133 reviews

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
133 reviews
Nicholas P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The perfect solution for our stage business

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

I could not be happier with Looker. My one hesitation in recommending it is that other tools seemed to be able to provide 80% of the value at 20% of the cost, but I've only demoed those tools and not actually used them so I'm not sure if they could actually deliver.

Pros

Looker is incredibly easy to use for a casual user, which most of our users are. As soon as your email is activated, you have access to the product and new users need very little direction to start getting value out of it.

Cons

Relative to other BI tools, the advanced charting functionality is somewhat limited, but frankly that's not the main reason we bought Looker. Data scientists can use another tool of their choice, we have Looker for people who aren't data scientists.

Vincent W.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Controlled Analytics Exploration

Reviewed on 2018/05/17

Like I said, it's a great tool for analysts that don't need a lot of flexibility or maybe just aren't used to working with a lot of data. To get the full value out of this software, you'll need a core group of experienced Data Analysts that can learn fast (to learn Lookers Table Calculation code which is similar to SQL) who can build a bunch of dashboards and views. You really don't want people who aren't savvy with data doing a lot of the creating because measures are always aggregated based on the dimensions you pull into each table...if a user forgets to add a specific dimension then measures could show the wrong value. This could be offset by having really good developers who architect the data in a way that doesn't allow this to happen.

Pros

It's a great data exploration tool for users who normally would get anxious when given a large dataset in something like Excel. It's generally simple to use and there can be unlimited Viewers (users at the lowest permissions level) through the enterprise product. Data Visualization is essentially done for you and Exploers (users at the second level of permissions) can build new visualizations & turn them into interactive dashboards.

On the Looker platform, Explorers can locate a view (called an Explore) and then are given a list of dimensions and measures they can pull into a table. Users can create new dimensions using calculated fields and then save their views so any users with Viewer permissions (and up) can see what was put together.

Cons

With simplicity comes lack of flexibility. More skilled data analysts will want more flexibility than Looker can provide but at the same time you need to have highly skilled Data Analysts to be the Developers (high level of permissions) to set up the data so that less skilled analysts (the users who benefit from Looker most) who are Explorers don't build views that grossly misrepresent the data.

My biggest pet peeve with this software as an Explorer is that you cannot make calculations on the base data...only the data that you pull into your table (called table calculations). That is a major feature that Tableau has that Looker does not have at the Explorer permission level. Of course developers can use LookML (Lookers data language) to create a new column...but a Developer license is more expensive and creating the fields take time and it's something you constantly will need.

Teena B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Looker allows everyone in your company, even the less tech-savvy, to make data-driven...

Reviewed on 2017/12/13

We get to force-multiply our impact by making it easy for users in all departments to make data-driven decisions and help allow that to drive their day-to-day.

Pros

I love the customization of Looker, and that you can put large amounts of data into the hands of anyone -- in a way that makes sense [to them]!
While their product is great, it speaks volumes to the team. It's an amazing group of people that continue to receive feedback from their customers and iterate time and time again on their product. They truly care about data and their customers, and they want to empower them the best they can.

Cons

When modeling views, I wish you could define better filters for measures but it's limited. There are workarounds, meaning modeling out several additional dimensions to arrive at the measure you need to pull regularly, but it'd be much more efficient to allow for measures to be more nuanced.

Large dashboards (with 25+ tiles) can take awhile to load, which is understandable. Once their "merge results" feature is fully rolled out and we're able to save them as new tiles or looks, it should help resolve the need for so many tiles.

Neither of these two things are a big deal, and I wouldn't let this deter you from considering this software.

Terence K.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I work as the lead BI developer and Administrator of Looker at my company.

Reviewed on 2017/10/05

Pros

For your developers, the customer service is superior. They also do a great job reaching out to your primary users. With respect to frontend users, those using it for simpler data retrieval/review, their interface is rather easy to use and logical to work through. They do a lot to make the system as simple as possible. Only your BI developers and/or data engineering team can clutter the space.

Cons

If you decide to purchase the non-customized version, the color palette Looker uses is rather bland (More noticeable to executives and heavy users-most users will be fine with it though). The company's integrations are rather limited, but supposed to improve with Looker 5 (via the Action Hub). However, it seems that most integrations will require purchasing from third parties, instead of being a Looker hosted and "controlled" solution you purchase through them. That complicates the process.

Fabien B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

When analytics becomes part of your operations -

Reviewed on 2015/07/30

Pros

Everything.
Looker made it sexy for BI developers, and intuitive easy to use for business user.

Their support is extremely knowledgeable and always available if you need any help.
Their engineers are brilliant and their hard work is allowing frequent releases that are going in the right directions.
Looker is customer driven and will deliver what makes sense for every user.

We love the creativity and flexibility this tool is offering us, as we are able to manipulate LookML to create anything, from data extract to Process automation.

Their growth is EXPONENTIAL.
Their Doc is well maintained so you are never lost.
Their community became part of their offering, you cannot find this elsewhere.

Cons

We have been satisfied since day 1!

I dislike the fact that our internal users are not curious enough (or don't get it) to explore data on their own. Maybe a different UI would help people discover on their own.

Alan C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Finally a flexible reporting tool that is not a nightmare to maintain

Reviewed on 2015/08/17

Pros

So many things are done right:
- The simplicity of creating a meta schema using lookml, the learning curve is lightning fast
- The flexibility of the system, making data available to intern customer has never been so easy
- The support team is really knowledgeable and fast to answer
- The roadmap is clear and moving forward as a great speed. Most missing features that we have in mind are usually in development when we ask
- A really fun team, every meeting with looker is always a pleasure

Cons

Even if the team is moving fast and offering more and more features, they still lack on some of them. Mainly on dashboards.
It went a long way since the early days and now I'd say that 95% of our needs are covered.

On the other hand, their releases are so fast it's hard to keep track with all that was already implemented, the documentation is always a bit behind and searching for something precise on the discourse page can be a nightmare.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Looker provides great insight

Reviewed on 2020/03/16

Looker has been a great and useful tool for out business. Where we've found challenges is in the specific data dictionary and set-up, which internally was not well prepared prior to implementation.

Pros

The ability to compare data from different sources in one place is great - this allows us to better understand our user base, their performance on our platform - everything from health to revenues and the nuances we use to grade and measure our users.

Cons

Looker provides lots of flexibility in its set-up, but that could create confusion in the user experience. You need to really know what you're doing, understand data and its presentation to set Looker up to be most optimal. If would be great if Looker could visualize better, and also allow for over time analysis.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great tool for exploring data

Reviewed on 2019/09/21

I user Looker every day​ to create dashboards that I share within the company. At the same time I use Looker to analyze​ data on ad hoc requests

Pros

It's really easy to create dashboards and reports. Even though we need to code some things it allows to be really flexible in the way you create and display data.

Cons

I had to learn more technical information, the code, and how to work with development and live versions of the models.

Louise S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for reporting the team stats

Reviewed on 2020/03/24

Overall my experience with Looker is very good, just a few things could be tweaked for it be perfect. E.g easier to follow filtering and layout.

Pros

We use Looker to gather data for team productivity and statistics. Easy to view and the dash boards show all the information we need for our partner venues too at a glance.

Cons

When filtering data on looker it can be quite long winded and the layout I feel good be improved to make it clearer.

Grant W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful data exploration tool, invaluable for reporting complex business data

Reviewed on 2018/03/20

Pros

Able to rapidly organise very large data sets and share dashboards and views. Fairly straightforward to build queries even for non-technical

Cons

Some limitations in reporting data views (e.g. Histograms) and doesn't have wide range of options for exporting to other reporting packages

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful, customisable BI tool

Reviewed on 2019/04/07

Pros

- Easy to use interface
- Extensive feature set

Cons

- The actual visualisations are not as attractive as some of their competitors
- I've occasionally run into bugs when displaying dashboards at low resolutons

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Looker has made my the data and reporting part of my job much easier.

Reviewed on 2017/10/06

Pros

The ability to create easily digestible visualizations in a matter of seconds. Looker has brought together all of our different data sources in one hub to read and analyze and present data.

Cons

It requires an admin to make it usable for a wider audience. It is not out of the box accessible for someone who isn't familiar with the data setup

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent Visual Tool

Reviewed on 2019/01/13

Looker helped me form meaningful information so that I could send helpful reports to other teams. As I used it more, I even gained a better understand of how SQL works.

Pros

Visual. Data pulled from SQL queries are made meaningful by placing them in colorful, and easy-to-read graphs.

Cons

Navigation. The Explore view, where data is incorporated into a graph, can sometimes look busy depending on the amount of columns being used, and if the filters, graph, and data sections are pulled open.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

Super-powerful tool if you know what you're doing

Reviewed on 2018/03/18

Pros

I love Looker for its handy dashboards and queries. Of course, as someone who doesn't speak "database queries" I have to rely on someone more technical to set most of these things up for me.

Cons

There's only so much utility I can get out of the tool without knowing how to create database queries. I'd love to be able to manipulate data in Looker without knowing any query languages so I could take advantage of more of Looker's power.

Paco A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

With looker I feel with a little bit of "how" I can easily get the "why".

Reviewed on 2017/10/25

Pros

- The constantly updated content. I feel the vehicle is moving forward all the time.
- The ease of making a deep and helpful analysis.
- Really nice visualisation of looks.

Cons

- The division of Dashboards and looks in each user space is a bit rigid. Folders could help to organise it better.
- It would help to search for individual spaces from people (I think I could do it before)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best organization-wide analytics/BI platform out there

Reviewed on 2017/12/19

Pros

The LookML layer makes things easy to scale. The API and interfaces into other software such as Google Sheets as well as functions like email schedules allow opening up data much easier.

Cons

The Look-Dashboard-Space system and managing content can become burdensome as use of Looker scales. Not being able to cross-reference a Look across Spaces results in duplicative Looks.

Yichen H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Overview of Looker

Reviewed on 2018/12/14

Pros

- Doesn't have a steep learning curve
- LookML can be powerful if created correctly
- Awesome support (chat)

Cons

- Not as flexible sometimes when creating your visualization
- Limited visualizations comparing Tableau

Jacob G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Looker is great for customization and in-depth analysis

Reviewed on 2017/09/09

It is great if you really need to dive into data visualization and data analytics. However, if you only need a tool for small projects with little use, it may not be worth the investment and time.

Pros

Looker can do a lot! It has tons of features and you can really go in depth if you'd like. You can connect it with many integrators, or just use it as is. Regardless of what you do, it will be able to accomplish what you set out to do.

Cons

It is very difficult to set up, especially without an overly technical background. There is a lot of thought that must go into laying everything out.

Kristen S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product; #1 at implementing user feedback

Reviewed on 2015/08/03

Pros

They take product feedback and implement it; the product has improved dramatically in a short period of time

Cons

Its hard to organize the data and keep a company of 60+ on the same page. For example, if I create a column for "total" it's hard to share with a new employee what that means and when they should use it without executing one on one training.

Additionally, there are so many features it's hard to know the best circumstance for each.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic tool for big data

Reviewed on 2019/02/08

I'm currently analysing big quantities of data with Looker and taking insights to support business decisions

Pros

Looker is an incredible tool to get insights from big data. The fact that you can connect easily to databases and run complex calculations in a matter of seconds is of great help. Furthermore,​ the degree of flexibility that you have while you create dashboards is definitely​ a big advantage.

Cons

I cannot see any disadvantage in​ using Looker

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

customisable dashboards and reports, automations available

Reviewed on 2019/04/25

data analysis assisting in product management for support teams across europe

Pros

great data analysis available, including dashboards for agents and managers to manage their own performance as well as great in depth data analysis as a company

Cons

running large reports can take time, but this is expected with vast amounts of data

Luna B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Efficient software for reports

Reviewed on 2019/03/27

Pros

Accurate metrics, easy to use and highly helpful in handling various reports. Recommended!

Cons

At times it's tricky to pull certain reports.

Michelle R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 2020/12/10

Being able to self-serve analytics and visualizations and not have to wait on an analyst is very valuable

Pros

I love that you can query right in the Looker platform and quickly add visualizations for the results. Being able to tweak the query and drill down into filters and segments without leaving the platform is a valuable time saver.

Cons

I haven't found anything I don't like about the software yet, but I am a relatively new user to this product.

Gautam G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Valuable tool, excellent customer service

Reviewed on 2017/03/15

We were looking for a simple to use, yet transparent analytics solution to use with our data warehouse. Looker fit the bill very well, but what really convinced us was the excellent service we received during the on ramp as well as the support we continue to receive today.

Matt K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Looker Review

Reviewed on 2017/03/14

Looker is an amazing reporting tool. I've used multiple tools in the past and Looker is the quickest to get up and going. The customer support is the best I have ever experienced.

Pros

Creating LookML

Cons

Some visualizations are difficult to create.