42 reviews

ProLaw

Legal business management solution

3,7 /5 (42 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

3,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
64%
recommended this app
42 reviews
Brandie T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Prolaw was wonderful, but then they UPGRADED now it runs slow and doesn't play well with the...

Reviewed on 2017/06/15

Earlier versions of Prolaw were great - - before their latest updates. Now it it really a pain there are functions that require you to basically -- go around the block to cross the street!

Pros

online file management program is awesome. just like having a paper file with everything in its place.

Cons

Following their latest updates, it is slow to start and causes other programs to freeze up or not work at all. By other programs, I mean things you need, like Word and Outlook

Tanya F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great workflow, docketing and document management for law firms!

Reviewed on 2015/11/24

Pros

In comparison to programs like World Docs & Perfect Practice, ProLaw offered many additional workflow and tracking features that allowed me to adapt a high volume law firm's ever-changing practices and procedures. This is a full case management system where case notes, tracking, tasking, document storage, billing and timekeeping is all-in-one. My regional client representative at ProLaw treated me like a VIP and was always on call to help get me answers to any new challenges in customizing the system.

Cons

The reporting mechanisms were not the best, and it always took some work to convert data into an Excel format that worked for our staff. Sometimes IT tech support at ProLaw delayed their responses to helpdesk tickets.

Autumn B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Complex but Comprehensive

Reviewed on 2020/04/07

I used it for 4 years and then because it was so difficult, I went with a more user friendly system.

Pros

The best thing about prolaw was the ability to link client files on one main server that can be accessed by multiple users. I like that the addresses and CMS were easily used to mail merge and to do newsletters.The invoicing was also super easy to use and you are able to capture billable time easily.

Cons

It did not play well with others like Word, Excell and Outlook. I had a very difficult time transferring the files over to a new system and the customer service was very poor.

Kate H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ProLaw Review

Reviewed on 2017/08/18

This is the best law firm accounting package available on the market, in my opinion

Pros

This program combines all features needed for timekeeping and billing and report management and it integrates with its other programs such as accounting

Cons

Because it is such a sophisticated program it can be difficult to learn but the installation support/training team is excellent, responsive and supportive

Melissa P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Decent software, but you pay for french pastry and get a glorified Twinkie

Reviewed on 2019/05/13

I used ProLaw when I worked for a real estate firm for foreclosure litigation. It did the job, just not as efficient as other programs.

Pros

ProLaw is not terribly difficult to use. There are a lot of customizable fields and it stores a good bit of information. It doesn't require a lot of training and is for the most part intuitive. Also, many of the quirks/bugs can easily be fixed.

Cons

ProLaw is one of the pricier programs out there and as I mentioned above, there are quirks/bugs such as reports having different fonts, lost headers and spacing issues. To me, it is a bit clunky looking. While some people love this setup, I prefer a more streamline program without the information overload.

Susana V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

OK PROGRAM

Reviewed on 2019/01/28

Pros

Our office is used to it, so we have learned to use it. Calendaring functions are good and they syncs with Microsoft outlook which is very good.

Cons

It crashes a lot when searching docs. If the query is not specific enough it crashes m.

Susana V.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

earlier versions of ProLaw were better

Reviewed on 2018/06/11

organization and document review and management.

Pros

Very intuitive and easy to use and navigate. It feels like having the actual paper file with all the tabs and documents.

Cons

It is low and freezes a lot. I am not sure if it has to do with my system, but it is a little slow.

Mary T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ProLaw

Reviewed on 2019/03/26

Pros

The ease and ability to pull documents and calendars into one program.

Cons

It's a little bit confusing and rather hard to learn.

Bob R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

user friendly

Reviewed on 2018/07/07

Pros

very user friendly, makes it easy to learn and integrates well with all other programs that we currently use

Cons

tech support can be tricky to get ahold of, they like to go around the problem instead of getting right to the point of helping

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Judiciary
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

prolaw

Reviewed on 2019/08/06

Pros

-I like that it syncs and imports well with outlook, word, excel, dictation software.
- It generates documents and auto populates, which saves me a significant amount of time
- The document can be used by the entire firm and everyone can have access to the documents at the same time
- billing is easy to use and is build into the program

Cons

- it is very slow and can sometimes freeze. This happens when I have too many cases open, which is understandable, but it can get annoying
-the ability to make personalized documents can be frustrating because it often takes too long
-I find that I sometimes get locked out of the billing feature when I don't use it for a long time.
-billing descriptors are limited so you have to generalize to find what fits

Allison S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

all encompassing - server based Prolaw - purchased in 2003 for $10,000

Reviewed on 2020/06/17

I loved it - it is difficult to use - but it is highly data driven and every penny of the accounting is at your fingertips. No QB needed.

Pros

this is the only system with full accounting at the time it was purchased circa 2003, at the time - that was a big deal. The system was purchased out right and lived on the server.

Cons

it was server based - so nobody could login remotely without VPN- that is a silly inconvenience at this point in 2020

Dawn M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Honest review by long-timer user

Reviewed on 2020/09/20

Pros

The file management is the best part about this software.

Cons

Too many to list: tiny font, each additional feature is an upgrade in cost, limited reporting, customer service is a nightmare!

Terri S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Less Paper - Law Firm

Reviewed on 2019/11/20

As the title says - - - less paper!

Pros

Our firm uses this product as a true practice management tool. We use front and back office modules. ProLaw has allowed us to be an almost paperless law firm. Everything goes into ProLaw and we have true digital files/matters. We recently went through an audit with one of our clients and were able to provide limited access to the client. They loved ProLaw! I spent 15 - 20 training them on how to access documents and they had no problems going forward.

Cons

There are some features that need some work, but in comparison to other programs it is still the best practice/document/billing management program going for law firms.

Ambyr S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes my job easier

Reviewed on 2020/12/24

Pros

Love how it auto populates my documents and keeps my matters all in one place.

Cons

Sometimes there are difficulties transferring documents from my desktop to pro law

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very expensive product for larger law firms

Reviewed on 2018/03/06

Pros

It allows a larger firm to management documents effectively and efficiently. The platform is also very easy to use

Cons

The expense of this product makes one search for other solutions. It is on the verge of unaffordable regardless of how much the firm produces

Sheena T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Worth Every Penny

Reviewed on 2020/12/28

Pros

The all inclusiveness of this program makes front and back of office management a breeze.

Cons

It is spendy, but well worth every penny.

Lysa S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Prolaw Review

Reviewed on 2016/05/12

Pros

The product is an all in one solution which makes my job easier

Cons

Training - The online courses have terrible moderators

Amy L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I've used Prolaw since '99

Reviewed on 2020/08/08

I have used Prolaw for over 20 years. In the beginning (pre-West), it was the most amazing product on the market with the most amazing customer service, for small to mid-sized firms. West ruined that. I have nothing against West generally. I just have over 20 years of first-hand knowledge of how West negatively affecting this otherwise amazing product.

Pros

Everything. Prolaw does it all. The accounting function is the best I have seen, better than QBs, CosmoLex, etc. The front office functionality is so robust I wouldn't even know where to start. You own it the software license which is a huge advantage to monthly subscriptions. You don't have to upgrade if you don't want to, no monthly fees, I stopped paying the annual fee after a few years because it wasn't worth it. Just pay the upgrade fee if and when you ever need to upgrade.

Cons

Since purchased by West a while ago, the customer service has become non-existent, in all honesty it is a detraction. Your IT people will have to train West's IT people. They will likely sell you the wrong version initially, etc. If you are a new user, a migrating user, just expect to have lots of headaches in the beginning. But once you master the software, it is worth it!

Darrington B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great vision for a converged legal platform, but clearly under-resourced

Reviewed on 2019/11/22

We need a unified platform for all data entry and consumption that understands the legal business. ProLaw does that well. It allows us to maintain a high standard of data integrity, provide a large degree of automation, and develop solutions on top of a central "hub" that everyone understands.

The vision is great, the implementation is not so great. The people are great, the company is not so great.
If you have good IT support, It's great. If not, well...

Pros

Centralized data management is very powerful. No other solution provides CMS, DMS, Document Assembly, Calendaring, Routing, Cost Management, Accounting, Billing/Collections, and Groupware Integration all in one platform.

ProLaw allows us to have all front office and back office work in one system. Reducing the need for duplication of effort, and reducing the possible errors caused by that effort.

ProLaw is that it gives us the choice to remain on-premises (or in private cloud) meaning we maintain 100% control over our clients data. Are not held hostage by all the problems inherent with software-as-a-service solutions.

Importantly, ProLaw leverages a modern and accessible technology stack. That is very important for customization and integration. I can do what I need, When I need it, and I am not stuck relying on a proprietary support structure to get results.

Importantly, ProLaw leverages a modern and accessible technology stack. That is very important for customization and integration. I can do what I need, When I need it, and I am not stuck relying on a proprietary support structure to get results.

The Staff at ProLaw is friendly and helpful. They share an enthusiasm for the vision and work hard to deliver the best product possible. They always go out of their way to help achieve customer goals.

Cons

ProLaw is clearly under-resourced, Implementation is buggy and upgrades are a nightmare. While individual Customer service is fantastic, there is a lack of modern support such as self service installers, 64-bit applications, and proper quality assurance.

ProLaw can be slow, clunky, and just feels out of date. Controls have no real business validation, As one attorney said, "It looks like something we worked on in collage", referring to the events tree and the clunky custom tabs.

There is a real problem with policy over practice at ProLaw. Any deviation from Standard Operating Procedure is a nightmare. this causes almost every interaction to begin on the wrong foot, and long complicated interactions to be a nightmare for all parties involved. There is clearly problem with leadership which causes a strict adherence to an ineffective set of policies.

Off-shore outsourcing of Professional Services.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

All in one gets the job done

Reviewed on 2019/11/22

We remain with ProLaw because it is highly customizable and offers the best value for a firm our size. We continue to exploit every feature it offers, sometimes even beyond that for which it was designed.

Pros

The best feature of ProLaw is only having to learn one program. We use it for our document management, case management and deadline management. That translates into a time savings and shorter learning curve for new hires since we are only training on one piece of software.

Cons

It is buggy, you have to live with the bugs for years until you can determine that the newest release of the product has been thoroughly vetted before adopting it to solve old issues. When updates come out there are invariably new bugs introduced.

Melissa P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Useful but not intuitive or user friendly

Reviewed on 2019/01/31

I no longer use this software and here they have improved, but it would take a lot for me to want to give them another try.

Pros

It has a good bit of automation built in, and they are working to add more. Inputting information is fairly easy and reviewing notes is takes no effort at all. It is great for a firm that deal with fewer, more complex matters.

Cons

The system is a bit clunky. They lag behind some of their competitors in functionality and ease of use. Merging documents can be done, but it is a process. Also, updates often come with bugs.

Johnston C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

No software is perfect, but there are a few things with ProLaw that should be addressed more...

Reviewed on 2019/11/19

Pros

1) Easy to use and understand the flow of data (but see con #1)
2) General customer support has good turn around times (but see con #4)
3) Ability to write your own MSSRS reports (if you know SQL programming language! NOT easy to learn)

Cons

I should pre-phrase this by saying that we are on an older version of ProLaw.
1) Regularly has hiccups where we have to shut it down and reopen it to make it work properly - for simple things like invoice postings. (May be fixed on newer version)
2) Has problems that can't be fixed so we have to come up with some workaround such as comparison reports and then from those results making manual journal entries. (May be fixed on newer version)
3) Background tables get out of sync more often than we'd like requiring contact with Customer Support to fix (I'm told is fixed on a newer version)
4) Simple changes to reports are now "billable services" so it can get expensive. (Unlikely to be different on the newer versions)
4) Font size is too small for some users and is unchangeable (No changes on newer version)
5) Customer Support sometimes doesn't know how to fix problem, so it's a try this, try that scenario which is time consuming and annoying. Sometimes it fixes the problem, sometimes it doesn't.

Marc N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Stay Current

Reviewed on 2019/11/15

Very happy during the initial decade.......now on the verge of discontinuing our use and changing vendors. Will decide in the next 6 months if we're leaving ProLaw.

Pros

Ease of use for most features. Front office much better than back office.

Cons

ProLaw is not staying current with programming for electronic billing. Larger institutions are migrating to LEDES format and ProLaw is way behind in its programming for same. Users should not have to subscribe to eBilling to accommodate these invoicing requirements. Very disappointed and on the cusp of changing software providers. Please get up to speed!

Kate W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Haven't found anything better

Reviewed on 2020/01/17

We haven't found a better solution for our law firm needs, although we always look at new options.

Pros

Prolaw is the gold standard for law firm management and document generation. The front end is user friendly and easy to navigate.

Cons

The back end is a little tricky. Setting up the document generators is difficult and not always easy to edit. It also times out a lot and loses connection.

Michelle H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Customer for 20 years

Reviewed on 2019/11/15

I felt the sales team was unresponsive regarding installation. However, the sales rep we have now is excellent and very responsive.

Pros

Easy to use. Can be modified easily for our specific needs.

Cons

After purchasing the mobile version that would work on an IPad, we were told that it would not include custom tabs. Our use of custom tabs is very important. That purchase was a waste of money for us.