Braintree

Online and mobile payment gateway

Overall rating

3,9 /5
(67)
Value for Money
3,7/5
Features
3,8/5
Ease of Use
3,7/5
Customer Support
3,5/5

76%
recommended this app
Sort by

67 Reviews

Azizah
Azizah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good solutions for payment processor

Reviewed on 2022/09/11

Pros

Braintree is a trustworthy and straightforward online payment service. PayPal's accreditation bolsters the software's stature for safety and dependability. Membership invoicing solution that is both convenient and unrestricted on an international scale.

Cons

No in-house technical specialists control system implementation choices like Shopify integration. Hence, you must rely on 3rd party developers to install new elements or manage client connectivity circumstances.

Maegan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Pretty Good Software With Some Minor Quirks

Reviewed on 2021/10/26

Pros

Finding certain transactions is pretty easy, so it taking credit card payments. It does what it needs to.

Cons

This is a very minor issue in the grand scheme of it all, but you wouldn't believe how annoying and inconvenient it is. When taking a credit card payment, if you put a comma in the amount of the transaction (ie: $1,000 rather than $1000), it will not accept the transaction, and brings you back to the same page without the credit card number. It is the most infuriating thing I have ever encountered, and when you have a customer on the phone, asking them to repeat the CC number it is quite frustrating. We also can't connect BT to Netsuite so we have to manually enter credit card transactions.

Lorenzo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Proficient Payment processing Program

Reviewed on 2024/03/27

Braintree has increased the value for every payment made, and this ensure there is quality...

Braintree has increased the value for every payment made, and this ensure there is quality operational support.

Pros

Braintree helps us manage all the payments, and this gives more revenue to the firm.

Cons

The focus from Braintree is authentic and flawless.

Matyas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

It's alright if you don't have a better available option

Reviewed on 2022/05/14

Quite frustrating.
We didn't have any other viable option available in our region for years so we...

Quite frustrating.
We didn't have any other viable option available in our region for years so we had to work with Braintree, but from early on we were awaiting the day we could break free. This finally happened a few weeks ago. Thank you for helping our business accept online card payments in the last few years, but there are simply better options out there at this point.

Pros

When we started using Braintree in early 2019, it was the only available payment solution in our region that was integrated with the online reservation system we are using. So what we liked most was its availability to us, and we weren't too picky about the other aspects as long as it was usable, which it was. We recently discontinued the use of Braintree since another, better option became available in our region.

Cons

The software itself works okay but the security / anti-fraud settings that we had to apply were determined by Braintree based on the account activity. A year or two ago, we had one instance when someone was trying to use multiple cards during 1-2 days (possibly with crooked intentions) and as a result, we were obligated to change our security settings which are still in force today, and which resulted in that a number of honest customers weren't able to finish their booking since then: if they make 3 of any tpye of mistakes during the payment process, the card and/or email address are blocked for the transaction. Meanwhile, no suspicios activity has been seen on our account ever since the one incident.

Our billing address changed in 2020 (!) and support was still not able to update it on the statements, it had something to do with a different intermediary partner that we had to use through Braintree because of our region (Hungary). We just gave up writing emails about it at some point.

Being able to accept Amex cards through the software was also a painful process that took several weeks at the very least.

Customer support is friendly but really slow in dealing with issues. We had numerous issues that took months (!) of emails to resolve, but I should also note that was during COVID times.

Alternatives Considered

PayPal and Stripe

Reasons for Switching to Braintree

Paypal's outrageous fees is like straight up larceny and this was the only available option (also a PayPal company).
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Processor and works with WooCommerce

Reviewed on 2023/12/16

Pros

I could accept multiple different payment methods. Customers could pay with PayPal, credit or debit, Zelle, and I could connect Stripe. It was just versatile and extremely easy to use.

Cons

I couldn't really figure out how to set up ACH, but I also couldn't figure out how to find support for it. Maybe there was options but that was hard for me to find so I spent a lot of time googling to figure stuff out for myself.

Kate
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Basic payment gateway

Reviewed on 2022/07/28

It worked as a payment gateway but other products offer more functionality and easier integration. ...

It worked as a payment gateway but other products offer more functionality and easier integration. Fees are fairly high considering it doesn't offer anything extra.

Pros

It operated as expected for a payment gateway

Cons

It had limited capabilities compare to other better know payment gateways.

Alternatives Considered

PayPal

Reasons for Switching to Braintree

Braintree was offered in conjunction with a number of payment gateways
Doug
Doug
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Had To Hire A Developer To Integrate Braintree With My Site

Reviewed on 2022/05/29

The set up process took much longer than I expected.

The set up process took much longer than I expected.

Pros

About half of my customer base prefers using PayPal over direct credit card payments, so I chose to go with Braintree as my payment processor because they are a subsidiary of PayPal.

Cons

Setting up Braintree was difficult, in my opinion. Knowledge of API coding was required, and I had to hire a knowledgable developer to get this service integrated with my web site.

Alternatives Considered

Stripe

Reasons for Choosing Braintree

I am building a new site using Simvoly, and they are not set up to work with 1ShoppingCart.

Switched From

1ShoppingCart

Reasons for Switching to Braintree

Stripe does not integrate with PayPal, and as I said earlier, about half of my customers prefer using Paypal over using their credit cards directly.
Goma
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simplifying Online Payments for My Business

Reviewed on 2023/06/06

Pros

Braintree's versatility and ease of use have impressed me right from the start. The ability to accept a wide range of payment methods, including credit cards, debit cards, and popular digital wallets like PayPal, Apple Pay, and Google Pay, has significantly expanded my customer reach. One of the standout features of Braintree is its integration and developer tools. As someone without extensive technical knowledge, I was pleasantly surprised by how straightforward it was to integrate Braintree into my website. The availability of software development kits (SDKs), APIs, and client libraries made the process smooth and streamlined. The developer-friendly resources provided by Braintree have been immensely helpful in customizing and fine-tuning the payment solution to suit my business needs.

Cons

While Braintree offers robust features and capabilities, there is one aspect that I would like to see improved—the availability of more localized payment options. As my business expands globally, I would appreciate additional support for region-specific payment methods. Having the ability to offer localized payment solutions would further enhance the customer experience and help me cater to a wider international audience.

Guillaume
Guillaume
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Only good point :Easy Integration with Paypal

Reviewed on 2022/11/01

Pros

The only positive point I have seen with braintree is the easy integration with Paypal

Cons

So much con :- Customer sucess is very poor : not able to understand our problem- SDK not compatible with modern technology (React Native)- Debugging is a nightmare : log access is a real pain

Lukasz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Reliable, but too expensive after a while

Reviewed on 2023/06/12

Pros

Reliable system, clean and easy to understand dashboard.

Cons

pricing - after a couple of years the price increased dramatically for us

Stuart
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Run away from Braintree as fast as you can

Reviewed on 2022/07/29

One day our settlements from Braintree just stopped. Our money just stopped! And Braintree simply...

One day our settlements from Braintree just stopped. Our money just stopped! And Braintree simply could not care less.

When we eventually got hold of someone (they do not have telephone customer support, only telephone sales), they told us they would look into it, but they could make any guarantees of when it would be resolved. They failed to grasp this was our money, and we were their customer. They said they were trying to help, like they were doing us a favour. In reality they were doing nothing to resolve the matter.

It is a serious business handling money on behalf of other people. It requires trust, diligence and professionalism. Braintree demonstrated that they have none of the above, and if you value your sanity as a business owner , then do not use them.

This was the worst experience I have ever had with any company, anywhere. There is no SLA, and all the time they were in breach of their own contract, and yet they just did not care. They said it was out of their hands, as they use a banking partner for settlements in the EU.

Pros

The fact that the payment fields integrate directly into our checkout. This is pretty standard now, but back when we first started using them 7 years ago, Braintree was the only one that enabled this.

Cons

The software is fine, however the customer service is completely non-existent. That is a huge issue for a payments company. They provide the oxygen for your business, the cash flow. If there is an issue, they could not care less about it.

Theo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Braintree Payments is a simple option for online payment processing

Reviewed on 2022/02/11

Pros

Online credit card payment processing for merchants is a tricky business. I've used several companies over the years and to me, the most annoying part is the alphabet soup of hidden, indecipherable fees that monthly statements contain. Braintree does away with that and charges the same rate for almost all payment types. Maybe there are slightly cheaper options but for me that simplicity and transparency is critical.

Cons

Their customer support is by e-mail only. Fortunately I almost never need it.

Alternatives Considered

PayPal

Reasons for Choosing Braintree

Simplicity of fees.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Good solution, but not the best

Reviewed on 2022/09/10

Overall, my experience was good, but I I*did* end up switching over to Stripe in the end which I...

Overall, my experience was good, but I I*did* end up switching over to Stripe in the end which I found to be an simpler solution and easier to use overall.

Pros

I felt that Braintree was very trustworthy. As I have an online shop, I wanted to make sure my customer's data and transactions were being processed safely and in line with top industry standards - I definitely trusted Braintree to handle payments made through my Woocommerce setup.

Cons

I sometimes had a hard time navigating the Braintree control panel and enabling certain functions and add-ons. I found it impossible to setup Apply Pay for instance (which was just a couple of simple steps with Stripe). I also experienced a couple of infrequent issues with Braintree's Woocommerce plugin - honestly not sure if that's on Braintree or Woocommerce. But when I switched to Stripe, their plugin worked smoothly without any of the same small hiccups.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Braintree is a scam, avoid at all costs. Read on....

Reviewed on 2020/05/03

Pros

No pros. Avoid at all costs. Read below.

Cons

Braintree Payments  (a PayPal company) is a scam and nobody should sign up for it, just like it's parent company is a scam. 
We have used it for exactly 10 days before we had to pull the plug from using it. This is the story - we are a Cyprus based company (EU) but our eCommerce website's main currency is USD. When we signed up with  Braintree Payments, we have told them that we would like to be paid in USD and that USD should be the default currency of the account. We've added a USD bank account to our Braintree account, it is a USD account even that the bank itself is located in Cyprus. So we had a USD account, were paid in USD, and we have asked them to settle the payments into a USD account. However, to our horror, we've discovered that Briantree FORCES us to convert our funds to Euro before they made the deposit into our bank account, converting the USD to Euro with a horrible rate (of course) which ended up with a total processing fee of 8%. We, of course, stopped using them immediately, and they refused to compensate us for this little scam that they've pulled on us, saying that if we wanted to settle in USD, we would have to apply again. 

I want to stress, again, that we were told that our "default currency" is USD and not in a million years we would imagine that for "some reason" (the reason being - they want to make more profit) they would FORCE us to convert the funds to Euro before settling. Again, the real reason that they are doing this is so they can make some

godspower
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best paypal payments

Reviewed on 2020/12/23

Paypal is one the payments method I love using why shopping online and making online business...

Paypal is one the payments method I love using why shopping online and making online business payments because they delivered my money on time and they are still very fast and quick software I will rate them 5 STARS because they what it and am very happy using PayPal payments online I like PayPal.

Pros

What I like most about PayPal is the payment method is very fast and quick and the business payment method I love this part because they hold your money on things the products are delivered and then they will realize the money to the seller that why I like PayPal most.

Cons

What I like least is the part of the business plan is what they take too much commission out of the payments you will receive the customers which are not a real good thing on PayPal if they can charge least it will be good for users like us least.

susan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use, simple

Reviewed on 2020/11/24

Generally it's good but adding more robust features like other credit card processors would be...

Generally it's good but adding more robust features like other credit card processors would be helpful.

Pros

It is simple to use, fees are reasonable and seem to change depending on volume dynamically. Direct entry for phone payments is much easier than other solutions we have used, which is our primary payment method. It works well on our website as well.

Cons

It is hard to tell exactly the fee calculations. Their record keeping is not as transparent and solid as I would like.

Brandon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Features far behind competitors and terrible support

Reviewed on 2022/10/13

We dealt with their support team during a 4 month period to handle a seemingly simple request. They...

We dealt with their support team during a 4 month period to handle a seemingly simple request. They ended up closing the ticket without explanation and the case went unresolved. We're currently migrating to a competitor.

Pros

They offer the bare minimum functionality for processing payments

Cons

The customer support is probably the worst I've experienced and the product has not progressed much over the 6 years we were with them.

Asher
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple and efficient payment solution

Reviewed on 2021/06/07

Braintree makes it easier for your customers to pay you. What could be better !? It's a highly...

Braintree makes it easier for your customers to pay you. What could be better !? It's a highly efficient and unobtrusive payment solution that works very well with your PayPal account.

Pros

Disbursement reports are comprehensive. The interface is simple and understandable. Integration is seamless, and we have never had any issues with syncing.

Cons

Braintree matches all competitors from a price point perspective. Could it be a little cheaper ? Yeah, that'd be great. But it does it's job well and is worth the price.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Accept Online Payments from a Trusted Source

Reviewed on 2022/05/31

Pros

Set up through our online portal was fast and easy. At the time of set up there were a number of providers. We liked that Braintree was backstopped by the power of PayPal - one of the most trusted names in the eCommerce payment space.

Cons

Fees can be high and you have to watch your statements closely. Dispute resolution is clunky and successful outcomes can be a dice roll.

Magdalena
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Good old Braintree... we prefer Stripe

Reviewed on 2023/03/21

Pros

It was there when we needed it, but when Stripe came we dumped it!

Cons

It was more rigid and less flexible than stripe.. and also more expensive

Kayla
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Secure way to outsource payments

Reviewed on 2022/02/05

Pros

It is fairly mainstream, so it invokes trust. I like that it’s now part of PayPal. It rarely has outages or breaches that I know of.

Cons

I think to get additional security features you need to integrate with add-one like Sift.

alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy-to-use service

Reviewed on 2021/02/24

i am huge fan of PayPal, we all have phones and we can have the software available anywhere we go...

i am huge fan of PayPal, we all have phones and we can have the software available anywhere we go and makes it super easy to use.

Pros

this is awesome service to use. this is another type of the payments that we take in my shop and having this available to my customers it helps us and my customers alot when it comes to making a purchase.

Cons

once or twice i had experience bug with the system, but no need to worry. customer service took care of it right away and they were with me the whole time until the bug was fixed.

Amit
Amit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Overall great service

Reviewed on 2021/06/15

been using for over 3 years and have had no issues with the service

been using for over 3 years and have had no issues with the service

Pros

Using the API with my website was simple enough to set up and everything just works. customer support is helpful when I had a query

Cons

changing account details took a some work as features like this are well hidden within menus. the settings should be easier to find

Gray
Gray
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

miserable product - they create unbelievable accounting headaches

Reviewed on 2023/02/18

Really don't like this service. Furious right now still trying to close our books a month late,...

Really don't like this service. Furious right now still trying to close our books a month late, working to fire them as soon as possible.

Pros

not a complete fraud, they do actually send our money

Cons

they've sent our money to the wrong bank account for over a year, despite spending months trying to get them to correct it. Refused to fix the problem, so we have to transfer money from an old company and create all new accounting entries. And reporting is terrible so it's a nightmare trying to find and match transactions. We lose dozens of hours every time we try to close our books. Braintree was absolutely useless in correcting the issue.

Suleman
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Braintree

Reviewed on 2021/06/08

Braintree software is amazing software that helps individuals and organisations to make the world...

Braintree software is amazing software that helps individuals and organisations to make the world easier in teams of files keeping and other necessary documents , it also help to build personal or business forms

Pros

Braintree software gives you the opportunity to operate weather online or offline

Cons

Fact that you can operate offline doesn't mean you have access to all your files, and also to get access to the tools that are very important it goes with a cool price