339 reviews

OutSystems

Build Enterprise-Grade Apps Fast

4,6 /5 (339 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
97%
recommended this app
339 reviews
Lucas V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Low Code platform out there

Reviewed on 2020/08/18

Despite the pricing category, OutSystems get the job done in a oustanding way, It's really a fun and intuitive way to get your heads into programming.

Pros

What make us choose OutSystems was it's simplicity and the speed up, when you are developing new projects. The ability to use the same base code for both mobile platforms was a big thumbs up too. We also contacted a indenpendent code review company to check the generated code base and they liked what they saw, it's generated with good pratices and putting the performance in the right place.

Cons

Definatelly it's cost. It's a very expansive platform and it's only suited for big companies. They offer a free option but it's just for test purposes.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Suficient

Reviewed on 2018/11/07

We are using Outsystems to create insurance related apps.

Pros

You can build basic sw in little time

SoC is easy to implement

Easy to monitor issues

Cons

Search functionality isn't user friendly

It "crashes" too many times, specially when detaching eSpace tabs(originating another instance of outsystems)

Has the number of components grow inside, lets say an action, the "messier" looks

Floris H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good system but not perfect yet

Reviewed on 2019/10/30

Good learning curve, the mobile part is evolving rapidly.

Pros

1.Ease of use, tutorials and learningpaths, mobile part, it resemblance coding more than for instance Mendix which makes the transition back and forth more easy with OutSystems, when coming or want to go to real coding.
2.You can educate people faster to become a developer, but still finding the right person with surten qualities is important, not for everyone, but low coding definitely enlarges possibilities in finding personnel.
3. Mobile part becomes better and easier works charming and straight forward.

Cons

The pricing which makes it impossible as a small entrepreneur (enterprise focused pricing) to afford it or start your own business as a developer with it. For me that's very important, because if possible i could build some useful/ profitable things in my leisure time for my future, which will improve my motivation to become better and pays off at work as well. The free account deletes your DB after 2 weeks which makes practicing building big things a pain. This is a big deal for me personally. To be honest many low coding platforms miss out on this part and often lack focus on small businesses making it purely for big companies.
Further there should be a possibility to work locally when in developing mode so you are not dependent on internet. Other than that and also this count for every low coding framework at the moment I would personally be scared to get locked in, cause you never know how prices are evolving, but again that counts for all as we speak and until now OutSystems didn't do a bad job in this perspective and they wouldn't wanna loose clients and been reliable in my experience. I hope low coding frameworks in general will create possibilities to buy off compiled code in the future making the locked in possibility no argument no more.

Ritchie A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A really slick RAD tools with some particular strengths

Reviewed on 2016/11/17

I've actually had occasion to make RAD-style tools in the far-flung past. This is the sort of platform I would have made if I could.

Some of the initial steps are a little harder than you would expect, but once you are used to where everything lives, it's easy to find it again.

Coding is done via flowcharts, and these are pretty easy to use, not to mention fairly easy to use straight up as diagrams to show other people what's going on.

OutSystems is pretty good for only showing you matching options, e.g. if you need a date, it will show you everything local with a date and important functions, like the current date. If you adopt certain naming conventions, OutSystems will fill in the type for you: IsSuccess will become Boolean on account of the "Is" part. JobEntryId will become a Job Entry Identifier.

Database design is extremely easy, just add, adjust and publish in a tree or diagram and migrations are automatic, though when you remove things, it won't remove them from the database automatically.

Using the databases is even easier. Drag and drop the columns, join whatever is not automatically joined, add sorting and filters and OutSystems will try to choose a sample of your data. This sample can be changed by changing the test value, e.g. let's see UserId = worker1.

There's a "business processes" that looks strongly inspired by BPMN 2.0, though it is not identical. These can be used for long-term states or even just simple asynchronous programming.

The web interface side of things is pretty slick, though it can be quite ornery about exact placement. I would recommend using the widget tree view instead when this happens to avoid frustration. There is some pretty good support for Responsive Web Design, especially if you choose a theme designed to show on many devices.

If you are missing some functionality, one option that is available is to make extensions. I've made a few of these. The programming side is a bit esoteric , and there are some odd holes (can use a list of records but not a list) but it's pretty good once you get the hang of it.

A few complaints or improvement opportunities: it would be nice if it was a bit more object-oriented. Built-in tools for data migration, especially between Development, Testing and Production, would be most welcome. I also found myself desperately wishing for a try...finally construct. Java versions of components are a bit neglected.

It's been very, very productive all said.

Pros

The hard things made easy - the BPMN capability, the tree editing and republishing of data entities, the Responsive Web design. Also, the fairly intelligent guessing about properties, the rather speedy resolution/propagation of name changes, deletions, etc. The monitoring software is pretty good.

Cons

If you're developing an extension, it's a four-step manual publishing process to update. No try..finally. The licensing model per certain kind of object encourages bad coding to try to save costs. The visual editor for interfaces goes crazy far too often, making the widget tree the only consistent way to edit them. The lack of built-in data migration is my biggest sticking point right now.

Esther P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Development Game Changer

Reviewed on 2016/09/01

The business landscape has rapidly moved to digital operations. To be successful your business
needs not just to be resilient, but also to embrace a resilient culture. The technology that supports business operations should be agile enough to embrace the continuous changing market landscape and enable business to move at the speed of change. The Outsystems platform reduces development time by up to 75% and accelerate time-to-market by a factor of
three. This provided our organization to cost effectively implement locally developed solutions and other businesses in a significant shortened time. Our main focus is now more on the user interface and interaction, which provides the value expected.

Pros

The speed to develop and making changes to applications developed
Development is done logically with very limited hard coding
Ease to develop mobile applications and submissions to the app stores
Ease to use the native features of devices
Built in change management and control of the development and release process with a one-click publish feature
Built in security features in the platform
Excellent support and community forums
Technical aspects very well documented and user friendly
The true change and debugging features are invaluable
Notification and guidance on dependencies for changes made to modules
Cloud hosting option
The investment by Outsystems to provide annually new features, functionalities and keeping up to date with technology trends and providing their customers with the tools to easily stay abreast
Pre-build modules provided, which eliminates the need to develop commonly used functionality

Cons

Cost in South Africa is expensive due to weak currency and exchange rates
Difficult for developers used to hard coding to change their way of thinking to grasp how the platform works. However, this is not a flaw of the platform, but rather a change required in the mindset of traditional developers.

Ravi V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very Good Product. Very Fast Development.

Reviewed on 2017/02/17

This product is one of the best cutting edge tool in the market for Rapid Application Development. This product shines if you to want to create web applications or mobile applications in a fast paced manner. There is some learning curve involved if you want to do lot of customizations on the front end but back end business logic implementation should be a piece of cake with lot of training material (videos and documentation) available on outsystem.com

Pros

Rapid Web and Mobile Application Development. You can create a basic web application or mobile application within minutes. Managing Deployments has never been so easy. Managing security framework for an application has never been so easy. Managing environments infrastructure, Load balancing, Elasticity, DB setup and object creation has never been so easy. There are lots of good features that platform provides will definitely overcome some of the cons listed below.

Cons

Heavy customizations in cloud environment is not possible. For example if you want to enable CDC options or Full Text Search Options in SQL Server is not possible.

Justin J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Love to develop with OutSystems

Reviewed on 2016/03/16

I started using OutSystems in September of 2009. At the time, the learning curve was really high... few video tutorials, the community only had a couple of active members who were working for OutSystems, the Forge had a very limited number of components, etc. I gave it a shot on a personal project, and I was hooked. It just WORKED. Since then I've been involved in some of the biggest OutSystems customers (in terms of usage) and biggest projects (in terms of scope & size) out there, and I am still delighted with the product. It does exactly what I need it to do. It makes the easy stuff trivial and the hard stuff easier. It is not a perfect product (really, what is?) but it is the best way to write Web apps that I have tried.

Pros

It is easy to use and easy to learn. The visual logic layout simplifies development and troubleshooting, and allows the business team to participate at a lower level than traditional coding models. The entire team at OutSystems (and especially the support staff) are just really good, smart people who work hard to help their customers and users.

Cons

Some use cases are still hard to implement. The library of UI widgets still needs to grow. A native reporting solution is really needed. Automated test options are weak.

Response from OutSystems

Justin, thank you for taking the time to review OutSystems. It's great to have users like you in our community, using the product for so many years and helping it evolve and grow with new ideas and feedback. Keep it coming!

Miguel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Disruption

Reviewed on 2019/10/29

Pros

The ability to change the way we work in a quick way

Cons

the price; the ability to keep the team;

Kilian H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The best RAD and Agile tool on the market

Reviewed on 2016/03/17

Our company (a relatively small energy supplier in the Netherlands, less than 100 employees) has used the OutSystems Platform for over five years to solve almost all of its business needs. Sales, sourcing, CRM, billing and (e-)invoicing, intrabranch communications, the customer portal - it's all developed using the Platform, without any third party software (safe the software the Platform runs on). We work in an agile fashion with short delivery cycles, providing user benefits and company value every two weeks. This shows the versatility of the Platform in providing everything we need for RAD - both for new development and for maintenance.

Pros

Easy, intuitive IDE; easy deployment and maintenance; highly productive; easily scalable; free personal edition in the cloud; ever evolving, embracing new technologies fast, new major versions at least once a year, bugfix releases regularly; excellent support staff; active community.

Cons

Pretty hefty licence fees, not suitable for small businesses. Needs additional licences for the infrastructure it runs on (MSSQL or Oracle DB). Still limited design patterns for UI design (no problem for business software, limiting for creative minds).

Response from OutSystems

Kilian, thanks for taking the time to write this review. It's great to hear that you're using OutSystems for 5 years now, and delivering such a wide range of applications to support your business.

Jeroen B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great software tool to develop applications, with many new features to come!

Reviewed on 2019/10/30

I have been using OutSystems from August 20, this year (2019), a bit more than two months now.
The way the web courses train you to be an OutSystems developer have been great. In no-time I was put on different projects to start developing.

Pros

Creating applications with such ease, modifying and republishing all the way to production has never been more easy.

Cons

The transparency on the ideas that are supposedly 'on their watchlist', I would like some more information/insight on this.

Selwyn D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Developing without the frustation of traditional software environments

Reviewed on 2019/10/29

Very positive! Ive already build about 5 applications in it helping the business in every corner and there is more to come! With all the lighting fast development you have to be careful you dont lose track of the bigger picture and also make something that connects in that part.

Pros

You dont need to know all the ins and out about CI, CD, Or deep knowledge of old programming languages. If you are a programmer it all feels familiar straight away.

Cons

It can be quite expensive, and sometimes when there is performance issues with a lot of integrations it can be hard to proof that its not the outsystems platform thats lagging.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Development Tool

Reviewed on 2018/11/06

The experience has been very good since it allows developers to meet customer requirements faster focusing on the business requirements instead of the "wasting" time on technical details.

Pros

Speed of development.
Time to Market.
Speed on translation customer requirements into code.
Allows the developers to implement and develop skills in less time.

Cons

Unit testing can be improved.
Automated testing is not yet mature.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Outsystems Review

Reviewed on 2019/10/03

We are creating software for business users that is replacing legacy systems in a much shorter time frame. The ability to drag and drop features is very helpful as is the Forge repository to add functionality.

Pros

Drag and drop ability and can write extensions in C#.

Cons

Hard to upgrade to newer product releases

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Out-standing-Systems

Reviewed on 2019/10/29

Very enjoyable. The software is great to use and the support from OutSystems is very thorough and beneficial.

Pros

Allows you to make apps in a relatively short space of time that are efficient and functional while looking great.

Cons

There is a slight learning curve at the beginning getting used to the terms and how everything links together.

Thomas S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Outsystems FTW

Reviewed on 2018/10/09

We are revamping our big monolith to serveral little apps. We already finished the rework of our invoicing, booking of those invoices and a fuel card managment system. the product looked better, feels smoother and the UX went trough the roof

Pros

Debugging, fast deployment, very fast MVP

Cons

nothing actually. ive worked with ORACLE, .net, java and cam sum a lot of there cons. but outsystems is different

Huarlem L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Thanking God for Outsystems

Reviewed on 2017/04/20

Pros

Outsytems has changed my life ... A developer working with this tool is always happy to see his work pay off every day. There is nothing better for your career than boss and happy customers.

Cons

I am unable to point out faults. A man in love can not see the faults of his beloved. I love Outsystems, the tool the company and the culture of people.

Daniel M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

OutSystems offers incredible functionality, ease of use, and speed of development with few...

Reviewed on 2019/10/03

My overall experience is very positive. OutSystems is powerful, fast, modular, maintainable, scalable, upgradable, and much more. Anything it doesn't do out of the box can be done through its extension mechanism.

Pros

I liked how OutSystems provides an incredible amount of functionality at your fingertips. It is incredibly easy to whip up a fully functional website within minutes. Customizing, deploying, maintaining, and upgrading is a piece of cake. Redesigning the look and feel is also pretty straightforward.

Cons

The difficulty with OutSystems is handling NULL values in external databases and in JSON. It also has no native support for dynamic nested data structures such as trees.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

OutSystems in companies

Reviewed on 2021/01/12

Pros

Due to the current context, I believe that the possibility of programming with greater agility is a great competitive advantage for companies and OutSystems provides this possibility.

Cons

I do not identify negative points in the use of OutSystems, as the company works to be in a process of continuous improvement and to be a pioneer in the sector.

Anthony E.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Superfast software development for linux and windows environment.

Reviewed on 2018/08/02

This helps our organization to produce software in short period of time.

Pros

I like the most in this software is this can be deployed to linux and windows environment. Another thing is the IDE. This has the best IDE for low-code solution software. Almost everthing you need is ready. The reuseability of projects components to other project is a bright idea.

Cons

the least i like with this software is the stack web design. This could be great if will be materialized UI.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Product and exceptional potential

Reviewed on 2018/09/25

Outsystems allowed me to become a highly valued developer to all the companies I helped in the past, and allowed me to make the difference by being able to react and implement things fast than I would otherwise do in traditional development.

Pros

Deployment management, code abstraction, monitoring tools

Cons

Licensing cost, lack of skills on the market

Cláudio O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Have your applications ready YESTERDAY!!

Reviewed on 2018/11/06

Already use it for more than 10 years, it change my life and way of working

Pros

Easy to use, speed to implement, easy to maintain, full monitoring, covers all lifecycle

Cons

Too expensive for small businesses, cheaper offers should be available and let the clients grow with the platform.

John S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Paper & Forest Products
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

OutSystems

Reviewed on 2019/10/03

OutSystems has been a solid platform of delivering mobile apps

Pros

This was the best low code mobile application solution for our company, it hit all the key objectives and devlivered a cost model that supported our use cases.

Cons

Training in North America needs to be scheduled more frequently.

Bruce J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Outsystems Cloud Review

Reviewed on 2019/10/03

The experience has been great. We have developed two externally facing portals for our clients. They have given us excellent support and really helped us achieve our goals.

Pros

Secure, feature rich, great support, great performance, easy to learn development environment.

Cons

It did not have a database connector for my database.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Most value from start

Reviewed on 2018/11/06

Pros

Easy of use and customer support. The community support is most valued. Most of features cover the user needs. Samples are most valued.

Cons

Some crash and instability. The external connectors are limited and have few support.

Duco B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

From idea to business recognised by the top 6 major oil companies in 12 months

Reviewed on 2018/11/06

As a CIO I am responsible for the implementation of IT systems for more than 20 years now. I worked a major corporate enterprise scale enterprises. The whole Outsystems experience was something unique in the positive sense of the word.

Pros

The agility, scalability and robusnesss is incredible.

Cons

The subscription price made us doubt whether to choose for Outsystems as they are priced relatively high to some alternative vendors.