105 reviews

Sumac

Manage Your Entire Nonprofit With a Single CRM!

4,3 /5 (105 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
4,2
Features
3,8
Ease of Use
4,1
Customer Support
4,7
90% recommended this app
105 reviews
Brian S.
Industry: Sports
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent Membership Management

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/12/03
Review Source: Capterra

Our organization consists of 50 clubs spread throughout the Province. Each club maintains their own data which is visible only to them and to the organizations head office. This allows for consistent reporting around the Province.
Implementing the system was completed within 3 months, including converting existing spread sheets and uploading them onto the database. Training was conducted in person and online. Sumac provided initial training for the Bowls BC Administrator.

Pros

The Sumac membership management system is flexible and easily customizable. Out of the box it can be used immediately but can also be tailored to specific requirements. The Cloud based database combined with its data security allows each clubs data to be maintained separately and securely.

Cons

It is sometimes difficult to load the software onto Mac computers. This mainly due to the Mac security system that is not always fully understood by the user. Loading the software onto a windows machine is very easy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Lois R.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management

We looked long and hard to find appropriate software.

Reviewed on 2015/06/26
Review Source: GetApp

We are a non-profit ministry and needed software that tracks donors/donations, accommodates product sales, tracks memberships and renewal dates, and handles event tracking. It is VERY CHALLENGING to find non-profit software for a mid sized organization that handles all of these functions. Sumac does all of this in addition to being a very affordable solution. Also, we needed rather extensive custom programming to handle some of our more specialized batch processing functions. Sumac did the custom programming for us. I think one of the most compelling reasons to use Sumac is their customer service and support. I have done business with a large number of software companies during my career and few if any have been as responsive to customer needs as Sumac.

Pros

If support is paramount, Sumac is a great choice.
Sumac covers a broad scope of functions, including donations, memberships, sales and events.
The software is very easy to use.
Built in import functions are very user friendly and very complete. Transferring data into Sumac from another system is not difficult and the error checking before import is very good.
Contact history is strong and allows drill downs into all the underlying documents.
Contact records allow the addition of extra user-defined tabs and fields which is a great asset.

Cons

Inventory tracking functionality could be more robust.
Mail merges currently allow links between contacts and one other view, such as donations, memberships, etc. It would be helpful if more than one additional view would be supported.
Reports could be improved, but this problem is easily resolved with a good report writer that links with an ODBC driver.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Greg W.

Sumac is a compact and powerful tool. Our challenge is developing internal skills to use it fully

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/14
Review Source: Capterra

Consolidation of our enrollment and donation systems. Capacity to communicate with students and donors online.

Pros

Ease of interface after basic orientation. Exportable data. Capacity to track giving, enrollment, volunteer roles, auction, etc. It integrates all of the different dimensions we need to manage for our student, supporter and partners.

Cons

To fully use Sumac requires a growing understanding of the tools and strategies you can use to extract information and access the data you need. Building this capacity inside an organization takes a focused and sustained effort. In other words - at times we wish Sumac was more intuitive but we realize its diversity of features is probably more important than its ease of use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Corissa H.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Sumac Nonprofit software is fabulous and very USER-FOCUSED!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/08
Review Source: Capterra

Money saved, and a whole lot of hassle and time saved!

Pros

They provide great customer service; regardless of whether you are a small or large nonprofit. Their software is very well organized and user-friendly. Their documentation and training are excellent and again, very user-focused.

Cons

Mail merging to Microsoft Word is not flawless. Sometimes we get errors, and many times spaces that follow mail merged values are deleted, which has caused problems in our donor letters. Sumac can't find a solution, so I plan to mail merge only to tab delimited text files in the future, and use the Microsoft Word built in mail merging, which works better anyway.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Beverly C.

Sumac is an affordable, customizable system for case management and reporting.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Sumac provides a customizable platform for managing our programs and services, tracking communications and case management. We are planning to expand our use and utilize more modules and expand our use of existing ones. The software is growing with us as we move a team into an online Case Management model after 30 years of pen and paper. We have set it up so we master uses one at a time and have eased the transition of staff. This has been a blessing as I have worked with other organizations that have lost staff as an out of the can software full of bugs was implemented with little room for transition.

While for some the customization may be a challenge the benefit is huge. If you do not have someone to work with to complete the customizations there is an affordable option available working with the Sumac team.

Cons

The email component does not allow for, (or I have not figured out how to), multiple emails, so we only use it for mass emails as the responses can only go to one address.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Mary A.

Intuitive isn't usually a word used with databases. It is with Sumac.

Reviewed on 2016/03/07
Review Source: Capterra

We are a small, non-profit, educational foundation based in Northern California. Prior to having Sumac, we maintained all our donor records in Quick Books and on Excel spreadsheets. Needless to say, that method made generating reports and extrapolating useful data a tedious task. Since installing Sumac, we operate so much more efficiently now. Multiple users at a time can access data in real time for quick answers to questions that would have normally taken hours, sometimes days, to get. Intuitive isn't usually a word used with databases. It is with Sumac. For the most part, almost anything you need to do on Sumac can be figured out due to it's user-friendly interface and design. And if you can't figure it out, there are hundreds of video tutorials that show you step-by-step how to get the task done. When a video tutorial just isn't enough, we call Sumac's technical support. They are OUTSTANDING. They are knowledgeable, friendly, patient and professional. It's so reassuring to know that if you need help, there is a live person available to walk you through what you need. SUMAC LISTENS TO YOU. Recently we discovered that we had many duplicate records in our database. Batching them together two-by-two to resolve the duplicates was taking a lot of our valuable time. We contacted Sumac to ask if there was a way that this process could be streamlined. Sumac worked on a fix and has now just updated their entire system to be able to accommodate resolving four records at once. Because of a suggestion we made, they rolled out an improvement that will now benefit all Sumac users. This type of boutique service is why we love Sumac and why we are grateful to have them on our team.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Dianne M.

We purchased Sumac to bring together numerous spreadsheets and software that we used to track data.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

So easy to customize! I am not computer savvy and I was easily able to customize fields for a variety of programs and services we offer.

Cons

I find I need help building specific searches but thankfully tech support is always there to help me out.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Lauro M.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent and good value for money

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Flexible and good value. It provides just the right structure yet flexible enough to customize for emerging needs.

Cons

Could use more ease of use features. WOuld love to have documents stored on individuals so that all users can access.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Allie H.

Customized Database

Reviewed on 2016/11/22
Review Source: Capterra

With hundreds of attendance records from various partners being submitted each year, Sumac allows us to store, sort, and report on all of this information with ease. Allowing this level of customization ensures that tracking of participation across the collaborative meets our exact needs, and lets us retrieve important data easily and accessibly.

PRO:
Customization: our non-profit is a collective of 8 partner organizations that each offer their own programming, but unite under one common collaborative. In this, we require our database to operate as 8 separate databases, with the ability for data to be tracked across all partners and programming. Sumac was able to construct a database for us that met this need, with fields customized to manage youth participants in exactly the way we need it. As our collaborative grows, Sumac has enabled our database to evolve with it, always finding creative solutions to meet our changing needs.

CON:
With such a complicated structure for our database, unfortunately it can be tricky to upload our data in the correct format. Files have to be meticulously formatted within a certain file type, and the set of steps from data gathering to completion is sometimes frustrating and unforgiving of minor errors. Again, this need for rigorous process is because of our operating such a complicated and layered database.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Kate L.

Sumac has made donor data management simple!

Reviewed on 2016/09/12
Review Source: Capterra

Prior to installing Sumac, our receipting system was disorganized and inefficient, which cost us time and led to some donors being unhappy with their experience. By harmonizing our receipting and donating process through the Sumac software, this aspect of our daily operations has become one of the simplest tasks of running our organization.

The installing process was a breeze, and the software runs smoothly on all of our Windows based computers. The program can seem overwhelming at first glance, but is actually very user friendly once you start exploring it. The search engine is particularly helpful, it allows you to locate donors and contacts very easily, which helps when searching a large database! We are also very happy with the technical support we have received from Sumac, any time we have had a question or concern they have bee there to help.

All in all, we would highly recommend Sumac to other charitable organizations for all of their donor database needs!

Pros

Technical support have been wonderful! The Sumac team actually customized a search option to cater to our organization alone.

Cons

Add-ons can be pricey for smaller organizations, however they are worth it if it's in your budget.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Joan W.

SUMAC has been a great tool in assisting us on managing our client information and donations.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is very user friendly and customizable. It is easy to add additional users and input information. Additionally, it is very cost effective for small not for profit.

Cons

The data merging process can be a bit complex depending on what function you are trying to perform. The feature could needs to be simplified.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Monica P.

Sumac - a great tool for non-profits!

Reviewed on 2014/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

As a non-for-profit artist-run centre, we use Sumac primarily for ticket sales, memberships and donations. It's an extremely powerful tool for data management, and has been essential to tracking our membership, customers and donors.

As a new user, I found that while the software wasn't always immediately easy to use, I found their customer service to be incredible, and always very friendly. Not only do they have great orientation videos, they have excellent customer service on the phone (very patient, friendly, and efficient). Since we had a changeover in our staff, they were able to give us a online training session to answer all our questions about functionality, and they gave us some great tips.

While we continue to refine how we use Sumac to best suit our organization, I feel more and more confident the more I use it. To have memberships, donations, and general communications all streamlined in one program makes life a lot easier, which makes a big difference in smaller organizations like ours.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Monica P.

Sumac - a great tool for non-profits!

Reviewed on 2014/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

As a non-for-profit artist-run centre, we use Sumac primarily for ticket sales, memberships and donations. It's an extremely powerful tool for data management, and has been essential to tracking our membership, customers and donors.

As a new user, I found that while the software wasn't always immediately easy to use, I found their customer service to be incredible, and always very friendly. Not only do they have great orientation videos, they have excellent customer service on the phone (very patient, friendly, and efficient). Since we had a changeover in our staff, they were able to give us a online training session to answer all our questions about functionality, and they gave us some great tips.

While we continue to refine how we use Sumac to best suit our organization, I feel more and more confident the more I use it. To have memberships, donations, and general communications all streamlined in one program makes life a lot easier, which makes a big difference in smaller organizations like ours.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Sheryl H.

love it!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

it is so intuitive, friendly and usable. I have no complaints about the software.

Cons

There is nothing about Sumac that I don't like. We have referred you to three other agencies and they now use it. We need a finder's fee!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Mark O.

Great customer service and software that is very cost effective.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Sumac offers great software that is cost-effective for a smaller non-profit. Their customer support is always helpful and quickly and patiently answer all of our questions. While we don't use all aspects of Sumac's software, there are many components that we would like to incorporate into our practice.

Cons

Up until now, we have only had a Silver membership which would have Sumac installed for one user on one computer. We are looking forward to upgrading which will allow us to use Sumac, when a colleague is using the computer where it was installed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Carol C.
Industry: Fine Art
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Even the easiest of functions are unnecessarily complicated.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/05/15
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Deeply frustrated with Sumac.

Cons

Sumac is anti-intuitive.Functions do not follow a logical sequence. There never seems to be a video for what I need to do. Support has never recommended a video. The remote support doesn't work. One has to manage the telephone and manage the computer at the same time, while trying to follow instructions. There must be a better way. People learn in different modes, Sumac provides only one. Watching someone complete the sequence is not the same as performing it for a kinesthetic learner.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

Gigi J.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Awesome program!

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/14
Review Source: Capterra

We went from using a variety of Excel sheets to keep track of donors and workshop alumni. It was a bit cumbersome. When we moved to Sumac, it became really easy to enter people, add them to an organization and then track donations, workshop attendance, etc. It's also pretty easy to pull up all of the information that we need and access it quickly.

Pros

It's so easy to use and we can customize it and add modules for our own purposes. Really intuitive and it doesn't take long to get comfortable with it.

Cons

We don't use some of the features often enough, so sometimes we have to relearn things - like doing a campaign.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Deb F.
Industry: Religious Institutions
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Sumac is not easy to use. There are to many steps to create thank yous.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/01/16
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I couls not reccomend this software.

Pros

The new reports are fine. The data entry is easy. I like that it is in the cloud. The telephone support is very helpful.

Cons

You can not export to excel. You cannot delete mistakes. You are not able to make custom reports, with name, address and donation amount.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Jeff M.

We love Sumac!!

Reviewed on 2013/11/07
Review Source: Capterra

Switching to Sumac has been one of the best decisions we have made as an organization. It has allowed us to gain better control of our information and do a much better job of connecting with our donors and volunteers. We love how easy it is to use and how quickly new staff members and administrative volunteers are able to learn to use Sumac effectively. This means a huge savings in the time and money related to training compared to other donor databases we have used. We loved Sumac when we started using and it just keeps getting better with every release. We can't say enough about how much we appreciate the responsiveness of the Sumac development team.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Tamara G.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

overall I am pleased with Sumac

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/08
Review Source: Capterra

it's a good way to track donors and volunteers and the exported reports are pretty good

Pros

it's pretty user friendly and it's easy to get used to even if you don't have database experience from prior use

Cons

sometimes the filters take awhile to load and it also takes awhile to log on but other than that no problem

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Elsa P.
Industry: Performing Arts
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great once you get the hang of it

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/04/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Software comes with loads of features including contact management, accounting, event management, and donor management.

Cons

Too difficult to access contacts, there didn't seem to be an easy way to find a group - say donors who gave once. I could always find what I was looking for eventually, but it always took longer than it should.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Jeffrey M.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Sumac is Customizable, but Cumbersome

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/01/16
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

It's a good product overall. You can customize it to do what you need it to do. It takes awhile to get set up and going, but once everyone in your organization has been trained you should be clear sailing.

Cons

PCI Compliance isn't included which means each nonprofit is responsible for keeping up with PCI Compliance. This has been a nightmare for one organization I work with.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Narmin R.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management

Customer focused company!

Reviewed on 2016/03/08
Review Source: GetApp

Sumac has been a fantastic productivity enhancer that results in us getting more done with less time invested. We are always looking for ways to be more donor centric and this is another great multiplier of those effects. I also have the highest respect for customer focused companies who take the time to actually listen, but when they act on suggestions words can't describe my appreciation. The Sumac team has earned our respect and business for a job beyond well done.

Roxanne D.

Great product, great support!

Reviewed on 2013/11/07
Review Source: Capterra

I was very impressed with Sumac's turn-around time on our data conversion. Within a week we had a decade's worth of spreadsheets at our fingertips in a central location. Sumac and its staff have been really supportive and so responsive to our specific needs and even our suggestions for improving the software. I can't imagine having such a hands-on relationship with any other company. '

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Michael W.

Huge time saver!

Reviewed on 2013/11/07
Review Source: Capterra

Sumac converted all our historical data records, from several sources. In less than a week we were up and running, sending and tracking newsletters to our newly consolidated list of constituents. Sumac has made our communication and fundraising efforts more effective and much more efficient. In fact I think it paid for itself in the first week.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support