111 reviews

Fusion 360

Cloud enabled 3D CAD & collaboration platform for designers

4,7 /5 (111 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,7
/
5
Value for Money
4,7
Features
4,7
Ease of Use
4,2
Customer Support
4,4
97% recommended this app
111 reviews
David I.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: Self Employed

Excellent 3D CAD design software

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/06/01
Review Source: Capterra

I have enjoined using it, I actually was able to finish a prototype design using tool, it saved my day since it allowed me to design an organic piece that I badly needed, that I was not able to design accurately with open source software that I was using at that time.

Pros

- There is a free version for Fusion 360 used for students, startups and teachers.
- The modeling tools are really good they allow you to build organic shapes with ease.
- The learning curve is not as steep.
- It has an amazing support since is owned by Autodesk.
- You can create machine code (G-Code) to send it to cut or 3D print.
- There are several tutorials online and now is more used in the mechanical design industry.

Cons

The thing I did not like is that is entirely run on the cloud, you have to have an internet connection.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Joshua M.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 2-10 Employees

JNM Rise Inc - Fusion360 Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/17
Review Source: Capterra

This software has been so easy to use from day one! I couldn't be more thrilled with it. Being an SME, it is offered on an annual basis free of charge. My network of engineers are amazed I am able to accomplish what I have using this software when the companies they come from are paying thousands for licensing. I also would like to note that Autodesk offer an incredible specialization to really round out your skills via Coursera.

Pros

This software has been an incredible tool for my business. Being that our principle service is Design and Engineering, Fusion 360 has offered all my team and I could ask for in a software. It has been very intuitive, and regular updates or feedback from the customer service team. In addition, there is a massive online community with video tutorials or guides both created by, or individual users of the Fusion360 software.

Cons

I can honestly say that there has not been an issue since day one of using the software. If I have a need to address, the online community are quick to provide thoughtful responses and guidance allowing me to solve any issues my team and I may have.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dheeraj O.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Its great Modelling and simulation software for rapid prototyping and iterative projects

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/01
Review Source: Capterra

Overall a great experience, I mainly use it for product renders and design mock-ups. I've participated at the Michelin Design challenge and was able to innovate with the help of Fusion 360 as student.

Pros

The user interface was much more easy to use as a beginner and over the 2 years as an experienced user. Fusion 360 has multiple avenues from modelling to rendering to CAM/3D printing simulation which is very helpful in not wasting time exporting it to 3D printing software and then modify the design.

Cons

The software seemed to not do a good job with respect to importing files of solidworks format and converting it over cloud. The speed of upload and download of files is quite slow and cloud rendering feature can be made more responsive/interactive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Luke B.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Fantastic Modelling Software for FREE

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Best part about this is that you can use it for free.

Cons

Functions in comparison to SolidWorks or Inventor are minimal.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

James B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easy to learn, but impossible to master. Everything I need for 3D modeling.

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/09
Review Source: Capterra

I have used Fusion 360 to create some 3D models of my own, as well as modifying some models provided by others in the huge community of 3D modeling. I'm sure it will take years to master, if I ever come even close, but so far, I have been very impressed.

Pros

This software, although a little daunting at first for a newcomer, was surprisingly easy to learn. Watch some youtube videos to learn the basics, and off you go.

Cons

As mentioned, at first glance, from a beginner perspective, the software is a little overwhelming. But with a little guidance, the basics will be taken care of, and I feel it was easy sailing after jumping in there and trying a few things out.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Marco luca C.
Industry: Design
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The next big thing

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/19
Review Source: Capterra

I'm very satisfied to have switched on Fusion360 and I use the simulation features that allows me to made structural calculations using fast cloud computing

Pros

Autodesk made a huge development over the year to create a high level product. There is not a best feature but a lot of good feature that melt together makes a very good software

Cons

The leak of some commads, but the development is going fast

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kanad N.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Best 3D Modelling Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/04
Review Source: Capterra

As a hobbyist and educators Fusion 360 provides free licence for it.

Pros

Ease of use.
Free 3 Year license for students and educators
Fast and easy Model Analysis.
Cloud-based Model storage.

Cons

As it is comparatively new software still contains some glitches and crashes or sometimes requires a restarting the computer to get it working.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jason A.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Best CAD software for the price

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/08/06
Review Source: Capterra

Fusion 360 has made it really easy to prototype designs, as it is much easier to pick up than a lot of other CAD software, like Inventor and Solidworks, and significantly cheaper.

Pros

First of all, it's really easy to use, and it can run on lower-specced machines that can't run other CAD solutions. I also love how it's cross-platform. I switched from Windows to macOS about a year ago, and still have to use Windows for certain software, but I can start a project on my Mac and easily open the same project on a Windows device. And everything is saved to the cloud so it's super easy to keep track of your files and switch between devices. Fusion also has a version history, so you can very easily rollback to older versions of a file, or even just rollback certain modifications to a file. Another benefit of the cloud storage is that I can just send an email with a link to my colleagues and they also have access to the same file that I'm working on, so no more worrying if other people have the correct or most up-to-date version of the file.

Cons

Sometimes Fusion takes a while to launch. Another issue I have is with the pricing of cloud renderings. If you are a student you have unlimited 'cloud credits', but for a hobbyist or business, you have to buy a pack of at least 100 credits for $100, and every time a cloud rendering or simulation is done, you have to pay one of those credits. It doesn't seem like much, but it does add up, and I would personally refrain from using the cloud rendering and simulation services.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Alex P.
Industry: Design
Company size: Self Employed

Very useful software, free for personal/non commercial use

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/11/10
Review Source: Capterra

It's a great piece of software for people who want to work on projects that require CAD rendering. It's fairly intuitive to work with and with tutorials someone can easily learn the fundamentals and be working on their project in a few hours.

Pros

Free for non-commercial use. Powerful, intuitive tools. Great for hobbyists, 3d printing, non-commercial projects. Huge body of information and tutorials. cloud based storage

Cons

Has a learning curve, like any 3D rendering or engineering software. Can run into performance hitches occasionally. File management on cloud is occasionally confusing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Aaron G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: Self Employed

Crazy powerful

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/08/06
Review Source: Capterra

Fantastic for 3D modeling parts and other functional-type designs. Not so great for artistic modeling, for that, use Blender.

Pros

Clearly the best 3D design software for engineering-type applications. Insanely powerful parametric modeling. Can handle moving pieces like hinges & working parts, clearances, even stress tests to and simulations to identify weak points in a design.

Cons

Learning curve is a bit steep. Also, since it is cloud based and automatically updates every time you open it, it can be frustrating when they make changes to the UI and those changes are thrust upon you with no option to delay or go back to the old layout.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

An Excellent Tool for Designing 3d Prints and CAD Prototypes

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/30
Review Source: Capterra

In the context of Fusion being a tool for novices, it is an excellent tool to start designing in to learn the ins and outs of CAD and 3D modeling.

Pros

Fusion is a hybrid parametric modeling program offered by Autodesk. Fusion is the more entry level offerings in the Autodesk lineup, being simpler to use compared to their other offerings like Maya and 3DSMax, albeit while fulfilling a different role.

One of the main benefits of Fusion 360 is that it is free. After then end of the trial you can choose to continue using the software as a hobbyist for free, allowing you to use it so long as you do not monetize the models created in Fusion.

Being free, there is plenty of documentation and tutorials available to get started on Fusion and begin using it for CAD design.

One of the areas where Fusion shines is for 3d printing, creating suitable printable models with ease. Fusion integrates with many models of 3d printers so that they can be directly printed from the program. For unsupported printers, Fusion can also export 3d printable formats such as .STL files for the printer to use. This is usually preferable anyways, as it allows for more flexibility compared to printing right in Fusion.

Cons

Fusion is a hybrid modeler, combining the features of a direct modeler and parametric modeler to create a more streamlined and easy to use tool overall. This means that some of the more complex parametric modeling tools and functions are missing from Fusion, making it unsuitable for more serious CAD design.

While the interface is clean, many functions are often hidden behind too many mouse clicks that can make the program hard to navigate at times. this can be particularly confusing for those unaccustomed to 3D modeling or CAD software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

A great alternative to the more expensive 3D modeling softwares out there

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The cloud-based rendering is a great feature in Fusion 360 which puts way less strain on your cpu compared to a local render, allowing to continue working uninterrupted. There are a ton of render options for both your model and the background environment, and the final quality of the rendered images is fantastic.

I like the cloud-based file sharing option which allows you to collaborate with others on the same project. It's also available for mac operating system as well as windows unlike some of its competitors. Regular updates and improvements that run relative unnoticed in the background, and they are constantly adding cool new features. It takes up very little room on your hard drive as the software is mostly cloud-based.

Cons

Fusion 360 is still a relative newcomer in the 3D modeling software world, and although I think it is a great contender to it's competitors, it is still very glitchy and crashes often. The output file format options are very limited compared to the input file format options.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ryan L.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The best CAD tool for hobbyists and anyone who wants to make something

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/06
Review Source: Capterra

I first used Fusion 360 as an undergrad because it was free for students, and later found out that it was also free for hobbyists. I love that approach to software, because I believe anyone should be able to dream something up and make it; Fusion 360 just provides one of the most powerful tools for that development process. I've used it to design robot parts, program machine toolpaths, and modify CAD designs from free libraries for fun. I really enjoy using it.

Pros

Fusion 360 set out to be the best integrated CAD and design software, and it certainly has achieved a lot of its goals. While not as high-powered as top-tier CAD programs, it holds its own and is uniquely designed with the user in mind. I love Fusion 360's cloud-based system; without having to store files locally, I can log in on any machine that has Fusion 360 and access my projects. The interface is clean and easily customized, and the tools are intuitive. There is also an active community that is great at answering questions, and a lot of YouTube tutorials put out by Autodesk and others that fully explore Fusion 360's functionality.

Cons

Because Fusion 360 is constantly being updated and new developments are being added regularly, sometimes you will open it up after a few weeks without using it and the interface will be different. If you're trying out a preview feature, you might not get to keep it if the development team decides to go in a different direction. But this is rare.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Christopher V.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

I use this for prototyping AND teaching children how to design 3D prints!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/05
Review Source: Capterra

I've really been able to take my modeling and prototyping and even teaching STEM students to the next level.

Pros

Fantastic ease of use, easy to teach and learn. Everything is in places that makes sense and you can create models based on measurements very easily. The software is designed to go right to 3D printers and even CNC machines. Lot's of options for modeling types/contexts such as parametric and even sculpting primitives. The cloud platform makes it very easy to access your work from other computers/devices.. One of the most useful features for me is the fact it handles threads so well, easy to 3D print and have parts properly screw together. I tested over 30 different modeling software packages before I settled on this. No regrets.

Cons

The only real gripe I have is with the overall model of subscription services, I'd rather pay and own this type of software but I understand I am getting real time patches and updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

David C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

My first real CAD and CAM experience

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/30
Review Source: Capterra

I'm using this software with a non-profit license (free) and despite the recent announcement about the functionality cutout (from first October 2020) to 10 active projects, I think it will remain to be my option.

The main advantage versus his main competitor (Sketchup) are the fabrication functions. For a maker with an interest in CNC and/or 3D printing, it can be the perfect software.

Pros

Extensive functionality for the makers (CAM, simulation, generative design,...).
Possibility to work locally with a good cloud-integrated repository.
Good plugin marketplace with free options.
Extensive learning materials on Autodesk website (updated) and third-party authors.
Flexible payment options with a usable free version.

Cons

You will need an additional GCode sender program if you are doing CNC milling.
Some learning curve.
Not as good cloud assets library as SketchUp.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Martino T.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: Self Employed

Good work Autodesk!!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience with fusion is very much positive! I use it for every project i need to make and i'm very happy

Pros

With these software Autodesk tried to unify a lot of their softwares and i think they've created something really powerful and accessible. Fusion 360 is very powerful and free for hobbies or small companies. This is incredible!

Cons

Sometimes Fusion can behave strangely but Autodesk launches updates basically every week to fix problem or to add new features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Raitis G.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: Self Employed

The most comprehensive software you can get for free

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/31
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using it in at least 3 different startups I worked at and it never disappointed. Yes, there are some quirks or it's lacking if you expect to find something specialized, but then again - it's a work in progress.

Fusion 360 has one of the best and most responsive teams of developers and product designers who actually listen to what people report and ask for on forums and implement those features constantly. As in you don't have to wait for the release sometime next year and hope for the best.

Pros

It has all the features to satisfy you as a beginning or reasonably skilled maker - someone in mechanical engineering or digital manufacturing.

Cons

It's now gotten more difficult to apply for a startup licence to be able to use the software for free for commercial purposes, but I still think it's worth it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Long B.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great Designs Require a Reliable Software

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/14
Review Source: Capterra

Thanks to Fusion 360, I have found myself relying on it constantly for virtual design testings. Of course, true testing requires real-world application; however, Fusion 360 has been fairly accurate with its simulated statistics. Ever since high-school, my team and I discovered Fusion 360 and used it for our design testings to which we 3D-printed and used for our Toyota-sponsored hydrogen car. By far one of the most reliable and useful software for prospective designers and engineers. Or you know, if you have a passion for these kind of fields, I recommend giving Fusion 360 a shot.

Pros

As an engineering major, Fusion 360 has become my go-to software when I feel the need to simulate any designs my team produces. It provides a multitude of options when creating designs, such as angular checks, grid-line-based auto adjustment, 360 degrees perspective, and so on. It also has a cloud feature that allows you to store your designs or even share it via email. I also find it particular helpful that you can do design tests such as putting it through a wind-funnel and seeing the air resistance as well as the designs performance in general.

Cons

Although I use this software quite often, I have to say it did take me a little time to figure out what each option did and how to become more fluent with my use of Fusion 360. Thereby, Fusion 360 is not for those that aren't willing to put in the effort and passion in running designs. It takes quite a bit of patience to understand the functionalities overall.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ryan B.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Everything you could want.....and more

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/19
Review Source: Capterra

This is the only software I choose to use when starting a project. I have used other CAD packages in the past, but Fusion 360 has made everything easier. It's not just my top recommendation for CAD software, it's my only recommendation.

Pros

It has everything you could want in a single CAD/CAM package. You can take an idea from concept, through development, and then to manufacturing without switching programs.

The software is very intuitive if you have ever used any other piece of CAD software. It's also very easy to experiment with different tools you may not normally use. With Fusion 360 it allows you to jump into Rendering or even some FEA analysis without having to learn an entirely new piece of software.

Cons

I dont have many. When getting started you may have a little trouble learning how bodies and components affect one another, but once you learn that then everything else is very intuitive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kevin K.
Industry: Design
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Best choice for Makers

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

I was able to teach myself 3D CAD, and solve all my basic needs around 3D printing projects, like little accessories, cases or replacement parts for any broken item around the house.

Pros

Fusion 360 is an excellent piece of software for hobbyists and makers, especially considering that it's completely free, even for small businesses. The learning curve is very steep and if you are willing you can create complex designs all by yourself in very short time.

Cons

You need a basic understanding of the working principles of a 3D CAD software and you must be willing to try and learn. It's not as easy as working with primitives like in Tinkercad, but it's of course aimed at another group of people.

What should also be noted, is that Fusion 360 is cloud based, so all your designs are stored there, which is convenient, when you access them from different locations but can also be a disadvantage if Autodesk will one day decide to pull the plug on the servers.

If you are using an older Mac, be aware that they will soon drop support for macOS below version 10.13.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

John K.
Industry: Military
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

3D printing.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/28
Review Source: Capterra

I love fusion 360. I use it for all my 3D modeling designing techniques. I find myself wanting to use this more and more with each use. It's honestly the best i have found yet.

Pros

This application blows others like sketchup out of the water. It allows me to create a components so that i can create an entire object within the application rather than creating seperate components and trying to merge them all in a different project/file.

Cons

Fusion 360 can cost a little much if you can't take advantage of its student license.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Zoran N.
Industry: Research
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Must have tool for Hobbyist

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/13
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using Fusion for more than two years now, previously I have been using Solidworks but for hobbyist it is way to expensive

Pros

Ease of use and plenty of on line courses held by bunch of professionals.
As a hobbyist I am using fusion to make models which later will be printed on 3D printer.
For fast prototyping must have tool. Free for students and educators - hobbyists

Cons

I have no complaints regarding this software, it is stunning

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: Self Employed

Great For Everyone

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

Fusion has provided me an insight into the world of CAD and helped me build up a useful skillset for engineering design

Pros

Versatile in its ability to construct anything, Has materials and structural testing suite and can produce a variety of dependable results (tested against irl results and had a 2% margin of error)

Cons

Takes some time to learn if not trained in previous renditions of the software, quite a few bugs with intercepting elements.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Brandon H.
Industry: Airlines/Aviation
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great tool for 3d Printing!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The feature set of this tool was really great. I regularly design 3d models to print and this has played a key part in my learning. And it was really easy to use. I have used other cad tools in the past so I do have experience but I do think it would easy for anyone to pickup.

Cons

- Lack of simulation tools for 3d printed parts
- Hard to do text or sketch on curved surfaces

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dave M.
Industry: Design
Company size: Self Employed

New to CAD/CAM, but very easy to learn.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/11/13
Review Source: Capterra

I love it! I learned to use this software by following the training and tutorials from Academy.TitansofCNC.com Prior to using F360, I had used Sketchup and found it very limiting and "toyish". F360 to Sketchup is a like a Mack Truck compared to a Chevy S10, in a different league.

Pros

A lot of tutorials are available for learning the capabilities of this amazing software. Very intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

There are certain steps or procedures that must be followed, but this is more of the machining process than the software. The CAM operations are very intuitive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10