111 reviews

WorkflowMax

Xero owned financial project management software for SMBs

4,3 /5 (111 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
87%
recommended this app
111 reviews
Keith B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Proven Preformer

Reviewed on 2020/07/31

Fantastic product for the price. used it to meet all requirements of a quality system. custom reports are great. It kept us on track with schedules.

Pros

Basic needs to schedule task. A basic purchase section allowing areas for notes and visibility. Track job progress at an affordable cost for software. Was great to be able to Port data directly into XERO accounting package.

Cons

Quotes and jobs required a lot of retyping.

Mitch C.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

WorkflowMax has changed the way we work

Reviewed on 2014/08/12

I’m a Partner at Greengage - a London based sustainability and environmental consultancy providing advice to a range of different clients on how they can integrate sustainability into their core operations as well as making their developments more environmentally responsible.

We used to employ a cumbersome system of spreadsheets for time & project management that would often involve duplicate information. It was not a system we could use to generate meaningful information about how much cost had gone into a job, or how much time or budget we had left and how we we were tracking a fee.

When we switched to WorkflowMax, I was surprised how easy it was to get started. All our staff found it very simple, intuitive. The online video tutorials and the support team helped us immensely by answering all of our queries.

WorkflowMax provides us the opportunity to run our own reports with a very powerful custom report builder in a very easy and intuitive way. As a consultancy, its having that information in hand to be able to go back to clients where we are with individual projects.

The way WorkflowMax enables us to tailor the information has saved us 70-80% of the time we used to spend on that system. In terms of return on investment, WorkflwoMax is a no-brainer. We can recoup the invest on a monthly basis by just having one more hour of consistency.

As a business owner, WorkflowMax makes my life easy by having all the information in one place - so we can see where we are at in terms of projects, we can see who is working on it, we can see where we are with invoicing, we can see how much money in the budget is left over and much more.
There is less admin involved in the business now. WorkflowMax has given us an unfair advantage to stay ahead of our competitors. Highly recommended for forward-thinking service businesses.

Toni M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Review Source

Overall rating

WorkflowMax is working for us

Reviewed on 2014/07/30

"WorkflowMax has been like someone turning the light on for our business.
We knew our old software wasn’t giving us the information we needed to know whether we had been profitable on each job. Manual costings were so labour intensive we didn't tend to do them very often.

Now at the touch of a button WorkflowMax gives us a profitability report on each job which is amazing. We share this information with our staff, who really take ownership of the job to ensure good profitability.
This and other reports in Xero help give us the information we need to make decisions within our business.

Forgive me if I am starting to sound a little bit evangelical, but the change to WorkflowMax really has had a dramatic impact on our business, and put us back in the driver’s seat, linking through to Xero and giving us all the information we need.

Guided patiently by the team at Equation we undertook a seamless transfer over to WorkflowMax and Xero. Bonnie was able to understand our business and how we needed Work Flow Max to work for us. She ensured we set up and customized WorkflowMax correctly to meet these needs. Not only is Peter May Ltd is a canvas fabrication but a marquee and event hire business. Bonnie has set WFM to cater to both sides of our business."

Pros

Good management of jobs, and costs.

Lisa P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

the best thing about WorkflowMax is the payroll system

Reviewed on 2014/10/01

I’m the office manager at SA Construct, a construction cladding company in Adelaide, Australia. Previously Payroll used to take a whole day, now it only takes a hour. The time saved is just massive. We enter all the supplier invoices into WorkflowMax as purchases, and then convert them into a supplier invoice. We enter about 100 supplier invoices every month into WorkflowMax. They all go into Xero − perfectly.

Once a month, I do invoicing through the job, and create sales invoices − they get seamlessly transferred into Xero just as well. The integration between WorkflowMax and Xero is as seamless as it can get. We create the invoices in WorkflowMax against each job, and they automatically go into Xero − perfectly. All the information within an invoice is seamlessly transferred, so we can we see in Xero which jobs they relate to.

For me, the best thing about WorkflowMax is the payroll system. All the guys out on site enter their time straight into WorkflowMax, and I’m able to just use the totals of their hours at the end of the month. It’s a really good organising tool, and saves on a lot of paper. Everything we need is in one place.

Connor K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

WorkflowMax is very specific

Reviewed on 2018/10/10

It is a good system but should be used properly and not just for one aspect. This would cause issues either reporting or tracking information. Review the systems functions because implementing to see if it suits your needs/wants

Pros

Admin users are able to create custom reports to display information based on their own needs. This is very useful because you can show certain aspects of your work while omitting others.

Cons

Our company uses WFM is a unique way. We focus more on the timekeeping functions rather than the full-functionality of the system. In doing this, we are not able to go as in depth with our reporting or time-keeping accuracy because WFM was simply not made for just that purpose

Doug W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

For the money probably the best option out there for production and distribution.

Reviewed on 2017/09/05

Scheduling an organization for manufacturing. The quote process has been made easier and standardized. Ability to keep everything in one location.

Pros

Easy to navigate, fulfilled all of our needs for the company as far as manufacturing, scheduling, easy to assign two different employees four tasks. Integrates with our current CRM. For the price I believe it's the best quoting software and Manufacturing distribution and organization software out there.

Cons

Not easily customizable. Very time-consuming to set up. And customer service was below average. The video tutorials don't go into depth as far as instructing on customizable features example importing and using customizable quotes.

Nick P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

User for over 4 years

Reviewed on 2019/04/11

We need it but it's dated and upgrades are far and few between. It's ready for a competitor to take over.

Pros

Integrates with Xero (but only partly)
It has a wide range of features
Is very customisable (if you actually need that)

Cons

Support takes 24 hours and is poorly managed
No online chat available
Reporting is clunky an non-intuitive
Extra features in the premium version are seriously overpriced

Jeff M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great Product for Quoting / Job tracking / Timesheeting

Reviewed on 2016/03/15

My team have been using WFM for around 4 years now. It took quite a while to harness the full potential of the App, and really we needed 5+ people before it really took off.

With 15+ people now using the app to manage weekly quotes, jobs, timesheets, and invoicing, it is a massive timesaver for our company.

Pros

Great timesheeting / job tracking and quote generation abilities

Cons

interface took 2+ years to be updated. The iOS app is still very basic and doesnt allow me to check or add quotes on the go.

Jillian T.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Outstanding Workflowmax!

Reviewed on 2015/02/23

I am a director of a PR firm which has a range of financial and rural company clients. I have almost been with Workflowmax from its formation - before Xero acquired the business! Workflowmax is a very easy product to use and has continued to innovate and add more features with ease. Despite being part of a big company it still operates like a small one - whenever you email them to ask a question they respond right away. I would highly recommend any PR consultancy or consultancy based business to consider using Workflowmax.

Pros

Workflowmax is very easy to use. Their helpdesk is awesome, and always friendly. The layout of the invoices is really clean and tidy.

Cons

There are none with this product.

Lisa E.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great tool for creative agencies

Reviewed on 2015/06/29

An easy to use, cost effective tool that you can access from anywhere with an internet connection. Great for tracking time, overseeing time billed by employees, setting up processes/milestones and quoting. Integration with Xero is seamless, making billing really quick and easy to do.

Mary W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2015/06/25

Dave J.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Use it and support it

Reviewed on 2016/04/27

We have been using Workflow Max for 4+ years, it's a great tool for a professional services business, easy to use and simple to navigate and understand.

Lauren H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 2019/03/26

Richard S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 2019/01/30

Carl P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 2018/10/05

Scott E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 2018/07/31

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Not suitable for service industry with casual staff

Reviewed on 2019/04/28

Pros

Ability to import from Xero
Visually appealing - clean layout

Cons

Not suited to our industry
Pricing is expensive compared to others
Didn't cope with having a large number of casual staff
Users needing to install authenticator application on mobile to use
Confusing terminology

David M.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

It does what it says on the tin. Work-Flow-MAX

Reviewed on 2015/01/23

I am the director of Right Brain Insights, and CFO for a company called T3 Group – T3 Facility Services Pty Ltd. I help SMEs use data to clarify their strategic direction and boost their business performance. In the case of T3 Group, that’s what we’ve been able to do with WorkflowMax.

Eleven months ago, the only thing that could be vaguely understood was total sales to a client. However, in order to understand the cost base and truly drive profit, and link it back to our goals, we needed to be able to break down jobs, and their cost, as well as give the guys one site and the guys in the office something that could allow them to be far more efficient and far more effective at what they needed to do.

We looked at WorkflowMax, GeoOp and Connect2Field. WorkflowMax is just a standout, across these in terms of its reporting, its connection with Xero, and its detail.

We needed to have really good insights over our cash flow going forward. We use WorkflowMax to strip out a pipeline, so we can see cashflow into the future based on job activity. Our target used to be $50,000 a month, it’s now $325,000 minimum and rising. We would not have been able to hit that growth without WorkflowMax.

There used to be a fairly substantial lag in invoicing. It used to be around a 14-day delay from the end of a job to actually invoicing it. That’s come down to basically 24, at most 48 hours. We pretty much invoice as soon as the job’s finished. That’s been a really, really tight process and something that’s really cool when you link WorkflowMax to Xero.

In January our accounts receivable days was roughly 65 and our accounts payable was roughly 40. We’ve now switched that where our accounts receivable, on average, is about 45 days and our payable is about 48. So being able to switch that and stay on top of it has had a really, really powerful impact.

We’re just becoming more organised. So we are doing things far more efficiently. We are, through a system like this, becoming more account

Pros

- Customised reporting & data fields
- Real-time tracking
- Xero connection
- Pricing (so much cheaper than GeoOp & Connect 2 Field at the time we researched)
- Backed by Xero

Cons

- Dashboard design. Could be cleaner, maybe customisable
- Not life or death, but stronger connection on the cost side. i.e. 'spend money' type transactions linking to Xero.

Adrian A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use. Lots of flexibility

Reviewed on 2021/04/07

Pros

Cloud based, no updates required. great technical support

Cons

Could integrate better with xero and other document management

Marc P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Integral to our project and time tracking

Reviewed on 2018/04/10

Pros

Easy to use similar to Xero accounting - integrates with accounting. Good mobile app and great reports. We're finding the leads and quotes very useful - especially for keeping track of projects and potential work, and converting to real jobs. Workflowmax has allowed us to improve our productivity as well as tracking work and hours that we previously would have missed.

Cons

A little bit of difficulty linking to Xero accounting - mainly due to our awkward setup. Looking forward to a smoother link between these apps.

Justin E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

workflow max

Reviewed on 2020/06/25

overall we really like it. It is perfect for a small business with limited needs.

Pros

We really like workflowmax.
We started using it right after it was first released. It is very easy to use and gives us very good visibility into the costs of our projects. Back costing is so easy when all products and labour get reconciled against the project.

Cons

No really bad comments to be made about workflowmax. It does what it says it will and doesn't pretend to be be bigger than it is.

Maree M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Customer Support

Value for Money Time and Project Management System

Reviewed on 2016/06/26

As Certified Implementation Partners, we have implemented and trained WorkflowMax for over sixty clients in the UK. Industries have included Creative Agencies, Architects & Engineers, Ecologists, Training Companies and General Consultancy firms.

Pros

WorkflowMax is highly flexible and every client will tend to use it slightly differently. Some of the key things our clients like about WorkflowMax

1. Easy time entry - Especially the weekly time grid where you can then easily track who has/hasn't submitted time if using the 'Submit Time'sheet' feature.
2. The ability to develop attractive quotes and proposals.
3. Being able to pull processes and systems together in a centralised location. Often clients are holding project information in lots of different locations/spreadsheets around the office.
4. Huge flexibility through the custom reporting and being able to quickly see Project Profitability.
5. 'Talks' nicely to Xero your Accounting Software, sending through invoices and supplier invoices.
6. Great Value for Money when taking into account the breadth of features.

Cons

1. Capacity Planning. There is a Staff Availability grid, but time must be clearly allocated to staff and tasks for this to provide meaningful and accurate information.
2. Expenses Tracking. There are various options for Expense Tracking such as bulk purchase orders, but could be clearer and easier to use.

Kenneth jhim I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Now Xero Practice Manager - the de facto project management software for your Xero client

Reviewed on 2020/05/22

Despite the interface being "crowded", the software is still good at what it does. It helps you manage clients well. If you have an accounting practice, especially in New Zealand, you will realize the benefits that it provides in terms of tax filing for your clients.

Pros

WorkflowMax (now XPM) provides most of the project management's functionality that you need in for your Xero client. From adding the client in Xero, assigning jobs to staff, budgeting hours, etc. It has all your needs.

Cons

The software's interface is a bit crowded. There's a lot going on at each screen. It really takes time to master the software. What I find also confusing is that you can add returns for individuals under the company account where they are owners or shareholders.

Phillip Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good product, however timer has bugs

Reviewed on 2018/02/13

If the support team fixes the timer issue, this would be the project management tool to go with hands down.

Pros

I like how the product has a timer that you can time your tasks against with start and stop timer functionality and see how much time you have spent on your project and each task. I like that it has Xero integration as well.

Cons

I don't like that the timer has bugs where maybe one out of every ten times that you attempt to stop the timer after finishing timing a job, it completely forgets the time that was recorded against it and resets the time to a lower time for some unknown reason. I have contacted support about this issue countless times but have always been pushed away even after following requests to send through supporting testing data.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Useful for project costing for an SME

Reviewed on 2019/01/07

Using an app to enter hours saves us time - we are a small company so a large ERP system isn't appropriate. Workflow Max isn't perfect, but it does what we need - let's us do project costing relatively easily while integrating with the accounts system we use. There are lots of 'help' videos easily found to show you how to do things.

Pros

The phone app makes it easy to enter time, wherever you are, and the admins can see easily who has completed and submitted time and who hasn't.

Cons

The reports aren't as customisable as we'd like - you can see that it's built from database fields from different tables, but only certain combinations of fields are available and it takes a while to work out which basic report is the one you need.
There are no 'sub jobs' or cost categories, so we need to use subfolders to categorise costs, or separate out project phases, which is a bit clunky.