948 reviews

Bitbucket

Bitbucket is the Git solution for professional teams

4,6 /5 (948 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
94%
recommended this app
948 reviews
Archit G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Easy integration with JIRA but not as good as Github

Reviewed on 2020/09/14

Only able to work with basic version control but would like to see more improvements in the future.

Pros

I like the auto-tagging of JIRA issues with code commits on PR. The bare minimum requirement for a functional version-control system is fulfilled.

Cons

Github has started supporting multi-line commenting on PRs. I don't think I can find any dev who won't like this feature.
It also has a colorful README rendering along with build and test coverage tags. I don't care much about README renders but am out-of-the-box CI integration with Jenkins can help in outputting data about many useful tags like code test coverage, code standards, reference available or even licensing.
There are many extensions built around Github to augment the experience, one in particular that I like, called OctoLinker, has the ability to link the imports with original source code repository. This could be a useful feature in source code view.

Giovanni P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

An easy and fast way to keep track of your elements and their modifications.

Reviewed on 2021/02/13

Bitbucket is a very useful version control tool, easy to master and with many useful tools that will help you speed up your work, of course it has certain shortcomings that could be improved over time, but at the end of the day it is a tool very useful.
From the most basic to the most complex options, you will find them extremely useful in your day to day work to get ahead.

Pros

Bitbucket has a very friendly interface that is easy to understand and understand, it allows you to maintain control and order of all your elements and keep track of each modification that was made and by whom said modification was made.
It allows you to establish different types of permissions as necessary to have a better control of who can perform what actions within the repositories that are created in bitbucket.
Once you get familiar with the tool, everything is easy to do and locate any option you are looking for to carry out your tasks.

Cons

Sometimes the way it provides you to search within each repository can be somewhat cumbersome, requiring you to write the exact name of the component you may be looking for in order to show you a result, making the searches more strenuous since you must know the exact name of the component or it will be very difficult to find it.
In some cases, when versioning certain changes, Bitbucket interprets them as a total change within the component and shows as if the file was being completely modified even if you are only modifying some lines of code.

Chirag S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy version control with BitBucket if you use Jira

Reviewed on 2021/02/24

Overall, BitBucket has served us really well as we use it daily for Git version control, Pull Requests and Code Review. It's integration with Jira makes our workflow very easy and transparent, which reduces expenses in doing discoveries.

Pros

BitBucket's integration with Jira is spectacular. I can go to BitBucket commit and see what problem it was solving since it has a Jira link. BitBucket branches can be created right from Jira as well. Jira also shows all commits. This makes information gathering easy and code review pleasant.

Cons

BitBucket has more downtimes that I like. In 2020, there were 2 downtimes within a gap of a month. This is the only thing that bothered us about BitBucket.

Tulga O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We use Bitbucket for our small team

Reviewed on 2020/12/10

First of all we keep track of over 100 project source codes with bitbucket, it has no limit. WIth two teams of 5 developers, we are using bitbucket for free with all the features we need. It does it's job good enough.

Pros

First of all it is free for small team. For bigger teams it has really reasonable prize. I personally love and prefer Atlassian's products such as Bitbucket, Trello. The Atlassian team behind the product continuously improves their products. Since I started using Bitbucket 5 years ago, they added many features. It has no limitation and pretty good integration with trello, jira and other project management products.

Cons

Fortunately, during the last 5 years we didn't face any difficulties using Bitbucket. It works pretty well with my team. But keep-in mind that free version is only for 5 developers for a team.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

No 1 Version Control service

Reviewed on 2019/12/12

I am using Bitbucket for various different projects for more than 4 years now and I am extremely happy with it.
As mentioned above it has an Issue tracker built-in on top of the version control and that really makes my life easier.

It even has numerous ways of notifying me when some activity happens in our repository so I like it even more.

Pros

It is easy to use and very intuitive.
It has an issue tracker and ton of other features
It is free for small teams

Cons

Although Bitbucket works together with Jira (that has an amazing set of features on its own), perhaps I would like to see the issue tracker little more advanced.

Not enough freedom when choosing the status of an issue, and not a good dashboard for tracking, for example, a milestone, or a project stage in a timeline. Yet I believe these are features that better suit some other type of product like Jira (again).

Daniel F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We love Bitbucket

Reviewed on 2019/09/24

We use bitbucket every day to backup our code, control version and publish the deploys on AWS & Google Cloud.

Pros

There is a lot of thing we love about Bitbucket. First one, the possibility to create any private repository you want. I know this a common feature today, but back in the time only Bitbucket allowed to create unlimited private repositories.

Also the pipeline integration for deploys is a great thing and finally you can integrate it with a project managment software like Trello.

Cons

I would like to have a better UX, mostly because it feels a little bit old today. Almost everything works awesome, but they need to update the UX definitely.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Market leading product by Atlassian

Reviewed on 2019/07/30

Overall Bitbucket is a great platform for professional developers for personal and commercial use.

Pros

I have been using Bitbucket (personally and commercially) for couple of years and I'm really satisfied with the services and features that they offer. Letting free users create unlimited repos and allowing up to five users is a good way to go, which attracts more users. Pull requests helps to get code reviewed by experts and get them approve before it available for others and helps to maintain quality code leading to quality software. More useful features like Pipeline lets user to deploy/release more often.

Cons

As a market leader, pricing plans can be adjusted to attract more

Valerio P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best way to manage git repositories for businesses

Reviewed on 2017/09/18

It allowed us to organize the work of our development team, dividing each task into a different branch.

Our development team was able to work with GIT in a more intuitive way. The breakthrough curve for new employees also drastically decreased allowing them to adapt to our workflow more efficiently.

Pros

One of the strengths of Bitbucket is its ease of use and its great integration with the Atlassian environment. In our company we integrated it with the JIRA incident handler and it worked very well.

With Bitbucket you can configure the permissions of each team member, this is of great help so that only authorized people can modify the most important branches of the project. It is also very easy to adapt the software to the company workflow.

By integrating it with JIRA, we can create a branch for each issue that must be handled by our development team. At the end of an incident you can create a "pull request" so that other team members can review the job.

It is an essential software for us and we recommend it extensively.

Cons

Although it sounds hard to believe, our team has not found a single negative point for Bitbucket. So far it has proved to work according to our expectations.

Perhaps we could say that for very large teams the costs rise very fast, so in some cases this can be considered as something negative.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Straight forward

Reviewed on 2020/08/19

We needed an hassle free GIT cloud solutions that just works and that's what we've got with Bitbucket.

Pros

Intuitively and ease for settings and tweaking. When we have a new team member, 15 seconds are needed to add it and voila he's good to go. The projects itself are enough complicated so we don't need more complications from our tools.

Cons

Keep things and menus as simple and clean as possible. Power users will find a ways for their needs even if their menu are a little beep hidden / deeper than expected.

Rick M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bitbucket might loose our business to GitLab...

Reviewed on 2019/07/17

Bitbucket has all kinds of standard stuff that you'd expect from a code repository service, and they got as big as they are because they offered free private repositories, unlike Github. However, they don't offer unlimited team members like GitLab does. So, not only did we integrate GitLab with our new product we're launching, but we might move exclusively to GitLab at some point.

It's history repeating itself. If they want to keep people around, they'll need to make it have unlimited teams, and instead charge for other features, such as compute time on Pipelines. If they make it so you can run Pipelines on Mac and Windows as well as Linux, we'll certainly stay with Bitbucket, as no one does that yet. That'll give them a cutting edge advantage that a lot of people want.

Right now we need to use Travis CI for Mac, and some other one for Windows when we do our app testing for those platforms.

Pros

Bitbucket has been a part of our operations since the beginning, and it comes with built-in CI/CD. When we push to the repo, Pipelines runs, and it calls the webhook to deploy it on our servers when it passes.

Cons

They limit the number of users account...

Greg R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fit the need to do version control

Reviewed on 2019/10/22

We are using this to version control the in house software we write as a team. We also are connecting it to Jira and Confluence.

Pros

The best thing about Bitbucket is its ability to integrate with other Atlassian products. So if you use Jira it is the versioning software you need! It is so nice to have everything work together and to be able to do things from other programs.

Super plusses for any company that gives educational discounts!

Cons

We tried the server version first and that was a no go for us. It felt archaic and outdated. There weren't near as many features like build in CI/CD. The cloud version is so much better!

Jacob M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect platform for hosting sourcecode

Reviewed on 2018/08/28

We use Bitbucket every day to manage our source code and we use the pipelines feature to handle deployment. Bitbucket integrates really well with just about every piece of software with an API. It's much cheaper than some other options (especially if you want private repositories) and it is just as robust. The interface is clean and polished. I highly recommend it!

Pros

Bitbucket's most competitive feature is the built-in integration with Atlassian's other products as well as their pricing for private repositories (their free). I love how easy it is to set up continuous delivery for our products via Bitbucket Pipelines. I also really love how the interface isn't distracting, there is very little extraneous content to distract you from the project you are viewing.

Cons

I don't have much negative to say about Bitbucket. It can sometimes be hard to find things if you are working in an account that isn't set up well...but if you set up your organization correctly, it's not an issue.

Nadusha V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best solution if you're working as a team

Reviewed on 2018/11/28

I'm a software engineer and I've been using bitbucket from the very first days of my dev life and I haven't encountered many problems using this. the same company offers you many tools that you can use along with this. and the customer support is exceptional

Pros

I've been using bitbucket for more than 3 years now and I love working with this. when you're working as a team or a company , this is the best one you could use . There are alternatives too, but this tool has more support any other tool. Specially the customer support they offer. And there are tools like Jira which is from the same company , so that's extra support. And the user interfaces are very simple and even a beginner can just "plug -n - play " it from the very first day.

Cons

sometimes there are some problems with logging in to the account and sometimes you have to retry a couple of times when you're performing an action. other than that this is all fine.

Zack H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Bitbucket, could be better

Reviewed on 2018/11/28

Bitbucket does the job, but it just barely squeaks by. There is so much more opportunity that it hasn't drilled into yet. They need to take note from other platforms and dumb things down a bit.

Pros

Bitbucket is a pretty good source control software. It's easy to integrate features into Jira and Confluence (if you are using those). It provides a clean interface for code merges and code pull requests. You can integrate a release plan into the software as well if you want to automate any of your release schedule.

Cons

Other source control platforms are just better, period. The amount of customization and team features that others have is just superior. Like a lot of Atlassian products, Bitbucket feels clunky and seems to be trying to solve too many problems, but not well. It doesn't allow for statistics for commit and user usage either. Bitbucket should stop over complicating things and go back to the basics of what users want.

Giulio M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

It's a good git system

Reviewed on 2019/08/16

We keep all our source code in Bitbucket from years! It's a long time friend.

Pros

It's easy to setup and it integrates with Jira, which is our project management tool!

Cons

I see what Gitlab is doing and I like it. I'd love to see the same things in Bitbucket as well in the future!

Chris J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

helped us to visualise software changes

Reviewed on 2019/01/02

It has given us huge benefits compared to using Subversion without any kind of visual interface.
Just being able to easily see how my commits behind my branch is so that I can update it saves me so much time.

Pros

Moving from Subversion to GIT and bitbucket was a big change but it has really worked out for us as a team. We also find it much easier to put code live and like how the cloud version can link into Jira so we can see instantly which code has been commited for each task. Makes it much easier for code reviewing. I also feel a lot more confident putting things live.

If you have big projects near 1GB its much faster using the local version rather than the cloud version.

Cons

In the local install version (not cloud) to allow the Jira links to work we would have to open up our firewall too much so would be nice to find a solution to this.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for professional teams

Reviewed on 2019/08/07

Great

Pros

1. Simple and easy to use
2. Version control with local hosting capability
3. unlimited number of repositories supported
4. feels like github

Cons

1. Setup is tough for using a local server
2. User limit on accounts

Ashly E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A good place to host projects and to store them safely

Reviewed on 2019/04/19

Bitbucket helps us a lot to manage our projects and helps us in getting our code base perfect as we can permit or deny pull requests and maintain a strong master repo. Great platform for all types of developers.

Pros

Bitbucket is a great repository for storing our projects and to work on them, we are using this platform to maintain our private source codes and to add developers on to it. Each work can be tracked by commits and then each commits can be pushed or denied on to the master branch. Bitbucket is a platform to have all the needed features done like creating repo, applying privileges etc. We are really happy with the current feature set and is really helping us to achieve our goals.

Cons

The main issue is that opensource repos are limited on Bitbucket, we cannot contribute to repos on opensource as there are very limited ones on Bitbucket. Please encourage promoting opensource projects and then we can have more developers coming on to this.

Patrick F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Use Bitbucket when your repos aren't git

Reviewed on 2020/06/15

I was mostly using BitBucket for their unlimited private repos feature (whereas GitHub used to have a limit of 5) but now that GitHub allows for unlimited private repos as well, I have fully migrated over to GitHub.

Pros

Bitbucket, unlike most of its competitors, supports non-git version control systems such as Mercurial and Perforce. That's the main advantage I'd say (and honestly the only reason to pick it over GitHub or GitLab IMO).

Cons

Here's a small list
- the UI is not nearly as beautiful or snappy as GitHub's or GitLab's
- the UX can be confusing, e.g. it was hard to get used to the menu bar
- almost complete lack of a community presence
- no wiki collaboration feature

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

BitBucket is the best git host in everything except third-party app support

Reviewed on 2018/05/01

Pros

BitBucket is great. Their account management between projects is lovely, and something I wish GitHub would get home. I have one account, attached to several teams (my primary organization, my freelance, and my personal). It makes managing repos much easier to keep track of, transfer, add new organization members, just fantastic. It has all everything you could want it in basic git management, and the interface is slightly easier to use than GitLab or GitHub with none of the downtime issues of the former.

Cons

My only complaint is that a lot of major third-party Git apps don't FULLY support bitbucket you can absolutely use various GUIs, they just don't have the same deep account integration they do with Github. But that's more on the app developers than BB.

Adith K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Bitbucket is the best option to manage your firm’s Git repositories and plan codes related to...

Reviewed on 2018/08/04

Pros

The application has a clean, intuitive and user-friendly interface and you can also create merge rules according to the respective repository. They provide a lot of tutorials and tricks to get started with the software. The free model allows private code repository. Provides a lot of integrations that include Python, Microsoft Azure, TeamCity, Jira and circle CI. You can easily process the pull requests by inviting your team members to review them, before you merge them. You can also add collaborators to the code you work on. The platform facilitates development of code even from an integrated development environment as preferred by the developers or from the website. The integration of the application with Trello helps you with project management. Permission management and conflict management are handled quite well by the application.

Cons

Search capabilities are quite limited. At times you would find that the pages take a lot of time to get loaded. The application doesn't provide a two-factor authentication.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great GIT Repo

Reviewed on 2020/10/01

Pros

Nice-looking, easy to use, and connects with other Atlassian products, such as Jira.
It also has an extension market that offers additional capabilities

Cons

I would have liked some more statistics.

Ramindu D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A viable alternative to Github

Reviewed on 2021/03/22

Bitbucket allows our teams to collaborate on their code effectively at a decent price point. It also allows us to integrate our CI/CD pipelines effectively.

Pros

Bitbucket is a viable alternative to Github and used to be the only place to get free private repositories, even if there is a cap on the amount of team members you could add. Bitbucket provides all the good features you'd expect from a Git hosting provider: merge requests, automated CI/CD, webhook integration and a comprehensive API.

Cons

While everything related to Git works fine, Bitbucket's web UI can be a bit slow-moving at times. Pages can error out or stop loading, whereas competitor's such as Github and Gitlab don't show this kind of UI/UX issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool to Manage code repositories.

Reviewed on 2019/05/16

I strongly recommend bitbucket as its interface is intuitive. Easily allows checking your peer codes and all commits and merges. Bitbuckets team keeps on adding a new feature and it really helps teams to be more productive.

Pros

Bitbucket is a great tool and easy to use. Repositories can be easily set up and teams can start quickly. The cloud instance is really priced effective. Integration with other Atlassian tools makes teams more efficient.

The interface is really nice to see all the branches and commits. Pipeline feature is another best thing.

Cons

The user management should be better. We should able to see complete details of the user including email id, not just bitbucket id.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Incredible version control repository hosting service

Reviewed on 2018/01/16

Pros

It integrates with other Atlassian products like Jira, Bamboo or Hipchat, being possible to link Jira tickets to commits, pull requests or branches, as well as configure Hipchat to get notifications in some rooms when commits, merges or pull requests are done. Also, the integration with Bamboo allows the user to see build results from there.

Cons

If your CI/CD pipelines rely on Bitbucket Cloud to get the code and there is a service disruption/degradation, there is a problem but, fortunately, this is not common. Another option is to use Bitbucket Server to host your own server, but then you need to take into account the maintenance.