PRTG

Network Monitoring For Serious Professionals

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(222)
Value for Money
4,4/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,4/5
Customer Support
4,2/5

95%
recommended this app
Sort by

222 Reviews

Nicat
Nicat
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It is a pleasure to use

Reviewed on 2023/05/01

I have been working in this field for more than 5 years, and everyone knows that you have to...

I have been working in this field for more than 5 years, and everyone knows that you have to monitor the established IT infrastructure at all times. There are many solutions like PRTG, but I prefer PRTG, which is chosen with both the convenience of the interface and a lot of features. It was very easy to set up and manage. And one of my favorite parts is that you can use licenses that are suitable for your environment, even if your environment grows in the future, there is no need to rebuild the license accordingly. I think the monitoring application is very important from the point of view of security and stability, and PRTG is the most suitable and convenient for me among these applications.

Pros

It was very easy to use in the first turn, moreover, it has sensors suitable for the desired device.

Cons

There are many network monitoring tools like PRTG, but PRTG had the most convenient and easy-to-use interface among them. It has many good features. I've been using PRTG for several years now and I'm very satisfied. There's nothing I don't like about it.

Alternatives Considered

Site24x7 and Zabbix

Reasons for Switching to PRTG

Considering the prices and advantages, the most optimal choice was PRTG

Response from Paessler

Dear Nicat,
Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear that PRTG's interface stands out as the most convenient and easy-to-use among other network monitoring tools. We're glad to have met your expectations and provided you with a satisfying experience over the years. Furthermore, we greatly appreciate your support and look forward to continuing to exceed your expectations in the future.

Your Paessler Team

Mohmad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

PRTG Review

Reviewed on 2024/03/08

Fairly Good to work with it. Ease of UI and can create custom sensors.

Fairly Good to work with it. Ease of UI and can create custom sensors.

Pros

Alerting is on time and can connect most of the devices.

Cons

Network scanning is not accurate and it cannot scan multiple networks even if it has access to it. Maybe I am wrong but that is what I experienced.

Response from Paessler

Dear Mohmad,
Thanks for your positive feedback! We're pleased to hear that you find our alerting system reliable and appreciate the ease of use of our user interface along with the flexibility to create custom sensors. We're committed to continually improving our platform to better meet your needs.

Your Paessler Team

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Zero customer support / loyalty

Reviewed on 2020/01/23

I have been a longtime customer of PRTG 7+ yrs now. I contact them about once a year for little...

I have been a longtime customer of PRTG 7+ yrs now. I contact them about once a year for little things I run into with the program. This time around they refuse to help, beyond basic email support in the middle of the night. If you want a program that provides support this isn't the product for you. If you are in the US the best you get is email support and they usually only respond while you are sleeping. Don't expect them to go out of the way for you. PRTG has wasted 2+ hrs fighting with me on fixing something their software caused, something they could likely fix in a 5min phone call. After paying them for support all this time I am done with this company, they are a scam!

Pros

Great for monitoring bandwidth usage or finding health problems/over utilization of resources. All using the SNMP protocol.

Cons

Support, they don't provide much beyond an KB article or emails in the middle of the night.

Response from Paessler

We're sorry to hear about your frustration and that our support has not lived up to your expectations.
We always try to give you the best possible support in case of problems.

Kind regards,
Paessler AG

Isaac
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great product if you just need a simple and free monitor or Enteprise Leve one

Reviewed on 2023/12/15

I currently use the free product where I work now, but in the past have used the enterprise product...

I currently use the free product where I work now, but in the past have used the enterprise product for a larger oragnization.

Pros

There are a lot of different things you can monitor, prebuilt templates and even custom things that you can build. Having a free product helps a lot to see if it's what you need in your environment.

Cons

I wish AD logon integration was included in the free version instead of 1 shared account.

Response from Paessler

Dear Isaac,
Thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you found our product versatile with its range of monitoring options and customizable features. We're committed to providing valuable tools for both individual and enterprise-level needs.

Your Paessler Team

Enrique
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Monitoring Tool. Excellent with alerts and notifications.

Reviewed on 2024/03/08

Pros

Alerts, Notifications, all the sensors that come out of the box. Easy to use. Easy to set up.

Cons

Could improve with support. It's hard to communicate via email only.

Response from Paessler

Dear Enrique,
Thanks for your positive feedback! We're happy to hear that you like our monitoring tool and appreciate its robust alerting and notification features. We're committed to providing easy setup and usability, along with a comprehensive suite of sensors to meet your needs.

Your Paessler Team

Patrick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Monitoring for SMB

Reviewed on 2024/03/10

Pros

Many standard sensor temlates, easy to write custom sensors e.g. via PowerShell

Cons

Azure / M365 monitoring / sensors could be expanded in the mid-term future

Response from Paessler

Dear Patrick,
Thank you for your feedback! We're constantly working to improve our monitoring capabilities, including expanding Azure/M365 monitoring, to better meet your needs in the future.

Your Paessler Team

Ducher
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect took for monitoring

Reviewed on 2024/03/08

Pros

It is very easy to setup and you can monitor a large category of devices.

Cons

No big deal, it's a very simple tool to handle. Map creation may take a little time.

Response from Paessler

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're thrilled to hear that our monitoring tool met your expectations and provided ease of setup across a wide range of devices.

Your Paessler Team

RICHARD
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

See what you cant

Reviewed on 2024/03/08

Pros

Simple and easy to use interface makes network monitoring easy.

Cons

Some of the censors can be quite difficult to configure.

Response from Paessler

Dear Richard,
Thank you very much for your review! Check out our how-to guides and our YouTube channel to get the most out of PRTG.

Your Paessler Team

Danny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Import & Export
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PRTG review

Reviewed on 2024/03/08

Pros

Mobile Application is the beast feature.

Cons

I do not have anything that I do not like about PRTG

Response from Paessler

Dear Danny,
Thank you for your positive feedback! We're glad to hear that you're enjoying our mobile application. If you ever have any suggestions or feedback in the future, feel free to reach out.

Your Paessler Team

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent quality monitor platform

Reviewed on 2024/03/08

Pros

The possibility of integration with many vendors.

Cons

Have a gui for customizations that currently require saving files directly in folders.

Response from Paessler

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're delighted to hear that you're enjoying the excellent quality and seamless integration options. If you have any further suggestions or feedback, we'd love to hear them!

Your Paessler Team

Sachin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple & Powerful Monitoring tool,feature oriented,reliable sensors

Reviewed on 2022/04/22

Notifications and mail alerts for minute attributes in all devices rescue us from major hardware or...

Notifications and mail alerts for minute attributes in all devices rescue us from major hardware or network issues and reduce downtime to a large extent.

Pros

User-friendly dashboard, Easy to configure. High quality sensor reporting, Can monitor almost all server platforms, Networking devices, an awesome product.

Cons

Nothing much to say, almost perfect. The only suggestion is to make it budget-friendly for medium-level customers.

Alternatives Considered

Network Performance Monitor

Reasons for Choosing PRTG

More user-friendly, and notification delivery was much better compared to Observium.

Reasons for Switching to PRTG

PRTG was more user-friendly and Professional compared to others.

Response from Paessler

Dear Sachin,
Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG and we love hearing about how you are using it.

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Vladimir
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

prtg monitoring

Reviewed on 2022/12/07

More than 5 years. monitoring (ISP infrastructure, Enterprise clients infrastructure)

More than 5 years. monitoring (ISP infrastructure, Enterprise clients infrastructure)

Pros

Intuitive management interface. Ease to integrate to your environment

Cons

Price. But if you compare to other monitoring services, it is normal

Response from Paessler

Dear Vladimir,
We're happy that you're happy! Thanks for leaving us a review!
Have you already tried the new user interface? You can now use it in production environments.

Your Paessler Team

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy installation and configuration.

Reviewed on 2022/12/17

A very easy and intuitive tool with a lot of material available for consultation without the need...

A very easy and intuitive tool with a lot of material available for consultation without the need to program in code

Pros

Native sensors and easy customization of dashboards

Cons

Some sensors still need to be configured via script or OID

Response from Paessler

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review!

Your Paessler Team

Gideon
Gideon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

PRTG Network Monitor

Reviewed on 2023/05/30

Pros

Comprehensive Monitoring Features: PRTG Network Monitor includes a variety of monitoring features, such as bandwidth monitoring, device health monitoring, server monitoring, application monitoring, and more. It supports a number of protocols and technologies, enabling businesses to keep an eye on many facets of their network infrastructure and gain visibility into its performance, availability, and resource usage.Alerting and Notifications: PRTG Network Monitor offers customizable alerting and notification features to promptly inform IT teams about critical network events or performance issues. It supports various alerting methods such as email notifications, SMS, push notifications, and more. Users can define thresholds and conditions to trigger alerts and ensure timely response to network incidents.

Cons

Interface Customization Limitations: While PRTG Network Monitor provides customizable dashboards and reports, some users may find limitations in terms of design flexibility and customization options. Users with specific visual preferences or those requiring highly tailored reports may find the available customization options somewhat limited.

Response from Paessler

Dear Gideon,
Thank you for highlighting the comprehensive monitoring features and customizable alerting capabilities of PRTG. We designed our system to provide businesses with extensive visibility into their network infrastructure and enable timely responses to critical network events. We appreciate your feedback!

Your Paessler Team

Mohamed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the most powerful infrastructure monitoring software

Reviewed on 2022/05/29

A good experience and I recommend using it, as it is one of the most powerful network monitoring...

A good experience and I recommend using it, as it is one of the most powerful network monitoring software, but the free version must be tried to ensure that it works in a manner commensurate with the network and the work environment.

Pros

The large number of monitoring operations on the servers and the availability of options to monitor and clarify cloud services in detail
It is an integrated control panel and you can control the number of seconds and services of the machine
And it divides them for you into categories such as the machines that are hosted on the ESXI and puts them in a separate group and so on.
The interface is excellent, clear and fast, unlike some other programs
It is characterized by its work on the local server without the need for a separate machine.

Cons

A little slow in the hardware check process
Guidance messages cover some important buttons, which prevents them from being noticed.
Some errors are not clear, such as when I ask to monitor the Memory and Hardisk, the error is not clear if it is in the Port or the Authentication process or even the Firewall, so I hope to detail the errors to facilitate their solution.
There is no monitoring of Ping in the form of a list and the form of a tree, it is difficult to monitor all devices on one page.

Alternatives Considered

Network Performance Monitor and Zabbix

Reasons for Choosing PRTG

Because it suits our work environment more, but I would not say that it is better.

Response from Paessler

Dear Mohamed,
Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community! Have a look at our support section on our homepage. Here you will find many useful tips and tricks to help you get the most out of PRTG.

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly Customizable and Very Capable Systems Monitor.

Reviewed on 2023/09/27

Saved our bacon numerous times. Was able to monitor just about everything I could throw at it. Very...

Saved our bacon numerous times. Was able to monitor just about everything I could throw at it. Very satisfied with the performance and options of the product.

Pros

The plethora of ways and systems to monitor. Built in support for Windows Active Directory, DNS, SQL Server and more. So many aspects to monitor - SSL Certificates, Running Services, individual SQL tables.With SNMP, you can add anything that supports that protocol. I Added Printer toner levels.Integrates out of the box with Active Directory, for single sign on purposes. Fine grained security options. An API to easily add new systems.The free version is full featured, limiting only the amount of sensors (100) you can run.Built in Integration with other well known systems like Meraki, and Sophos.

Cons

It's a great product that does what it does every well. Nothing really comes to mind. Perhaps too much customization.

Response from Paessler

Dear Adam,
Thank you for your positive review! We're glad to hear that PRTG is a valuable tool for you, offering a wide range of monitoring capabilities and seamless integration with various systems.
We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that PRTG is helping you save the day. If you ever have any suggestions or need further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Your Paessler Team

Irfan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Network & Bandwidth Monitoring Tool

Reviewed on 2020/03/05

Good Product to monitor your networks but for huge network its not sufficient, but for normal...

Good Product to monitor your networks but for huge network its not sufficient, but for normal networks its good to notify and other feature are very good i-e up time, alert system and cluster fail-over solutions ,
in the last PRTG interface must be need improvments.

Pros

Its a Simple Software to Monitor Network and bandwidth user, application wise.
Monitoring & Manage all applications in details statistics in network,
Correct Up-time/downtime for devices.
*Flexible alerting (different types or Alert are available in this product)
Cluster fail-over solution

Cons

Interface is no good and creating huddles in configurations,
automatically connection between links is unavailable.
Cluster fail-over solution not so good.

Alternatives Considered

Nagios XI

Reasons for Switching to PRTG

Pricing licensing

Response from Paessler

Thank you for leaving us a review!

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Know when there's a problem before the end users start calling

Reviewed on 2018/11/13

We monitor customer routers that we service and their ISP gateways. We can find out rather quickly...

We monitor customer routers that we service and their ISP gateways. We can find out rather quickly when a customer goes down, or when a customer is having an issue with just the router, and we do not have to be actively doing it ourselves. We are just notified when there's an issue and jump in and start resolving right it away.

Pros

It tells me when there is a problem without much overhead on my part, and it puts me ahead of the game before end users start notifying me there is a problem. Its a pretty great feeling being able to call the end user up and tell them that you have already detected a problem and that you were actively working on before they have gotten around to notify you there was even an issue.

Cons

It takes some time to set up and configure the software. Its not as intuitive as I'd like it to be, but its entirely manageable. You just need to invest the time to learn it get it working the way you want and then from that point on its a breeze.

Response from Paessler

Thank for your review!

Mauricio
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Top five monitor app for IT departments on SMB and corporations 24/7 365 days.

Reviewed on 2018/05/28

Most of my clients are SMB and need a free option to monitor his IT devices, with a free option...

Most of my clients are SMB and need a free option to monitor his IT devices, with a free option it's easier.

Pros

-The free version allows up to 100 sensors to be included on his interface. This feature helps allot of companies IT departments to monitor and compare without limitations.
-Easy installation process for core app, available for SNMP devices (almost every tech device has this option).
-Add devices for a monitor it's easier than other competitors because its agent less and his auto discover feature make deployment process fast and secure.
-Available as web interface with every OS and app for the most important devices (iOS and Android).

Cons

-User guide needs to be adapted for none IT users.
-Reports need an experienced partner to customize executive options.
-Customer Support it's not the best part of this company, sometimes take days to solve an issue that would take minutes on other monitoring software.

Alejandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Useful and helps admins all the time!

Reviewed on 2022/04/26

Supporting IT is complex, PRTG allows to use the admins time more efficiently and we can do more...

Supporting IT is complex, PRTG allows to use the admins time more efficiently and we can do more with the resources we have

Pros

easy to use, lot of sensors, easy to implement, probes over internet

Cons

Geo maps show sensors and devices but colors don't allow good visibility

Alternatives Considered

Nagios XI and Network Performance Monitor

Reasons for Switching to PRTG

easy to use, best price performance ratio

Response from Paessler

Dear Alejandro,
We're happy that you're happy! Thanks for leaving us a review!

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Matteo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best monitoring solution I know our there

Reviewed on 2019/04/24

with PRTG we can relax and react quickly when something goes wrong in our infrastructure. all in...

with PRTG we can relax and react quickly when something goes wrong in our infrastructure. all in all it a great investment!

Pros

This software is quite easy and intuitive to set up and use. We have done the installation on our own and have been since then really happy with it. PRTG scans our infrastructure and notifies immediately when something goes wrong. Whenever we install new systems, we look at PRTG and set some basic sensors for each important service, and we are all set. it's a work of a few minutes, you can get most needs coevered with little effort

Cons

the web based UI is much better now, but could still be improved a bit in the usability. selecting multiple objects is a bit awkward and not intuitive. some sensors are buggy and we have stopped using them. but that's only a very low percentage of the total

Response from Paessler

Hi Matteo,

Thank you for your review!
Cheers,
Paessler AG

Samuel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

PRTG Network Monitor is the Perfect Tool for Monitoring

Reviewed on 2023/06/02

Pros

A versatile network watchdog, offering impressive system health features and easy integrations with servers, switches, routers, and firewalls.

Cons

Though powerful, it presents a somewhat complex interface and setup, with a few buggy sensors, and license limitations based on node count.

Response from Paessler

Dear Samuel,
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your positive remarks about PRTG and its system health features.
Do not hesitate to contact our support team if you have any questions about PRTG.

Your Paessler Team

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Monitoring Software

Reviewed on 2022/04/26

Pros

Easy to Setup
Extensive Reporting and alert management

Cons

Learning curve -- Takes time to get acclimatize

Response from Paessler

Thank you for leaving us a review! To help you make the change, take a look at our PRTG Tutorials channel on YouTube where you will find many topics related to PRTG.

Cheers,
Paessler AG

Luis Eduardo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Almost 2 Year with my favourite Monitoring Tool

Reviewed on 2023/03/03

I've been training some new persons in our company to use PRTG, and they are using it like pros.It...

I've been training some new persons in our company to use PRTG, and they are using it like pros.It is a great tool to use, today we have more than 35 thousand sensors monitoring devices.

Pros

PRTG is an easy-to-use monitoring tool, it is easy to get going, To set up a monitoring environment is easy, just deploy a core server or a remote probe connected to the core server.The auto discovery is a great tool to get the monitoring of devices fast.

Cons

Sometimes the auto discovery tool affect the application performance.The Map Designer should be better with more options to personalize the maps.A Grafana extension should be implemented.

Response from Paessler

Dear Luis Eduardo,
Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG and we love hearing about how you are using it.
If you would like to give us more feedback, why not become part of our PRTG Feedback Insiders. You can find all the information here: https://go.paessler.com/prtg-feedback-insiders

Your Paessler Team

Atahualpa
Atahualpa
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Prtg is a software of easy use and allows to monitor and study the traffic of the network.

Reviewed on 2018/05/31

PRTG is very useful for statistical studies of the behavior of the network, since it keeps...

PRTG is very useful for statistical studies of the behavior of the network, since it keeps historical daily, weekly, monthly and annual, this allows to carry out a detailed and accurate planning, we can also evaluate how a marketing and sales campaign impacts on the links of our network and see if the end customers are making more use of our services.

Pros

It allows configuring any network element, only with IP address, MIB an OID, and we can monitor from electrical signals, CPU indicators, RAM / ROM memory, UpLink traffic parameters, DownLink, pack discards, traffic overflow and loss. as well as the dating of data, with this indicators, our network is monitored 365 days a year.
Generally in ISPs it is used as a statistical traffic tool which allows to make growth projections in the links of the network of providers, as well as a guide to evaluate post impact work in the network of the ISP company.

Cons

ls disadvantages of PRTG are few, however we must be aware that it is not a monitoring software in real time, it interrogates the network element every 5 minutes, and there is an additional time so we should not use it as a ractive failure tool.