and alerting this software can do anything. The reporting and alerting are great and does the job very weel.

Cons

The scale of the program is not the best at time. Unless you have a full licenses to monitor anything you must be "choosy" as to what you monitor. In addition executing the same monitor over and over is not easy to do "automatically" or via scripting like other tools so it can get cumbersome.

Response from Paessler

Dear Mark,

thank you for taking the time leaving us a review! Have you heard about our feature request? [https://bit.ly/2ZkfLp1]

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jason A.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

PRTG Rocks!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, PRTG rocks! The customer service is fantastic. It's very configurable and once you learn the basic setup it's easy to set up new systems and services.

Pros

PRTG network monitor works wonderfully. They have a wide range of monitoring elements, from SNMP to SQL Server checks. The software auto updates which is great and I've configured it to send me monthly reports on downtime for certain systems. The general reporting is great and I can keep a lot of uptime history on all my systems and services.

Cons

PRTG takes a little bit to get set up and dialed in to operate efficiently but it's worth the time. If you don't have the parent-child relationships configured correctly it's easy to get bombarded with messages of downtime.

Response from Paessler

Hi Jason,

Thank you for your review! We love our PRTG fans.

Cheers,

Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Atahualpa R.

Prtg is a software of easy use and allows to monitor and study the traffic of the network.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/31
Review Source: Capterra

PRTG is very useful for statistical studies of the behavior of the network, since it keeps historical daily, weekly, monthly and annual, this allows to carry out a detailed and accurate planning, we can also evaluate how a marketing and sales campaign impacts on the links of our network and see if the end customers are making more use of our services.

Pros

It allows configuring any network element, only with IP address, MIB an OID, and we can monitor from electrical signals, CPU indicators, RAM / ROM memory, UpLink traffic parameters, DownLink, pack discards, traffic overflow and loss. as well as the dating of data, with this indicators, our network is monitored 365 days a year.
Generally in ISPs it is used as a statistical traffic tool which allows to make growth projections in the links of the network of providers, as well as a guide to evaluate post impact work in the network of the ISP company.

Cons

ls disadvantages of PRTG are few, however we must be aware that it is not a monitoring software in real time, it interrogates the network element every 5 minutes, and there is an additional time so we should not use it as a ractive failure tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Felipe L.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Excellent tool to monitor and classify the bandwidth of the network.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/07
Review Source: Capterra

I use PRTG on a daily basis in the company, which has helped me to quickly and easily verify the behavior of the network and that I can view it from anywhere via the web.

Pros

* I can know what applications are causing high traffic.
* I like the simplicity of its interface, which allows me to configure the monitoring sensors, as well as create reports of bandwidth usage for each one.
* The web interface with the I can give access to the visualization of the graphics and tables to the other members of my telecommunications team.

Cons

PRTG is a software that I use daily and continuously in my work as a network analyst and I have not been inconvenienced, just keep improving it every day. The only thing I can suggest is that they launch a native version for Linux systems.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Pedro K.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 51-200 Employees

PRTG it Life!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/06/22
Review Source: Capterra

Basically, PRTG and life! System extremely simple to install and customize, has a very beautiful interface, and most importantly the set of tools that it after boarded and very functional, it is not only with the simple network monitoring, it comes with perpendicular level of the fall of devices, integration of the native sms of the application, alert via email. One of the best things he does and the channel splitting within the sensors that the device has.
Now what really is unbelievable in it, and its mapping system that gives 1000 to 0 in its competitors, is ridiculously easy to assemble map is also very simple and practical to customize them for operation.
In summary PRTG ends up being more than a simple tool tool.

Pros

Easy installation, extremely low learning curve, highly customizable, best category map editor, simple and clean appearance.

Cons

Really does not have many cons ... Its only disadvantage and not having support for running on linux.

Response from Paessler

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review!

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

William B.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 201-500 Employees

PRTG Saves the Day

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/26
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, PRTG has helped save our schools district a lot of potential downtime when we didn't even know that there was an issue. If you need a network monitor, I suggest PRTG.

Pros

This software makes it very easy to determine if any node is down on our network. It also has TONS of additional features to monitor bandwidth usage, CPU usage, memory usage, etc., on each node selected if desired. It makes it very simple to know when a server, switch, or wireless AP is down in a matter of seconds with it's email push feature.

Cons

This software is quite difficult to grasp. Since it has SO many features, it also has tons of options to set, but can be picked up by an IT admin in a couple hours if time and effort is put forth.

Response from Paessler

Hi William, Thank you for your review of PRTG!
Our blog is a great way to stay on top of various monitoring topics and the latest features of PRTG.
https://blog.paessler.com/

Cheers,

Greg Ross

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Donovan S.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Best network monitor availalbe

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

PRTG Network Monitor has helped me keep tabs on a large network of offices. It is certainly good value for money and very accurate. I love being able to see at glance what is happening on my network and still have the ability to drill down in to the most smallest of detail.

Pros

The setup of the monitor is very easy, allowing you to customise the deployment and scanning options. There are so many different sensors available you will be certain to find the one you need.

Cons

It can be overwhelming to see all of the sensors when you do an auto-scan, you just need to realise that you probably don't need to monitor them all and it's better to rather pick and choose the ones that most relevant to your need.

Response from Paessler

Thanks for your review Donovan!

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ian M.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Versatile Tool for Network Monitoring

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/07/09
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, this is a very good tool that has all the functionality of some of the more expensive products without the inflated price tag. I would definitely recommend that any Network Administrator looking for a good monitoring tool give this a try before purchasing something that costs twice as much.

Pros

I like the variety of alerting features as well as the visualizations available in the dashboard. You can easily produce executive level graphs to analyze trends across your network devices. The ability to customize which processes on each device to monitor makes this tool even more handy.

Cons

While this is an overall excellent product, it can be a little bit clunky to get setup. Also, until you get the alerting tuned right where you want it, it can be a little bit noisy as far as generating emails go.

Response from Paessler

Dear Ian,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review!

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jesus P.

Free network monitoring for small businesses with 10-20 servers.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

Free network monitoring on a Windows server.

Pros

I love the fact it's Windows based and has easy setup features. The biggest pro is the free 100 sensors. If you're running a small business with 10-20 servers, this is the perfect solution to get them monitored for free. We found it to be extremely reliable for this particular use and upgrades were a breeze.

Cons

Once you're out of the 100 sensor free version, the cost jumps into the thousands. So if you're expecting to grow much more, then keep that cost in mind. Also, the software installs far too many sensors per server when using the "auto discovery" feature. It's best to manually setup sensors as needed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10