Datadog Reviews

Datadog

Cloud-Scale Monitoring Platform For Metrics, Apps, and Logs

4.6/5 (75 reviews)
Caroline S.

Powerful tool for monitoring business applications

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/27
Review Source

Datadog has been really efficient and useful since through its implementation you can monitor all business applications and thus be aware of its operation whether the same is appropriate or not and if not, you can take the appropriate measures so that the same is again the appropriate performance, that is why having this tool is a great advantage at the business level.

Pros

Datadog is a tool that I like for several reasons, because implementing it does not require technical knowledge, has a series of metrics that allow you to read whether the performance of applications or servers is appropriate or not, so if you find a failure or something out of the ordinary in these applications the user immediately receives alerts that notify him of this problem so that it can be resolved in the shortest possible time, these alerts being received at any time since Datadog works continuously 24/7 and the best thing is that it is a software that is very easy to use and implement, in addition to being extremely flexible because it allows you to choose the monitoring parameters that you want to apply.

Cons

Datadog is not a perfect tool because it has some drawbacks and is that the more applications are integrated with this software the performance or speed of information delivery tends to slow down which should not be since the integrations are to improve even more the performance of said tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Great service for monitoring

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Datadog provides a way of having a lot of information about your systems, clusters and infrastructure in only one site, being able to analyze valuable data for your company. It is possible to create alarms and notifications when overpassing some threshold or value, for example, when a service is down in your systems of when the CPU gets a high percentage of usage.

It integrates pretty well with tons of services and systems, such as Amazon Web Services, Apache, Nginx, several databases, and a long etcetera. Also, it is possible to send notifications to apps like Slack or Hipchat.

Cons

Datadog is not very easy to use at the beginning and it needs a little bit of investigation but it is worth to learn it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jahiezer I.

one of the best software for monitoring in the market

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/27
Review Source

Pros

This software allows to monitoring all you need and also can find lots of solutions for a high gama of cases. by using this app i be able to see the problems that me and my team have, so we can solve it by utilizing all the data that datadog provides. Works in differents OS and that make things more easy

Cons

The proces to instal and put in march this softwre can be a nightmare if you have not experience, it is really complicated. Though the software have nice tools, the price is not the best in the market, is posible to find something good for lowes price if you know what are you loking for. And finally haved some problem with some data transfer working with this app but i really dont konw what was the razon why

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Neyda jose M.

Powerful tool for the analysis and monitoring of applications

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/20
Review Source

Datadog is a very useful tool because it is known if the applications, servers or hots are working as they should or if not, we will be aware to prevent further damage solving the problem in the shortest time possible.

Pros

This tool called Datadog I love mainly because it is really efficient and very useful because it allows through it you can carry out a monitoring of the performance of applications in a very simple way, being this through the reading of metrics that are really simple to understand and issue very detailed information that is useful to diagnose the cause and thus be able to solve the problem in the shortest time possible, also is available 24/7 so in case of any fault send immediately a mail informing the same and the best thing is that it has a clean interface, intuitive and easy to use without having technical knowledge to manage it.

Cons

One of its drawbacks is that when it is integrated with a large number of tools it can become heavy, which causes the information to be slowed down.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Diego M.

Great server monitoring

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/23
Review Source: Capterra

They monitor everything we run at our company and we recently moved logging to them too. Very happy with support, had to ask them several questions over the years and they always know what I'm looking for.

Pros

The metrics navigator, you start by picking a metric or server, and it then tells you all the information it is collecting from it, so you can start designing your monitoring dashboards and see the data that will appear as you go

Cons

There are times where a chart would omit certain spikes, due to the way they aggregate values. But a quick email to support and they'll give you the settings you need to adjust not to miss such events, even when you look at a chart for the month

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Monitor full stack app performance with Datadog

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

For our AWS deployment, we use Datadog for application performance and server monitoring as well as synthetic HTTP tests . DataDog enables real-time information and measuring engineering-specific metrics and allows you to control how you trace and diagnose data. If you are looking to track the time it takes for a web hook to fire after an asynchronous request has been made, you can store the time the request has been sent in your database and when the webhook fires for that request, measure the delta and send it to DataDog. DataDog integrates with Slack, which allows for alerts on average and max thresholds.

Cons

Datadog has a mature product but features are limited, the tool feels dated and the UI is very plain.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Kevin V.

Great metrics and monitoring

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/09
Review Source

Overall Datadog has given us great insight into what is going on with our server infrastructure, it has opened our eyes to some issues we weren't aware of. On top of that it's helped send alerts when things are going wrong.

Pros

Datadog has integrations with pretty much every main software service you can think of. It has pretty robust support for Windows machines and the custom metrics support is great, so you can track anything you'd like.

Cons

The usability could be improved in some areas, the custom dashboard features are powerful but the syntax can be hard to work with.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Many integration options and plethora of dashboards and visualizations

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/08
Review Source: Capterra

Dependable and reliable solution.

Pros

Configuring monitoring tools is not always trivial, half of the battle is making sure metrics are flowing. Datadog is very flexible when it comes to sending metrics to their cloud. You can use collectD, statsd, file beats, or the 84523982 other options. Our orchestration software already had an option to enable Datadog collection. Once the data is in place, you need to figure out what metrics are relevant. Datadog has a number of pre-built dashboards tweaked for popular software systems. If you are using something homegrown, they can provide recommendations and optimizations after enough data has been ingested. API and documentation are top notch and we were able to build integrations quite easily.

Cons

Datadog is purely cloud-based system so there's no on-prem option, only SaaS. Depending on your company, this may be a deal-breaker since all of your metrics data is hosted in the cloud. Since it's a SaaS based service, it won't be easy to move data to another service. Occasionally web UI will bog down but it's fairly performant for the most part.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Kevin V.

Great view of our server environment

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/02/08
Review Source: Capterra

Datadog has great support for a variety of different third party systems - Windows machines, linux machines, AWS instances, pretty much anything you can imagine. You can easily slice and dice stats on a good looking dashboard. Provides a good one stop view of your environment.

Pros

Datadog's Windows support is great, the Windows agent supports detailed IIS and MSSQL statistics. Their RabbitMQ support is good as well - providing good insight into queues. Customizable dashboards are very handy as well.

Cons

The User interface generally is good but in some instances can be a bit too technical to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ravikiran R.

Best monitoring cloud service available in the market

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/16
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to monitor and easy to share with notebook feature
Watch the statistics from virtually anywhere

Pros

Easy to monitor and get analytics
We can monitor inside any stack, any app, at any scale, anywhere
Supports multiple dashboards
Notebooks help you to share the data

Cons

More options some time confuses
Help documentation needs improvement
Some times dashboards are very complex to understand

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Vince P.

Datadog Cloud Monitoring Review

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I noticed that this monitoring system is very flexible, you can track pretty much any metric, which is great.

Great integration with many services like AWS, Chef, Couchbase, JVM, HAProxy, MySQL etc.

Dashboard functionality is easy. Comes with UI, UI is simply designed but supports all the key functionalities that you would expect from a counter services, and to be able to create dashboard based on counters.

Cons

Noticed that the more data you have, the slower response Datadog service will become, when you query the service.

Query a specific counter, as well as when the counter contains high dimensional data, which is normal, we haven't yet tested what is the upper limit for how much data it can decently handle.

But we have been very satisfied using Datadog, and we feel that it should be enough for small to mid size company.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Denis V.

Datadog as Perfect monitoring tool.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Perfect monitoring tool.

You can monitor your infrastructure as on premise as in the cloud by monitoring performance counters of different applications and collecting information from logs.

You can monitor your infrastructure as in real time mode or just receiving alerts for example to email.

It allows you to use different ready solutions with predefined logic for to monitor even different software such as: SQL Server, MySQL and so on.

It can be integrated with different products such as slack, where you can receive different alerts and where slacks bot can perform setuped actions.

You can create different dashboards for your convenience.

Cons

No suitable for all cloud services, for example if you're going to monitor your infrastructure in Azure it would be better to use Azure's Log Analytics.

This solution is not for non-experienced users and required time to learn it . Features used in free price tiers very limited for example no alert capabilities.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Jessica H.

Helpful monitoring tool

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/28
Review Source: Capterra

I'm not a DevOps engineer by any means; just a member of a customer support organization. However, I use Datadog to quickly check in on reports of downtime or slow page loads from our customers, and can quickly gather the information I need to confirm those reports, to see if any issues are still occurring that need a quick resolution.

Pros

Datadog is very helpful in reviewing the status of apps and servers for our system. It's easy to see how things are doing at a glance, reviewing when an issue started/ended, etc.

Cons

The software isn't intuitive to the newest user, unless they are familiar with with the setup and maintenance of cloud frameworks; but that's not important, as it's meant for those users in the first place. It's quick enough to learn for your own purposes if you're only there to see the current status at a glance.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

One of the default server monitor tools in my list.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/05/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The best about datadog is the simplicity. Ranging from the dashboard to the addons everything is done smoothly and in a proper manner.
The pricing is very fair and the free tier allows many to explore it's possibilities.

Cons

The dashboard could expand a bit more, also the ping are quite inconsistent. I have tested them together with other services and datadog throws more false negatives than other tools.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Joaquín E.

Very good experience

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The dashboards are very clear, it helps us to look for errors in our apis easily. Apart from that, it is great that you can create custom dashboards

Cons

Somethings, when you have a lot of apps is very difficult to find the dashboard that you really want.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Kumara G.

Datadog is the perfect choice to monitor the performance of a cloud-based application

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

t integrates so well with Amazon Web Services and all sorts of software, it's very easy to set up and get started quickly I had Datadog monitoring everything in the infrastructure. Datadog's Windows support is great, the Windows agent supports detailed IIS and MSSQL statistics

Cons

Metric types take time to understand
Sometimes it is very difficult to understand the graph report and it is bit technical to use
The various metric types require a little bit of reading and understanding. You'll need to choose the appropriate type when submitting data, or else it'll be tough to make sense of it later.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Daniel P.

Using for monitoring multiple servers health

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/09
Review Source: Capterra

Let me know every time when my server is down. Great monitoring tool.

Pros

The implementation is easy.
Let you know in real time if your server is down or is failing.
The best tool I found.
It's always sending mails when the server fails in any way.

Cons

Should have mobile app or mobile notifications.
If you are not in the programming field you should get someone. The code is easy to implement but if you don't know the right place to call at the right function (assuming you have datadog code on a lib of your system) you wont get the data you need or in the way you need it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Tracey M.

Easy to get going and sorted and set up. Consistent and reliable software package

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

At the initial install of the trial I loved it. Its all we required in an app of this nature with a sys monitoring system and an API. Made life a lot simpler for the business needing this software I was advising. They are very happy with it and continue to use it now.

Cons

No real cons that spring to mind. A great product. I would recommend starting with a list of what you need from software, then what you would like then a nice to have list. See how many ticks this software gets. Compare it to at least two pieces of other software of the same nature before making your final decision. This is what I recommend for any piece of software. Also, check out their own forms of customer support, and social media sites to see what other customers have had to say about the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Filip T.

Essential tool for infrastructure and application monitoring

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/02/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Datadog is one of my favorite tools in every day work.

Some of my favorites include:
- great API,
- very flexible and informative dashboards,
- great integrations with various providers and application, which greatly improve visibility,
- a lot of libraries (eg. ruby-kafka) which integrate with Datadog,
- easy to deploy in numerous ways, ie. Kubernetes, ECS, Ansible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

An excellent monitoring service packed with features at a very affordable price

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The integration is fantastic, allowing me to see what's going on at a high level. It's extremely nice to be able to tap into their API from anywhere & install their agent on any server. Along with all that one great feature is to prevent unexpected bills from pulling too many instances, saving me a ton of money.

Cons

Moving graphs can be difficult due to space when you try to move them horizontally but vertically is fine. Pulling in graphs, while simple, can still be difficult to use when resizing & color coordinating, but it's minor.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Nidhi J.

Best tool for monitoring

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/02/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Along with monitoring , it provides great alerting. It can easily be integrated with slack or Pagerduty. Gives detailed log of events. Provides easily understandable graphs .

Cons

It takes little time to understand how to set up things with datadog. It's not every intuitive. It takes a bit of understanding to be able to configure the alerts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Damian N.

DataDog is one of our must-haves

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's got everything that's needed for infrastructure and application monitoring and alerting. It also fits extremely well into our Infrastructure-as-Code paradigm where everything we set up is kept in a git repository as a Terraform project. DataDog is what we recommend and implement for our clients, and provides more useful features than Sensu.

Cons

Metrics and monitors don't render correctly on mobile phones. It's totally unusable in portrait mode, and barely usable in landscape mode.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

I very useful app to get realtime metrics

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/01/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- very simple to send metrics
- great dashboards to display info
- easier to create monitors
- we can summarize al monitors and composite too
- Simple to integrate with other apps

Cons

- Not have rate limiter to control some bad metrics
- Not have a mobile app, in some case can be faster to get some alerts

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Gaurav Y.

One of the great tool to maintain your infra

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/14
Review Source: Capterra

have made our infra management easy.

Pros

Datadog is very good for monitoring the applications and the host infrastructure. We have used it for lots of purpose for maintaining the infra like maintaining the kafka servers where we can plug this and can easily see the performance of kafka, it's offset value for different different consumers and lot more. Apart from this, we can also see the application performance with this.

Cons

Only one negative to say, it is difficult to start with this, writing the query to fetch the details and to do analysis is not easy. You need to learn it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Derrick L.

Great tool for SaaS Monitoring

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Reliable, easy to integrate, supports all important types of monitors and events, fast UI. You can easily setup your dashboard for important metrics.

Cons

Learning Curve is a high. Overwhelming amount of information to search through in order to start using the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support