105 reviews

Datadog

Cloud-Scale Monitoring Platform For Metrics, Traces, & Logs

4,6 /5 (105 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
105 reviews
Satbyul K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Clear graphs and easy to set up

Reviewed on 2020/03/28

Used the open URL to add dashboard to a large monitor on our workspace to easily spot spikes.

Pros

Really simple set up to monitor our full stack environment. Dashboard is very clear and suitable for both technical and non-technical stakeholders.

Cons

Nothing really. Migrating to any product can be challenging but setup was pretty simple and no key functionality absent.

Neyda jose M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful tool for the analysis and monitoring of applications

Reviewed on 2019/05/20

Datadog is a very useful tool because it is known if the applications, servers or hots are working as they should or if not, we will be aware to prevent further damage solving the problem in the shortest time possible.

Pros

This tool called Datadog I love mainly because it is really efficient and very useful because it allows through it you can carry out a monitoring of the performance of applications in a very simple way, being this through the reading of metrics that are really simple to understand and issue very detailed information that is useful to diagnose the cause and thus be able to solve the problem in the shortest time possible, also is available 24/7 so in case of any fault send immediately a mail informing the same and the best thing is that it has a clean interface, intuitive and easy to use without having technical knowledge to manage it.

Cons

One of its drawbacks is that when it is integrated with a large number of tools it can become heavy, which causes the information to be slowed down.

Damian N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DataDog is one of our must-haves

Reviewed on 2019/06/06

Pros

It's got everything that's needed for infrastructure and application monitoring and alerting. It also fits extremely well into our Infrastructure-as-Code paradigm where everything we set up is kept in a git repository as a Terraform project. DataDog is what we recommend and implement for our clients, and provides more useful features than Sensu.

Cons

Metrics and monitors don't render correctly on mobile phones. It's totally unusable in portrait mode, and barely usable in landscape mode.

Ciprian P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great web monitoring tool

Reviewed on 2020/01/05

Pros

Great web monitoring tool if you have the time to dig into all the options and settings. The user interface is really professional and good looking and the charts and graphs are well thought out.

Cons

It requires a bit of server tinkering, which I wasn't familiar with. Not really a minus.

Kevin V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great view of our server environment

Reviewed on 2017/02/08

Datadog has great support for a variety of different third party systems - Windows machines, linux machines, AWS instances, pretty much anything you can imagine. You can easily slice and dice stats on a good looking dashboard. Provides a good one stop view of your environment.

Pros

Datadog's Windows support is great, the Windows agent supports detailed IIS and MSSQL statistics. Their RabbitMQ support is good as well - providing good insight into queues. Customizable dashboards are very handy as well.

Cons

The User interface generally is good but in some instances can be a bit too technical to use.

Daniel P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Using for monitoring multiple servers health

Reviewed on 2018/03/09

Let me know every time when my server is down. Great monitoring tool.

Pros

The implementation is easy.
Let you know in real time if your server is down or is failing.
The best tool I found.
It's always sending mails when the server fails in any way.

Cons

Should have mobile app or mobile notifications.
If you are not in the programming field you should get someone. The code is easy to implement but if you don't know the right place to call at the right function (assuming you have datadog code on a lib of your system) you wont get the data you need or in the way you need it.

Sky L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

DataDog - App and System Monitoring

Reviewed on 2016/03/04

We recently flipped from using an older SNMP based monitoring system and couldn't be happier. From the initial install during our trial I was smitten. It was everything I would want in an application and system monitoring system all wrapped up in a beautiful API.

Pros

Easy... seriously dummy proof.
Robust - So many integration's and easy write your own plugins.
Solid API with great documentation.
It's StatsD and Graphite, at the push of a button.

Cons

Somewhat expensive.
Doesn't have an integration with every single application? I actually have to do some work...
That's all I can think of....

Cauvery G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Really good for monitors

Reviewed on 2020/06/25

Pros

Its really good tool if you are searching or shopping for monitoring tools.

Cons

I don't use it on daily basis, but so far no issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Real-time data dashboard

Reviewed on 2020/03/04

We liked it ease-of-use and its customizable dashboards.

Pros

We can quickly create customizable requests and filters to get all the data and organize it like we need. We can get a real overview of all are valuable data in a glance.

Cons

Using Datadog can get pricy when you need many features or you have many hosts. However, its ease-of-use make it understandable.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Datagod is one of the best for IT monitoring

Reviewed on 2018/04/12

Pros

Datadog is easy to use, you can have custom and multiple dashboard, what is nice to control your environment/network.
Great notifications.

Cons

Could have a mobile app so we can have mobile notifications, It could be hard to integration with others tools.

Sam M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reviewed on 2017/04/26

Bryan I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Datadog is a solid performer but not the heaviest in features

Reviewed on 2019/09/27

Pros

Datadog solves most of our needs for general system/application health monitoring and even covers some performance metrics that we use to make improvements.

Cons

Some of the detailed views of where bottlenecks are troubling a system can be lacking. Something we've seen a lag getting data refreshed in the dashboards.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2016/03/22

Enrique M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

best monitoring tool ever

Reviewed on 2019/07/23

Pros

- dashboards are super customizable and refreshing time is very quick
- templates save you lot of time

Cons

building the queries for the dashboards require quite a lot of knowledge (not intuitive)

Craig V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Couldn't install

Reviewed on 2020/12/18

If you can get it running I am sure it's good.

Pros

Looks like it should do the job, less log limits than other products.

Cons

Spent days trying to get it working on a pretty vanilla Windows VM but never could get it up and running. Support pretty much just told me to read the documentation which wasn't really helpful after going over it ten times already. Had similar problem with another product and they could tell me the exact lines of the config and registry that needed changing.

Rayla V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

I was hoping this would be a Splunk alternative

Reviewed on 2019/09/01

Pros

Datadog is useful for visualizing and monitoring your cloud applications. If you have agents on you devices, it can analyze a ton of information coming in and show it to you, but that's where it ends, at least, as far as I could figure out in my free trial.

Cons

I was very hopeful of this software, but I didn't want to throw agents from a product I've never used before on my servers and instances, so I tried to upload a data pull ( about 500,000 log entries) to Datadog, to see what it could do, but there's no way to upload a csv/txt file to the software. It has to be via agents on your services. I know that metadata would be missing from a csv, but it seems like a major oversight to not be able to accept a csv of logs for a new user to experiment at low risk.

Hassan H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

All in One Cloud Security Solution

Reviewed on 2020/09/22

It's really helpful to monitor your development and production environment under one platform provided you know how to configure it effectively.

Pros

The vast no of integration you can do with your cloud, whether its AWS Azure or Google, is phenomenal. The pre installed dashboards really help to set it up quickly. The notebook feature is quite useful too, if you are not ready to spend much on dashboards. Overall, nice all in one solution to capture logs from cloud and analyze them.

Cons

The metric creation process is not very easy. If you want to create metrics from logs, it gets more complicated.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Many integration options and plethora of dashboards and visualizations

Reviewed on 2019/04/08

Dependable and reliable solution.

Pros

Configuring monitoring tools is not always trivial, half of the battle is making sure metrics are flowing. Datadog is very flexible when it comes to sending metrics to their cloud. You can use collectD, statsd, file beats, or the 84523982 other options. Our orchestration software already had an option to enable Datadog collection. Once the data is in place, you need to figure out what metrics are relevant. Datadog has a number of pre-built dashboards tweaked for popular software systems. If you are using something homegrown, they can provide recommendations and optimizations after enough data has been ingested. API and documentation are top notch and we were able to build integrations quite easily.

Cons

Datadog is purely cloud-based system so there's no on-prem option, only SaaS. Depending on your company, this may be a deal-breaker since all of your metrics data is hosted in the cloud. Since it's a SaaS based service, it won't be easy to move data to another service. Occasionally web UI will bog down but it's fairly performant for the most part.

Denis V.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Datadog as Perfect monitoring tool.

Reviewed on 2018/02/09

Pros

Perfect monitoring tool.

You can monitor your infrastructure as on premise as in the cloud by monitoring performance counters of different applications and collecting information from logs.

You can monitor your infrastructure as in real time mode or just receiving alerts for example to email.

It allows you to use different ready solutions with predefined logic for to monitor even different software such as: SQL Server, MySQL and so on.

It can be integrated with different products such as slack, where you can receive different alerts and where slacks bot can perform setuped actions.

You can create different dashboards for your convenience.

Cons

No suitable for all cloud services, for example if you're going to monitor your infrastructure in Azure it would be better to use Azure's Log Analytics.

This solution is not for non-experienced users and required time to learn it . Features used in free price tiers very limited for example no alert capabilities.

Javier C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Monitoring Tool Out There - We Couldn't Survive Without It

Reviewed on 2019/09/25

Overall it underpins our day-to-day work and acts as a dashboard to keep our performance on track and the site up and running.

Pros

The visibility is great and it allows us to keep a close eye on the performance of our infrastructure - we know in real time when something changes of is starting to slow down. We can track users or cohorts of users and identify any issues right away.

We can also group those issues and track metrics over time to ensure that we are improving our metrics as a team.

Cons

It can take a while to figure out and because it holds a lot of data, the costs can add fairly quickly.

Kumara G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Datadog is the perfect choice to monitor the performance of a cloud-based application

Reviewed on 2017/10/13

Pros

t integrates so well with Amazon Web Services and all sorts of software, it's very easy to set up and get started quickly I had Datadog monitoring everything in the infrastructure. Datadog's Windows support is great, the Windows agent supports detailed IIS and MSSQL statistics

Cons

Metric types take time to understand
Sometimes it is very difficult to understand the graph report and it is bit technical to use
The various metric types require a little bit of reading and understanding. You'll need to choose the appropriate type when submitting data, or else it'll be tough to make sense of it later.

Tracey M.
Overall rating
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to get going and sorted and set up. Consistent and reliable software package

Reviewed on 2018/03/08

Pros

At the initial install of the trial I loved it. Its all we required in an app of this nature with a sys monitoring system and an API. Made life a lot simpler for the business needing this software I was advising. They are very happy with it and continue to use it now.

Cons

No real cons that spring to mind. A great product. I would recommend starting with a list of what you need from software, then what you would like then a nice to have list. See how many ticks this software gets. Compare it to at least two pieces of other software of the same nature before making your final decision. This is what I recommend for any piece of software. Also, check out their own forms of customer support, and social media sites to see what other customers have had to say about the software.

Andrey P.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not bad solution for monitoring dynamic environmets in DevOps projects

Reviewed on 2019/01/14

Can be useful in dynamically changing environments, for example cloud deployments with CI\CD pipelines

Pros

Lots of pre-configured solution for different aspects of infrastructure and applications. Rich reporting capabilities

Cons

A bit too expansive for log analitics and basic monitoring solution. Creation of your own solutions is possible but very hard to learn for new users

Nidhi J.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Best tool for monitoring

Reviewed on 2018/02/07

Pros

Along with monitoring , it provides great alerting. It can easily be integrated with slack or Pagerduty. Gives detailed log of events. Provides easily understandable graphs .

Cons

It takes little time to understand how to set up things with datadog. It's not every intuitive. It takes a bit of understanding to be able to configure the alerts.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I very useful app to get realtime metrics

Reviewed on 2018/01/12

Pros

- very simple to send metrics
- great dashboards to display info
- easier to create monitors
- we can summarize al monitors and composite too
- Simple to integrate with other apps

Cons

- Not have rate limiter to control some bad metrics
- Not have a mobile app, in some case can be faster to get some alerts