HireVue Build Reviews

HireVue Build

The Digital Platform to Build the Modern Team

4.4/5 (30 reviews)
Osagumwenro progress A.

The bastion of Hirevue video interview app reviews: (almost) all you need to know before you use it

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/06
Review Source: Capterra

For the purpose for which it is made, Hirevue is simply an excellent app for convenience during high volume recruitment. So, I encourage HR persons to have a pre-screening with Hirevue to get a fair idea of how well they fit into the shoes of your ideal candidate, after which, you should have a final face to face interview because judging a candidate from a motion picture may end up in your organization employing a clown, or a well-rehearsed impostor at best

Pros

Dedicated support contact: After setting up lighting, putting on my suit, fastened my tie, and chasing away my friends so that the environment will be quiet, I discovered that my candidate login ID was non-functional. It took support only a really short while to respond, and it was sorted.
Convenience and Cost-Cutting: HireVue makes the interview process highly convenient for both Interviewers and Candidates. Either party does not have to travel several kilometres for an interview, paying countless dollars in the process, especially when you are not sure of getting the job at the end of it all (no one wants to waste a buck these days).
Efficiency: For the candidate, you can take your interview at any time of the day while the timeframe for the interview remains valid. This is especially helpful if you have a job, or a kid taking your time.
For the Interviewer, Hirevue helps you work faster and effectively because in a case where there is a deadline for you to turn in your interview verdicts, you can decide to watch the interview at night or any other time. In a face-face interview, you only have liberty of interviewing candidates only from 9-5.
Practice Mode: Hirevue has a feature that allows you to rehearse recording yourself as much as you want, before you take the actual interview. This feature helped me ease into the whole video recording atmosphere before I took my questions.
Thinking Time: Hirevue gives a 30 second non-recording window after you receive your question.

Cons

The Value of Face to Face: While Hirevue is an easy way to see and evaluate candidates before you spend money flying to them, or having them fly to you, I wouldn’t recommend it as a platform for final interviews because of the importance of body language and other cues that are useful in assessing confidence and other qualities (This is an opinion against the idea of pre-recorded interviews generally, not against Hirevue). Howbeit, it is very apt for a pre-screening.
Data Intensive: Hirevue is not made for light data plans. I spent a lot of data for my less than 40 minutes interview, and spent even more trying to upload my completed interview video. I would recommend the backend guys to look into this and fix whatever it is that saps data. It would also be nice if we didn’t have to upload the interview videos. What do you think about recording directly to a database after each question? I think that would be great.
History/Storage: I think Hirevue should have a history tab where candidates can view their past recordings. This will greatly help with self-assessment, in a bid to improving subsequent video interview performance.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Tyrus B.

Digital interviewing platform with outstanding support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/24
Review Source: Capterra

HireVue allows our global teams to standardize our interview process for a consistent candidate experience.

Pros

The support offered by HireVue is amazing. They are always willing to help with technical issues (24/7 support for candidates, interviewers, etc) and business issues as well with a dedicated support contact.

The tool offers flexibility with both On Demand and Live interviews which is helpful for various types of positions (university, entry level, executive, mid-career, etc).

Cons

There is room for improvement with the Taleo integration. It would be nice to have more options and visibility directly in Taleo to make the process easier for recruiters/interview coordinators; this would make adoption of the tool easier as well.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Twila A.

HireVue a great option for video interviewing

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

For video interviewing, this is a great product and they are working on more analytics. However, I think there could be more training for the candidates to make it a better experience for them.Although video interviewing can seem impersonal, HireVue makes the process simple and efficient.

Pros

The HireVue platform is easy to access not only for recruiters, but also hiring managers and candidates.

Cons

The note taking on the platform is confusing for reviewers. I would like to see the notes not only being more accessible to reviewers, but also editable to HR.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Excellent video interviewing platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We mainly use HireVue for recorded video interviews, which makes scheduled extremely easy, since candidates can log in anytime to submit their recording! It has saved us a lot of time.

Cons

Sometimes candidates feel a little shy about recording themselves, so we often offer an option to interview on the phone if they aren't comfortable.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Shana K.

We use HireVue for all our prescreening needs - both the Talent team and our hiring mangers.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/08/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use, ability to customize prescreen template question by job title, ability to share videos with multiple stakeholders, Coordinate allows candidates to self-schedule interview dates and times so there is less administration for the Talent team.

Cons

Would like to see more robust analytics and reporting. Otherwise, there is very few 'cons' about this platform

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Michael R.

One of the best video interviewing providers on the market

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/01/13
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

If you are looking for a video interviewing provider, HireVue is the cream of the crop for providers. What I like most about HireVue is the branding of the platform is very professional looking and the overall system is extremely customizable. Additionally, the reporting capabilities of the platform is very in depth allowing you to really pull the key analytics you need for all of your departments and the positions they recruit for during the year.

Cons

If there is one downside to HireVue, it would be the cost of the system as it is on the higher end of what you will pay for a video interviewing provider. However, with HireVue you are also paying for a system capable of providing a lot of great features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Artem V.

HireVue Coach - Great Platform for Video Sales Coaching

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/17
Review Source: Capterra

We need to create stickiness with our sales training. Sales reps forget almost everything that we train them on and they need a way to practice that doesn't feel like roleplaying in front of the whole sales team.

Pros

The ability to send video sales coaching sessions to my team that they can complete on-demand on their time. I can finally measure and track behavioral change of my sellers and their ability to articulate the right messaging.

Cons

I need ability to tag feedback at certain timestamps in the session. Progress on new feature releases has been a little slow.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Nathan L.

Use HireVue for OnDemand Interviews, CodeVue assessments, and Live Digital Interviews

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/08/24
Review Source: Capterra

Speeds up the interview process. Allows you to share candidate interview with different hiring managers in the organization. Let's you talk with out-of-town candidates face-to-face without having to fly them in for the interview.

Pros

I like HireVue's ability to create OnDemand Interviews that lets candidates interview on their time and in the comfort of their own home, or on the go (apps).

Cons

Technical issues during live interviews. Most of the time it is the users computer settings that aren't set up properly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Janet H.

Panda Express HireVue usage feedback

Reviewed on 2015/11/03
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Be able to get to know candidates in depth, building alignment between other decision making teams.

Cons

Sometimes, we encounter some techical issues. Candidate not sure how to get support from HireVue when is needed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Christy G.

Simple solution for pre-recorded interviews

Reviewed on 2015/07/07
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It is very easy to use - both on the employer (interviewer) end and the employee (interviewee) end. Also, HireVue's customer service is excellent.

Cons

Even when you buy in bulk the interviews are very expensive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Temitope adebola O.

Top notch application for interview

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/04
Review Source: Capterra

Hirevue has helped my organization to reduce manpower and amount of other resources that would have been used on the interview for other things.

Pros

Hirevue is easy to use. The questions have already been prerecorded so the issue of a bad network has been eliminated. It also gives access to review the questions while answering. It saves time when there are lots of applicants to be interviewed

Cons

It does not accept excel uploads and it would be nice if this feature can be added

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Tiffany B.

Might be more advanced now...

Reviewed on 2016/07/26
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I've always liked the idea of video interviewing especially when your company needs to hire quickly and in many different geo locations. HireVue offers On Demand and Live interviews which is nice, because it gives your candidates different options to complete their interviews. All the interviews are recorded as well so you can go back and share with other members of the hiring team to get more input.

Cons

We when used them they were still in Beta and there were a lot of connectivity issues when we were using Live video interviewing in certain countries/regions (i.e., APAC and Mexico). They may have fixed that problem since then.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10

HireVue

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

It's good for those who prefer to interview at home, though it would be great if you could redo questions (not sure if the employer decides this or the app).

Pros

The company I work for sent this to me to do a video interview and it was super easy to use since they explain everything on the main page. It also allows you to practice before you take the real interview which was very helpful and some of the same questions came up! This is a great way to interview from the comfort of your home.

Cons

They only give you 30 seconds to prepare an answer before they start recording and you cannot redo any questions! Can be nerve-racking and also the time given to answer questions is typically so short! A face to face interview would be better if you need more time to expand on your answers.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Steve R.

The best video interview platform out there

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's really easy to use and saves you a ton of time when you are hiring people. You will force people to make short videos in reply to your interview questions. Then you can quickly review the answers to determine if the person is worthy of an in-person interview.

Cons

We lost some qualified candidates who were unwilling to do the videos. It adds friction to the candidate application experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Sandi L.

Powerful, Innovative and cutting edge

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/08/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of the platform saves time which saves money. The ease helped solidify my managers to use the system. Love that you can use the system anywhere.

Cons

Would like to be able to view resumes in the profile along with the interview. Would be great to have it sync or tie into an ATS system. One system for all prospecting and recruiting.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

HireVue allows for an interactive interview experience that lets you showcase your hiring potential

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/09/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

What I like most about this software is that for the interview portion it allows you to do a practice question where you can see your video interview response before you do an actual interview question. You can also do this for the assessment portion, they allow for a practice question before going into the actual assessment

Cons

What I like least is that sometimes there is a lag with the audio and the video playback and it seems that one is slower than the other. This of course can vary by computer but I have noticed this on multiple platforms

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Ashley H.

Video Inerviewing at iits best

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/11/01
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It offers an easy way to see candidates before you dig into your budget to pay for someone who is not a good fit to come for an onsite interview.

Cons

It has connectivity issues which is frustrating if you care trying to pull a candidates screening to view.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Denise O.

HireVue for Talent Board

Reviewed on 2015/04/14
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

HireVue for Talent Board

Pros

The ability to to do both on demand interviews as well as live, in person interviews.

Cons

The inability to modify the invitation email for our purposes could be better, but we use the tool differently than most organizations.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Melinda W.

Great Interview software

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/02/15
Review Source: Capterra

Use it to screen potential employees

Pros

I love the fact that potential employees can use this in the comfort of their own home. I like to be able to send recording to several members of my team. It is simple to use.

Cons

Technical issues on both ends. It can sometimes freeze .

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Great for reaching applicants around the world

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/02
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, it has been a pleasant experience working with HireVue.

Pros

I liked that the application walks you through the process of set up and makes you feel comfortable with the format. It allows you to test your software prior to make sure that you will not have any problems or if you do to address them in a timely matter.

Cons

Having only used the software a handful of times, I have not come across any qualities or aspects that I do not like about it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Carla D.

Make your employees better!

Reviewed on 2017/02/22
Review Source: Capterra

If you are looking to amplify your sales force, this product is for you. It will elevate your sales force and make the ease of coaching and feedback effortless.

Response from HireVue

Thank you, Carla! We appreciate you sharing some of the value you're seeing from the Coach platform!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ya H.

Easy to use

Reviewed on 2015/04/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Easy to use

Pros

Easy to use, provides a log for team to review, which is a good feature

Cons

Sometimes the connection drop, network connection needs to improve

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Dawn M.

Greatest revolution in HR since the resume

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

Time saved on interviews.

Pros

The ability to have candidates submit video reviews is absolutely incredible. What a timesaver to be able to pre-screen and rate candidates before they walk through your doors.

Cons

I'm not sure if there is a best practice manual for users and applicants but that would helptremendously.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Camisha E.

Convenient Interviews

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

This software was used to assist me with completing an employment application, it was convenient and easy to use

Pros

This software allows for employers to conduct interviews without having to be in person which can be convenient for both parties

Cons

It may be interesting to know for some employers how many times the interview has been viewed

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

HireVue review

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I’ve used this product a free times when being considered for a job. It’s user friendly. It allows you to re-record yourself and review your answer.

Cons

I’m not really into video interviews. I don’t see the purpose for them unless it’s for a remote position. Nothing against HireVue.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10