5 reviews

Braintree

Online and mobile payment gateway

3,2 /5 (5 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
3,2
/
5
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3,4
60% recommended this app
5 reviews
Michael R.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Completely customisable payment solution

Used Weekly for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2017/10/17
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Very easy to create a fully custom, iframe free payment form.

Can easily add PayPal and other payment methods to a custom payment form.

Able to process one off or subscription payments.

Cons

Could do with some interactive codepen examples like competitors provide.

Using custom JS integration requires a level of PCI compliance, but the customisablity is worth it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jan B.
Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 2016/09/12
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Arts & Crafts
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Braintree is a scam, avoid at all costs. Read on....

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/05/03
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

No pros. Avoid at all costs. Read below.

Cons

Braintree Payments  (a PayPal company) is a scam and nobody should sign up for it, just like it's parent company is a scam. 
We have used it for exactly 10 days before we had to pull the plug from using it. This is the story - we are a Cyprus based company (EU) but our eCommerce website's main currency is USD. When we signed up with  Braintree Payments, we have told them that we would like to be paid in USD and that USD should be the default currency of the account. We've added a USD bank account to our Braintree account, it is a USD account even that the bank itself is located in Cyprus. So we had a USD account, were paid in USD, and we have asked them to settle the payments into a USD account. However, to our horror, we've discovered that Briantree FORCES us to convert our funds to Euro before they made the deposit into our bank account, converting the USD to Euro with a horrible rate (of course) which ended up with a total processing fee of 8%. We, of course, stopped using them immediately, and they refused to compensate us for this little scam that they've pulled on us, saying that if we wanted to settle in USD, we would have to apply again. 

I want to stress, again, that we were told that our "default currency" is USD and not in a million years we would imagine that for "some reason" (the reason being - they want to make more profit) they would FORCE us to convert the funds to Euro before settling. Again, the real reason that they are doing this is so they can make some

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Ronnie H.
Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 2017/02/07
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Stay away from Braintree, it will steal your time, your nerves and your money

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/10/04
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

There are none, only if you have to too much money you want to get rid of or your live is too nice and you want it to be miserable choose Braintree

Cons

Nothing, absolutely nothing. It's a pain to get started, it is horrible to use, the gateway is designed by sadistic coders and it is the unsafest system available. Scammers and fraud artist will hit you when they see you use Braintree, then Braintree will freeze your account and take your money.

Stay as far from this system as possible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10