Showing 119 reviews of 106

Lightspeed POS

Point of Sale, Online POS & ePOS System, Restaurant Software

4,5 /5 (106 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
92%
recommended this app
Showing 119 reviews of 106
Richard M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 2018/01/13

Pros

Being a Hospitality professional for 20 years I have dealt with numerous POS systems. Kounta is relatively straight forward and has the functionality and flexibility to run your business with ease.

The support offered by Kounta day and night has been at an exceptional standard. The understanding and support during setup, implementation and to now has been a suprise in this all to modern world. This holistic approach will keep Kounta ahead of the pack for quite some time.

Cons

Some of the language with respect to Hospitality is not not necessarily how we refer to how things are done in my experience however it is only a minor issue.

Jimmy P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Horrendous POS System.

Reviewed on 2017/06/28

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS!!! MOVE ON TO THE NEXT!

Pros

Nothing to say here. There is nothing good about this system except for the promptness of my customer service, who usually has bad news. But as I now understand my customer service rep doesn't ACTUALLY work for Kounta, she works for the company that sold it to me. I wish they would have sold me one of their other POS options.

Cons

Server level order control is an upgrade, they don't tell you that when purchasing, even though that is one of the most basic things. Check splitting is the most laborious I have ever experienced, if you have a table that needs multiple splits get them a refill of their coffee because it will take a while. No over all system close out, no way to re-open a check. In lieu of that simple option they have a refund button, but, guess what if you had multiple pay types IE Cash and CC that doesn't work, can only refund whole amount to one pay type, which then screws up the server report(one of the biggest reasons to have a POS system) Integrated credit card system has worst customer service ever. If you need to get someone after 9 good luck. Randomly loses checks! Have no idea how that happens but if you are on a check and the system reloads(which it does a lot) bye bye order!

Emma I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great system

Reviewed on 2018/09/28

Pros

Great easy system to use. Easy to change payment methods and products and downloading and updating on excel also possible. Just starting to sync with Xero so that’s good too. Customer support really has improved massively since we started using it 2 years ago. I would recommend as a good all rounder.

Cons

Reporting in close detail has been a tricky one but with Kounta insights it seems to be improving although I think it’s still work in progress.

Gazebo R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Absolutely fantastic product, team, and set up.

Reviewed on 2017/02/14

While originally using a completely outdated and problematic POS system, we were put in touch with the team at Kounta. They were explained as being the most genuine team in the business, but always on hand to help and with a system which really spoke for itself.

Not only was the recommendation totally correct, I am now the one spreading the word of just how simple the transition was, and how happy we are with the product.

Not only is it a really easy system to set up and organise, especially with the helpful team over at Tech Panty - a shout out to Andy who is such a 'yes-man' and always on the problem solving case - , we were completely changed over on such a tight time limit with absolutely no stress from our end.

We've been up and running for a few weeks now, and staff members who were completely dedicated to the old systems are now totally sold on the new system Kounta has provided. It is an easy system to set up, use on a day to day basis and fills all of the reporting tick boxes you can have.

The fact that these teams have worked in hospitality really shows through the product; it's set up like it has been trialed for a number of years with all issues that could have arisen already ironed out.

10/10.

Pros

The ease of use, and the simplicity of the screens.

Cons

Nothing.

Leanne M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Kounta for Cafe Use

Reviewed on 2017/03/12

We have found Kounta to be excellent for our cafe. Staff need no maths skills to operate it easily. the addition of photos makes product selection fast and accurate.

The only thing to watch is disgruntled staff that have been removed from rosters........they can sabotage the system by changing or deleting things. My advice, once they have been given notice immediately remove their access to Kounta and give them other duties until their time has been completed.

Pros

Overcomes the issue of staff not being able to read or do any math.
Provides multiple copies of invoices so that service can easily be tracked.
Allows lots of options to modify products which gives each client an individual experience.

Cons

Takes ages to set up if you have hundreds of products and options......but it is worth doing.

Amelia S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Customer support

Reviewed on 2017/11/17

Immediate customer support is a huge plus

Pros

Ideal for hospitality..providing hospitality POS solutions that were once considerably more expensive. Understands the Australian market. Great customer support. Was having a problem at 7:30 am on a Saturday morning and got an immediate response from a real human. Big ticks for that!
Easy to update and maintain.

Cons

a little bit steep for a new business. But overall a great piece of software..the retail capacity is limited but works well for a cafe with a few retail items.

George P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

This is my first experience with a could based system. Very happy so far.

Reviewed on 2018/02/27

Pros

Cost effective , easy to train new staff, easy integration with our accounting system.
We are looking to now add rosters and stocktake to streamline our business.

Cons

Service can be effected when the system goes offline. This can also effect cash up as when the system is offline you are unable to process accounts.

Steve B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great POS system for all to use

Reviewed on 2017/02/17

As our venue is a social enterprise employing people with a disability and or mental health issue, we require a user-friendly POS that can assist with Literacy and numeracy while being an overall easy to use system.

Kounta is perfect for what we required.

Thanks Kounta

Pros

visual aid

Cons

freezing at times

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Terrible Integration with XERO

Reviewed on 2018/07/17

Pros

Daily monitoring of the sales
History of sales figures
taking the orders at the till although couple of times it started to update in the busy time without asking

Cons

- Updating without asking on busy times in front of customers
- Frequent disruptions
- Very poor integration with XERO, multiple times we had to export the reports manually and recently they changed the whole thing and the reports of three months did not export to XERO and it's very complicated to setup and retrieve the data. Customer service and support was poor as well
- It's very expensive and not value for money

Chewie C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Kounta POS

Reviewed on 2015/02/03

I love Kounta and think it is and has every potential to be the most easy to use and efficient POS system on the market.

Pros - VERY well priced and the customer is growing their business along with the growth of Kounta as the updates arrives. It is a simplified well and truly easy to use software. That is the best selling tool for any small businesses to digest and implement asap.

Cons - As Kounta gets busier, the online support I find is starting lag a bit. 2 years ago when I was a customer, I used to get a response to my questions within minutes. Now as a Kounta Partner more like anywhere from 1 hour to next day. Updates usually also seem to come with glitches so seems like more testing needs to be done prior to launching the update.

Overall a great software for small business owners and now its time to allow the software to be integrated into bigger venues that requires more functions!

Response from Kounta

Hi Chewie
Thanks for the honest feedback as a long time Kounta user this is great for us to learn from. We're working hard to ensure an improving all round experience for customers and partners alike as we grow!

Gary P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Maritime
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

New to KOUNTA

Reviewed on 2018/12/20

I have found the system easy to use and understand, the support is excellent and no question is a problem.
When we needed a solution to a question the support went and found the answer then helped us to install the solution.

Pros

The system is very user friendly and setting up from scratch is easy and quick.

Cons

Some features are not very flexible, we use a rule for a discount period but can only select half hopur or hour blocks a user defined option would be great.

Romain M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

So easy, efficient support

Reviewed on 2019/03/31

Glad we moved to this POS system and better in terms of accounting that it has ever been for us. It is really functional and all team from different ages found it great and easy to work with

Pros

Easy to use, easy to set up. Quick answers from support team and menus wntwred overnight with precision

Cons

Nothing at the moment despite using it for 5 months across 2 outlets

Andy G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Kounta at The Top Shop Byron Bay

Reviewed on 2015/02/03

Moving from our clunky till system to anything new, we expected improvements. However Kounta totally exceeded all of our expectations and taken our super busy food venue to the next level. Our staff have been so enthusiastic to use the iPad based system and training them was very quick and easy. The Kounta interface is very easy to navigate and our staff are spending more time giving the customers quality personal service.
The combination Kounta on iPads, with the speed it delivers, work flow improvements, and awesome reporting, have all combined to great effect. We have seen capacity grow, and sales increase to levels we did not think we could achieve.

Response from Kounta

Hi Andy
Great to hear you're enjoying Kounta and really appreciate the review!

Bill B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I think they have a great product in this Kounta POS Software

Reviewed on 2015/03/28

Pros

The way it's continually developing with amazing features. It's like they are reading my mind; just as I think of something, it's being implemented.

Cons

That it does not support eftpos New Zealand, yet other than that, there is not a lot to dislike.

Cheryl C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Real people who know their stuff

Reviewed on 2018/09/30

Impressed

Pros

From day one Kounta had the support and real sales staff in place to help me set it all up, even organising all the hardware, and saving me money.
Support is brilliant.
Love the app, easy to use, and staff have taken to it really quickly.

Cons

The cost to add extra terminals is quite expensive.

Shelly H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great pos system for small takeaway chicken shop

Reviewed on 2018/05/12

Pros

It's ease of use and the hundreds of you tube clips of how to's. Love it and even hubby can use it and he is computer illiterate!

Cons

I really don't have any I enjoy using this programme and even friends that have helped out in the shop find it easy to use

Mic H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Nice concept but still beta quality

Reviewed on 2016/03/12

Pros

The best thing about Kounta is that it is relatively easy to use. This comes at a great expense however since despite the pretty and fancy interface the features a busy restaurant need (like a robust method of splitting checks), solid timeclock integration, and solid EFTPOS integration are grossly lacking. The entire software has a very 'beta like' feel to it!

Cons

Poor EFTPOS integration, buggy and slow once many orders are entered, very weak timeclock integration, very poor check splitting feature. With as many buggy issues you would think that their customer support would be interested in helping but they simply tell you that they are looking into the issues and to post to their discussion forums (because a busy restaurant owner dealing with a buggy POS has time for that!)

Michael R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good

Reviewed on 2018/11/08

Help team are great.

Pros

The amount of features are great. It’s fairly easy to set up and very easy to use.

Cons

The amount of necessary features that require an upgrade.

Gazal J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great pos

Reviewed on 2017/04/12

I have moved to kounta and im extremely happy with the pos great and easy to use and great value for money with excellent customer support thanks

Pros

Its very fast and easy to use

Cons

Nothing it's absolutely fantastic

Amit R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great service

Reviewed on 2018/12/14

Great

Pros

Follow ups are great. Someone always checking on how the service is going

Cons

No everything is great there was no dramam

Evan G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2019/03/21

Pros

EASY TO NAVIGATE INTERFACE
CUSTOMER SUPPORT

Cons

NOTHING

Jen B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Looks great but does it work?

Reviewed on 2017/03/15

Three times Ive tried to get my Kounta up and running at an event but it failed. Hopefully bugs are all out and it can do the job it is meant to do!!!!

Pros

Looks amazing - especially when working in conjuntion with bump it and Boppl!

Cons

Keeps failing

Laura D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Customisable and User Friendly

Reviewed on 2017/02/21

Really happy with this POS, easy to use and learn, customisable, cost effective. Links in well with xero.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Not worthed as the expensive price

Reviewed on 2020/02/28

I know amount that i calculate manual in every type of payment are balance or not because kounta showing it amount minus or over, so we can double check before we accept to close cashier or shift.

Pros

Display of the pos is look modern and kounta can create recipen and inventory and back office. Pso system complet with back office.

Cons

Actually they have good features in back office for reporting. But not as good as inventory system by itself. First, POS system not completly all transaction is automaticly show in the report when want to do closing cashier (shift), like we need to do manual calculated some other transaction except cash like card and gofood payment as i used to. Because you have to submit all your type of payment on closing time then you will get report that will show your manual calculted are balance or not, split bill need to do by amount not by item, mostly apps that i was using were by item. Second, we need to buy with additional charge to get more features that we can see more details report (like insight and purchase) and that is expensive. If you dont buy, you will not get clear report as you need for analyzing restaurant performance. Third, menu item that you sell and item only you use for recipe are the same product list. Fourth, service charge and tax calculations are confusing to get the right amount. Every report that you want to dowbload as csv as not that correct way as csv.

Bradie M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Awsome POS system! Easy for staff, easy for management. Outstanding customer service!

Reviewed on 2018/04/04

Pros

Can manage from anywhere. Easy to update products on prices on the spot. Great reporting and crm. Love that you only have to use functions that you require.

Cons

I would like to be able to view only POS from device which is not assigned as register. Also, not sure if already available, but we would like to be able to process gift certificates through the till easily.