Customer.io Reviews

Customer.io

Email connected to your web or mobile

4.7/5 (16 reviews)
Michael K.

Great Customer Email Tool - Content Creation Needs Improvement

Reviewed on 2016/03/22
Review Source

We have been using Customer.io for nearly three months, and it has revolutionized the way our SaaS business communicates with its customers. From multi-part onboarding of new customers to re-stimulation of lapsed users to announcements of new features, Customer.io has been a dream come true for our subscription business.

Building a sequence ("workflow") of emails, triggered by a particular event (like SIGN-UP or UPGRADE or CANCELLATION) is a snap. And applying it to individual customer segments is easy, though you'd better brush up on your logic (AND/OR/NOT etc.) before you construct a more exotic segment.

So, too, is the ease of constructing one-time mailings ("newsletters") to an entire group of customers meeting a certain set of criteria. Once the segments are defined, sending newsletters is quite straightforward.

In this regard, Customer.io runs circles around MailChimp, which we used to use for this purpose.

Integration with a software product like ours is quite straightforward, and Customer.io offers a nice API for updating customer profiles and posting events for those customers.

Customer.io currently falls short in the content creation department. Its text editor doesn't measure up to the rest of the application, and requires quite a bit of hand-manipulation of HTML to get newsletters and emails looking just the way you'd like them. Getting email text to wrap around a right-justified image, for example, requires knowledge of and hand-coding in HTML. And even then, the HTML produced by the text editor is not clean.

Missing, too, are functions like being able to duplicate a workflow in order to launch a slightly different communication flow to a different customer segment. Onboarding customers to two different product tiers, for example, requires that the entire workflow be created from scratch for each segment, rather than allowing the user to duplicate the workflow and make changes to suit the second segment.

Those shortcomings aside, Customer.io is a tool that shows a great deal of promise for any company that wants to communicate on a regular basis with its customers, especially when those communications need to be sequenced over a customer lifecycle.

For a recurring-revenue business, where ongoing communication is key to retention and referral, a tool like Customer.io is essential to success.

Pros

- Customer data base is very flexible, and easy to keep up to date via API
- Very powerful segmentation tool that can use customer profile fields, events, and even interaction with email to segment customers for subsequent communication
- Easy, intuitive construction and management of triggered, multi-part communications workflows
- Attractive visual reporting of emails sent, opened, clicked
- Reasonably priced, automatic scaling of pricing based on actual volume used (emails, customer profiles)
- Built-in A/B testing of email copy

Cons

- Text editor lacks power features; requires HTML in order to optimize emails
- Minimal pre-packaged layouts; layout design requires knowledge of CSS
- Lack of workflow cloning or replication creates unnecessary work

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Paola P.

A flexible and customizable tool that is easy to use and set up

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/01
Review Source: Capterra

This is an amazing tool that everyone looking to take their marketing efforts to the next level should get familiar with.

Pros

The flexibility that Customer.io offers, I yet have not been able to see in any other tool. It is very easy to set up and its lightweight user interface is robust yet simple to understand. On top of it, customer support rocks! I was answered right away for every little question that came up, so I didn't feel alone while working to set everything to my requirements. As for the features, I love the customer profiles: They are based on the email behavior of the users, and can also be adapted to match in-app behavior, if that's what you require. On top of it all, I love the price! Great value for the money.

Cons

I did need to triangulate some functions through Zapier because the tool did not offer them, such as gmail integration and Facebook triggers. Not sure if this is a con though, as Zapier does open up a whole new landscape of possibilities, but I guess those functions were not initially included in the tool so that's why I'm talking about them in this section. Other than that, no cons.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
James R.

Customer.IO makes life so much easier with email tracking, Saved my butt multiple times!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Customer.IO has allowed me and my company to feel confident that the correct information is being sent to the people who need it the most, our customers. The ability to view all emails that have been sent and to ensure they were received by the customer is a huge benefit to us. being able to see if a email was suppressed or bounce give the ability to ensure you can deal with the issue in a timely manner and get the info into the right peoples hands. it has also assisted us in dealing with difficult customers that claim they never received a email, however the application allowed us to show the customer that no only did they receive it they opened it!

Cons

the only negative i could see is that the application only allows you to send 50 emails at a time and for a large customer base this makes it more time consuming.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Very versatile segmenting, triggers and campaign flows.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/09/20
Review Source

Pros

I've been using CIO for an year and a half, and from the start I liked their clean UI and how visible everything is. Customer.io lets me be very creative when it comes to engaging people with emails. Their approach based on users behavior is fantastic and can create a lot of scenarios which would be hard to do with other tools. I can create really long flows that stretch for months, have each email in there be triggered or filter out users on the fly. Did I mention the awesome A/B tests? Very helpful support team as well.

Cons

I'd like an easier way to delete user profiles instead of mailing support to delete in bulk. Also, would love to have a way to download an automated report for all the campaigns instead of doing it manually.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Bryson E.

Providing Unique Customer Interactions for Business

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/26
Review Source: Capterra

A highly efficient setup for automating emails to our customers. This individualized attention has vastly improved our relationship with our customers. They feel front and center and we save hours of time!

Pros

This software has been easy to use for setting up customer emails that are specifically targeted to their individual needs. Conversion tracking and other metrics for analyzing customer behavior are helpful for our team and its insights into what our customers want throughout their lifecycle journey. This software streamlines the process that would take hours upon hours of tedious work. This is a highly efficient tool to solve complex problems.

Cons

I think that one of the cons would be pricing. If pricing wasn't as steep for larger customer lists, this platform would be preferable.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10

Flexible but lacking some functionality

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Good user interface that's intuitive. Easy to get up and running without prior knowledge. Creating segments is quick and simple.

Cons

Reporting tools are not very robust. For example, within Customer.io you can't sort or aggregate email campaigns to see roll-up metrics. Rather you'll need to export and sort in a spreadsheet or connect with 3rd party tools like MixPanel or Periscope.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Shilpa S.

Requires a dedicated developer

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/02
Review Source: Capterra

We're using customer.io for our drip marketing campaigns. It stands out from other tools that we have used in terms of automation. No other tool that we used allowed to integrate our backend system. Also, the product understands email marketing so it has features keeping in mind all the requirements of a marketeer.

Pros

I liked the automation feature the tool offers. You just need to set your rules and integrate the tool with your data system and it runs by itself. It has helped us reduce a lot of manual work.

Cons

The only issue I faced was that the tool requires a dedicated developer to write the query to pull data. I was imaging the tool to be a little more simple to use than that. This was the only point of complexity

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Sebastian W.

Top Email and Push automation software

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/22
Review Source: Capterra

Overall great email and push notification automation software, that constantly develops.

Pros

Customer.io is great since it easily allows you to set up and automate promotional emails , but also allows to run transactional emails at the same time. This is a huge advantage over most email automation products, b/c you can trigger a promotional email without interfering with your system emails.

Cons

Unlike Pardot or Marketo, Customer.io doesn't have a solid automation builder. The builder is nice, but you can never see the tree of emails in a flow chart. It can easily confuse the user as you have to have a third-party software to organize the set up. It's highly recommended to put one full-time employee behind it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Stephanie G.

Great Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love customer.io! It keeps our company organized and allows us to send emails easily.

Cons

Nothing! Everything has been very easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Matt A.

A solid email system with robust support for custom attributes

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/20
Review Source: Capterra

I am able to provide my marketing team with the ability to send complicated emails, segmented across our customer base, with customized attributes.

Pros

As a developer, working with the API is easy, predictable, and maintainable. The product supports complicated email workflows with customer-level attributes. This isn't your father's mail-merge. This is email for the 22nd century.

Cons

The lack of a WYSIWYG editor for my marketing counterparts (tho I hear rumors this is coming) and event-based filters in my workflows.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Dana H.

Best customer service

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/11/06
Review Source

Honestly -- they care so much about their customers. They listen to feedback and get back to you on issues or questions so quickly. Highly recommend their product.

Pros

- Easy to navigate
- Newsletters and campaigns

Cons

- None yet -- maybe that I can't attach a file?

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Rahil M.

Automate your marketing campaigns with ease

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

An excellent tool for Automated Marketing campaigns and the product and support teams are extremely helpful

Pros

- Customer profile management
- Hybrid HTML and Text Editor tool
- Workflow set-up for Campaigns

Cons

Uploading Customer lists manually is slightly complicated

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Chris V.

An awesome way to connect with customers

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

When we build new apps or startup prototypes for clients, Customer.io is one of the most reliable tools in our stack. It makes customer communication SO easy and intuitive, allowing you to easily group customers into segments, trigger communications based on specific events, etc. The API is easy to use too, and makes it really easy to integrate with your app at a deep level. I couldn't imagine life without it!

Cons

The only real complaint is pricing. If you are bootstrapping and don't have a ton of money to spend, it can be pretty prohibitive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10

An Advanced CLM tool

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- The Features and customizations available

Cons

- The complications to bring about the automation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Sara U.

Great help!

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Customer.io has been a life saver. It has been a huge relief knowing our customers are getting the correct information.

Cons

There are not many customization options. It is also limited to users that has large customer bases.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Customer.io: Email Automation tool for scale

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/13
Review Source: Capterra

We use customer.io for automatic and personalized triggers and this tool is amazing.

Pros

Workflow is easy to configure and very powerful for automation.
You can configure the tool in such a way emails are automatically triggered whenever it notices a particular behavior.
A/B Testing feature is really cool.

Cons

Integrating with other APIs is complex.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10