Microsoft PowerPoint Reviews

Microsoft PowerPoint

4,7 (20 569)
Slideshow presentation software

Overall rating

4,7 /5
(20 569)
Value for Money
4,5/5
Features
4,6/5
Ease of Use
4,6/5
Customer Support
4,3/5
Sort by

20569 Reviews

Tacho
Tacho
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Usefull Tool for all Teachers like me

Reviewed on 2020/10/14

Very widespread software. The look in the program is very familiar, which helps the user to...

Very widespread software. The look in the program is very familiar, which helps the user to navigate quickly, despite the changes in newer versions. The main panels are well distributed and work comfortably in the program. Storing the functions in panels gives a tight look and order. One sees exactly what one needs. I use the program to create presentations when I need a little more specific feature.

Pros

I like that the functions are also depicted with icons, which makes the use of the program possible by completely new users. This is also useful for those with experience in the program, because the functions are many and the pictograms are like little jokers for the function itself (you don't have to remember everything). The advantage is that the program has many different functions for creating creative and attention-grabbing content (text in various forms, images, insertion of video and audio).

Cons

The fact that the keyboard shortcuts are not listed. The inability to import gif files into presentations in an easy and convenient way. The disadvantage is that the package is paid. The inability to edit the finished file on devices that do not have the program.

Alternatives Considered

Google Slides

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft PowerPoint

Google Slides - the main features are close to those of the Microsoft product, but logically for an online program, some more specific things are cut. It is convenient for creating fast and decent looking content that is available anytime, anywhere. It is very convenient that people from different places can work on a certain material at the same time.
Ronald
Ronald
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Get Creative with Powerpoint

Reviewed on 2021/02/25

My overall experience with Powerpoint has been good. It allows me to organize text and images ways ...

My overall experience with Powerpoint has been good. It allows me to organize text and images ways that are visually pleasing and that communicate information effectively.

Pros

I like the ability to import, resize, rotate and animate images with ease that rivals many graphic artist programs. There's several different ways to add and delete slides from a presentation, and advancing or rewinding slides is as easy as pushing arrow keys on keyboard or using a presenter remote. Powerpoint gives access to a large library of design templates and themes to give your presentation its own unique feel, and the program groups some of the most commonly used commands on a ribbon for quick access.

Cons

I don't have any cons to list for Powerpoint, as I've used it for school, business, and personal projects without issues.

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Missing features and difficult to use

Reviewed on 2021/02/12

I have been using presentation software since Aldus Persuasion. When Adobe, who Aldus merged with,...

I have been using presentation software since Aldus Persuasion. When Adobe, who Aldus merged with, discontinued Persuasion, I had to switch to the much less capable PowerPoint. Over the years, PowerPoint added in some of the cool features of Persuasion. But it took Microsoft several years to make it work as smoothly as Persuasion and they never got it completely right. But it was the only option, at the time. Eventually, Apple introduced Keynote for Mac, which included most of what had been in Persuasion and much more. It took them a couple of years to get it right. But during that time, they kept adding in new features. The more I used Keynote, the less I liked PowerPoint. Today, I only keep PowerPoint around for opening someone else's PowerPoint files. I have found Keynote to be a far superior product, both in features and ease of use. I can quickly and easily do things in Keynote that totally baffles PowerPoint pros. PowerPoint never was all that good, to begin with. It only stayed around because it was promoted as part of MS Office, to be the "standard." It did get better, over the years. But it still lags far behind Keynote. But if you're not a Mac user, it's your only real choice, since Keynote only works on Mac.

Pros

The only pro that I can think of is that you can open those PowerPoint files that you occasionally get in emails. It's probably quite acceptable for simple slide shows, with simple transitions. But that's where it ends. If you want your presentation to look really professional, this is not the software for you.

Cons

It's far more difficult to do some transitions in PowerPoint than in Keynote for Mac. It's like you're doing things that it was not designed to do. There are also some transitions that I do in Keynote that I have yet to figure out a way to do in PowerPoint. It's just awkward to use. It also requires more steps to do certain things (i.e. you have to apply time-consuming kludges to make certain things work). It's very basic and definitely NOT for professional looking presentations.

Asjad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent software to make top-notch presentations

Reviewed on 2024/01/03

Pros

I loved the user-friendly interface, useful features, and templates. I thought the presentation's audio-visual a combination was fantastic. The greatest slides are those that are easy to download and change, with the added benefit of being directly printable on each slide. has elegant layouts and a variety of template options. With the help of this software, learners of any skill level may follow along with slides that include text and images, no matter how complicated. The videos and graphics are very clever.

Cons

Other than its incompatibility with non-Windows computers, there aren't many things about it that I dislike. Corrupt files or improperly displaying presentations are frequent causes of errors.

Courtney
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PowerPoint - A must use in my business

Reviewed on 2023/06/05

Overall, PowerPoint is one tool that I use frequently in my business and often not just for...

Overall, PowerPoint is one tool that I use frequently in my business and often not just for presentations.

Pros

I like the designer tool. There are times when being creative is just not possible. That designer helps me out tremendously because I never really start with a blank page.

Cons

I'm not a huge fan of how the table with graphs works. Excel integration could work better, but that might be my own skill set issue. Also, I use powerpoint to stage social media graphics and the designer does not work if you change the aspect ratio... bummer cause I like to great on a 4" x 4" then scale.

Alternatives Considered

Google Slides and Adobe Creative Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft PowerPoint

Ease of use and familiarity with the Microsoft Suite.
Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great for Working Offline or Integrating with Google Slides

Reviewed on 2024/03/19

Pros

It gets the job done! PowerPoint is easy to use, and allows me to create presentations without the requirement of the internet.

Cons

You must purchase the license to use it, unlike Google Slides which can be used for free.

Rachid
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft PowerPoint

Reviewed on 2024/03/05

PowerPoint is an efficiently program that you can create edit and present your project.

PowerPoint is an efficiently program that you can create edit and present your project.

Pros

Collaboration tools because it helps to work with your team and share ideas

Cons

image editing is also an important option in your PowerPoint presentation.

Alexandra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great, familiar, but may not be worth the price

Reviewed on 2024/03/27

Pros

Ease of use, variety of creative design options, familiar. I've been using it since I was a kid in school!

Cons

The cost is a con simply because there are free competitors.

Emily
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

PowerPoint Can Help

Reviewed on 2024/03/19

Pros

Offline use and the options for clip art and offline editing on PowerPoint more then their competitors.

Cons

Shareable editing and ease of use doesn’t quite hang with competitors.

kavita
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

truly a friendly app

Reviewed on 2024/03/11

Pros

Microsoft Powerpoint is easy to use, user friendly, most accepted by all app.

Cons

It is little expensive. One needs to study little on it.

Kayla
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerpoint and Teaching

Reviewed on 2020/11/14

Overall, I would one hundred percent recommend this to any instructor attempting to teach a course....

Overall, I would one hundred percent recommend this to any instructor attempting to teach a course. Even within school programs it is great to use for presentations and can often capture the attention of the students, as this seems to be what motivate and captures the attention of this generation.

Pros

Recently, I began teaching through the Arise Platform. Currently, I service for multiple different companies like Comcast, Disney Resorts, and Dicks Sporting Goods. As a teacher, I teach three week classes at a time. For each class I am required to have PowerPoints. Microsoft PowerPoint moves quickly, is easy to navigate, easy to present, and even allows me to place extra notes for the students. It allows for citations, it allows you to input videos and images. It is easy for beginners and even professionals are able to use PowerPoints and be successful. Designs are quick and easy, it has a valuable amount of templates for whatever topic you may be presenting.

Cons

The thing I like the least about this software is how many different areas there are throughout the application. It can be difficult to navigate when first beginning to use it. It also allows for laziness when it comes to presenting for those who may be poor speakers. When owning a business or being a teacher it is important to not use your presentations as a crutch. I have seen many lazy instructors use PowerPoints for that precise reason. There is a large abundance of special features and I have seen through many presentations, instructors getting carried away with the features and it takes away from the meaning of the delivery.

Alternatives Considered

Prezi

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft PowerPoint

Prezi did not have as many valuable needs provided for as Microsoft Power Point did. It also was not worth the price and did not have as wonderful customer service as Microsoft office does.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerpoint is awesome with its latest updates for spinning presentations quickly.

Reviewed on 2021/03/05

Overall experience is good and much better than 2007 version, however there is a lot that remains...

Overall experience is good and much better than 2007 version, however there is a lot that remains to be implemented. For example, the theme or template are very fixed, you can't even move the line in the header to adjust it for certain slides.

Pros

1. Ease of use
2. The smart art forms and word art make it very easy to present ideas and their flow.
3. The added screen recording feature, is very useful for creating quick tutorials.
4. Animations and transitions are cool.

Cons

Even with the latest version, it is missing the below:
1. It doesn't have descent scenario oriented tutorials to quickly teach how to use the new features.
2. The template library still lacks goal oriented templates that can be easily adopted to real life scenarios.
3. It doesn't have a quick way to animate certain icons or pictures, to create interactivity and engagement during the presentation, for eg: a pic continuously spinning in one corner, or a pic divides into 4 parts, basic gif functionality on uploaded pics would make it look very coal and add purpose orientation for the audience during the presentation.
4. It doesn't have 1-click generation of pdf
5. The Design tab, lacks themes, they are not awesome to today's standards.
6. There is no quick tutorial on useful use-cases using Macros.
7. You can't combine data/pics from various sources and tell powerpoint to auto-adjust / apply a theme and get it ready, for minimal editing for the final version to be ready. You still need to do substantial work to get it into the final shape, particularly if you are collecting data from various sources.
8. Lack of icons that will show a certain scenario - making the presentation very picture oriented and easy to understand.

Alternatives Considered

Apache OpenOffice

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft PowerPoint

Because it is way better and much more functional and easier to use.
Ma Angelica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Microsoft PowerPoint Best Features and Incomparable Worth

Reviewed on 2022/09/06

We use Microsoft Powerpoint to assemble introductions for item pitches. Pass data on to representati...

We use Microsoft Powerpoint to assemble introductions for item pitches. Pass data on to representatives and business partners. Coordinate outcomes and information. The business issues it addresses mostly originate from correspondence. It is a strong correspondence stage to permit us to share thoughts during gatherings. I use Microsoft Powerpoint for project research reporting and individual safeguard instructional courses and workshops. It has a good graphics design and is simple to utilize.

Pros

I can choose between various layouts. Simple to make an outwardly engaging presentation. Exploiting the different text style tones in a great ergonomy makes the route exceptionally liquid. It is consistent across all updates. Capacity to use close by different projects, similar to video sharing. It is an easy-to-use interface. Has design choices for each slide and permits the utilization of pictures, video, and sound to have a more noteworthy visual effect.

Cons

Documents should be automatically saved as we're working. Lessen the bugs however much as could reasonably be expected. Now and again moving text around in boxes gets bulky. Cloud-based help isn't accessible. Larger files make it hard to mail. More Design choices are pointed toward Business experts. At times assuming that the file size is weighty it makes issues while playing it.

Alternatives Considered

Prezi

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft PowerPoint

The most well-known features of Microsoft PowerPoint are the following: Graphic design and animations, plans, having the option to add pictures and recordings and furthermore altering those pictures and recordings. With PowerPoint, you can utilize every one of the elements accessible to make introductions that truly stick out and could assist you with your career or help you to get a client faster than you expect.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent Presentation Tool

Reviewed on 2018/12/06

In the past few years, I've had colleagues who have told me to use "Prezi" instead of PowerPoint. ...

In the past few years, I've had colleagues who have told me to use "Prezi" instead of PowerPoint. Although it's a different presentation tool, I do not think it's quality is better than PowerPoint. I think the user is responsible for creating a presentation, and many users do not know the best practices (not overloading slides, too small text, too many transitions, colors that don't work on projection screens) thus a good or a bad presentation is made by the user, not the software. The advantage prezi seems to have is the ability to save it online and pull it up anywhere. I do not yet have Office 365, which may make this easier. Looking through PowerPoint templates online is a big help, and can assist in creating better presentations.

Pros

I have used PowerPoint for about 10 years and have evolved the types and styles of presentations I create. It's very effective to have a variety (but not too many) template options, but also the flexibility to create your own custom backgrounds, transitions, color schemes, etc. I don't think most people know how much flexibility is with this software. I recently started using the SmartArt options, which are great and easy way to dress up your information in a more visually appealing format. It takes practice to create more complicated animations and get timing correct, but it is worth it for more interesting and visual presentations. I really enjoy the presenter mode, with the timing option and ability to see the next slide. This was a great upgrade. Looking through the tabs, I see there are many other options that I have not used but look forward to exploring.

Cons

I have had some trouble imbedding or linking videos. I had a presentation where the embedded video played, but then ended before the video was finished. I couldn't figure out if this was a maximum time issue. Also, I tried to use the Video > Online Video Option, and found it difficult to find the specific video I wanted to use. Not sure if that has been upgraded since then, as today I tried it again and more easily found it. I struggled to get the videos to playback as part of my presentation. When doing a presentation, sometimes the presentation mode doesn't allow for easy playback of videos either vs. duplicate mode, if you need to click to start the video. Also, sometimes I've had issues in presenter mode if I want to click on a website during the presentation, then getting back to the presentation. Not always sure what the right method is to accomplish that.

I think I can work through most of those issues though as I continue to learn the functions/options of PowerPoint.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Presenting the PowerPoint.

Reviewed on 2019/02/08

If you've already invested in Microsoft Office Suite for your business, then PowerPoint is an...

If you've already invested in Microsoft Office Suite for your business, then PowerPoint is an incredible tool for you to use when creating presentations and slideshows. If you intend of getting the Microsoft Office Suite just for PowerPoint (I honestly do not know why you would want to do that), then you're better off using the free, online version of it, or you might want to consider other presentation creation software that could give you more bang for your buck. However, if you want to use it alongside other Microsoft Office applications, then I honestly think that the Microsoft Office Suite is well worth it, given how seamlessly integrated all of the software are.
While I honestly feel PowerPoint is one of the most essential software that you need in your computer, the price just ain't cutting it.

Pros

For starters, Microsoft PowerPoint is fairly easy to use. Microsoft has been tailoring this software since the dawn of the dinosaurs, a.k.a the late 1980's, familiarity with every version of PowerPoint over the years has improved ever since. I'd like to consider it as the industry standard when it comes to presentation creation software.
The UI is intuitive, as it should be, and users could technically produce a really well structured presentation with just a little bit of practice and knowledge about its basic function. There are also advanced functions (animations, embedding videos from YouTube, inserting audios) for the more experienced users.
The variety of templates and also the Master Views (this gives us the Slide Master option) allows users to create really impressive presentations in no time.
Just like other Microsoft Office software, integration with other Microsoft Office software also gives it a lot of flexibility. An example scenario for this would be displaying a chart from
With it's ease of use and variety when it comes to creating a presentation, Microsoft PowerPoint could easily be one of the best presentation creating software in the market.

Cons

One of the biggest con I have to say about Microsoft PowerPoint would be the price. Needing to buy the entire Microsoft Office Suite package just to use it might be a little bit overkill. I know there is a free, online alternative out there, but the lack of features it has really makes it feel rather lackluster compared to the paid version.
While I did praise PowerPoint for having variety. In terms of visuals, PowerPoint might be lacking behind its competition. Other presentation creation software like Prezi, in my opinion, have better transition animations compared to PowerPoint. PowerPoint feels like it's going through cards (that's why it's called slides) when transitioning from one slide to another, it just does not feel seamless compared to the far superior animation quality that Prezi provides. If only PowerPoint gave us the option of having animations like that when creating a presentation. With that being said, the animation that PowerPoint provides to us, users, can often times feel 'low-quality', while they often do capture people's attention, overusing them does make the presentation feel incredibly distracting, while not using them at all makes it really boring.
TLDR: PowerPoint does not give visually impressive animations that other software does, and the animation it does give us can often times feel 'low-quality' if they are used in excess.

Sadiyya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

PowerPoint Review

Reviewed on 2019/03/09

Pros

I have used PowerPoint since elementary school for school projects. As I graduated from the nursing program not to long ago, PowerPoint was always my go to program to create interactive presentations that would engage my audience. There are many reasons I loved the PowerPoint program:
1) PowerPoint has many interactive features that make your project look authentic, personal and professional. These features especially help when you are transitioning between slides in your presentation, or if you are trying to make an emphasis in your presentation as well.
2) PowerPoint allows for enhancement in your creativity as it has many features which allow you to be creative, something I personally had fun with when I used the program. PowerPoint allows for one to create colourful designs using the themes provided by the program itself. These themes can also be modified to fit your needs as well while creating your presentations. You can easily create charts, tables, diagrams and add pictures to the various slides allowing for the audience to be better engaged with your work.
3) PowerPoint allows for one to easily save files you have created in various formats which is compatible with most computer programs and operating systems. You are also able to easily save your file on a USB or CD, and carry your work around rather than having to lug round your laptop.

Cons

PowerPoint is a great program that allows one to be creative, however during my time while using PowerPoint in school, I found there were some flaws with the usage and setup of the program as well. For instance, you can spend hours creating a beautiful presentation, but in order to project your piece of work, you need further equipment like a projector, HDMI wire, and computer to set up your presentation. Another disadvantage to the PowerPoint program I found was that the program is linear in nature, thus only allowing you to create slides in a bullet-point nature which may hinder complex decision-making or stagger the audience away from fully grasping the complex information you are trying to present. PowerPoint minimizes your information back to the basics, which may sometimes hinder the quality of information being presented.

F
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PowerPoint is THE industry standard presentation tool

Reviewed on 2016/11/03

I have been using Microsoft PowerPoint since the Office 97 days. I cannot imagine work life without...

I have been using Microsoft PowerPoint since the Office 97 days. I cannot imagine work life without this great tool. The importance of presentation quality cannot be underestimated because it usually provides the first impression about your company, product, or self. 95% of all presentations you see are made with Microsoft PowerPoint. There are over 1 billion PowerPoint users so that right there tells you how great of a product it is.

PowerPoint's strength is in its intuitive user interface that follows the look and feel of other Microsoft Office products. So, if you have used MS Word before for example, then you can easily navigate through PowerPoint and create a presentation quickly. For each presentation, you can choose a template theme that defines its color and gives your presentation a consistent and professional look. Microsoft provides a ton of templates to download from within PowerPoint itself right at the welcome screen.

As for the presentation elements, your presentation is made of individual slides (pages) and each slide can contain just about any type of material you want like images, text, video, animated GIFs, tables, graphs, etc. Adding any of these elements is as simply as clicking Insert-picture for example. PowerPoint also includes a powerful and equally simple to use animation engine to animate your slide's content (like making text fly in or out) or animate the way slides progress (called Transition effects).

One thing most PowerPoint users don't know is that PowerPoint is very often used to create video presentation slides and backdrops for webcasts. There are several high quality professional PowerPoint plug-ins like Camtasia Studio that allow you to turn your presentation into a video with background music, onscreen graphics, and much more.

PowerPoint has moved from just a presentation tool into a platform in itself where developers are now creating tools that run on PowerPoint's engine. Checkout iSpring Suite for example which turns PowerPoint presentations into online eLearning courses that are SCORM compliant and can be integrated into most Learning Management Systems.

In summary, PowerPoint helps you build strong and professional first impressions about your company and products. It is a very powerful platform with countless features and very powerful 4rd party add-ons. It's worth every single penny you will spend buying it.

Pros

Types of content supported, simple interface, powerful engine, superior quality, stability, support for other Microsoft Office products.

Cons

This is the only software that I cannot think of a single con for!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great idea, but badly outdated.

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

I love the ease of us in PowerPoint once you get the hang of it. I hate the little glitches it has...

I love the ease of us in PowerPoint once you get the hang of it. I hate the little glitches it has when you export or save things. Something that they did, that is a benefit, is adding Microsoft Bing to search (mostly) royalty free images. it would be super awesome, if they had a plug-in for flicker and other royalty free images search sites or like Pixabay. I love the idea of PowerPoint, but it feels like it's a forgotten project by Microsoft. Only updated on rare occasions. I would even pay extra, for bonus features if they ended up or something. I do a lot of training, and I like Microsoft PowerPoint because I can create quick videos, and I am familiar with the software layout. If Microsoft developers upgraded the sound and editing features, as well as added some cooler graphics that don't look like they're from the 90s intros and outros, this could be a really good product to compete with current marketplace services. the benefit of PowerPoint is that it is all in one software package, first other software services, have way better graphics or effects, but take longer to piece together. I like PowerPoint, I really hope they improve it soon, it feels like a slow moving boat, next to all the Ferraris and jets out there.

Pros

Being able to export pp to video files. I do a lot of training, and create videos, PowerPoint makes it easier to create the base and export the video. Then edit the video in magic movie studio, to beef up the sound and add effects. It would be extremely helpful if I could add sound effects on the video, say when I click on a picture or something, and have it sync up correctly when I am recording audio. But as of right now it doesn't blend well and the mixer feels like something from the 90s, it's hilarious how tacky it is. Microsoft is good when they care about something, but it feels like PowerPoint is the bastard child they keep around out of pitt, but don't pay much attention to it, other than feeding it a meal every now and then.

Cons

Glitchy, very glitchy. Poor output processing, if you accidentally save, it will cancel your entire export and not bother asking you if that's what you want or to cancel the save. Love many features, but it feels so old and static. They could offer way cooler intros, outs, and side effects, but they are still stuck in the 1997 to 2003 graphics era. Cheesy effects. I love creating tutorial videos with PP, please give more options for audio sound effects, splicing, and editing. The system now is very 1997ish. So basic!

Ken
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Authoring tool of choice, eLearning or Presenting

Reviewed on 2020/12/09

My roles within many companies has meant that I have had occasion to use PowerPoint in almost every...

My roles within many companies has meant that I have had occasion to use PowerPoint in almost every way that it was designed for and in some cases not designed for. Does it do everything a professional design tool can, (like Photoshop, illustrator, etc.), no it does not, but it is one heck of an authoring tool for creating visual aids for presentations, reports, posters, videos, animations and eLearning. In my humble opinion the bad press that PowerPoint gets is much more about the User ability than the tool itself. My first recommendation to anyone using PowerPoint is, learn how to think visually first. Visual aids should help the audience, not an autocue for the speaker. The second recommendation is that you should always add speaker notes, besides being a good discipline for speaking, it means that you can distribute your slide decks in a way that makes sense to the reader and if it is a course your notes can server as the narrative for eLearning conversion.

Pros

I was once asked at a learning conference, "what makes someone a Subject Matter Expert?" My answer was simple, as a SME you have learned what you can get away with not doing, in other words been there done that. PowerPoint falls into this category, it has been around forever and adopted best practices from the industries it serves. It does not do things to the level that other professional tools do, but then it doesn't need to and I ceratainly have gone past worriying what I can't do and focus on what I can do in the tool.
It is feature rich in many areas, not that many users know what these are, but it covers most bases from Templates and styles to design tools and idea generation. The graphic tools and functions are easy to understand and the animation features makes it simple to create professional looking animations. The selection pane is a godsend when working with many latered slide. The Add-ins feature is great for creating things like Word-clouds, especially when trying to get demographic messages across.
As far as I am concerned when developing eLearning content it is difficult to see any eLearning specific tools match the authoring capability of PowerPoint, the key is to ensure the conversion tool can convert all the features in PowerPoint to HTML5. This gives you future proof content that anybody can edit, not just a software savvy developer!

Cons

There are only a few niggles (wishes) that I would note about PowerPoint and these might not even be something users would come across, it will be easier just to list these in the hope that oneday Microsoft might read this review and take note:
1. Enable drawing with bezier curves, rather than clicking points and editing them afterwards.
2. Allow all animation rows to be moved together (avoid having to step out each one by half a second!)
3. Enable straight line to be changed to multi-point line (so you can curve it)
4. It would be good if you could track changes like in Word, especially when sharing with a client to edit.
5. Exporting speakers notes without slides would be useful.
6. When exporting to Word it is a pain that each slide thumbnail is the whole presentation (makes it a massive Word file).
The last thing is a double edged sword, is it is too easy to use, so everybody things the software will make their presentation look good, not the case, you have to think about it!

Joice
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PowerPoint Review

Reviewed on 2021/01/28

I have been using this software for a couple years now for my work. I create presentations with it...

I have been using this software for a couple years now for my work. I create presentations with it every week and have been using it for making product reviews. I have not come across a software that's easier to use while having as much functions. Using PowerPoint has always been a truly positive experience and I would like to suggest PowerPoint to anybody who is willing to form astounding presentations.

Pros

I personally find PowerPoint easy to use for inexperienced users and essential for clients. Utilizing the accessible well drafted samples for designing an excellent end product is simple and fast. It goes as easy as essentially including a few pictures and information inside the system based on the chosen format. As for progressed clients which are generally within the corporate industry and workers utilizing the program routinely, they can make exceptional introductions by consolidating recordings, music and a few animations. The leading portion is that there are a lot of ways to send your made presentations to which you'll be able effortlessly send as an email connection and download a duplicate of it or transfer it in your cloud capacity so simply can have get to to your introductions wherever you want.

Cons

Whereas PowerPoint can effectively consolidate recordings within the presentation, there are a few challenges when it comes to inserting videos. You'll notice once you attempt to embed a large video within the presentation. In spite of the fact that there's an alternative to compress the video record within within the application, you'll have to be have a good computer setup to make it run is smoothly within the framework. Besides, PowerPoint still needs the capacity to specifically distribute your work online like YouTube, Facebook and sharing social media channels. You'll have to have a few specialized abilities to go through the fundamental steps in sharing your introductions on these sort of media channels.

Deeksha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Power Point Review

Reviewed on 2021/05/31

My general involvement in Powerpoint has been acceptable. ... Powerpoint offers admittance to an...

My general involvement in Powerpoint has been acceptable. ... Powerpoint offers admittance to an enormous library of configuration layouts and subjects to give your show its own remarkable feel, and the program bunches the absolute most normally utilized orders on lace for speedy access.

Pros

The 15 things that I like the most about this product:

Everybody has PPT – It's most likely an effect on your PC.
Add visuals with simple picture-altering instruments.
Implant and alter video records straightforwardly in your introductions.
Rapidly add or record sound and synchronize with your slides.
Effectively access your introductions from more areas and on more gadgets.

Homeroom preparing is regularly changed over to an online organization – why not keep on utilizing those introductions from the study hall?
Use slide segments to explore, put together and print your show.
View and alter different introductions independently, one next to the other, or even on isolated screens.
Everybody realizes how to utilize it (and in the event that they don't, it's not difficult to learn).
Rapidly make content with huge loads of formats, foundations, and shading subjects.
Fare your introductions to an assortment of arrangements.
Sort out and print your slides all the more successfully.
Dazzle your crowd with new changes and improved activities.
Effectively repurpose and alter your introductions, again and again.
Complete things quicker.

Cons

There's consistently the possibility of running into specialized challenges.
Indeed, even educated people can run into show issues when the innovation doesn't fill in as expected. Possibly the PC quits working. Or then again you lose the capacity to your outlet. Or on the other hand, the overhead presentation doesn't work right. This can adjust the positive initial feeling of a show rapidly.

2. Slides with an excessive amount of data on them can get overpowering.

Since there are so numerous alternatives that can be remembered for a PowerPoint show, it very well maybe not difficult to get carried away on the number of shadings, sounds, shapes, and different things that can be utilized. By adding to numerous things, you can take away from the data that should be shared.

3. Is anything but a substitute for what a moderator should do.

Numerous who use PowerPoint will in general depend on the data on the slide as opposed to giving a learning account. It is not difficult to turn out to be too dependent on this product and fail to remember that there is a real show that should be finished.

4. Expenses are continually progressing.

Since it is essential for the Office 365 bundle, you presently don't get a restrictive programming permit for one explicit expense. You should pay a month-to-month or yearly membership cost, which over the long haul can amount to more than what the exclusive permit once advertised. You should likewise download the product to every PC, which

Hoàng Tuấn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Still One of the Best Presentation Tools

Reviewed on 2022/03/25

I've utilized PowerPoint from the time I was in Middle School. I was acquainted with the application...

I've utilized PowerPoint from the time I was in Middle School. I was acquainted with the application when I needed to make a show on the evil impacts of smoking. From that point forward, till this day, I'm as yet faithful to the application and I have dominated it. PowerPoint has been a basic piece of my life and will keep on being.

Pros

Microsoft PowerPoint is a very much included and simple to utilize program for making and introducing introductions. PowerPoint makes it exceptionally simple to make outwardly engaging introductions with its formats, changes, movements, and SmartArt. The point of interaction is competent without being excessively jumbled and makes it simple to rapidly make and reformat slides. Subsequent to making a show, there are an assortment of arrangements for trading to both advanced and actual media, which I accept is probably the best component of the program. For instance, a .ppsx document can be made that will consequently boot to the slideshow in the wake of opening, or a show can be printed out in 6 slides for every page with space for comments. PowerPoint additionally coordinates with different projects in the Microsoft Suite like Excel and Publisher where dominate and distributer diagrams and designs can without much of a stretch be moved over.

Cons

PowerPoint is paid programming and commonly part of the Microsoft Office Suite. This implies that you should genuinely consider the advantages of utilizing PowerPoint over a choice like Google Slides, which might not have a portion of the elements yet is presented for nothing. Contenders like the ones found in the Google Suite additionally have a few additional highlights that are either on Google because of it being on the cloud. This incorporates autosaving and cooperation, simple implants of online pictures and recordings, and having the option to utilize the Google Sheet on any stage.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Support tool in my activity as a Teacher and Analyst of Investments and Business Opportunities

Reviewed on 2018/04/28

Portability of ideas, easy to outline and compile content to be exposed to various public, harmony...

Portability of ideas, easy to outline and compile content to be exposed to various public, harmony of content, ease of operation, low consumption of resources on the PC and friendly and intuitive operability for the achievement of effective presentations.

Pros

I have used PowerPoint as a support tool in my professional activity as a teacher and analyst of investments and business opportunities, finding in its functionality the answer to my didactic, strategic and operative needs for the diffusion of knowledge, the explanation of diverse topics and the schematization of a great variety of contents destined to the visualization of audiences of very varied nature in environments of face-to-face and viirtual learning, as well as in environments of discussion, negotiation and socialization of plans and projects. This allows me to affirm that it is a tool that facilitates team work, the organization of content for its dissemination and the synchronous and asynchronous projection of topics.
PowerPoint is a friendly and intuitive software that allows the production and editing of content for both beginner and expert users, providing facilities for the inclusion of images, animations, and a great diversity of multimedia resources.
Considering the basic minimums in terms of content organization, color harmony and selection of relevant graphics and images, is an excellent companion in the execution of meetings, classes, tutorials, brainstorming sessions, among other forms of exchange and individual and / or group job with teamworks.
In addition, the possibility of exporting the product made with PowerPoint as a video, gives it a plus that can not be ignored, as it obtains greater portability of the resources produced with this tool.

Cons

In some versions, design elements are lost due to incompatibility with previous versions and, mainly, due to incompatibility with free software.
Similarly, as a frequent user of the program, I would expect more freedom and openness for the edition of the SmartArts in response to the needs of the users without presenting such noticeable alterations in the proportion and distribution of the graphics that make them up.

Jose de Jesus
Jose de Jesus
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My experience using Microsoft Power Point

Reviewed on 2018/06/27

This software has allowed me to share my experience with a product that has helped me a lot in my...

This software has allowed me to share my experience with a product that has helped me a lot in my professional environment, as well as see the evaluations of other professionals before acquiring it and have a good opinion of them and know their benefits.

Pros

I am a user of Microsoft Power Poin which I use daily, it has been a very useful work tool, since I can make presentations with professional quality, not only within the institution where I work as a leader of the Technological Platform but also in other private organizations to which I work giving advice.
It seems to me that the tools of text editing, the incoportacion of images, photographs and videos give a great professionalism to this great tool.
The effects of transition gives a very attractive option which causes the participants to have their attention to 100% of the subject.
Also, the incorporation of Data from Microsoft Excel and Microsoft Access complements the information that I want my listeners to be attentive.
I can widely recommend the use of this great tool that gives a very important touch to my work, being able to project all the ideas and important concepts of the activity.

Cons

As a regular user of Microsoft Power Point, I can say that one of the few disadvantages that it has is the use of new versions that incorporate functions that when opening or running on a computer with an old version, these wonderful effects are lost. have been used, what we have to do frequently if we want to share is to save for previous versions.
Also, it has against this software that we must always be protected with a good anti virus, that protects the operating system from malicious software and that at the time of sharing our presentations is not infected and we cause disloyalty to our colleagues.

Something very interesting is not to include too many animations that distract the attention of the participants. Also, the file would be very heavy with a lot of megabits.

Brittney
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Awesome application with endless features!

Reviewed on 2018/08/03

Pros

I have been using PowerPoint for years for my own presentations and to edit presentations for c-level executives at conferences. I've learned that PowerPoint can do a lot more than I thought. One of its capabilities I love the most is that I can insert vector files from Adobe Illustrator onto a PowerPoint slide and the formatting doesn't change. This is great when someone from sales needs an infographic I previously designed added to their presentation. And when I'm building something from scratch within PowerPoint, there are a lot of design features that allow me to build graphics just as vibrant as those built with an Adobe application. The shapes and icons that are already installed look great, I can format their dimensions to make everything look uniform, the animations are easy to apply to each image or shape, and it's honestly even easier to use than Illustrator. PowerPoint is way more than just text on slides. You can easily create a visually dynamic presentation if you take a closer look at its design features. I love all of them.

Cons

The hardest part about using PowerPoint is when you're trying to create slide templates using the Slide Master feature. The logos, fonts, colors, headers or whatever you use on the template will stay put on the slide unless you go back into Slide Master mode to made edits to the template. But there were times when the person I shared a template with wanted to make a change or remove something from the template to make an especially large graphic fit on a slide. This created extra work for me because PowerPoint's Slide Master mode is a bit difficult to understand and I end up having to go back and help people make changes, which defeats the purpose of having a template. I wish it were easier to use for beginners.