123 reviews

Fusion 360

Cloud enabled 3D CAD & collaboration platform for designers

4,6 /5 (123 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
96%
recommended this app
123 reviews
David I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent 3D CAD design software

Reviewed on 2020/06/01

I have enjoined using it, I actually was able to finish a prototype design using tool, it saved my day since it allowed me to design an organic piece that I badly needed, that I was not able to design accurately with open source software that I was using at that time.

Pros

- There is a free version for Fusion 360 used for students, startups and teachers.
- The modeling tools are really good they allow you to build organic shapes with ease.
- The learning curve is not as steep.
- It has an amazing support since is owned by Autodesk.
- You can create machine code (G-Code) to send it to cut or 3D print.
- There are several tutorials online and now is more used in the mechanical design industry.

Cons

The thing I did not like is that is entirely run on the cloud, you have to have an internet connection.

James B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to learn, but impossible to master. Everything I need for 3D modeling.

Reviewed on 2020/09/09

I have used Fusion 360 to create some 3D models of my own, as well as modifying some models provided by others in the huge community of 3D modeling. I'm sure it will take years to master, if I ever come even close, but so far, I have been very impressed.

Pros

This software, although a little daunting at first for a newcomer, was surprisingly easy to learn. Watch some youtube videos to learn the basics, and off you go.

Cons

As mentioned, at first glance, from a beginner perspective, the software is a little overwhelming. But with a little guidance, the basics will be taken care of, and I feel it was easy sailing after jumping in there and trying a few things out.

Kevin K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best choice for Makers

Reviewed on 2019/02/06

I was able to teach myself 3D CAD, and solve all my basic needs around 3D printing projects, like little accessories, cases or replacement parts for any broken item around the house.

Pros

Fusion 360 is an excellent piece of software for hobbyists and makers, especially considering that it's completely free, even for small businesses. The learning curve is very steep and if you are willing you can create complex designs all by yourself in very short time.

Cons

You need a basic understanding of the working principles of a 3D CAD software and you must be willing to try and learn. It's not as easy as working with primitives like in Tinkercad, but it's of course aimed at another group of people.

What should also be noted, is that Fusion 360 is cloud based, so all your designs are stored there, which is convenient, when you access them from different locations but can also be a disadvantage if Autodesk will one day decide to pull the plug on the servers.

If you are using an older Mac, be aware that they will soon drop support for macOS below version 10.13.

John K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Military
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

3D printing.

Reviewed on 2019/01/28

I love fusion 360. I use it for all my 3D modeling designing techniques. I find myself wanting to use this more and more with each use. It's honestly the best i have found yet.

Pros

This application blows others like sketchup out of the water. It allows me to create a components so that i can create an entire object within the application rather than creating seperate components and trying to merge them all in a different project/file.

Cons

Fusion 360 can cost a little much if you can't take advantage of its student license.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent software if you are a 3D designer!

Reviewed on 2019/01/24

We use Fusion to create 3D designs and do 3D printing we love it!

Pros

It is a great tool has all the options that you can need to create your design, you can import other files from other programs etc. If you need a software to create 3D designs look no more Fusion 360 is all you need.

Cons

If your computer is a bit old or outdated software may lag, but this is not really a Fusion 360 issue. Software works great!

Oliwia P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Fusion 360 for 3D projects

Reviewed on 2021/04/12

Fusion 360 is very effective software for 3D projects. Additionally, saving and sharing projects with coworkers on the cloud is a big advantage.

Pros

Fusion 360 is one of first 3D software I ever used and it is so easy to use from day one. As a student, I used it free of charge and it was time to get used to the software to help of tutorials. What is unique in Fusion 36 it offers uploading, sharing and even editing files on the cloud. It is very useful for collaboration.

Cons

In my opinion Fusion 360 is quite expensive software and not very popular in industry. For beginners it may be confusing due to many function available.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fusion 360 makes modeling easy

Reviewed on 2020/04/02

Overall, it is worth the price of admission and is a great package to have with features that far out weigh the competition.

Pros

I was able to jump in and begin almost immediately. Exporting is easy and there are a lot of people using this software if you need an existing model to add to your library.

Cons

I am not a fan of the constant updates that come out for it. Some functionality changes and when you are in the middle of a project and your workflow changes, it is a little annoying.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

lots of potential, not easy to use

Reviewed on 2019/01/13

Pros

I like that the software is so advanced. There are so many things you can do like make detailed designs or real life proto types.

Cons

The cost is a deterrent. It is not easy to use for a beginner.

Zachary M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

THE CAD/Modeling Software

Reviewed on 2019/10/31

Very quickly can mock up designs for printing or sculpting.

Pros

Using the hobby version (free for personal use) you get access to a full suite of CAD. It's very powerful, snappy, basically the gold standard in 2019.

Cons

It's hard to nitpick this software, especially at the pricepoint. Large installation footprint is a little bit disappointing, but oh well.

Malachi W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool for learning to CAD

Reviewed on 2018/10/06

Pros

It comes with numerous videos on its website that helps explain how to use the software. It is very easy to use and learn. It also comes with numerous functions that are nicely organized in the toolbar and the UI is also very nice and clean.

Cons

The first time to load it took about 10 minutes and the program then proceeded to lag and crash afterward but was able open a lot quicker and work smoother after that.

Akaki G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best Fusion 360

Reviewed on 2020/11/12

I am beginner and learning fusion 360. I make 500 homework and make cnc laser wood toys.

Pros

I am IT Manager in company, but I like fusion 360. Many employer used fusion 360. I am beginner and love fusion 360.

Cons

I like fusion 360 because it is interesting and professional. It has many function and instrument, they can help make excellent product.

Sonali S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My go to tool for designing

Reviewed on 2019/07/08

Pros

1. It is free
2. Lots of features so it is easy to make complex and even organic designs
3. Loads of tutorials and documentation is available

Cons

1. Hard to understand for beginners
2. Features not easy to find

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fully featured and very generous startup plan

Reviewed on 2019/02/02

- We use this software to design products and casings.

Pros

- It's very easy to learn compared to other tools and the 3D printing support is amazing.
- They have VERY generous licensing terms, with startups getting the software for free.

Cons

- I've had some stability issues using the software (make sure to save often). As well, I find copying objects to be a pain sometimes.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

User Interface is great!

Reviewed on 2018/12/28

Pros

I really appreciated the short introduction the software offers its users. There are also guides online to maneuvering the software. I went from knowing nothing about the software, to being able to use the basic interface within one week.

Cons

I least liked the way the planes are selected for the axes when trying to sketch something. If it could be a sidebar option instead of a visual selection, I feel like it might be less frustrating when there are multiple objects overlying a plane.

Jeni K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Powerful and easy

Reviewed on 2010/09/14

Can be configured to do just about anything in asset tracking software. Using the custom business rules can take some training but makes the app possibilities powerful. Really good for enterprises, bests anything our department has used from SAP or Oracle.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great tool with a fresh approach to building virtual things

Reviewed on 2018/09/27

Product development

Pros

First of all the fact that they have a program in which you can use it for free if you're a private person is absolutely great and revolutionary. They hope that you will purchase a license once you either produced something which sells or that you will use it in your job after finishing studying.

Cons

The way they structure how changes happen is new and I can imagine quite useful once you get used to it, it was very difficult for me to get a feeling for it though.

Tyler W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Not easy to use

Reviewed on 2019/07/23

Pros

It is easy to get access to and gets the job done but that's about it.

Cons

It's super tedious and backwards from any other software I've used. It's not intuitive at all and takes forever to get anything done.

Dheeraj O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Its great Modelling and simulation software for rapid prototyping and iterative projects

Reviewed on 2020/10/01

Overall a great experience, I mainly use it for product renders and design mock-ups. I've participated at the Michelin Design challenge and was able to innovate with the help of Fusion 360 as student.

Pros

The user interface was much more easy to use as a beginner and over the 2 years as an experienced user. Fusion 360 has multiple avenues from modelling to rendering to CAM/3D printing simulation which is very helpful in not wasting time exporting it to 3D printing software and then modify the design.

Cons

The software seemed to not do a good job with respect to importing files of solidworks format and converting it over cloud. The speed of upload and download of files is quite slow and cloud rendering feature can be made more responsive/interactive.

Kanad N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best 3D Modelling Software

Reviewed on 2019/12/04

As a hobbyist and educators Fusion 360 provides free licence for it.

Pros

Ease of use.
Free 3 Year license for students and educators
Fast and easy Model Analysis.
Cloud-based Model storage.

Cons

As it is comparatively new software still contains some glitches and crashes or sometimes requires a restarting the computer to get it working.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

An Excellent Tool for Designing 3d Prints and CAD Prototypes

Reviewed on 2018/12/30

In the context of Fusion being a tool for novices, it is an excellent tool to start designing in to learn the ins and outs of CAD and 3D modeling.

Pros

Fusion is a hybrid parametric modeling program offered by Autodesk. Fusion is the more entry level offerings in the Autodesk lineup, being simpler to use compared to their other offerings like Maya and 3DSMax, albeit while fulfilling a different role.

One of the main benefits of Fusion 360 is that it is free. After then end of the trial you can choose to continue using the software as a hobbyist for free, allowing you to use it so long as you do not monetize the models created in Fusion.

Being free, there is plenty of documentation and tutorials available to get started on Fusion and begin using it for CAD design.

One of the areas where Fusion shines is for 3d printing, creating suitable printable models with ease. Fusion integrates with many models of 3d printers so that they can be directly printed from the program. For unsupported printers, Fusion can also export 3d printable formats such as .STL files for the printer to use. This is usually preferable anyways, as it allows for more flexibility compared to printing right in Fusion.

Cons

Fusion is a hybrid modeler, combining the features of a direct modeler and parametric modeler to create a more streamlined and easy to use tool overall. This means that some of the more complex parametric modeling tools and functions are missing from Fusion, making it unsuitable for more serious CAD design.

While the interface is clean, many functions are often hidden behind too many mouse clicks that can make the program hard to navigate at times. this can be particularly confusing for those unaccustomed to 3D modeling or CAD software.

Jason A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best CAD software for the price

Reviewed on 2020/08/06

Fusion 360 has made it really easy to prototype designs, as it is much easier to pick up than a lot of other CAD software, like Inventor and Solidworks, and significantly cheaper.

Pros

First of all, it's really easy to use, and it can run on lower-specced machines that can't run other CAD solutions. I also love how it's cross-platform. I switched from Windows to macOS about a year ago, and still have to use Windows for certain software, but I can start a project on my Mac and easily open the same project on a Windows device. And everything is saved to the cloud so it's super easy to keep track of your files and switch between devices. Fusion also has a version history, so you can very easily rollback to older versions of a file, or even just rollback certain modifications to a file. Another benefit of the cloud storage is that I can just send an email with a link to my colleagues and they also have access to the same file that I'm working on, so no more worrying if other people have the correct or most up-to-date version of the file.

Cons

Sometimes Fusion takes a while to launch. Another issue I have is with the pricing of cloud renderings. If you are a student you have unlimited 'cloud credits', but for a hobbyist or business, you have to buy a pack of at least 100 credits for $100, and every time a cloud rendering or simulation is done, you have to pay one of those credits. It doesn't seem like much, but it does add up, and I would personally refrain from using the cloud rendering and simulation services.

David C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My first real CAD and CAM experience

Reviewed on 2020/09/30

I'm using this software with a non-profit license (free) and despite the recent announcement about the functionality cutout (from first October 2020) to 10 active projects, I think it will remain to be my option.

The main advantage versus his main competitor (Sketchup) are the fabrication functions. For a maker with an interest in CNC and/or 3D printing, it can be the perfect software.

Pros

Extensive functionality for the makers (CAM, simulation, generative design,...).
Possibility to work locally with a good cloud-integrated repository.
Good plugin marketplace with free options.
Extensive learning materials on Autodesk website (updated) and third-party authors.
Flexible payment options with a usable free version.

Cons

You will need an additional GCode sender program if you are doing CNC milling.
Some learning curve.
Not as good cloud assets library as SketchUp.

Christopher V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I use this for prototyping AND teaching children how to design 3D prints!

Reviewed on 2018/12/05

I've really been able to take my modeling and prototyping and even teaching STEM students to the next level.

Pros

Fantastic ease of use, easy to teach and learn. Everything is in places that makes sense and you can create models based on measurements very easily. The software is designed to go right to 3D printers and even CNC machines. Lot's of options for modeling types/contexts such as parametric and even sculpting primitives. The cloud platform makes it very easy to access your work from other computers/devices.. One of the most useful features for me is the fact it handles threads so well, easy to 3D print and have parts properly screw together. I tested over 30 different modeling software packages before I settled on this. No regrets.

Cons

The only real gripe I have is with the overall model of subscription services, I'd rather pay and own this type of software but I understand I am getting real time patches and updates.

Long B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Designs Require a Reliable Software

Reviewed on 2018/12/14

Thanks to Fusion 360, I have found myself relying on it constantly for virtual design testings. Of course, true testing requires real-world application; however, Fusion 360 has been fairly accurate with its simulated statistics. Ever since high-school, my team and I discovered Fusion 360 and used it for our design testings to which we 3D-printed and used for our Toyota-sponsored hydrogen car. By far one of the most reliable and useful software for prospective designers and engineers. Or you know, if you have a passion for these kind of fields, I recommend giving Fusion 360 a shot.

Pros

As an engineering major, Fusion 360 has become my go-to software when I feel the need to simulate any designs my team produces. It provides a multitude of options when creating designs, such as angular checks, grid-line-based auto adjustment, 360 degrees perspective, and so on. It also has a cloud feature that allows you to store your designs or even share it via email. I also find it particular helpful that you can do design tests such as putting it through a wind-funnel and seeing the air resistance as well as the designs performance in general.

Cons

Although I use this software quite often, I have to say it did take me a little time to figure out what each option did and how to become more fluent with my use of Fusion 360. Thereby, Fusion 360 is not for those that aren't willing to put in the effort and passion in running designs. It takes quite a bit of patience to understand the functionalities overall.

Ryan B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Everything you could want.....and more

Reviewed on 2018/12/19

This is the only software I choose to use when starting a project. I have used other CAD packages in the past, but Fusion 360 has made everything easier. It's not just my top recommendation for CAD software, it's my only recommendation.

Pros

It has everything you could want in a single CAD/CAM package. You can take an idea from concept, through development, and then to manufacturing without switching programs.

The software is very intuitive if you have ever used any other piece of CAD software. It's also very easy to experiment with different tools you may not normally use. With Fusion 360 it allows you to jump into Rendering or even some FEA analysis without having to learn an entirely new piece of software.

Cons

I dont have many. When getting started you may have a little trouble learning how bodies and components affect one another, but once you learn that then everything else is very intuitive.