50 reviews

Sentry

Track exceptions with modern error logging

4,8 /5 (50 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
50 reviews
Xavier B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It made the development easier

Reviewed on 2019/04/12

Pros

It makes my development easier allowing me to track all the errors

Cons

Its dificult to deploy your own instance of Sentry

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid bug catcher

Reviewed on 2018/02/23

Helped us keep track of our software bugs.

Pros

Been using Sentry since they launched as OSS in 2012. Solid tool to catch and keep track of bugs in your software product and usable across frontend + backend and many software languages.

Cons

For very specific use cases like for React + Redux bug tracking there are specialized tools to get better granularity into the problem with tools like LogRocket.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great error reporting SAAS

Reviewed on 2020/02/29

Great error reporting tool, good price and good UX.

Pros

The interface was easy to understand and to move around, the error details were in depth enough and presented in a legible way.

Cons

While the PHP reporting was spot on, the JavaScript side was a bit sub-par, as well as being a bit spammy.

Ryan C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Nice view of system health

Reviewed on 2019/03/22

Sentry has been a nice software. I'm not a developer but I can go into Sentry and get a feel for how the system is performing and even see how many users are potentially being affected by an issue, which is great to know!

Pros

I really like that you are able to get a feel for errors in your system at a high level. You can login and see the number of errors and how many users are being affected. This has helped us catch things before customers noticing, which is great for a company!

Cons

I wish I was able to sort the columns. There is a "Sort by" dropdown they provide, but it doesn't include all of the columns.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good incident reporting tool

Reviewed on 2019/04/09

Pros

I like was it visualizes errors and how it integrates with other systems like Jira.

Cons

Sometimes it feels slow and hard to configure properly. Also featureset is a bit too big.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Nice ui, definitely beats digging log files

Reviewed on 2018/06/11

Pros

- Nice UI
- Integration with Bitbucket
- Nice free/trial plan
- Nice implementation with symfony bundle

Cons

- Free plan for only one user.
- Not succeeded to create filter based on dev/prod environment yet.
no further criticism...

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Instant issue notifications to the entire team with visual reports, issue timelines, assignees

Reviewed on 2019/04/25

Pros

Anyone on the team can subscribe to get instantly notified about the issues; multiple projects supported in the same dashboard (in my team we use separate projects for different types of environments). Automatic weekly and monthly reports are simple but informative. Gitlab integration is available. I also really like visibility into team members who have already seen the issue. Issue search filter is very detailed as well. Open source and cloud versions are available so any team's needs can be met.

Cons

Since all screens are minimalistic, they all look the same at a first glance, perhaps some color or header accents would be nice, also some sort of labelling for more customized filtering could come in handy. As a PM I think I am more picky about things like that than developers on my team though. Overall this is a good product.

Silvio B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

It is a good tool to monitor errors of your product

Reviewed on 2020/04/02

It is useful as I said, I use it daily to track errors in our product and most of the times it directs me successfully to the root of the problem.

Pros

It has a simple interface, groups errors together, keeps track of regressions. In a nutshell it is mature, robust and very helpful. Also accept some degree of customisations which is nice.

Cons

Way too expensive! Also sometimes loses some exceptions or errors.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Stay ahead of system errors

Reviewed on 2019/05/08

We set sentry up for all the software we develop. It has helped us greatly to always know when an application crashes so that we begin working on fixes. We loved sentry because it's easy to setup and use. We set it up once and run for the software lifespan. It shows a lot of information in a non-overwhelming way

Pros

The interface is so easy to use, it's almost natural for me.
It sends notifications to my e-mail and often when I click view on sentry I don't need to re-login it just takes me where I need to go
Version Control integration which make it easier to resolve issues when making a commit

Cons

When an issues occurs multiple times I want to view breadcrumbs for multiple cases at once but this option isn't there and if an issue occurs thousands of times this is a challenge
I can seem to find resolved issues to review them for whatever reason, at least if resolved issues were accessible for some time this would be great, or if this is already there making it easy would be great

Andréas H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A guardian for your projects

Reviewed on 2020/03/15

Sentry is a my first alternative to finding bugs in software due to easy setup and usability.

Pros

Sentry is simple to use and gives a good overview of bugs and errors in projects. It will immediately alert you, which is important in time critical projects.

Cons

It is somewhat difficult to configure alerts and alert content to your custom needs. It will bloat your email inbox if you are many persons working on the same project.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Straightforward to set up and use, crystal clear documentation

Reviewed on 2018/06/05

Pros

We use Sentry for our website and app alert handling. They have excellent docs to get set up and integrated across a variety of languages, web, and app frameworks. Getting alerts piped into Slack and Pagerduty was super simple.

Cons

Small nit, but wish they made it easier to get full stacktraces from mixed environments, like React Native! Would be nice to get both native and JS traces in both iOS and Android.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amzing exception tracking software

Reviewed on 2018/11/13

Pros

The number of integrations and the ease of setup is great. Also the amount of data provided for exceptions is very extensive. Its very easy to get to the bottom of what the issue is.

Cons

It would be handy if there were more statistics available about error rate maybe via their API. Also sometimes its hard to set up functionality like release tracking and sourcemaps etc.

Viktors
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Stress-free production deploys, detailed crash reports delivered straight to your Inbox

Reviewed on 2014/03/11

It's an absolutely fantastic tool I've installed on several websites I manage. Basically, you add a couple of lines to your Ruby (Sinatra in my case) or Node.js code, and when an exception happens, you're the first person to know about it.

Stack traces and complete environment (e.g. HTTP headers) are emailed to you, but the tool is smart enough to email only once for each unique type of error, so your inbox never gets flooded. You can also disable alerts for specific exception types.

Sentry integrates nicely with Pivotal Tracker, JIRA, Trello and many other tools, so you don't have to copy all the data about each error manually - the tool will do it for you.

Sentry supports JavaScript error reporting right from users' browsers, but last time I tried it I found that it can produce too many exceptions, in particular because error messages are often localized and Sentry doesn't detect that it's the same message, just translated into different languages.

The tool is smart enough to remove sensitive data (such as passwords) from error reports - and it allows configuring custom functions to sanitize data before it's sent to Sentry servers.

Pros

Free plan is usable for sites with few exceptions.

Cons

Some issues in Ruby client not closed for a long time (on GitHub).

Bontor S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy and very helpful

Reviewed on 2017/07/27

I know what happened to my code when there are errors.

Pros

This software is very easy to use and implement and have complete features compare to the other same type product.

Cons

They don't provide mobile app, so I can't use this software on travelling or emergency situation when I need this.

Jamie H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for catching errors

Reviewed on 2018/09/10

Pros

Many integrations with popular programming languages. Can host the open-source version locally if you want (but I recommend paying Sentry to manage it for you). Friendly interface.

Cons

You need to think about how this fits into your monitoring and reporting stack. Adding log analysis, metrics, tracing, error reporting...the list of tools gets long quickly and you need to prioritise which ones are important to you.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good summary of overall errors as well as specific details of them

Reviewed on 2018/08/06

Pros

I like how easily I can see errors occurrence as well as having all app's info in same website, I can switch between projects easily. Also how easy is to create issues in Github + plots per application/website

Cons

I do not get notifications as I would like to, my email is already ignoring sentry, might be just a configuration issue on my side and not necessarily Sentry

Blake P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Helpful tool for catching errors

Reviewed on 2020/02/27

Overall, very happy with the service and it is free so how could you explain. I wish we had implemented this right from the get-go, it would have saved us a lot of QA time.

Pros

Pretty easy to incorporate into your system. Really helpful when trying to debug issues in your code and provides helpful data from what and where your customers are coming from.

Cons

It can be a little difficult to set it up in a way so that you are only tracking the right errors, if you are not careful with this it can flood your logs with non-issues.

Jeremy S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool!

Reviewed on 2017/08/02

It allows me to see errors people are getting, who is getting the error, and where in the code it is happening. Usually the only way I could figure it out was asking what broke, how people did it, and try replicating it.

Pros

Relatively easy to use and tons of amazing features. I also like the UI a lot. In general the tool is very concise on your issues and there is tons of documentation.

Cons

I had some issues setting up automated builds for the deploys of releases and maps. Due to the sentry cli not being easy to find and setup from documentation. Also, I had to figure out how to do it myself. It would be awesome if there was documentation on how to do it with a webpack build and deploy with sentry as well.

Júlio S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Exception tracking on all platforms

Reviewed on 2018/09/07

Sentry was a game changer on how we handle errors in our applications. Instead of waiting for user reports, we watch Sentry event panel and act in advance!

Pros

Sentry is a great exception tracking, which works everywhere, from Java back-end to mobile hybrid apps. It has integration with everything. Their panel has many features and track all relevant data about the environment where the exception occurred.

Cons

Sentry may be hard to understand at first. Their notifications are not simple to configure too...

Stephen C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best bug tracker out there

Reviewed on 2017/09/20

Pros

Very impressed with the logging and the surfacing of tracking common bugs. The way it's set up to surface the most recent bug in a bucket of similar or identical bugs is perfect for efficiency

Cons

The UI lacks a bit. It's somewhat confusing for a non technical user navigating from page to page. Overall the UI and ux are somewhat bland but I don't think that matters much with the functionality they are delivering

Roee L.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Helped me find bugs

Reviewed on 2018/04/07

Pros

Simple to set up, sends emails when users encounter bugs, nicely displays bugs history. Works with multiple platforms

Cons

I didn't receive emails for some of the bugs but that may have been my mistake. The dashboard is not very intuitive

Dilraj S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to configure Backend alerts for your production environment

Reviewed on 2019/07/20

Overall experience was really good with production alerts being fired anytime there was an exception or an outage on the backend server.

Pros

Sentry can be easily integrated with your platform for generating email alerts for any issues on production backend server. Be it an exception on the server or the outage, sentry will send an alert to your email and once you login to the dashboard, you can easily see the stack trace for the error which occurred on the server along with the frequency of occurring error. Sentry integration is available for different programming languages.

Cons

Setting it up with your backend server for the first time can take some time. Also we faced some issues with integrating the HTTPS sentry link with Node.js. Other than that, its a great tool in helping you keeping your production environment available 24/7.

Fernando H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great error tracking service, essencial for any software application running 24/7.

Reviewed on 2017/12/15

Pros

In the Sentry dashboard, we can create and save custom filters that are helpful to use, mainly after a deployment in order to find any errors in our application. The integration is easy, with API clients available in many programming languages.

Cons

API clients don't support asynchronous communication, you need to implement it by yourself. Besides, it is possible define fingerprints to track issues, but it is not possible to filter the issues by fingerprints.

Fernando P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Keep track of API and WebApp errors

Reviewed on 2018/05/29

Get notified and keep track to quickly solve all system errors

Pros

Automatically it can keep track of all the errors from your system and display very useful information such as user id, user e-mail and other error details that could help you to identify the root cause of the error and help your dev team to solve it quickly. Has a great integration with Slack so you can easily are notified of each error.

Cons

Sometimes seems to not show all the errors, looks like can skip some of It, so we cannot find information about some user that is complaining about an error.

Ciprian P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great tool for gathering JS errors from remote users

Reviewed on 2020/01/05

Sentry did half the work of the QA department.

Pros

Great, great, great! I have used this tool for a long time and it helped identify hundreds of errors and feed them to the QA department. A great tool for any Javasvcript-heavy website or web app.

Cons

Absolutely nothing, it helped a lot with user generated errors.