59 reviews

Network Performance Monitor

Powerful, Affordable IT Management Software

4,6 /5 (59 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
97%
recommended this app
59 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

NPM is a very reliable and powerful network monitoring tool

Reviewed on 2018/10/18

It can use some improvements, but still, in 8 years we've been using NPM on a service provider scenario, it has solved about 80% of our customers requirements for network monitoring. When complemented with other products from the same vendor, it provides maybe 95%, since there's always something than need a specialized tool.

Pros

In the world of enterprise network monitoring, NPM has one of the shortest learning curves, its web GUI is very inutitive and you can start monitoring your assets almost immediately.
It's support for different monitoring mechanisms (snmp, wmi and agent) provides adaptability to mostly any network.
It possesses a very robust engine to configure thresholds, events and actions, so you can get the proper reaction to different events.
SolarWinds provides a very complete ecosystem of network monitoring and management tools with seamless integration.

Cons

The licensing model is not the best for a service provider scenario and it seems like the vendor doesn't even consider this option.
Reporting capabilities are sort of buggy , specially when exporting complex and large reports. This tasks will also consume a lot of resources. There's an opportunity for the vendor to maybe decouple reporting capabilities to a BI module which can be deployed on an independent server, and maybe use for it a read only replica of the production DB.

Chris L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

We use NPM to monitor our network stack.

Reviewed on 2018/03/07

Pros

Fast, clear status of performance and possible outages.
Easy integration with other tools and custom alert mechanisms.
A focused company who is very involved in making great tutorials.

Cons

The GUI is starting to look dated, it could use a complete overhaul.
License needs can be tricky to determine.

Jeremy M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Pricey but worth its weight in (insert item here)... Must have tool.

Reviewed on 2017/06/07

Pros

Complete network monitoring tool. Allows you a near single pane of glass approach to you network. You have details and i mean details about every server, switch, I even have my consumable good inventory vending machines monitored with NPM. Detailed level for switch ports and routers, Cisco UCS, HP, DELL, and the list goes on and on. When there is no identified MIB, you can create your own. You can label your undefined items so they mean something to you. The Agent for servers installs on Windows and Linux and is SO EASY. It offers WMI, SNMP and ICMP monitoring as well as the agent which gives you several flavors to monitor equipment. Ease of use is good, interface is above average, and saving my score is 1000 out of 10

Cons

For me there is only one real things that gets me with NPM. Licensing. SolarWinds has a great set of products, but the licensing costs are really high. Even a small company needs this software but its hard to justify. The way they count nodes against your license total is in my opinion unfair. I think of a server as a node, and everything on that server should be covered as 1 node, but they see everything down to seems like the vlans on a switch port, but to be clear it is not counting vlans. However if you have 2 48 port switches, that is 96 nodes, you want to monitor, guess how fast your 100 node license gets used up. But the price to jump up is super crazy expensive. They need to rework that.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great network monitoring tool

Reviewed on 2018/12/04

I use NPM to monitor the health of the network routers and switches and the bandwidth used in the WAN links and switch uplinks. I also use it to monitor several Windows servers, including free disk space, memory and CPU occupation, the load of Hyper-V and VMWare hosts and the load, battery status and runtime of UPS devices.

Pros

It's very easy to setup and use and everything is configurable. It's really easy to configure dashboards and visualize every piece of information the way we want to. It can be used to monitor network equipment from a lot of vendors, as well as Windows systems and virtualization hosts and guests. Basically, anything it can connect to using SNMP or WMI.

Cons

It's not good at all to get information about endpoints. The information is unreliable: it doesn't find a lot of endpoints in the network, reports them with old IP addresses and in places where they are not connected anymore, etc.

Igor J.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Monitoring network devices.

Reviewed on 2018/09/09

Pros

We use Network Performance Monitor because we need deep information about the operation of our network devices. The system works very well in our organization and I can recommend it to others.

Cons

The system is very good and complete, but also very difficult to use, the implementation of the system is also very difficult, it requires an experienced partner.

Brian W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Works great!

Reviewed on 2017/05/17

Pros

Very intuitive interface. Easy to use. Real time alerting is awesome. Reporting functionality is always on par

Cons

The software tends to use too many server resources causing the application to fail and disrupt ease

Randi F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Looks and works great

Reviewed on 2018/08/31

Got us through a transitional period where we were short on IT staff.

Pros

It is a really clean solution that was easy to install and use. It is aesthetically appealing and I can better visualize my own network.

Cons

It does not really do anything that I could not do on my own, so it is really 100% bells and whistles. I would not recommend this software unless you are new to networking and you do not have the knowledge or manpower to manage/monitor an existing enterprise network. That being said, it is incredibly expensive for what you really get, but can be helpful if your use-case is a good fit.

Mike P.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Cloud based software for busy IT admins

Reviewed on 2018/02/22

Pros

The layout that shows the main issues on the dashboard is a great feature. This allows you to take the most serious tasks and rectify them first. The layout of the software is very user friendly and can be used by both beginning and advanced administrators alike

Cons

Not to much not to like about the software. One thing that would be nice is a way to add custom field for reports.

Hughes W.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent product that provides greater value for the money

Reviewed on 2017/05/18

Pros

Ease of installation. Product Support in clubs I've of upgrades. Great online training and folllowup

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great Network Monitoring tool which is always coming out with new features

Reviewed on 2018/06/21

Pros

This is just one of the many suite of applications that SolarWinds offers to help manage the Network. Ease to use and helps diagnose / troubleshoot issues. Easy to automate alerts to notify you of problems afterhours. Great graphical interface as well.

Cons

Is more costly than other tools but worth the cost as SolarWinds will take less time to manage over time.

Raghav B.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy Network Monitoring tool

Reviewed on 2017/12/06

Overall good tool

Pros

It is able to monitor every device in your company and check for high cpu utilization, low memory, failures and errors. As well as make backups of all your devices.
Works with almost all network products and can be customized using universal pollers to handle almost any imaginable product.

Cons

Slow performance on web interface.
I think they should work on the overall look of the program, integrate more features into the SolarWinds NPM suite.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Works well overall but can get slow over time

Reviewed on 2019/04/01

We use this software to monitor our network equipment and servers and for the price it works well for doing that.

Pros

Was easy to setup and maintain and their support seems to be great to work with.

Cons

Over time it gets really slow and the server needs rebooted. Nothing I've tried including putting it on a new server seems to rectify this.

Neil L.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Provides all the information that helps you with keep on top of your network before problems...

Reviewed on 2017/12/14

Pros

Being able to monitor and receive real time information about known devices on your network as well as having the forecasting ability so that you can plan for future growth easily.

Cons

Some of the alerts may require you to do some customization in order for them to work. Licensing for some of the modules may get some what pricey if you go into a higher level tier.

Kevin S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great product for Network Performance- but Software Experience a must

Reviewed on 2017/05/26

Pros

Monitoring for all endpoints available
Uses SNMP V1-V3
Alert notifications available for email distribution
dashboard for NOC or super user

Cons

Have to figure everything out yourself. Solarwinds does not provide much training on the configuration of the system to fully maximize it. The refer you to a outside consultant to setup the system. Support is pretty limited because many of the issues revolve around how it is setup. Which they would provide more training with the purchase of the product on how to fine tune the software for your needs

Michael G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

NPM - A Power Horse

Reviewed on 2017/09/08

The ability to constantly monitor the health of my network.

Pros

What's not to love? Deep, Reliable, and an absolute monitoring beast. I use this daily - DAILY - to monitor my company's environment. The awareness that it gives you is bar none the best around.

Cons

Cost can get hefty depending on how many modules you use. If your company is in a lucky enough position to accept the price, then you are in for a treat.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Network Monitoring Tool

Reviewed on 2019/04/01

Pros

A)It is user friendly, Can monitor all kind of network device
B) We can extract the daily, monthly reports as per our need.
C) Generate alerts which can help us to trace the issue.

Cons

A) It is highly expensive compare to it's compititior.
B) The customer service response time was highly lathergic.
C) it's graphics were not as satisfactory

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solarwinds NPM Review

Reviewed on 2019/03/06

I am a network engineer for 6 years. I have been working a financial company which include hundreds of branches. We use NPM and we monitor all interfaces and nodes in our company.

Pros

smart dashboard, east to implement all node or interface, good alarm and report mechanism, sql base database

Cons

support fees, weak local developers and not exact negative command because it is really good.

Anthony S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I use the product every day and still feels hard to navigate .

Reviewed on 2017/05/18

Seemed easy to use.

Pros

The software can do just about anything you need. Very in depth and helpful product.

Cons

As I said above. The software is very hard to navigate and use. I access it everyday and it is still doesn't feel smooth.

Jason Z.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great to have a view of everything

Reviewed on 2018/03/07

Pros

The dashboards are incredible I am able to troubleshoot the network quickly and efficiently right down to the node.

Cons

I wish there was a way to see what an IP belongs to on the exterior of our environment like a whois this Ip

Mohammad I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Maserati of network monitors.

Reviewed on 2020/08/17

We all were much impressed with the product but after getting the quote, idea was dropped to continue with NPM.

Pros

An excellent, easy to deploy product with tons of features and great customer support.

Cons

It is not good for smaller networks as it is way expensive and they may not use it at the fullest.

Sachin P.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Many things are interesting but comes at a huge cost.

Reviewed on 2018/04/14

Pros

The details that it provides are huge and so many little intricate details to monitor and take care about. Gives peace of mind once installed properly for sure.

Cons

For a network monitoring tool, a little too expensive. Huge customization are needed at some step but not necessary that you might need to too.

Jerry B.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I'm an IT Analyst who uses this software to troubleshoot our enterprise network infrastructure.

Reviewed on 2018/07/26

Pros

The level of detail included about network assets. It provides a wealth of information that makes troubleshooting a breeze.

Cons

Sometimes the user interface seems less than intuitive and can be a little confusing. There is a lot of information presented and often times I find myself forgetting how I navigated to a particular display.

Sachin C.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best one in business

Reviewed on 2018/04/05

Pros

1) Real time health report and a microseconds difference is the competence i was looking for in the monitoring tools out there.

Cons

1) Prices could be cheaper but whatever keeps my servers afloat i can go for it, without much ado.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

For Monitoring, Look No Further Than SolarWinds

Reviewed on 2019/06/19

Pros

Great user community/support community in THWACK - get anything answered, any time of day. Reliable alerts and metrics.

Cons

Can be a be difficult to set up. Look into consultants that do this for a living.

Destiny B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2015/12/01