ManageEngine ADAudit Plus Reviews

ManageEngine ADAudit Plus

Active Directory change audit and reporting software

4.3/5 (30 reviews)
Verified Reviewer

Easy to use and effective

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/07
Review Source: Capterra

Very positive, I'd like if the software could pull more info on user lockouts. For instance if a use locks out on exchange it will say they locked out on a DC with no further info you have to check security logs on exchange. Other than that great product!

Pros

Configuration is easy, there are many canned reports to pull daily, monthly, and quarterly reports on changed and access to AD and other integrations. The search function is well put together to tell you what you need to know quickly. Has instant alerts for critical changes and AD restore.

Cons

A few times we needed information but our auditing GPOs we're not properly set up. More our fault than theirs. You can't audit file shares from a DC which is a downside, I monitor a replicated DFS share but it won't show who make the changes on the non DC since that's the primary file server, just says system. Should work fine if you don't use DC for file shares. It would be nice if you could monitor who locks up a SQL database with a large query

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Very good for compliance

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/18
Review Source: Capterra

We had many cases with different departments who remove files or folder, who made changes in excel file. The software always gives the right answer, never disappointed me. If you are looking for a file server audit, you should just buy it.

Pros

File server auditing is the best so far, very easy to use. UI is well designed. Ad reporting is really helping us to find out who has an old session and locked account

Cons

AD audit tool can be improved as far as event log wise. you have to run the software as service, don't forget that, The pricing is a little bit higher.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Fatih S.

All you need for MS active directory and file server auditing

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/05
Review Source: Capterra

If you have a large scale active directory environment you can not see what is going in it. You must use a auditor software and AD audit plus is perfect match for that need.

Pros

AD audit most useful software for large active directory environment. You can see what user doing very easily and you can export reports about that. Also if you add your fileserver, it will be act a perfect file server auditor.

Cons

Actually there is no negative things but if it has a step to step initial configuration wizard will be good.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Edgar S.

Makes AD Troubleshooting Easy

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/03/05
Review Source: Capterra

Overall i enjoy the product and would recommend this for reporting and troubleshooting AD issues.

Pros

I like all the functionalities that ADAudit Plus provides, it has plenty of features that i have yet to play around with. This product makes trouble shooting easier and root cause analysis a breeze.

Cons

Although AD audit has a bunch of features, the UI is a bit cluttered and intimidating if you don't know exactly what you're looking for. Once you know where things are, everything becomes easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Ilhan K.

For AD auditing very useful

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It has a lot of reports already on it. You can use report templates to create a report. For active directory but in same time you can use for auditing file servers. It has DNS auditing and Exchange users and groups too.

Cons

Archiving model isn't very useful. It isn't easy to take something from archived logs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Racey C.

Does the job, decent technical support if needed

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

ADAudit Plus actually does a lot more than just audit AD. In an environment where you have multiple technicians making changes to AD, it's helpful to have an audit trail for both security reasons, as well as troubleshooting when a change is made that produces an unexpected or undesirable affect. With the audit trail it's easy to see what the most recent changes were so they can be rolled back if necessary.

This product will actually do some auditing of your file servers as well, which we found fairly helpful. When a file gets deleted, it's never a problem to restore it, but it's helpful to be able to see who deleted the file so you can either identify malicious activity or advise a user of what's happening in case they're not aware that they're removing needed information.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

ADAudit audit's EVERYTHING.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/07/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

AD Auditing is only a necessity for regulatory requirements and when you need it the most. However, AD Audit also provides intuitive reporting functionality for those times you can't easily give a quick answer, AD Audit is there for you.

Cons

Some of the upgrades are a bit of a pain due to services, and it's hard to install multiple products on the same server due to port usage and service installations.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Good Auditing Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/23
Review Source: Capterra

We monitor the movement of all users in the active directory. It helps us a lot with account locks.

Pros

There are many reports available. All AD logs can be tracked. Reports can be scheduled.

Cons

It is very difficult to analyze and analyze archived logs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
David G.

Incredibly powerful audit software

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/20
Review Source: Capterra

The ADAudit support team were really good with helping my team get the product set up in the first place, making sure that everything that needed to be seen could be seen.

From a user perspective I am very happy and believe I will be able to make lots of improvements based on audit results, and the HR team are happy that they can audit what they need to see too.

Pros

As a Head of Department I wasn't involved in the setting up of the software, so the first I saw it in anger was when I first logged on. It is really intuitive and there are tons of reports already set up - this meant that I found a potential error in our network permissions setup within minutes of logging on, which once resolved I think will improve performance enough for our users that the time saved will pay for ADAudit Plus within weeks. Amazed!

Cons

Nothing so far, although the breadth and depth of reports available is pretty daunting at first.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

An effective solution for auditing AD and file server activities

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

ADAudit Plus ensures computer security and compliance for us since we use Active Directory servers. It provides us with an audit trail detailing any changes made by our technicians to the configuration or content of the server so we can stay secure and detect any malicious behavior. It also helps us to know what steps to take in the event that some changes bring about a negative effect.

Cons

There’s so much information that gets created as a result of the auditing function and sometimes finding the right and accurate report requires going through quite a bit of data to get the exact one you’re looking for. But no tool is really perfect, and this one has some good things to offer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Mohsin M.

Life Saver if you have a complex file server

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/17
Review Source: Capterra

We have a very complex file server where alot of file movement happenes every minute. and wihout it made the tracking of a file very difficult.

Pros

the simplicity and detailed file audit.
we now have a fully audited file system, who access a file and when.

Cons

it takes a bit of getting used to but once the basics out the way, the software works a treat

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

You can get all kinds of reports with this product in the active directory environment.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/19
Review Source: Capterra

It has a particularly user-friendly interface and simple to use. It includes reports of users of groups and other objects of Active Directory in detail. An Active Directory-specific SIEM tool. With this product, you can store your data for years with the archiving mechanism.

Pros

It has a particularly user-friendly interface and simple to use. The alarm can be generated when the log is in accordance with the conditions determined on the application.

Cons

The quality of the support team is insufficient to solve problems of the product and quickly shut down calls.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Renesh G.

Really Useful

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/06/27
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience is great as it allows me to determine what changes were made in the domain and by who at any time.

Pros

The ability to track everything that’s going on in my domain and who actually made changes in the domain.

Cons

There is a lot of options and sometimes it’s hard to find what you need if never used before.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Could be better...

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/05
Review Source: Capterra

It was something that I inherited when I started with my current company. It's decent, but I'm probably going to move to something that's a little more robust and easier to upgrade.

Pros

I like the amount of data that ADAudit Plus can gather. It can pull your file server auditing, your domain controller auditing, and a whole host of other things. You can also setup alerting on specific events that makes it easy to see what's happening with your servers.

Cons

The upgrade process is the worst thing I've ever seen in a software product. You have to put your build number into the support website, download a major upgrade, install that, and then download a service pack, and install that. It doesn't sound so bad, but the upgrade process itself is dependent on this antiquated process that uses a batch file and a Java utility. It fails more often than not and the upgrade instructions listed on ManageEngine's website has inaccurate data (lists the wrong batch files to use, etc).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Very Informative Auditing Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/05
Review Source: Capterra

Windows user auditing is a breeze with ADAudit.

Pros

Ease of use
Easy to navigate interface
Filters galore

Cons

No real cons to mention.
Filters could be a bit much to an inexperienced user.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Great product for security reports

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/14
Review Source: Capterra

Good insight into file and account history.

Pros

Fast, many predefined reports. Easy to set up, updates are comming quite often, fixing bugs and adding new functionality. Very good support.

Cons

The price is too high, we were using logging only for 2 domain controllers and 2 file servers, but that was too expensive in comparision to functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Arif E.

Just new to it, however it is designed effectively and one can understand it in short time.

Reviewed on 2018/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

i was able to generate many reports like, Most access files, most modified files, Most access by process , Most access bu users, files accessed after the days mentioned one wanted and modified.
moreover we can do file analysis like old files, Stale files, Unmodified files, Large files, Hidden files, etc.

Pros

Creating alerts as per ones requirement is the best feature like ransomware, of this app, one can get information on any change that is made in files or folders. able to check the files that aren't used since long and many more beautiful features one can achieve if configure effectively based on ones company requirement.

Cons

Forums not available , could be it is new in the market. well hope down the line the user would increase and a forum will be created that would help to get the solution and troubleshoot when and then needed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
David C.

Get the job done; overall a good product

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Reporting is pro as long as your AD infrastructure is working properly! Helps address security holes you might otherwise miss with day to day operations!

Cons

Reporting is a pro and a con with accuracy. Doesn't always read every attribute correctly but nothing is always 100%

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

Easy solution to our logging requirements.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Its quite simple to setup on the domain, we have a number of domain controllers and it connected to all of these just fine.

Cons

Some of the reports require some tweaking to get them working correctly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Martin J.

Helps to track password issues

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

You can track active directory lockouts and find details of the lockouts. Has a good splash page that you can edit with different graphs.

Cons

Can be a bit clunky when trying to find search. Would be easier if you could quickly search by user.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Ryan S.

AD Audit is very affordable way to get insight into both AD activities and File server activities

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/05/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Affordable and easy to use. It gathers a ton of useful information for internal audit support for SOX.

Cons

Breaks often, you need to keep an eye on it that it does not stop running if your relying on the data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Always Registering and Alerting about Changes In AD

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/09
Review Source: Capterra

ADAudit Plus has helped us to fulfill a requirement: monitor our AD for changes with respect to security settings.

Pros

The software is always active, registering changes in Active Directory and can alert you about them. For instance, we get notifications when an account is added, changed or has gained privileged access. This makes it easier to be 'on top' of security events.

Cons

The software's update procedure is error prone. It runs in Java and not all updates are succesful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
David S.

AD Audit reports at our finger tips!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We are now able to access very granular reports on all aspects of Active Directory auditing. Prior methodology, before AD Audit Plus was very laborious.

Cons

We would like to have application high-availability where the AD Audit Plus service fails on a primary server, then the service automatically starts on a standby server.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Verified Reviewer

Need to track your Active Directory? That's an option!

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/26
Review Source: Capterra

Found what i needed about an unauthorized access.

Pros

Easily keep track of your active directory. Centralize the discovery of events in your environment. Find who did what in a really fast time

Cons

Despite know the ADManager is for the present and ADAudit is for the past, i still think they could be a single tool, with licensing options to one or the other.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Brandon M.

A platform that will unlock every secret of your AD Domain, if you can find it.

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/02
Review Source: Capterra

It is a cost effective tool for monitoring everything in your AD environment.

Pros

This software monitors every aspect of your AD environment, and can even monitor file shares, member, servers, and desktops as well. Any piece of data or information you would need to know is there.

Cons

However, it can be sometimes very hard to find. There is a huge amount of data to sort through, and many reports to look through to find what you are looking for.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10