64 reviews

CircleCI

We build CI/CD so you can build the next big thing.

4,6 /5 (64 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
64 reviews
Noah S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I love CI about as much as Circle does

Reviewed on 2017/10/30

Pros

The simplicity of configuration is unparalleled. We use CI on new projects day one. The ease of use, and setup, is definitely what keeps us coming back.

Cons

Lack of tools for multi project repos. We would love to keep our front and back-end code together in one repo while splitting the CI for them. So, it'd be great if we could run two builds separately based on the same repo.

Steve P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best UX for SaaS CI

Reviewed on 2019/08/05

Pros

When I first starting using CircleCI with version 1 I loved the simplicity. Every code would execute the commands in a relatively simple yml file. Version 2 is far more powerful and flexible. It took me a while to get used to but I still find Circle's ease of use to make it my choice over others.

Cons

Version 2 has a lot of complexity that can make it hard to get started with. Their Orbs concept is bringing back some simplicity.

Mehak A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of te best on cloud CI/CD for all kinds of application.

Reviewed on 2020/04/27

Used it with a number of applications, the GIT integration was very smooth. It is used for the deployment of the master on test and production environment by simple pull request creation and branch merge.

Pros

The great configurational freedom to the user makes it suitable for any and all kinds of applications. The step by step view provided is very helpful UI to track the whole process. The YML templates make it very easy to set up and the git configuration part is very well documented and just a few steps can make it work.

Cons

The pricing of the tool is a bit on the higher side compared to its competitors. Docker support is not complete.

Luis S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Using CircleCI

Reviewed on 2019/12/04

It has been a good experience overall, very minor downtimes. It has really helped me and our team to perform continious integration for our projects.

Pros

It let's you automate continuos integration fairly easy by just using a YML file. You can setup many different stages and rules for these stages to have different development environments. It's fairly easy to learn and implement. It integrates very well with Github.

Cons

Have seen a few downtimes in the last couple of months.

Ryan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CircleCi has changed how we develop

Reviewed on 2018/02/06

Overall I've been really happy with the performance from circleci. Even their free plan has been great.

Pros

Has helped up to totally streamline our development and testing workflow. Each service has it's own pipeline. The management interface and docker integration have made the setup and monitoring process super simple.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Circle CI trusted by FB

Reviewed on 2019/01/15

Pros

Circle CI is being trusted by FB for React, and Fastlane. So if it works for them I think that is a great testament to it.

Cons

Doesn't allow as many languages and environments out of the box as Travis CI does.

Tung F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool but lack tutorials

Reviewed on 2018/10/27

Pros

As any Continuous Integration tool it does what it should do. Builds and runs. Hard to say what's the most because haven't used other CI tools but CircleCI does what's expected and there was no thoughts about changing to other tools. So I would recommend using it.

Cons

The tutorials are not yet clear. They don't lead from start to workable CI.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best CI I've ever used

Reviewed on 2017/06/28

Pros

-Docker support is great when using container based builds
-Competitive pricing and free tier
-Snappy / Responsive UI

Cons

-2.0 is missing features in 1.0
-Poor slack notification support
-yml format is strange. More complex commands can be very ugly

Andrew K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

If you haven't tried it, you need to

Reviewed on 2017/08/31

Pros

generous free plans for open source projects
easy to set up
plenty of features
plenty of customization
runs quick

Cons

Additional containers are a bit pricey. There are other services offering similar products at much lower prices.

Jamie H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful CI service with well-designed features

Reviewed on 2019/01/28

Pros

Very fast time to start on builds and you can pay for powerful machines to get your builds done faster. Clever use of containers. Shareable configuration snippets using Orbs.

Cons

Some parts of web UI don't seem to attempt to hide/reduce complexity and instead seem to try to impress you with all the builds you have running.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very easy

Reviewed on 2019/07/31

Pros

The software works great, is fast, and extremely easy to use.

Cons

None, but I believe paid options could be less expensive

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very Good

Reviewed on 2017/09/20

Pros

CircleCI is a very good tool that comes with a very nice UI. In addition it is pretty intuitive to use.

Cons

Maybe the free plan could be enhanced for young start-ups as they often try to cut costs everywhere.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

FIrst time using a CI tool, and CircleCI delivers!

Reviewed on 2021/02/07

CircleCI brings a lot of security to our code deployment workflow: running unit and integration tests, and code analysis such as linters, it's a godsent.

Pros

This is my first experience using a CI software tool, and it's AMAZING. Tools that automate the workflow of code deployment gives a lot of

Cons

Not too much of a problem, but there's somewhat of a learning curve to set up your environment. Took me a few days to educate myself in the specifics, such as caching, jobs, workers etc.

Frank K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Circle CI is the most comprehensive CI/CD tool I have used

Reviewed on 2020/09/11

I am very excited to use Circle CI because of how quick the build process is compared to other CI/CD tools like travis

Pros

Circle CI offers so much control over how to test, build and deploy code. Workflows make it easy to automate CI/CD jobs in workflows organized in clearly defined steps that trigger concurrently or depend one job to trigger before another can be executed. I love how the interface offers a graphical user interface that clearly shows the different stages or steps the build process goes through and follow to whichever job is failing the build

Cons

The configuration can take time to set up with some config files growing up to about 200 lines of code. But fortunately circle ci offers a way to reduce repeating code while using aliases and executors

James D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fast and flexible

Reviewed on 2018/10/16

Pros

We've been on the free plan for a few months now and it's been great. Very flexible and customizable. Builds are much faster than my previous CI.

Cons

User interface is a bit overcomplicated IMO.

Danny B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

CircleCI review

Reviewed on 2020/09/29

A good product, easier initial pipeline setup would be good

Pros

A server less platform for managing CI which is great compared to Jenkins for example

Lots of modules you can easily use

Regular YAML spec

Cons

A bit cumbersome to begin creating a new pipeline compared to something like Github Actions

Darrell "jeremy" F.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great build/deploy tool

Reviewed on 2017/12/05

It's quick, easy to set up, and I like it. There are some usability fixes that are needed around user maangement, but otherwise, it's great! And works with all of the languages I use out of the box, and with no configuration.

Pros

CircleCI was great and easy to set up. It allows me to see what's going on with all of my builds quickly and in real time.

Cons

The user management is not very good. I have 5 contributors to a repo, and I can only add two of them as users. I can't even add users that aren't a contributor to the repo. My boss, my QA people, and my PMs can't see anything that's happening in the platform.

Michal R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CircleCI CI/CD

Reviewed on 2020/09/26

It automates many repetitive tasks such as running the tests, building and deployment to various environments and it makes my life easier.

Pros

I am using CircleCI within many projects and I like it - its feature-rich, supports every usecase we need and from my perspective is absolutely sufficient as CI/CD tool for projects I was working on. It also has free plan which could be enough for smaller teams or projects.

Cons

Not very often, but still, sometimes an inexplicable black magic happens and it requires a bit of debugging and reconfiguring of the project or the CircleCI.

Anuoluwapo O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My experience using Circle CI

Reviewed on 2017/09/21

Pros

Awesome UI/UX. Excellent customer service support and ease of use. There is also a constant update on the product based on feedback which is not common with most products.

Cons

The developer community of Circle CI is not so strong compared to some other product. The have taken feedback on this and are already improving it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Service. A tool that can not be present on your stack.

Reviewed on 2017/09/12

Pros

Fast, seamlessly, easy to implement.
Well documented.
Move from 1.0 to 2.0 was a piece of cake with a ton of improvements.

Cons

We are still fighting to get docker-compose to support cache but we know how hard is to enable caching on docker layers.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Continuous integration on the cloud

Reviewed on 2018/11/07

Pros

It's an excellent unobtrusive CI that keeps developers writing software rather than waiting for tests to finish. It can quickly run through thousands of tests and send alerts once complete. The UI is great and easy to use.

Cons

The config is probably the worst of the cloud CI software.

Nick P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Novice review

Reviewed on 2017/08/27

Pros

Ease of use and the extensibility of having your tests ran upon pushing without having to configure the .yml file to find tests.

Cons

The biggest con of the software would have to be the initial documentation on how to set up. This can get kind of confusing.

Chirag B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Build tool

Reviewed on 2018/11/24

Pros

Using this one can post large amount of data and hides its personal data from unauthorized access. It is well accepted global tool and integrates well with existing cloud services. Docker and other services also integrates well.

Cons

Writing the code in YAML is required which you have to learn and get familiarity to start working with this tool. Documentation is documented very badly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good and solid product

Reviewed on 2017/09/15

Pros

Support for OSX environment and Docker platform, very fast builds, advanced cache, up to date software. Web UI is not so bad, but i love the simplicity and configuration possibilities, that eg. Semaphore CI provides

Jacques S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good ci integration tool

Reviewed on 2020/04/02

I used it for implement a simple project and see how it would work.

Pros

It does everything you would expect from a continuous integration tool and everything in the cloud, being even better.

Cons

I did not used the tool for much time for having any complaints, when i researched and used the tool i found it satisfactory.