21 reviews

Legal Files

Legal case and matter management software

4,6 /5 (21 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
90%
recommended this app
21 reviews
Debbie R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Dedicated user since June 2011 and familiar with the software since 2007.

Reviewed on 2015/10/23

Pros: Immediate access to documents by any assigned user (in or out of the office). Our office is trying (and succeeding) to go paperless, so LF allows us to do so the majority of the time. The ease of closing a file in LF is both time-saving and money-saving with off-site storage fees eliminated for 90% of our files.

Cons: Would very much like to see improvements in indexing methods (electronic tabbing, if you will) for final/executed documents when there are multiples; i.e., real estate closings (sales, deeds, affidavits, etc.) or litigation (pleadings, briefs, etc.).
I need to remind myself to get up from my desk now that we have Legal Files, because everything is at my fingertips at the touch of the keyboard - no need to go to the filing cabinet, etc.

Deborah K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use & does everything we need

Reviewed on 2015/08/17

We've been using Legal Files for many years, and even the new staff members take to it quickly. It handles any type of case. I am a law firm administrator and so what I like about it personally is that I can customize it myself. Our lawyers really like that they can access Legal Files from anywhere and are crazy about the iPad app. And, we all love the fact that we can save email directly to case files.

Katie W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Legal Files in Corporate Legal Dept

Reviewed on 2015/10/22

I have no complaints with the system--easiest way to store files of all types.

Lanny S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent, Simple Solution

Reviewed on 2015/10/27

Legal Files is a great solution and the service is excellent.

Meredith S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Works well with a small firm

Reviewed on 2018/12/05

Pros

Easy to use and navigate for a solo firm

Cons

Little bit complicated initially learning the software

Jillian P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Legal Files

Reviewed on 2019/01/29

Pros

the new web based platform is easy to use and works anywhere.

Cons

In the web based version you can't open multiple windows at once.

Estela H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Legal Files Review

Reviewed on 2019/09/19

The organization of Legal Files is outstanding.

Pros

It is user friendly, easy to learn. You can totally go paperless with this software which saves you money and time.

Cons

When transferring information from one file to another, it is difficult to transfer emails, you have to do them 1 at a time which is time consuming. It would be very nice if LF can figure out a way to be able to transfer a bulk of emails at a time. Thank you.

L. eowyn P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

MEH

Reviewed on 2019/11/01

IT GOT US THROUGH UNTIL WE FOUND SOMETHING BETTER.

Pros

IT WAS KIND OF MEDIOCRE FOR EVERYTHING. IT SYNCED WELL WITH MICROSOFT OFFICE PRODUCTS AND ADOBE ACROBAT.

Cons

SO DIFFICULT TO LEARN/USE (I AM PRETTY TECH SAVVY). TERRIBLE REPORTING.

Response from Legal Files Software

Thank you for being a customer of Legal Files for 10 years. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was less than satisfactory. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you personally to address any issues that we may be able to rectify.

We value our partnerships with our customers and aim to provide top-notch customer service. We provide training services at the outset of every relationship and encourage refresher courses. The members of our training and project management teams offer more than a decade of experience with the company. Each individual welcomes the opportunity to help customize the software to our customer's needs.

We wish your law firm success moving forward. We thank you for your feedback and will take your comments into consideration as we further refine our product for the tens of thousands of users who benefit from using Legal Files on a daily basis.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

if you have a legal practice... you need to try this software

Reviewed on 2019/03/25

Pros

what I like the most about this software is that it facilitates our teamwork at the office because every document of every case we handle is available to everyone in the office so you don´t need to send them anything, they just need to get use to the software.

Cons

At the beggining it was not easy to understand all the features of the software but as everything it was just about time to get used to it.

Zia I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

You will not find another product in the market to track your audit/legal needs

Reviewed on 2017/09/05

Our Corporate Compliance uses this app for corporate compliance issue tracking/matter management

Pros

1. It runs on multiple DBs
2. Customer Service is great
3. On site Training is included
4. Easy to learn and use
5. It is error free once installed.

Cons

1. User Interface is a little oldish and although can be easily assimilated & understood, is not 21st century
2. Every installation is customized. So IT needs some time to devote to it. But once installed, there are no errors or usage issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very functional program for small to medium sized law firms

Reviewed on 2019/04/08

Pros

Outlook integration is key. Additionally, I found Legal Files did not overwhelm the user, which makes it perfect for small to medium sized law firms. Larger law firms may want more complex feeling programs.

Cons

I found functionality was not consistent across the various forms of the platform (i.e. web vs PC)

Brett S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great software and great service

Reviewed on 2015/10/22

I have worked with Legal Files software at two different companies now. I find it to be easy to use and very good for keeping our documents and matters organized. The integration with Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Word, and Adobe Acrobat is seamless. In addition, whenever I have had occasion to work with their trainers and customer service personnel, they have been very knowledgeable and helpful. I highly recommend Legal Files.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good software for law firms

Reviewed on 2018/09/13

Pros

The features that connect the software to Outlook are very useful.

Cons

Not everything is very intuitive about the software. Less experienced computer users have a hard time with it.

Angela D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Program

Reviewed on 2016/11/30

We have had Legal Files since 1999 and I can't imagine how I would have been able to accomplish all that I do in any given day without Legal Files. It has helped us tremendously to work as one unit even though we are in 22 offices. As a manager, not always on the scene, it is detrimental for me to be able to access any information I need and it lets me do that without being in the office.

Steven T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Legal Files has provided a valuable tool for our agency

Reviewed on 2020/09/29

Leal Files as a product and the customer support has been excellent.

Pros

The functions including the drop box from Outlook

Cons

documents are not arranged chronologically so it is difficult to find the most recent version.

Paula P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great for case managment

Reviewed on 2015/10/24

Legal Files is a great application for keeping your case files in order. All emails, documents and notes are stored in one place making the job easier and helping the user stay organized.

Michal L.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Does Everything, But at a Cost

Reviewed on 2017/02/06

Legal Files is definitely extremely capable software. It is very field-dense, allowing users to keep track of an extremely large amount of data. It does almost everything a law firm needs to have done by practice management software. However, Legal Files needs to be set up correctly to get the maximum benefit of the features. This requires paying the Legal Files support staff (likely) or having someone in-house who knows or can quickly learn the software well enough to do set up (not likely). Firms must also be willing to put in the time necessary to learn the software to get the benefit of the many features. Firms without a culture of innovation may struggle to learn Legal Files well enough to use the features for which they purchased it. Additionally, Legal Files is not cheap software. I do not think it is overpriced for what you get, but it does require a substantial up-front investment for software, training, support (billed separately every year), and either an in-house or virtual server. The fact it is server based makes it less adaptable as firm size fluctuates than cloud-based software.

Kay E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Legal Files Review

Reviewed on 2016/11/30

A Legal Files Administrator/User/Trainer since 2010 for the Client/Server product.
Would like additional report writing capabilities.

Pros

The groupware concept

Cons

Limited standard reports

James c. D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Useful put clunky

Reviewed on 2021/01/07

Overall it gets the job done, providing essential filing services that can be shared across users and permits a variety of important controls.

Pros

Many features of this software are useful to the practice of law. It loads documents, tracks clients, tallies hours and more.

Cons

However, it is not intuitive and requires significant amount of time to learn the system compared to other software. The interface is also a bit dated, looking like something from Windows XP rather than modern day softward.

Susana V.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Everything done.

Reviewed on 2018/07/24

Pros

Extremely useful in the legal field. It takes time to learn how to use it, but once you get the hang of it it's amazing. The reminders are excellent and you can send reminders to others.

Cons

Learning curve. However, you need to think of it as a paper file with the different tabs . It takes some time to learn how to use it but it's great.

Shirley taft O.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Positive transformation!

Reviewed on 2016/05/05

Legal Files became a vital part of our civil defense team. It transformed our practice, and provided an efficient means to meet the needs of complex litigation cases. We appreciate that it is completely customizable, and continues to meet the changing needs of our firm.