Salesforce App Cloud Reviews

Salesforce App Cloud

Develop enterprise & customer-facing apps

4.2/5 (148 reviews)
Houston B.

Great Product, Questionable Updates and Prioritization of Features

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/08
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Ohana. Get used to it.

Pros

"Accidental Admin" is a concept that Salesforce uses to emphasize how anyone can pick up and learn to configure Salesforce as an admin. The configuration style (clicks, not code) leads to a low skill floor needed to start using Salesforce. Advanced users, developers, etc. have the flexibility to customize the system to a high degree as well.

Cons

The neglect. Salesforce regularly neglects key pieces of core CRM functionality, some for more than 10 years, while either ignoring the cries for help by its userbase, or promising to fix it - only to let 10 years go by with no update. Just browse around on the success.salesforce.com Idea Exchange and you'll see what I mean. I get that Salesforce puts emphasis on the fact that the system is highly configurable by a dedicated developer, but when key features and functionality are either half-implemented or abandoned altogether in favor of more money-making initiatives (like their half-baked AI platform), it gets to be extremely concerning and offputting. Sometimes they combine the two and continue to sell a half-baked product, which has already been abandoned and they KNOW it.
Want an example? Try to find any documentation on Salesforce Inbox. At my company, we have been fighting with Salesforce support for MONTHS trying to get any semblance of an answer about how we can use Inbox or where we can find documentation, or if we can even pay a professional services team to help us. Finally after months, they have made it clear that Salesforce Inbox is abandonware. Yet they are still promoting and selling it. That is shady and corrupt.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Joan J.

Salesforce Review by a Sys Admin and Developer

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/07
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I enjoy working on the platform because you can really make it do what you want it to do with the right plug-in apps or with a decent developer on staff who can add customizations with the back-end functionality to go along with them. Salesforce is continually evolving, and new releases come out three times per year with new and improved features. Salesforce can be used for nearly any business model or business workflow. Just remember that when all is said and done, it is not a cheap solution for getting rid of that old, relational database legacy CRM system. You will ultimately end up paying for more than just licensing fees for your Salesforce users.

Pros

The best thing about the force.com platform is that it's flexible. It comes with a set of standard objects such as Accounts, Contacts, Cases, Contracts, Orders, and many others. It is very easy to add new objects that can be tailored for your business use case. Originally designed mainly as a Sales tool, Salesforce now has a Service Cloud, Marketing Cloud, Analytics, and other modules that can be added on easily to provide a full enterprise infrastructure. Adding automation to user tasks via workflow rules and process builder can be done without coding. Adding triggers via Apex Code is also fairly easy for developers, since Apex is an easy language to learn.

Cons

Out of the box, Salesforce is not a very efficient tool. To prevent users from having to manually enter every piece of data to sync up objects, customization of some sort is really required. Some types of data syncing or data entry can be done with declarative tools such as workflow rules or process builder. Other things that require more complicated logic do require trigger code written by someone who understands development. The platform comes with built-in limitations on file storage, data storage, number of fields you can have on an object, number of lines of custom code you can add to the platform, and quite a few others. Platform limits of certain types can be increased, but you will definitely pay for the privilege. If you want more automated or customized functionality and don't have a developer on staff, you will have to relay on plug-in products from the Salesforce App Exchange to provide the functionality you are looking for. While some of these products are free, many of them aren't and have licensing fees per user. The cost of paying for Salesforce licenses along with licenses for one or more plug-in apps can get quite spendy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Naveen G.

Flexible development platform on the cloud

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/16
Review Source: Capterra

The Product is very powerful. It provides flexibility to build almost any kind of applications. Business users can build useful apps without taking help from developers. Extensive set of resources are available to build expertise on the platform. Also customers/partners are always available to answer to queries.

Pros

Force.com platform (Lightning) is very powerful development platform on the browser. It can be used to build applications for any industry. The pricing is on per user per month basis.

Many tools like Validation rules, Workflows, process builder are available for business users. These tools allow business users to build apps on the platform with fairly complex logic. For additional functionality, developers are needed. Developers can build more advanced features using Apex, Visualforce and Lightning Communities.

Trailhead and developer account are free resources available to build expertise on the product.

Excellent community of customers/partners is available to support queries.

Cons

Like any complex software there is a steep learning curve. Hiring developers in the US on the platform can be expensive. The license pricing may also be expensive for small businesses.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Good But Could Be Better

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/31
Review Source: Capterra

This program is extremely helpful for storing information, keeping track of clients, and using these tools to assist another co-worker if you are not familiar with a client's needs. It is also a great central access point with remote/field reps that may not have access to specific reports, files, data, etc.

Pros

The search feature is good, it pulls everything associated with what you are looking for.

Cons

Sometimes there are serious delays. The program will need to reset and what ever you just did does not save. The email link does not carry over the information from the email. It will log the email with the title but will not transfer the body of the email into Lightening. Not sure if this is specific to my job's version or not.

Certain aspects of the program convert back to the original Salesforce Classic look

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Austin S.

Excellent Platform, Robust, but Complex

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/07
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

There's a saying that "nobody ever got fired for picking Salesforce" for a reason. It's an excellent, safe choice.

Pros

Salesforce is the most robust CRM in the market, a point that isn't debatable in my view. For an enterprise organization with complex needs, Salesforce is hard to beat. The sheer number of native integrations is a huge advantage over any other solution. The reporting you get with Salesforce is remarkable.

Cons

It's so robust, it can be overwhelming for those without Salesforce expertise, or a dedicated CRM manager in-house. The permissions are flat out hard. This is more of a con for a small business than a mid-sized to enterprise business with more internal resources. Expect to pay huge hourly rates for a consultant if you don't hire in-house.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Kamil S.

A Work in Progress with a Great Future

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/28
Review Source: Capterra

Overall it has been very good and allowed our company to solve complex, repetitive problems without having to enter a separate Visualforce page with an entire development lifecycle behind it. The component-based architecture helps my development time by reducing the overhead required for any remotely complex requirement from users.

Pros

The component-based development, instead of Classic's page-based ideals, are a breath of fresh air and a sign that Salesforce is looking forward to the future. Having the ease of creating a component and being able to reuse it everywhere in your environment is a great feeling.
The components all follow the same style (if done correctly) and don't affect the loading speeds of each individual page, it just works.

Cons

The Lightning experience is definitely not complete, which is understandable as it is a work in progress, but the worst of all is the *initial* loading time. Just after logging in, the wait time is considerably higher than Classic's and is very annoying to sit around while it loads with the latest update's mascot watching your frustration.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Lightning Experience is the gift that keeps on giving

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/15
Review Source: Capterra

Salesforce Lightning Experience is replacing Microsoft CRM for our organization and in the short time we have had it has already given us a much better user experience with improved data and data flow.

Pros

We previously used Microsoft CRM and recently implemented Salesforce Lightning Experience. The features and support community we have found within Salesforce have been incredible and continually impressive. CRM was able to get us through the early stages of our business, but Salesforce Lightning Experience will make the difference across each of our growing teams as we continue in the growth phase of our organization. I love that any question I have about Salesforce has likely already been asked and answered by either a Salesforce expert, or a member of the Salesforce user community.

Cons

With the vastness of customizable features within the application, it can be a confusing transition to Salesforce. There is a large amount of information and training materials that are made available online, but that isn't always enough.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Brent P.

Salesforce is the right tool for most organizations that are sales and marketing driven

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Salesforce is a great platform for those who have time and resources to make it work.

Pros

Customization and a broad feature set make Salesforce a real asset for our business. We have been able to integrate many other essential products, write custom code, build workflows, customize fields and objects and do pretty much everything that we have wanted to do.

Cons

The main con of Salesforce is that, for a company with "sales" in the name, they do very little to help you with actual sales practices out of the box. They don't have great sales funnel, marketing or other templates. Of course, all of this is definitely possible, but it requires previous experience and iteration upon iteration to get it right.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Matt F.

Excellent system for a wide range of functions, but pricey

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/07
Review Source: Capterra

Ability to handle the sales process, marketing, and support of complex products. We also created a knowledge base which allows agents access to the most up to date details on the products.

Pros

Ability to generate custom objects, processes, and communication across a wide range of departments makes SalesForce the ideal tool for any size company. The plus is the cloud location allowing customers and employees access around the globe.

Cons

The pricing and add on fees for certain functionality can quickly explode the budget set by your company for this solution. Be sure to think about all functions you might need and negotiate with your SalesForce contact to obtain the best pricing possible. Bundling can be powerful!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Shibu S.

Outstanding cloud-based platform for Custom application development and prepackaged CRM functionality for all types of business needs

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/04
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

No hardware purchase cost and no hardware maintenance cost, big plus
Very easy to use and learn for business user and developers
Pre-packaged components and widgets speedup the development effort and timelines.
Minimal coding for application development
Effective cloud platform for small and large enterprise
End to end life-cycle management from website(site.com) to data management
Very good documentation for user and developers.
Awesome effort from Salesforce team by conducting webinar on new features and components

Cons

Nothing to complain as Salesforce improved lot with the new releases, however search results are still clumsy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Brad M.

Great platform for managing your business and a fantastic UI upgrade from Classic

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

Lightning is definitely the future of Salesforce and the vast majority of their new features and resources seem to be going towards Lightning. If you have not yet made the switch from Classic to Lightning, I would recommend doing it soon. And if you are getting into Salesforce for the first time, start with Lightning so you don't have to switch later.

Pros

A lot more user friendly and a much better UI than Salesforce Classic. It came out with a lot less features than classic, but in the past few months and years they have dedicated a lot of resources to improving Lightning to not only compare to Classic, but I think it now has even more features.

Cons

There is a learning curve to getting Lightning up and running. I would definitely recommend spending some time in the SF trailheads to get the ins and outs of Lightning before you switch from classic or sign up to start.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Michael J.

Powerful Once You Learn How to Use It (But Expensive)

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/02
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Salesforce is the backbone of our company. It is tied into everything and used by every team. It is incredibly customizable and it seems they have a way to do almost anything you need. We use it for Sales, Support, Marketing, and product feature usage. We have it hooked into other apps and other saas products. This is the product that will scale with your business and can support a company at any stage of growth. There are a ton of integrations out of the box (on their salesforce exchange) and their APIs allow savvy developers to build custom integrations that aren't available.

Cons

When the company initially implemented it, they tried to "wing it" and it was a complete mess. You really need someone who knows what they are doing to setup, administer, and maintain the software. It is also expensive. We got grandfathered into some great pricing, but if we weren't, we're not sure we would be able to continue to use SFDC as we grow. SFDC also loves to gobble up other apps and brand them with the SFDC name. So they have become a jack of all trades - however, some of the things you can't do are surprising (just go check out their community page for all of the list of enhancements that haven't been implemented). For example, we use cases for our help desk, but there is a lot of functionality missing compared to a best in breed help desk software like ZenDesk. Support is terrible here by the way. They really push you toward self-service or community based service. You're lucky if you ever get a response.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Karen P.

For nonprofits - powerful, but complicated

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/11/14
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Even though it is free for nonprofits, you should expect in start-up costs, realistically. Take advantage of the free apps and extensions, as well as the robust support network, but be aware that you will have to learn the language and back end of salesforce to truly customize it. For that, it might be best to use a developer to start.

Pros

Salesforce is a very powerful CRM system that can handle almost anything and with hundreds of apps to add functionality, you can find pre-built solutions to most business processes. For nonprofits, the nonprofit success pack is a great starter kit and you can't beat the price - free for up to 10 users.

Cons

Because of the plethora of features, it can be hard to navigate and figure things out without help. I wouldn't recommend someone not comfortable with technology and CRMs to think they can set it up themselves with no assistance.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Al S.

Salesforce requires investment

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/13
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I’m a big fan of Salesforce and have used it for about 6 years in a variety of roles. If you are willing to make the investments in customization it can be a business expansion tool.

Pros

Salesforce is enormously powerful and flexible, able to adapt to most any businesses type or stage.

Cons

You must have a Salesforce Certified developer to get the most out of the platform - that means code development, testing and documentation. This skill set comes at a price and up for enterprise level development resources. We built a customized version of Opportunities with a developer. Leadership was not well equipped to understand this approach (versus a subscription app).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Kate S.

Powerful product if you know how to use it.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/27
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall the system is great, and helps us a lot with productivity and sales. But you'll need to know their language and structure for setting up anything customized to your organization, and you should hope you don't need help from their support team, as the team is generally useless. We've had billing issues last 6+ months, dealt with customer service reps who knew less than we did, and had our account manager change every 2 months or so because the turnover is so high.

Pros

Lots of features, easy to use once it is set up, plenty of options for add-ons and integrations with other systems

Cons

Additional features can be pricey, customer service is terrible, they'll charge you for everything additional

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Justin L.

Probably the World's Most Powerful Sales CRM

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Probably best as a long-term solutions for already-big companies or companies that plan on growing.

Pros

It's hard to think of what Salesforce can't do. I honestly can do, or can be made to do, virtually anything you can think of to enable a sales department. I see a future where there is only Salesforce in its vertical.

Cons

Because of its robust functionality, there can be quite a learning curve for inexperienced admins. The average user, though, won't have a problem. But even as an admin, learning its bells and whistles just takes a little time and is completely worth it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Randall W.

Lightning Platform for Software Developers

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/09/12
Review Source: Capterra

I have found this software to be fun to work with. It takes a different approach than anything else that I've worked with previously, so it keeps you engaged and entertained. I would highly recommend learning this software to other developers wanting to work with enterprise customers.

Pros

Lots of resources to help you get started with this platform. All of the prebuilt components are documented well in the Salesforce documentation, and it is extremely easy to get started with developing. Trailhead is extremely helpful in introducing the concepts that are important to developing for the Lightning Platform, so it is not hard to know where to go next in your learning journey. The other benefit is that it is extremely popular and there is a lack of qualified developers, so the barrier to entry through learning about the Lightning Platform is lower than it is with other technologies.

Cons

There is a relatively steep learning curve because it is VERY opinionated. In addition to learning the Lightning framework, there are many other pieces that you will be required to learn. Apex and SLDS are two examples of that. You won't be proficient in Lightning Platform development unless you have all of the pieces.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jonathan T.

I love the sales force platform it makes my job easy in managing our volunteers.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the ability to be able to track our volunteer hours from the day they started. Its awesome because volunteers can reach out to us and retrieve that information. The most amazing thing I like about sales force is the ability to run reports through specific filters to allow me to extract the information that I need. I like the fact that I am able to reach out to a customer service rep who is able to walk me step by step of what I need and how to work through salesforce

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Lightning is the best way to use Salesforce in the cloud

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Having always loved the functionality of Salesforce but not enjoying the readability of Salesforce, Lightning breathed some new life into the product. Lightning brings your reps closer to having that amazing sales experience and improving quality. It makes it so easy to understand where your assets are located and how best to interact with them. Salesforce has always had a strong hold on the marketplace in terms of functionality, and now they are finally taking over in terms of flexibility.

Cons

Like Salesforce Classic, Lightning is still built on the same platform that can at times be confusing and complex to setup.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Lekil C.

Salesforce is Great!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/06/06
Review Source: Capterra

The Lightning Platform is a better and easier to look interface a part from Salesforce Classic. Some features from Classic may not have rolled over to the Lightning platform but navigation is now easier.

Pros

I love the multiple app integrations that can be implemented within the software. It is very complex but they make it up with the online training classes to learn how to operated and fully implement your business process to your own personal salesforce org. Makes bookkeeping and data entry simpler.

Cons

There are always new updates and internal integrations that you will have to stay on top of because Salesforce isn't a software that stays the same.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Sandra S.

Useful system for organzing and keeping track of your pipeline

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/01
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

it’s a good way to keep track of your prospects and make sure no leads are falling through the cracks because you’re able to set tasks/follow ups for each lead.

Cons

I feel like there’s a lot of additional features that I don’t know how to utilize and think it can be more user friendly. I’ve never gotten the hang out generating reports. I usually end of ending an error message or I end up generating a list that is lacking specific content that I wanted.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Brian L.

almost perfect CRM

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/10
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Salesforce is a great CRM. You are able to track the full sales cycle, from leads to wins to dispatching of produce or service. You can customize the fields your company needs, and remove the ones you don't need.

Cons

If you are new to CRM, you can easily get overwhelmed with all the options. With saying that, if Salesforce is your first CRM and you try others, you will find most, if not all, fall short.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Charlie A.

Better than Classic, Lightning is not perfect

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/25
Review Source: Capterra

We're able to keep a ​better record of customer management and individual projects/cases with Lightning, compared to Classic.

Pros

It's faster and more powerful than the classic version. We are now able to associate more data with more accounts plus the added types of views in Lightning (i.e. tabs) really make viewing multiple cases/accounts/opportunities at once much easier.

Cons

Like Classic, Salesforce, in general,​ takes some getting used to. It's only as good as the data you put into it so you must still be vigilant in how you're using it, no matter if it's​ faster and more capable.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Peter K.

Salesforce Platform is Extensible, Reliable, and Efficient

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/14
Review Source: Capterra

Very quick application development

Pros

The ease of standing up well functioning apps is phenomenal. I can spin something up with a decent amount of features in no time.

Cons

Hard to say. When I was a newbie, I did not like all of the different governor limits around everything. As I became more experienced, I grew to understand and actually (gasp) like them! It is a bad thing if the page queries the Database 101 times in a loop!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Tracy W.

Salesforce helps our systems talk to each other

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Salesforce makes our jobs easier. The training is like a video game which makes it more interesting to learn.

Pros

The platform allows our systems to talk to each other and integrate information. This creates more meaning metrics and allows us to run reports with combined data from different systems.

Cons

We would like the ability to change the color of the graphs, so that we can have consistency across our reports, but there is a limitation and the colors often change and we can't alter the colors. There is also a file size limitation, so we are not able to upload certain files for sharing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10