Zabbix Reviews

Zabbix

Zabbix is the ultimate enterprise-level open source software designed for monitoring availability and performance of IT infrastructure components.

4.5/5 (37 reviews)
Omar G.

Very good Tool to monitor almost everything everything in one place

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/07/17
Review Source: Capterra

Easy Installation

Implementation takes time.

Adapting it to your environment and customizing it also requires some time, but in the end, it's something that's going to help save you from checking device by device.

My experience has been very good, I have used many monitoring tools that have also been good but this is the one that has convinced me the most.

It requires time for implementation but it is understood that it is a free tool.

Pros

I implemented the appliance with Ubuntu and if you follow the manual the installation is simple.

A variety of monitoring resources can be added and triggers can be customized according to your needs.

The dashboard gives you a very wide view of all the computer resources and gives you the possibility to prioritize in a more efficient way.

You can create your own maps, review detailed graphs of resources, create macros and view the online information of all devices.

In general, it is a very useful tool.

Cons

It takes patience and time to adjust the triggers so that it only shows you the problems that really exist in the infrastructure but once you adapt it to your needs becomes an ally to be aware of the resources and be able to react in time.

When a problem arises with the tool, there aren't many forums and it requires you to invest time in finding the solution.

In almost a year and a half that I have using the tool I have only had the monitoring stopped for a few hours because the service stopped, I found the cause looking in the forums and I could solve the problem.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Vandana G.

Automation Monitoring the complete Infrastructure

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/27
Review Source: Capterra

Zabbix is an open source monitoring solution. We are using it from last 2 years to monitor our complete infrastructure using it. The immediate feedback using email and Jabber helps to dig fast and on right place. Monitoring always needs protection on roles and permission as it has access to sensitive data also, so the new tag based management provide the roles and triggers that need to be executed. The new HTML based email looks more nice in all new Zabbix 4.2 version.

Pros

Zabbix is an open source monitoring solution to monitor our complete infrastructure. Zabbix helps in monitoring any kind of IT solution like servers, network, services, virtual machine, database or website monitoring. The new interface and features included in Zabbix 4.2 are really impressive. Zabbix helps in storing the data in JSON format so other application can also use it. Zabbix proxy is highly recommended for large scale of production system. The low level discovery automatically search the new nodes without any effort.

Cons

Zabbix notification and per-user view are the areas that need to be enhanced more and come with the more customization options. The support tickets sounds expensive if you buy some start packs so an Enterprise pack is always recommended if you need to implement it to complete infrastructures of a large organization.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Nidhi S.

Zabbix automation for all kind of IT soutions.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/15
Review Source: Capterra

Zabbix is a great tool for automation monitoring. The easy administration help in managing the permission and roles for users. The customized audit log view can be modified as per the roles and permission to maintain the privacy of data. Trigger display can be customized. The availability report have the new time filter that can be used to select a time frame to view the particular data.

Pros

Zabbix is the one-stop software tool for monitoring the complete infrastructure. The end-to-end security and distributed monitoring help to track and audit the remote data centers. Zabbix proxies server help in isolating the network and speeding up the response from node. Best thing I like in Zabbix is that the agents never get out of dated as New Zabbix version always supports its previous agent version. Zabbix 4.X also support the IPv4 or IPv6 or mix internet protocol for addressing.

Cons

The problem detection and metric collection display should be configurable for each user view. The configuration for event correlation need to trigger points and it should come with the test feature button to check the functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Bill B.

Serious power for technical users

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/16
Review Source: Capterra

Zabbix is one component of my managed services platform. It handles multi-tenancy well. It has been 100% reliable at watching my clients' machines and alerting me to problems that require action. Zabbix can be fine tuned so that you are notified of just the problems that require your attention, without a lot of noise. I use the notification options to control how, where and at what times I am alerted, based on severity.

Pros

With Zabbix, you can monitor and automate just about anything. Highly, HIGHLY configurable and scalable. It can monitor processes within a machine, connectivity between machines, performance, availability, SLA compliance, and so on using TCP/IP, SNMP, IPMI, JMX. It's actively developed Free software with a large community, so you can expect frequent updates and new features. The server is Linux based but there are monitoring agents for all the major OSes.

Cons

Zabbix takes some time to learn the framework. There are several parts to construct just one monitor-trigger-action item. Pre-built templates make it easier to begin and provide some examples to study, but this is not a plug-n-play application. More like a box of Legos. Not that I like this aspect least, but mention it as fair warning for those prospecting for a monitoring solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Abhinav K.

A complete Automation Monitoring Solution for DevOps environment

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/03/25
Review Source: Capterra

We are monitoring the complete infrastructure with the Zabbix and implementing it with each new project we are working on. The agentless monitoring provides the advantage on some hand where installing of agent is not easy or possible. The newly designed web interface is user friendly and help in implementing and deploy with ease. Dashboard also provide the push notification to right user group about its issue and monitoring engineer can detect the root cause of the issue.

Pros

The new Zabbix 4.0 has significantly enhanced the dashboard and other graphical widget. The newly design time module selection also allows the word syntax for faster access to the metrics. Zabbix provides the mutiple modes like Kiosk mode & compact mode view to present the data in more efficient way. Zabbix 4.0 come with the new tag based permission which gives the flexibility to manage the access to user group. Zabbix community is increasing rapidly as it provides the complete open source enterprise level monitoring.

Cons

The only lack I find about Zabbix was documentation and lack of other online content, but after implementing it I find the official documentation is fair enough to implement as the pre-configure template are easy to deploy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Open-source enterprise grade monitoring solution

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/01
Review Source: Capterra

General purpose open source monitoring tool which provides a good starting point for day 2 operations.

Pros

It was very straightforward to get started using the software. Zabbix is open source monitoring platform and there are a number of different ways to quickly install the product. All that is required is a compatible linux distribution and persistence layer. I used Centos and PostgreSQL. A few commands later and I had Zabbix up and running. Our primary goal was to use Zabbix for network monitoring, although it does offer support for almost any type of resource. Since the project has been around for a while there are a large number of plugins available for both hardware and software applications. However most of these are fairly generic and you will need to write (or pay) for advanced integrations). If you need support, zabbix offers multiple tiers of support depending on your SLA requirements.

Cons

Lack of automated backend processing to keep the database tuned to peak performance. As mentioned before, if you need a custom integration, or a more complete integration for an existing solution, you'll need learn how to customize zabbix. Depending on your team's technical ability, this might be a challenging endeavor, as the provided documentation can be lacking. While you have the ability to generate reports, Zabbix doesn't support all file formats.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Best tool for monitoring

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/28
Review Source: Capterra

It is a great tool for monitoring and alerting. We use the company and it shows very effective, has good integration with other tools, sending emails and alerts. In addition to being open source

Pros

Monitoring, sending alerts by email, integration with other tools, solid community

Cons

Zabbix could improve the UI but it's a very good tool

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Gurleen K.

Zabbix - The Enterprise Level real time monitoring.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/06
Review Source: Capterra

Zabbix is helping in to monitor the Application and Network. The best thing I like in it is the flexible dashboard which can be configure according to the need of the administrator.

Pros

Zabbix provide the enterprise level monitor. Network monitoring is every effective as it let us know the each packet loss rate and interface error rate with this it's each to check the network health and also monitor any changes in network like hardware removed or connected. Server Monitoring have feature to monitor the host and help in administration. It also provide the number of templates to monitor the all poplar Operating System. A large Zabbix community is also a plus point of it. Application monitoring is the best of zabbix as it have number of in-build template to monitor the Applications.

Cons

Most complex part of in it is implementation and configuration for dashboard. Learning curves are sharp as it have limited engineer that work on it. The master node can be setup only on Linux OS.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Pretty Good Monitoring Software.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

pretty good so far however we are looking at Sensu.

Pros

We have been using Zabbix for the last 2 years to monitor a mixture of cloud and on-premise servers and it seems t work quite well

Cons

Setting up Zabbix was a bit of a nightmare but one setup it seems to function quite well.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Max S.

Essential for SLA & security monitoring

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/12
Review Source: Capterra

We've implemented Zabbix monitoring more than five years ago, and extended it nearly to all areas of our IT operations: it helped us to proactively identify and fix problems before our customers face those issues.
With the help of Zabbix, our SLA is close to 99.997% (2018).

Pros

- Extensibility: you can add your own triggers and monitor nearly any aspect of nearly any system;
- Integration with notification mechanisms (Slack, SMS, Telegram, Email) allows to deliver warnings to responsible person and eliminate the issue;
- Affordable and widespread solution: you'll have no issues finding personnel to configure and support the solution in-house.

Cons

- The solution might look overwhelming to non-tech people at first, but it's still ergonomic.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ivan R.

Scalability and easy to implement

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/10
Review Source: Capterra

The benefits are several from my point of view, you can download a free version and make the configuration you need. For entrepreneurs and SMEs is a good option. If you want to monitor a very large network or several networks you can also do it, that is, it adapts to what your company needs.

Pros

installing and implementing zabbix is very easy, with a minimum of knowledge you can do it. We use zabbix to monitor cellular networks and servers, so far it has been very stable.

Cons

Its free version has very few users, this limited us considerably when making the configuration for the amount of equipment we want to use in test environment. In Venezuela it was very difficult to hire a representative for support.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Cody P.

Superior Infrastructure Monitoring

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/26
Review Source: Capterra

Zabbix allows me to provide better service up-time and stay ahead of any encroaching issues through my entire multi-cloud infrastructure.

Pros

Zabbix is very flexible and can support just about any monitoring scenario. I have been using it since version 1.8 and it has helped me be proactive in solving issues before they arise. It is the single most useful piece of software I use day in and day out.

Cons

The learning curve can be a bit steep for new users. Especially those lacking programming or linux skills. Grasping the concept of writing trigger expressions can take a while; but they are very flexible and powerful.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Will E.

A useful tool for monitoring infrastructure if costs need to be kept to a minimum

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to install agent which can be installed on 100's of client servers. The zabbix agent has low memory usage, so it can be installed on low spec web servers. The ability to create custom metrics and setup different triggers and notifications is great.

Cons

Ease of use isn't great and it takes a long period of adoption to get your head around how items, triggers and notifications work. The error messages you receive aren't particularly user friendly and are more suited to developers rather than operations teams. Housekeeping doesn't stop us ending up with huge database tables in Zabbix.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Great for free and extremely powerful

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/07/17
Review Source: GetApp

So to start off, it's tricky to complete the initial setup.
Once setup, great for cloud monitoring and data logging. There's 100s of pre-built sets of monitoring for linux and windows.
We use this to monitor 100+ individual SQL instances and 8+ Windows cloud servers.

Pros

Very powerfull once configured
Lovely php based gui
Almost infinate amounts of host templates to import
User based views, also via LDAP
Alerts
Network maps
Graphs (for the managers)

Cons

Tricky to perform initial installation
Some templates may require 3rd party plugins from github

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Adolf R.

Zabbix guarantees and excellent operation on the network.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/30
Review Source: GetApp

Zabbix allows me to configure your system so that I can control the faults that may arise and be able to locate the place, time, in addition to the responsible device. This platform monitors any type of IT solution, such as servers, networks, databases, etc. The system has the property of offering continuous detailed reports of the state in which the network is located and of the huts that are considered opportune.

Pros

In addition to offering me the guarantee that the network works perfectly at all times, Zabbix can also count on its ability to track, control and monitor the transfer of data, as well as prevent and solve problems in the bandwidth. Another aspect that I like This system is that I can store data in Json format, which is very important for other applications to use.

Cons

I really like this platform, however I have to express that its implementation can be a bit complicated at the beginning for people with limited programming knowledge.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

That single notification system you need in case everything starts burning

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/31
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Once you get used to it being open on another monitor or in the background, that becomes part of your office life. If you suspect something's going wrong - a quick look at the dashboard will already give you an idea or where to dig.

Cons

Configuration wise it seems all locked to the skilled admins that know how to deal with it, putting it out of reach of regular users. Seems to be lacking customization for the dashboard style.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Anton G.

Monitor all the things, on a budget.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

Proactive monitoring of servers and infrastructure.

Pros

Free and FOSS keeps the cost down, so that's good. It can monitor so many things - servers, switched, sensors. Alerts can be configured to be sent to the right personnel and at the right times. Worth the effort to get it setup.

Cons

The effort to get it setup can be a bit much, depending on the devices that you need to monitor. For example, IPMI can be a challenge.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Raúl L.

Nice and quite entertaining to use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/01
Review Source: Capterra

High monitoring system and prevent of dDOS atack

Pros

Pretty simple installation, initial configuration and deployment of monitoring agents quite fast and efficient

Cons

The large number of agents distributed in the elements to monitor, create a heavy load of TCP traffic in the network, which by its nature of SNORT makes conventional packets that travel through TCP also, have relevant delays

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Daniel R.

Overall great tool for a multiplatform server monitoring application

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/27
Review Source: Capterra

Saving Time finding error in multiple server logs

Pros

The administrator interface has helped me a lot when evaluating, identifying and solving problems in my servers

The great versatility that it has when scanning devices the way in which it presents the logs, in turn as it can obviate recurring errors presented in the Dashboard

Cons

At the time of the installation of the database with postgresql there are some user errors, it may be that the installer does not create the permissions for the user set by us at the time of installation.

It is not very friendly for people who are not experienced in Linux because it is a bit complex the optimal implementation of this application

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Matheus C.

Zabbix Monitoring Experience

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/04
Review Source: Capterra

i've been using over the last 3 year to monitor web servers and internal services like apache, php and server resources

Pros

Easy to understand!

Friendly user with great graphics and tools

Cons

Some features are quite hard to learn but reading the man u can do it! A bit of practice is needed

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Greg S.

Zabbix has proven valuable with robust monitoring

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/01/06
Review Source: Capterra

Zabbix has been used in a number of ways in our organization. It has been used to tell if web services are up and servicing, how machine resources are performing and for notifying the appropriate folks if something is amiss. Basically, it does what it should.

Pros

I like the small footprint and robust monitoring. It is nice to have a vanguard monitoring the system 24/7.

Cons

Some of the thresholds can be tricky to set up. I have been monitored that something is out of space and then a minute later get notified that it is ok. Not even long enough to truly check. Could be how we have it setup mind you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Matt I.

Awesome Monitoring

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

I use it to monitor all my servers and networks. Works best on Linux.

Pros

You can monitor and graph anything. It is so flexible. Link it to Grafana for even prettier graphs.

Cons

I wish there was a Windows version of Zabbix Proxy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Zabbix

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Zabbix is easy to configure and deploy.

Cons

Zabbix need to provide more training videos and documentations

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
John G.

Customizable monitoring platform

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Very good at tracking server inventory and offers a comprehensive alerting platform for any number of different scenarios.

Cons

Confusing and hard to set up. Training is a necessity in my opinion if you are going to get the best from this product

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Ilay E.

I use ZABBIX to monitor servers in a SaaS software environment

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

* Easy to retrieve data from external systems.
* Gathers all the data in one place
* Simple to use.

Cons

* Performance decrease on medium scale traffic.
* Configuring new environment is difficult.
* Screens design is old

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10