40 reviews

ManageEngine ADManager Plus

Active Directory Management and Reporting Solution

4,5 /5 (40 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
93%
recommended this app
40 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ADMP has been a well priced platform allowing us to bring automation to our AD/Cloud...

Reviewed on 2018/05/04

AD Management through the web!

Pros

ADMP is quick and simple to set-up. The ability to make AD-related change through a web portal has brought convenience to IT. ADMP makes generating reports and collecting information through forms convenient and simple. For our small IT department, ADMP allows for many different IT backgrounds to participate fully in supporting AD-related management operations without having to be well versed in Windows, or to know Powershell. ADMP has also made synchronizing our cloud and on-premise environments through automation simple and organized. Their support staff has been very courteous in resolving our issues. Issues that are brought to their attention are genuinely acted on with importance. On more complex issues, they actively reach out to us update us on the status of the problem until it's resolved.

Cons

The UI is outdated, and the mobile app is a underwhelming. There are some arbitrary limitations that seemingly pop up out of nowhere, but generally there are ways to work around them, but they leave you scratching your head why? In some parts of the UI you can use %substitute% variables, but then in others you can not for seemingly no reason.

I really wish they would go "all in" on making their template system even more robust. AD and on-prem services aren't the only thing we have to worry about updating, and many cloud services don't have native LDAP/AD integrations, being able to collect information in templates to provide information through scripts for these services would make this product AAA. Currently, you can collect some information, but the customization options for the fields is limited to only a single line, whereas you should be able to pick many different field types (dropdown, radio button, etc) for making changes.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ADManager helps you to audit and manage active directory (and other systems)

Reviewed on 2019/07/18

Pros

The reporting is incredible. Custom reports can be created but most canned reports suffice for most institutions.

Cons

It takes a bit to learn the in's and out's of the software, but once you've done that you're golden.

Marcus R.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great tool for support

Reviewed on 2018/04/10

Pros

Live the fact you can search across multiple domains in one shot versus the one domain at a time approach through the traditional AD console. Vast reporting features, simplified the needs for any request to see information for various levels in organization.

Cons

Can be slow in IE. Reporting features should allow a little more fine tuning. Custom re Let's beeds to be tuned to allow for more searching features.

Timothy K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simplicity

Reviewed on 2019/07/15

I immediately jumped on this software when taking over a new position due to the speed and simplicity of which it allows me to bulk manage users and apply customized templates.

Pros

This software allows me to quickly and easily manage hundreds of users with only a few clicks. Rather than time-consuming Powershell scripts, I can make many templates and apply that template to bulk users.

Cons

Many features are grouped into the Pro license. My particular usage would benefit from a few of those features, but the added cost of the higher license level is not justifiable for the small amount of additional features I would actually use.

Hong Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dhruba Das provided excellent service to Rosendin

Reviewed on 2018/05/15

Pros

Really appreciate tech support's time, efforts and expertise. This software is able to provide technicians to work on active directory, email, Skype for business, reports and many other options.

Rusty L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Educational User/IT Administrator

Reviewed on 2019/03/06

I have had a positive experience with the free version, but do wish I had some of the other features as well.

Pros

It makes working with bulk users in active directory easy, I have used it to import a large number of students to our active directory system, also used to make modification to large number of users. It is easy to use and understand.

Cons

The cost is high and my IT Director won't pay for it, so I am stuck using the free version (which does what I need it to , but there is so much more that can be done with it).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

User reports

Reviewed on 2020/08/10

I use it for license checking and managing AD groups. There are an extremely high number of possible standard reports to make, I haven't yet found anything that I need and don't have.

Pros

As an application administrstor I use ADManager Plus mainly to make reports of users in different AD groups to check against licenses. Also to add or delete users from these groups.
I can use it over more than one domain which I find extremeley helpful.

Cons

I have never had a problem using this software, I find it extremeley intuitive. Obviously I don't use it to its full extent, but this software fits my needs.

Tina L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Usable not perfect but can work !

Reviewed on 2018/12/13

Pros

Its alot like a few of the other software programs out there , it is fairly simple to use , delegates roles , eliminates repetitive motions , pretty basic great for small business .

Cons

doesnt allow for you to change alot, doesn't give enough characters to use to explain an issue too limited

Ferhat I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Easy to report

Reviewed on 2019/06/18

I really liked to use the java based software a few years ago, however, once you have more PowerShell experience you may not use the reporting tool. The other thing is the updates are not that great, they are still using java base which is very old. they may want to use html5 and more modern Programming languages to improve the software

Pros

Very easy to install, and you have really useful AD reports.

Cons

Automation never worked for me, you can make good automation for the daily task if you learn more about PowerShell which will be really helpful, you may not need to buy the software

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

O365 Access and Account Management

Reviewed on 2021/01/21

Overall, no complaints using this application. It allows me all the tools and functionality needed to successfully manage our Azure AD and O365 users.

Pros

Seamlessly integrates with O365 and our Azure AD infrastructure. Easy to delegate administrative duties to other administrative personnel. Available out of box reports are helpful for everyone and provide insight into our environment.

Cons

At times, searching can be somewhat cumbersome as the loading of information based on a search or report can lag. Occasionally, you need to perform a refresh or resync within the interface to get the most current data.

Tad G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We purchased ADManager Plus in early 2015 and use it extensively with 125 techs in over 60...

Reviewed on 2018/05/09

Pros

Automation and reporting functions let us improve our service level but spend less time doing routine tasks. Totally granular permission assignment capability. Rules-based templates, very customizable. Continually improving and adding new features. And there are frequent free online training sessions that improve our knowledge of the product's capabilities. Their tech support is very good to work with, very quick to respond.

Cons

The only problem I can think of is getting an invoice from Manage Engine in the form needed by our finance department so we could pay the maintenance bill.

George M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ADManager plus is a great way to keep standards wrapped around what our engineers do to our AD.

Reviewed on 2018/04/27

Simple to use. Helps with standardization when you have many engineers managing the same AD. Easy to use and effective reporting.

Pros

I like that this product changes quickly to accommodate changes made by MS. I like the reporting. I like bulk create/modify options.

Cons

I don't like that searching for users isn't available for all user fields. Would love to see a browse (tree) option for user management, similar to ADUC.

Gavril S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The software makes managing 4 separate AD domains easy.

Reviewed on 2018/04/11

Pros

Reporting functionality makes it easy to find which tech is responsible for changes made across all the location and domain while not having to give elevated privileges and accounts on each domain.

Cons

Support is a little lacking in that there is not a way to track your open tickets and trying to get ahold of the tech you previously worked with is just not possible most of the time.

Eric E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

First class support and an easy to use UI

Reviewed on 2018/04/27

Short learning curve to take advantage of most of the features as well as quick deployment.

Pros

ROI is quick, and the support is easy to get to, not hidden like some companies. You can get to help from right inside some of the products.

Cons

The only bad thing is they do not make more products for us to enjoy like the half dozen we already have!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cheap and fantastic software for AD Management

Reviewed on 2019/04/01

It's been very helpful for our network team and makes weekly and monthly reporting very easy.

Pros

The price of entry was really cheap and it's very useful, has many functions included for AD management and reporting.

Cons

Haven't really found anything I don't like about the software yet.

David N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

AD Manager Plus makes my job so much easier.

Reviewed on 2018/05/22

It makes it so much easier to update, or report on both my AD and users, and also my Office 365 environment.

Pros

The functionality and value is huge. It allows me to better manage my users, and makes it much easier to apply changes to a group.

Cons

It's not very intuitive. It can do a lot, but the learning curve is steep. I've had to contact support several times for "how to" assistance.

Chad F.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

No issues getting new user creation template set up since the support tech handled everything

Reviewed on 2018/05/10

Makes it easier for admins

Pros

Very flexible yet powerful. Thank you for all the Azure and O365 tie-ins. Don't stop helping the on premise or hybrid users.

Cons

No DirSync but was told it is coming. AD Delegation is a little clunky to figure out.

Jendra J.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 2019/03/05

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool to manage Active Directories

Reviewed on 2019/04/30

Great tool, just need some adjustment period

Pros

Allows you to see all directories especially if you service or support multiple groups in AD
Simple to use, takes time to adjust if your used to the native window
Great to use if you domain has many groups that need to be separated

Cons

Bogged server
Some issues on errors
functions like it does on the DC except more easier to read

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Lot of active directory stuff to manage? This will help you!

Reviewed on 2018/01/08

Freed our servers from lots of sysadmins logging only to reset or create a report that they never remember how was done.... Lots of different reports about active directory structure are ready to generate. Have fun!

Pros

Lots of reports: users, groups, local and 365;
Isolate managers quick and easy, so they have all options limited by the OU or OUs that the have permission to manage;
No longer need to access from server;
May create approval flows to pass through managers, and specific people before the user is automatically created, and based on templates.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Active Directory Management Made Easy

Reviewed on 2018/12/05

Currently utilizing AdManager to manage AD for a company of 100+ employees.

Pros

Easy to install and setup
Vast amounts of data entry options for your users

Cons

User interface looks a bit dated compared to ManageEngine's other offerings.

Jeff S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Wonderful tool if for managing Active Directory.

Reviewed on 2017/05/18

Pros

Easy to use, customizable, has templates and workflow features. Overall a great product for the money.

Cons

Some of the features are missing from templates. Some minor issues with the software are also noticed such as the ability to adjust idle timeout.

Martin R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Worst support i have ever come across in 20 years in IT

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Pros

the software is OK.

Cons

the software is not bad, but if you get an issue it takes support at least a week to answer any calls logged, they repeatedly ask for logs even when you have sent them, buy another product as these guys are a waste of space

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Must Have Tool for Any AD Administrator in Any Organization

Reviewed on 2019/01/24

I am now an avid fan and supporter of ManageEngine. ADManager Plus was the first tool I purchased from them, and I now have 4 other tools that are in use within my organization. The support staff gets back to you quickly when you have questions and are very helpful, and the pricing is very reasonable for what is offered.

Pros

This has made complicated AD reports a thing of the past. Once I got the hang of creating automated reports, this quickly became my favorite AD tool. I also use it for user and group management, which is also much easier than doing from a Domain Controller.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve, and the little bit of documentation that there is leaves a lot to be desired. I often have to call support for more complicated inquiries.

Faizhal K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

AD manager Plus is one of the best product to maintain your daily AD Tasks

Reviewed on 2020/04/21

This one product all administrators should have to make their daily ad task easy and save more time

Pros

complex reporting and task are made very easy with Ad manager plus and it is one of the product helping me a lot with daily tasks.

Cons

Regular updates should be provided to make it fully utilized and more reporting options should be provided