465 reviews

ClubExpress

Where the Best Run Clubs Run the Best

4,3 /5 (465 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
4,4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3,7
Customer Support
4,6
85% recommended this app
465 reviews
Martin S.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Solid service offering and very good value

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/16
Review Source: Capterra

We needed a product/service that handled membership operations (dues, renewals, info updates, mailings) without depending on continuous availability of a "computer-techie" volunteer or a paid IT support contractor. ClubExpress meets this core requirement very reliably at quite reasonable no-contract monthly fee based on active membership. The integrated Website functionality lets us have an on-line secure repository for our documents accessible by all or various subsets of membership. Included telephone and email support from ClubExpress is responsive and available to any member (not just a few admins.) Overall we are quite satisfied with the service and consider it very well worth the fees.

Pros

Completely Cloud-based
Most functions menu-driven and accessible without requiring "superuser" access or professional technology expertise
Access-controls to support Members-only information/functions, driven by Membership database
Includes basically unlimited SMTP (email sending) for membership bulk mailing
"Ahead of the curve" on compliance with privacy protections
High reliability

Cons

Component "building blocks" don't fit perfectly with the usage patterns of our (local civic) organization
Limited site-performance data collection or analytics built in
Editing function (for generating emailings, news articles, etc) is a little complex for completely non-technical users, and a little rough.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Toni K.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Anxious to Get Started

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2020/01/31
Review Source: Capterra

We believe we've made the right decision with our switch to ClubExpress and that they will provide the support needed for our nonprofit to sustain and grow. Presently we are behind schedule for completing the set up, so we are anxious to finish and get to work.

Pros

ClubExpress appears to be the prefect solution for our nonprofit art organization as an affordable integrated member management program with the added web-based features we desired (directory, calendar, storefront, photo albums, custom video page). We appreciate the available tutorials and webinars. Our set up is not yet complete, so we are not presently fully operational, but we anticipate that our first impressions will soon proven correct.

Cons

We're behind schedule on completing our set up for various reasons, but from what we have been able to learn and accomplish so far, we found some of our biggest challenges in the areas related to edit windows with what we perceive as inconsistencies with tools and formats (i.e., we can't add a linked button to the homepage but we can accomplish this task in a news article). We're used to the ease of "drag and drop" templates and applications that we use now, so we are struggling a bit to learn how to use the new tools, symbols and options being offered that are not as intuitive to us. We're challenged with the photo upload variations. Volunteer opportunities don't have the option to be added to the calendar. Storefront products can't be copied to save time in adding multiple inventory variations of the same product type. The program allows for multi-level Membership Types but we had to pay extra for a customization to show the Membership Type in the Member Directory. This being said, we are confident that ClubExpress will prove to be the best solution for our needs and that we will continue to learn and appreciate what ClubExpress has to offer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Rachael P.
Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
Company size: 201-500 Employees

The Challenge of Evolving with Technology Demands (UI/UX)

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/25
Review Source: Capterra

I love them, but I also really understand their limitations. I refer not to just the technology limitations, but the mindset limitation. Each time I share (perhaps 100+ now) possible modifications to simplify processes, I get the response of a programmer, not of a designer and UI/UX thinker. In other words, I get the excuse as to why it IS and has to stay that way, rather than the "ah-hah! Yes, we should figure that out."

I recommend that, as a group of executives, you do a Mindset ReSet leadership retreat (which I do, btw). Your attention to professionalism, organization, and your customers is outstanding, and I would love for you, as a group, to be able to break through the often restrictive set-up that slows down design and user experience innovation.

With much respect and gratitude, I wish you much prosperity in this New Year.

Pros

Your offering has the best value for the money. The customer support is wonderful, second to none. The constant attention to upgrades - and that you plan them ahead - shows incredible organization and constant dedication to your customers and to your product.

The features are very robust. It shows that you are really listening closely to your customers' requests - perhaps better than any competitor out there - and responding to them! I do believe that it is possible to offer robust features in a more simplified and intuitive way.

The longevity of several staff members is very impressive, and their dedication to problem-solve with and remember their customers' specific needs and preferences is VERY impressive. I have felt that on several occasions.

When asked if I'd recommend Club Express to others, I want it to be a 10 based on how outstanding you are for the reasons above. Yet, the feedback I receive from many of our members - and the amount of volunteers' time for the learning curve - makes it difficult to recommend it to other organizations' executives when they may not have the same level of volunteer support. Make your site more intuitive and efficient and I will gladly recommend you to everyone!

Cons

1. Club Express focuses on developing a new function, rather than first on how the user can best experience it. I suggest greater ease and intuition (UI/UX) with feature development. E.g., when the new Events/Calendar functionalities rolled out 1-2 years ago, it greatly increased the complexity (and number of mouse clicks) to set up an event. More features are okay, but should be intuitive and efficient.
2. Your data organization is not conducive to simple, obvious changes. Good, intuitive design does not require the tiny-text prompts that I turn off, but have to do so in the site code. What should be simple changes are stuck behind the organization of how the database was structured. Get rid of the instruction prompts (obvious to modern-day computer users); do not let them affect Chapter Finder and other key functions. Information should be built separate from functionality.
3. More attractive, fully responsive template options
4. Mobile set-up (duplicative efforts) should not be needed and currently degrade for tablet
5. Give us more CSS control; place classes on div's, etc. so that our CSS can target them
6. Member registration MUST be simplified; I detailed a PPT of 20 ways to improve it and was shocked that none of the modifications were possible.
7. If you had a modern-looking, fluidly-flowing app that automatically input information from the website databases (directory and design), then you would rock our world and really step it up in many organizations' eyes. :-)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Robert H.
Industry: Maritime
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easy and Flexible Software

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, we are very happy with everything that ClubExpress provides for us. Their software and services are priced very reasonable, and the administrative tools make it very easy to perform weekly and monthly tasks to manage our members and their interests.

Pros

This software has all the tools necessary to build really great web pages for our sailing club. All the administrative features are available for managing our club members, and all the tools work well to manage our club documents and photos. The membership administration is superb, since it allows our members to manage their own contact information, and profiles. At the same time we can administer all our member subscriptions and activities in one place. Membership renewal is very important for our club, and the ClubExpress administrative features allow us to simplifiy this annual process.

Cons

Only a few hiccups were discovered. Originally we had some difficulty uploading groups of photos into our club's photo albums, but that issue seems to be resolved now. One other frustration is managing our historic documentation. There appears to be no way to view documents online, so members who wish to view an historic document must download the document to their computer. Consequently, we need to shrink the size of our documents, by dividing them up into smaller categories. That way the smaller documents are quicker to download, while our larger documents take much more time to download. We find this to be somewhat cumbersome with current technology.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Neal B.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Reduces Club Officer Work and Improves Member involvement

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

The decision to move our web presence to ClubExpress has been good. Our group is small so cost was a concern but the overall ease of membership renewals and ease of updating content makes up for it. Plus the ability to have events that can be paid and registered all through our website has been a huge improvement and has allowed the website to bring in enough new funds that it has displaced the costs.

Pros

THe software is stable, relatively easy to use and has the functionality that are needed for a non-profit organization or club. Overall the tool is a great solution. I don't have to spend hours updating a CMS system and no longer have to worry about hackers attacking my site and having to fix/rebuild it. The support staff is excellent and know their product and its capabilities very well.

Cons

Some of the interfaces are a little klugey to use. They are constantly improving them however. There are some limitations to what can be done in terms of customization and tailoring the workflow and overall appearance of the site. Nothing that is a showstopper, but it has slowed us down a couple of times. I do wish they would update some of the templates and have more responsive options.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Sally D.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: Self Employed

A Club Express review from a non-profit perspective

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/19
Review Source: Capterra

The Club Express support during the trial & building phase was second to none. The support we received meant that we had a seamless transition from our old site to our Club Express site, including the migration of all of our members. We only went live 3 months ago but we are confident that we will be with CE for years to come.

Pros

The Club Express (CE) platform is intuitive, modular, adaptable and continually developing and growing. As a non-profit membership professional association, with only one employee, Executive Officer (EO), and a bunch of volunteers, the 7 level password feature has been incredibly useful in terms of organisational management; being able to assign members access to a single page and/or module etc spreads the work load and, in turn, creates space for the EO to focus on other matters such as developing strategic initiatives.

As a single employee association, the exceptional Club Express support back-up affords extra support for our members as well as making the association less reliant on the tacit knowledge of a single person. In terms of creating our site, this was done by the EO with CE support - no developer expenses required:-)

Our association has 26 thematic groups, which our members can join. The Sub Groups CE module has empowered the conveners of our thematic groups who can be administrators of their own groups. Among other benefits, this feature has streamlined communication between the conveners and their members and has also reduced the EO's administration time spent on thematic groups, again creating space for the EO to dedicate to other matters.

Above all, the fact that CE are continuing developing their platform means that if it doesn't currently do something we want, we know that it will likely be doing it down the track.

Cons

The Club Express default email address (where our newsletters and renewal reminders etc come from) was blocked by all university firewalls and some industry workplaces. This was not a CE issue per se but it was a hiccup we thought we'd covered by emailing all members ahead of the website transition asking them to white-list the address.

It's a small thing but we'd prefer they weren't called Club Express! We get why they have that name but it doesn't have the right tone for us as a professional association. At the end of the day, their platform proved too good to knock back just because of the company name!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jeff Z.
Industry: Fine Art
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Outstanding customer service

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/19
Review Source: Capterra

We are solving our problem of managing all aspects of our memberships, communication, marketing, and having a well-functioning, good looking website to present to the world. The overall experience has been great.

Pros

ClubExpress supports EVERY user, as in every member of our group, not just administrators. This is a huge help to our small group. Example: Yesterday I had a member who was having an issue posting to the discussion forums via email. I checked everything I knew to check as an administrator, and still couldn't understand why he was having an issue. So I was able to direct him to speak with CE support, and they were able to resolve the issue for him - Helpful for all of us.

One other thing is that the development team seems to listen to suggestions and implement desired changes/features rapidly when they hear from enough users. In fact, there is an email address dedicated to receiving ideas/suggestions.

CE also had designer help us realize our vision for the look and functionality of our new site as we built it.

They are also very thoughtful and transparent about data privacy/ownership/usage in their policies.

Cons

The interface for writing/publishing text on pages is a little clunky.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Alan S.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Club Express Improves Club Management Experience

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/17
Review Source: Capterra

Club management on ClubExpress has made it easy to manage many aspects of the organization. The platform is stable with a robust set of tools to support the club's needs. Security and privacy is solid and trustworthy.

Pros

ClubExpress has many modules that helps organize our running club's organization. The membership module works flawlessly with little to no manual intervention required from administrators. The website generation tools make it easy to create new web pages to support club programs. Event creation and registration is valuable and versatile. Communication tools allow us to create surveys, polls, and email blasts to the membership. ClubExpress keep adding new capabilities like apps and text messaging to keep up with the current preferred methods of receiving notifications. Platform upgrades add new features and fix bugs to improve the user experience. The money management module works well with no issues. Above all, ClubExpress provides all these capabilities with the flexibility to tailor the privacy of content and its members.

Cons

Some content generation can be difficult to wrangle with the supplied tools after a platform upgrade. Some module upgrades to address bugs and customer requests can be a challenge to get working.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

William K.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Groton Neighbors - "It takes a Village"

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/17
Review Source: Capterra

As a Village organization dependant upon volunteers with limited computer literacy, a major concern was whether or not we could actually find members willing to work in a space outside their comfort zone to run our business. Any undertaking like ours requires process and detail oriented leadership, a team of intrepid and fearless volunteers...and the right tools and partner in ClubExpress. We have all of the above and could not be more pleased with the results.

Pros

The ClubExpress platform is a perfect fit for an all volunteer non-profit like Groton Neighbors. It is comprehensive, versatile, user friendly, and affordable. Features tailored to the needs of Villages allowed us to focus our energies during start-up on shaping and building our organization confident that we had the infrastructure needed to run it. We have grown considerably since opening for business 3+ years ago and ClubExpress has grown with us.

Cons

Initially most transactions were discreet - that is, repetitive tasks had to be completed individually. This never impacted our membership but it can be tedious for an all volunteer Virtual Office Staff like ours. ClubExpress has listened to their customers and responded with a steady stream of improvements designed to make our jobs easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matt T.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization
Company size: Self Employed

Very robust, but sometimes clunky

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/16
Review Source: Capterra

Overall we've been happy with the product, and are just really getting into the depths to which it can help our organization grow and prosper. The customer service is top notch, quick to respond, and willing to make adjustments just for us. This is a very powerful web service and we are looking to getting to fully know it!!

Pros

The ClubExpress system is very robust with a very wide variety of modules, and endless ways to customize them. We are only 6 months in to using it, and I am sure we have not yet figured out all of the ways or organization can benefit. The email editor, once learned, is very powerful and can be manipulated with a wide variety of options. Customer service is top notch!

Cons

Some of the procedures to complete steps can be a bit cumbersome: for example if you make a change in a change box, select save on the change box, but forget to select save at the bottom of the page, all changes are lost. Reports seem to take one or two dialog boxes to generate (could be condensed). Web editor feels clunky. Some editors have limited font options, and edits sometimes don't take on the first try.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Dave K.
Industry: Arts & Crafts
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Don't look any further

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/17
Review Source: Capterra

Seven years ago I was on the team to find and implement website software for our growing club. We searched for a year but when we found Club Express and worked with them and the demo software we were all convinced that for our purposes this was the best solution that we had seen. We have been using the software now for 6 years and have no desire to look elsewhere.

From day one their software support team help desk has been the best I have ever worked with in my 35 years of messing with computers. They respond quickly, speak English and when we are having a difficult time implementing something they will often do the coding for us at no extra charge. Early on we had a very complicated event/registration we wanted to get on the calendar. I told the support person what we wanted/needed and he did it for us. We have copied and modified that event several times since with little difficulty.

Pros

I love that it is WYSIWYG. What you see is what you get. I don't have to know HTML or any other programming language. I love that it is user-friendly. I love that I can delegate certain pages and/or functions to other folks and they can't mess in areas that they don't belong. I love the unlimited space available at no extra charge. I love the modularity. There is a module for almost anything a club would ever want to do. I love the clear and extensive documentation that is always up to date. I love that there are constant improvements and additional functionality being added. There are many more things to love but most of all I love the stellar support via email and/or phone.

Cons

I don't like that there is no way to download more than one photo at a time. Multi-photo uploads are supported but not downloads. I don't like that photo searches bring up multiple instances of the same photo and only returns 100 photos instead of all that meet the criteria. There needs to be better ways to manage photos. Maybe an interface like Windows Explorer.f

The survey module needs to do better reporting of results. Maybe something similar to what Survey Monkey does.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mimi K.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great for a simple social organization

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

Implementing this system has been really helpful to our organization overall. First, there are multiple Admins so no critical dependencies ( a big problem for us before). And more and more members are paying online with credit cards so fewer trips to the bank for the Treasurer. And renewals are considerably more successful. Having the calendar widget on the home page has made registering for events much easier for members. We use the Emailing module for our newsletters so they are accessible in a tab in the nav bar.

Pros

It is fairly easy to use once you get started. We have a fairly simple set of requirements since we are a social organization and therefore don't use a lot of features. We do use it for events and membership renewal. The automation of the notices for the renewal feature is really helpful. The events module is very good though it has some limitations. The very best thing about CE is that the support is really fantastic. They are very responsive and I mostly get an answer to my question the first time I try.

Cons

Emailing. It is very clunky and often, even after testing, the final product does not look good (wrong justifications, colored background of header texts). And there is no record of the email going out (how many people got it, bounces etc --that info goes to the sender but there is no area where it is retained. The other feature we don't like is that you cannot have closed groups, that is groups that cannot have more members. So we have to hide those groups which make it impossible for the members or leader of those groups to access the email feature for communications (leader to member) or look at the internal page (the blue circle with the white "i"). And we don't like it that there are some features that are required to be used and cannot be suppressed, like the News tab which is useless to us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Vern L.
Industry: Music
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good Software for Clubs

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

I can easily get the reports that I need: lists of people who have purchased tickets; or lists of people buying memberships either through PayPal (or finances application) or by cash or check.

I like the Event Calendar portion of the software. Most often I am entering just Basic Information and Location. I like being able to add a linkable email address or website, and to include a contact phone number. Having a button to include a hot link to a map application is great. The ability to make multiple copies of an event, either recurring weekly or monthly, is wonderful. I am still learning some of the other features such as having an event that spans multiple days.

The Money tab features are broad, but include the things that I need as a treasurer. I primarily use Trans/Payments by Account to get information on activity. This I check almost daily. User Payments/Credits lets me see who has paid by cash/check versus by PayPal.

Finally being able to click on an event on our home page, go to Administrator Option, and then create a report makes preparation for a concert very easy.

Pros

Club Express is easy to navigate. The learning curve was relatively brief for the things that I use: aspects of the People tab to locate members or update membership, the Website tab to access and update the Event Calendar, and the Money tab to keep tabs on purchases of tickets or memberships.

The Event Calendar is full featured. Some events recur with slight change from month to month, and this is easy to enter. Other events might recur irregularly, but it is easy to search for an event and duplicate it with changes.

There are lots of options in some of the menus, and it takes some time to determine what is the best choice. I like to view some reports online as a pdf, other times I prefer downloading in MS Excel format or csv format.

Cons

No real issues anywhere. The wealth of options can be overwhelming at first, but it is quick to learn.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Deborah H.
Industry: Political Organization
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Comprehensive Member Management

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, our organization's leaders feel more in control, more easily able to track transactions, than they were before we contracted with Club Express.
Club Express might be even better for us if more of our members were enthusiastic about its very sophisticated feature--or even comfortable with them.
The commercial aspect of Club Express doesn't quite suit us because we provide a lot of information free of charge to users, i.e., voters.

Pros

The developers and other staff seem to be constantly available to help. They typically answer emails immediately.
In my organization (a nonprofit working for informed citizen participation in government) the membership team and the finance team appreciate Club Express features that handle dues and event fees and donations and the like. As webmaster I work much more on preparing Custom Pages with information about our work than on member rosters and bookkeeping.

Cons

Custom Page construction with the Page Rows remains awkward. Spacing is inflexible, fonts change for no apparent reason -- frustrating.
Developers are constantly revising--improving--the software, which can be hard on users. The volume of instructional manuals is overwhelming. There is no "help" guide for specific problems.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

John K.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Comprehensive Cloud Based System for organizing, managing and growing membership based non-profits

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

1. Public and Private (member login required) website. Implemented within 30 days.
2. Membership database implemented in three days. 200+ member records bulk-load by Club Express in one day.
3. Sons in Retirement (SIR) is an interest (activities for men in their retirement years) based organization. The ClubExpress platform provides for creation and management of categorized interest groups of activities managed by designated member coordinators. Members may join or leave individual activities at any time.
4. Financial management of member dues payments and organization event registration and fee payments via an event calendar.
5. Availability of version and a mobile app

Pros

Comprehensive integrated cloud based software for a custom public/private website, member database management, club and activities organization, communications, financial management with access to on-line, telephone, user manuals and webinar customer support. The total monthly cost is based on the number of active members with no long term contract commitment. A 30 day trial period was provided which allowed ample time to review, learn and use the basic functions including configuring our initial website.

Cons

The Club Express platform is technically and functionally comprehensive. Our organization chose to implement the system ourselves rather than purchase and engage Club Express support. As a result many volunteer hours of effort from club members were required. A new function, text messaging, comes at extra cost which appears to our members as not justified. The News article function is good for brief, one page or less, articles. However, our organization monthly newsletter icurrently includes eight pages and is emailed in pdf format to most members, printed and post mailed to a few members. We must resort to using Microsoft Publisher and uploading the pdfs to a ClubExpress document folder, creating a custom page with links to the newsletter documents making the newsletter available on our website.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ryan L.
Industry: Entertainment
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Complete Club Management Platform

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

This has been extremely well received by our members and we noticed a huge uptick in applications for membership at our gun club. The ease of use of the platform makes it simple and easy to update and provide as much information as we can to members and the public alike to increase interest and participation in our Club activities.
Members are still complimenting our website committee and with online renewals the administrative savings are immense. Online renewals were going to be a make or break with our Club and ClubExpress and they exceeded on all ends. I set up the renewals incorrectly and one phone call and ClubExpress was able to fix my mistake. Members were shocked how easy renewals are while still being through: we can display our range rules and members have to sign off on them before renewing. Finally, we've seen an uptick in our optional raffle ticket purchases for our annual gun raffle. Members were able to easily add on their purchases and since the funds go into different "accounts" in ClubExpress' log, we can easily separate membership dues from raffle ticket purchases.

Pros

The front end for website creation is simple and easy to use, but the system is extremely robust in the back end (administrative systems). Right now we are going through renewals and nearly everyone was shocked by how simple it is to navigate.

It's hard to list just one: they really thought of everything and keep updating and adding more features to their platform.

The system is extremely through. Finally the two times were I had issues, ClubExpress has answered the call and had the problems solved extremely fast; they know their stuff and and fix problems quickly.

Cons

Knowing what we know now, the original set-up costs were higher than we needed to purchase. However, knowing what we know now, we would have definitely chosen ClubExpress again; we see no reason to change from ClubExpress anytime soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Brian G.
Industry: Airlines/Aviation
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Reasonably good site for hosting club web presence

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/17
Review Source: Capterra

The support has been great. I work in a support role in my day job and I must say calling CE is a frictionless experience. I've emailed on a Saturday or Sunday and gotten responses back during that time - usually because my question is either answered, or the issue fixed.

Overall, my experience with Club Express has been good. There's a long list of things I'd love to improve, but for what the software does, it does it reasonably well.

Pros

The hosting software does a reasonably good job in helping create a packaged online presence. For someone not familiar with creating a website there is a lot to be done when creating a site, from the server setup (and administration), creating databases, store functionality (credit card transactions) and other programming. Club Express has all of this packaged up into one reasonably easy to deploy environment. There are certain methodologies which you have to understand in order to best use the site software, but this isn't any different than learning any other software package.

With any software/site support is absolutely essential to helping smooth out the rough edges and I've found Club Express support to be very helpful and I can usually get my issues squared away within one call and certainly less than a day.

Cons

While the site is easy to put up, there are some areas where the design is a bit clunky and challenging to use. As long as you stay within their parameters you're probably be fine, but no single organization fits perfectly into that box. Sometimes it's easier to change the code than it is to change the organization culture... other times, the culture has to change to fit the code. Neither of those operations can be very comfortable. One usually requires money, the other usually requires many meetings and often tears as old ways have to change.

The site software tries to do many things and given the demand of everyone going mobile these days, the mobile software falls short. It's far FAR easier to to manage on a desktop than on a phone or tablet. Their recently released texting functionality is a great example. Neat feature - but completely unusable unless you're at a computer. Can you do it on a phone? Sure - but the mirad of menus one has to navigate through to send a text makes it useless. It's better just to start a group text before the event and use that going forward.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

John L.
Industry: Political Organization
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The Great and Not So

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/01/16
Review Source: Capterra

We have observed a moderate increase in fee-based memberships which helps to support our political efforts in the county. The integration of membership management and related financial transactions gives us much better visibility into our operations and gives us the ability to identify and work with those members who have demonstrated a strong financial commitment to our organization and its work.

As noted in the Cons above, we have been quite disappointed with event management (it is way too hard to configure and manage events especially when the majority of people interested in and attending such events are not actually formal members in the CE member database) and email communications for our audience of over 10,000 interested parties but not formal members.

We have lowered our expectations for a single system to do everything for our large, county-based political organization interacting with a very large population of people most of whom are not formal members of the organization. I would not recommend ClubExpress as the single, do-it-all system for other such political organizations, but I would recommend it for formal member management and web presence.

Pros

The product is very good for managing formal memberships within our county political organization. We were able to configure not only the usual demographic information but could also create custom data elements to identify and track members who have formal voting rights for the business of the organization.

Managing and maintaining our web presence is easy without having to resort to web/HTML coding which to date is an option but not one we have needed.

Cons

As we intended, we migrated our custom website and member management system, our third-party event management services, and our third-party email communication services all to ClubExpress. After moving all of these, we found great value for the website and member management functionality. Unfortunately, the email communication and event management services in ClubExpress have failed significantly to meet our needs, so we have quit using those services in ClubExpress and gone back to our former service providers, MailChimp and Eventbrite, for those services. This has resulted in incremental costs we had planned to eliminate.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Deborah V.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Hard to Imagine Managing Without It!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/16
Review Source: Capterra

Very good. We especially appreciate their willingness to adapt to a long-term goal of using the system to connect local chapters to theirs state ones and mesh the local and national databases.

Pros

This software has greatly improved our outreach and communications internally and externally and thus increased the scope and effectiveness of our organization, all the while being relatively easy to use. We can manage our member database easily and have saved much volunteer time though automated volunteer sign-up and member and event management, not to mention communications to our membership. The support response has been excellent with one support person assigned to our account, with others available if that person isn't. Club Express is continually improving and expanding what it can offer.

Cons

There are occasional issues such as non-members having difficulty joining if they have been on our non-member mailing list due to a conflict of their login as a non-member. The person attempts to join via the website without an administrator knowing they are trying to do this, and thus they are not able to join. Club Express has indicated it is working on a solution to this issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Leigh B.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: Self Employed

Great Website Tools for a Club

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/16
Review Source: Capterra

We have a club in a senior retirement community that has over 700 members using different computer platforms. We use the site as a promotional website as well as a way to keep members informed on events. Our members LOVE being able to see and post images of club activities. The secured areas allow us to keep documents available to our Board without having to keep separate cloud-based storage. We use the survey capability to perform our elections each year as well as interest surveys.

Pros

Full-featured for what we needed. This program provided both a public-facing website as well as a secure members-only area for disseminating information, organizing events, handling application and payments to join, and a location for storing important files for our members and our Board. As an administrator you have great control over accessibility of each area. The tools introduced the last couple of years have allowed us to tailor website pages to meet our needs. And it's so easy to email our membership as well as subgroups of our membership.

Cons

For our organization, the only thing it was missing was the ability to create a waitlist for events and then to add folks on the waitlist as slots for an event opened.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matthew H.

End Board Member Burnout

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/03
Review Source: Capterra

More members, easier event planning, and marketing. We were recognized by our Global leadership for doubling our membership 2 years after implementation. Other chapters have asked for our help in implementing the same software and procedures.

Pros

We used free tools like Gmail, MailChimp, Weebly and Paypal. Nothing spoke to each other and our membership database was a nightmare. Membership, programming, and treasurer each kept separate databases and our records were a mess. Our committee did an exhaustive review of 5 software packages before deciding on Club Express. Now everything is in one place. We have doubled our membership and cut the workload for board members in half. 2 years after implementation our chapter was recognized for our leadership. Club Express was the reason. Simply automating renewals and dues reminders was huge. Tracking attendance and collecting satisfaction polls helped up to create programs that better serve our membership. The integration with the website keeps everyone informed. New events show up on the calendar. New members show up in our searchable member database from the homepage.

Cons

Software this powerful also requires some learning. Many of the functions have small "icons" instead of drop-down menus. It has taken me a while to learn the iconography and I often click the wrong option before finding the one I really want. I wish it was more intuitive, but that is a very subjective statement. Intuitive to me may not be that way for you. We have 3 board members that have become experts on Club Express and we have not had any issues training the next generation as they take over our chapter.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Pauline M.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization
Company size: Self Employed

Great Product, Requires Computer Knowledge

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/13
Review Source: Capterra

Overall Club Express has made managing our club much easier. In particular the automatic reminders when it is time to renew their membership. We run our annual golf tournament with Club Express and the registrations can get involved with personal info, golf team info, clothing info, and sponsorships. Once you learn how to set up the registrations, it runs relatively easy, with reports available to you on all levels. And when you have questions, the support staff works with you to set up what you need, test it, and be sure you are getting the results you need.

Pros

Talking to their staff prior to our decision was easy and they asked all the right questions, things we did not think about on our end. I appreciated how Club Express worked with us to import our data. They made it easy, discussing the import fields, how things should be structured, and our requirements.They kept us advised every step of the import and made the initial process of set-up easy.

Cons

Understanding some of their terminology took a bit, but I believe part of that was our inexperience in this type of software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jennifer H.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Improving our data management

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/01/16
Review Source: Capterra

After the usual growing pains we have found this system to be a wonderful upgrade and is enabling us to work more efficiently in all aspects of our operation. We still have features we have not implemented (like Forums and Ad Hoc Reporting), but that will come with time. I'd like to particularly credit the tech support staff for answering my every dumb question and implementing some upgrades that we have suggested. I think the caliber of the tech support is just outstanding.

Pros

Our small non-profit "village" had cobbled together at least 6 other software applications to conduct our day-to-day business. It was duplicative and a bit of a mess. Using ClubExpress enabled us to bring everything under one umbrella - managing member and prospect records, entering payments and donations, event registration management, sending out email blasts, and providing volunteers the ability to accept service requests online, anytime. Plus, members can access the system to update their records, RSVP for events and make their payments and donations. It's been a terrific upgrade.

Cons

The transition was a bit of a challenge as you might imagine as we bring all these functions under one roof. Our staff is very busy and had to fit in training on the fly. It took several months for all of us to feel comfortable using the system. That's not the fault of CE, but just a fact of transitioning. It would be much better for a group to start out with CE versus transition to it, though the CE customer support has been absolutely outstanding and the training videos and regular webinars help a lot. Some of our members and volunteers still do not access the system, but that's ok since so many are actually using it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ron M.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Ride Yourself Fit Website

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/16
Review Source: Capterra

Ride Yourself Fit is a non-profit 501c3 club for bicycling, walking and healthy eating with an overall motto of fun, fitness and fellowship. We are able to get the necessary information out to our membership and the general public in an easy and complete manner using this software.

Pros

The ease of use and the variety of options that fit the club's needs for a website. Periodic updates are received and the manual contains good information. The event calendar has many options and is easy to develop for various events. Registrations and payments for events is simple as well and membership renewals.

Cons

Would like to see a few more options that allow individual users to develop and save information. As an example, RYF uses a variety of colors that define specific programs and activities. These colors are not part of the standard colors offered by Club Express. The webmaster must use the HTML color code number each time that specific color is desired. There should be an option to save these specific colors in a semi-permanent basis for future use. Also some improvement could be better interaction with an Excel spreadsheet for downloading large spreadsheets and data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Yvonne K.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: Self Employed

ClubExpress=outstanding value for small to medium non-profit & customer service can't be beat

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/16
Review Source: Capterra

I work with many other AMS and I really like ClubExpress. The greatest thing about CE is the customer service. I appreciate being able to either email or call with a question and get almost immediate response. I also appreciate that they accept suggested improvements and eventually implement those suggestions that are compatible with most of their clients.

Pros

I guess I would say that I like that CE is always rolling out improvements. Over the past 5 years, there have been improvements that I wanted and eventually, they have implemented those improvements.

Cons

I would have to say that what I like least is that we can't tailor the software to meet every one of our specific needs. This software is for multiple nonprofits and clubs and has to meet the needs of a wide range of clients. I would like to see a Search function added to the website, and that is one drawback we are currently experiencing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10