CenterPoint Accounting Software for Agriculture Reviews

CenterPoint Accounting Software for Agriculture

Manage your farm′s finances with software for agriculture.

4/5 (11 reviews)
Keith T.

As easy or detailed as you want

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/07/06
Review Source: Capterra

I have used at least 4 accounting programs - 1st couple were hum - well just didn't work in Ag environment, for me at least. I looked at accounting programs that were sort of the all around programs - good programs but not truly dedicated to Ag (2 that I remember Quicken and Quick books - which don't get me wrong are good programs)

Pros

One can have as little detail or get so much detail that it could take a full time person to keep it up to-date. Search is beyond assume - being able to set up some special accounts is nice - lots of ways to make it personal for your business, which is a great feature

Cons

Knowing or learning which details one should use. If one really is a trained accountant there should be no real concern using this program, but even then going to a class will get anyone up to speed on how to make the best use of the program.

Response from Red Wing Software

Keith, wow! Thank you so much for the amazing review of CenterPoint Accounting for Agriculture! Great advice here about attending the training and ramping up slowly, and then start adding more details. I am glad to hear your accountant likes the reports as well. Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to write this review. We are grateful to have you for a customer!

Stephanie Elsen,
Red Wing Software

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

so customizable you may need training

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/30
Review Source: Capterra

We tested several ag management software options as part of our agricultural education and extension program. This was ultimately not one that we recommended to our clients because of the complexity of the program and the learning curve.

Pros

excellent financial software that offers a huge range of options and services, all designed specifically for agriculture business environments. Customer service is solid.

Cons

Not intuitive or easy to get started. The learning curve is steep, and many ag professionals are not strong in technology terms. Training or some type of start-up guide is probably necessary for most.

Response from Red Wing Software

Thank you for your review of CenterPoint Accounting for Agriculture. While many of our customers do successfully set up CenterPoint on their own, there are others who may need help. We do offer a wide range of tools to help with this: unlimited telephone and email support, getting started videos and documents, extensive in-system help, online training sessions and in-person classroom training. There's even an option for Red Wing Software to go to the customer's site and set it up for them, at additional cost.

Having said that, we take comments like this very seriously and want to use it as an opportunity to improve. We are very interested in learning more from you regarding this, so we can make changes for the better. Please send an email to: [email protected], if you are willing to share more with us. We would really appreciate it! Thank you.

Stephanie Elsen,
Red Wing Software

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Bill W.

centerpoint

Reviewed on 2013/05/20
Review Source: Capterra

too many ways to do the same thing and no way to figure things out because no book comes with it. I liked the old red wing system much better. they tried to make one program fits all no matter what program you used before. if you don't use this a lot so you remember all the hidden things in the program and how to access them This program is not for you. it is not for me either but have to much money into it to go back now. yearly service is ridiculously expensive which we should not need to use so often but when we only do bookwork once a month. sincerely bill wilkie

Pros

can't think of any, program is to complicated for the small user. no manual to look things up in to help with set up. you can look thru the help online for ever and not see enough at time to make it make sense. set up was a mess. and can't correct it.

Cons

when entering payments some areas of the entry allow you to use the enter key and some areas require the tab key. bad programming. also if you make a mistake in entering in a field the program moves on to the next field rather than going back to the field to correct it. very annoying. don.t like all the mouse ,tab and enter changes and knowing were to use each.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ron Z.

Great Product

Reviewed on 2014/08/11
Review Source: Capterra

Great software that goes as deep as you would ever want. Service is great and always polite and takes time for all my issues when I have them (Not often at all)! Great help feature to learn how to do complex entries. Can do basic payroll and also my 1099, 943, w2's with Aatrix. Been with Redwing since Mid 80's. Banker is always impressed with my Financial Statement (Wishes all there customers had such complete data)
Cons? Cant think of any.

Response from Red Wing Software

Thank you so much Ron for your wonderful review of CenterPoint Accounting for Agriculture! Your review describes exactly what we strive for at Red Wing Software, and it is great to see you are getting the most out of the program and our service. We are all grateful to have you as a long-time customer!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Kathy S.

Red Wing Software Comments

Reviewed on 2013/05/01
Review Source: Capterra

Even though this is excellent software, I will not recommend it to others because Redwing does not provide after 5 o'clock support or weekend support. This is a major drawback of their product.

Pros

This is excellent software. In my off the farm job I had the opportunity to be involved with many types of financial software, and this is one of the best.

Cons

Redwing Software needs to provide customer support after hours and on the weekends. This is the major drawback of this software. If they would start with support just during tax season, it would help immensely.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Debbi O.

Centerpoint1

Reviewed on 2013/05/01
Review Source: Capterra

would not recommend for most farmers doing their own books.

Pros

Once set up, you should have all information you wish to use for any payment or analysis. I have a Master in Business Administration and there are reports for every aspect of the operation.

Cons

Need to be an accountant to understand how to set up a transaction and accounts. Few farmers or their wives meet that criteria. Perception was pre-programmed to set up the transactions. So many options but too difficult to set them up. Need one-on-one help.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Don L.

Great program

Reviewed on 2013/05/02
Review Source: Capterra

Recommend to any farmer

Pros

Started using Redwing Agchek in 1992, works very well I know my profit and loss daily. I use the bank reconciliation, that keep me informed never an over draft. The asset records keeps me in touch with purchase price of a piece equipment when I desire to trade for newer equipment. Redwing software now Center Point has helped me to expand, bring my son into the farm operation and live comfortable.

Cons

No problems

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Karen M.

CenterPoint Accounting for Agriculture

Reviewed on 2014/07/31
Review Source: Capterra

The product is very easy to personalize and fit to your own business. The best part is the live service when one needs help. It is great to have them walk you through the problem.

Response from Red Wing Software

Thank you so much Karen for this positive review of CenterPoint Accounting for Agriculture. Great to hear that you like the ability to personalize the system to your business. I will be sure to let the support team to know you are happy with the help you have received. We appreciate having you as a customer!

Stephanie Elsen,
Red Wing Software

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Carolyn S.

Carolyn's center point review

Reviewed on 2013/06/04
Review Source: Capterra

Good program and liked the videos on how to do certain transactions and set up.

Pros

Helps keep our farm bookwork in order. We were audited this year and all of our stuff was in order. Just had to print it off and go over it. The audit went well.

Cons

It was somewhat hard for me to set up, but kept with it and did okay.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Terry H.

THE WORST TAX PACKAGE I EVER BOUGHT

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/04/04
Review Source: Capterra

COULD NOT GET MY CHECKING BEGINNING BALANCE IN. THEY SHOULD GET A MANUAL WITH PROGRAM AS SOMEBODY THAT IS NOT VERY COMPUTER SAVY I CANNOT WATCH VIDEOS THEN TRY TO DO THE PROCEDURE, IT EASIER TO READ FROM A MANUAL. I JUST WANTED A SIMPLE TAX PACKAGE BUT GOT ONE THAT YOU HAVE TO BE AN COLLEGE GRADUATE TO USE. THANK YOU

Pros

NOTHING

Cons

TO HARD TO USE

Response from Red Wing Software

Terry,
I am sorry to hear about the problems you mentioned. I highly encourage you to contact support and they will gladly walk you through these things and help you get them resolved. The support manager has just called and left you a message. Also there are detailed documents explaining how to complete processes, in the How2 section, which we can show you if you give us a call. We do appreciate your review and hope we are able to help.

Stephanie,
Red Wing Software

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

0.0/10
Chris G.

Review of Ctr Pt Ag software

Reviewed on 2013/05/06
Review Source: Capterra

6 out of 10

Pros

Easy to use, support is very good.

Cons

In-depth reports need to be more user friendly. They are canned. Have to run numerous reports to get all the fields that I need to see.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support