244 reviews

Sage 50cloud

Cloud-connected accounting solution for small business

3,8 /5 (244 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

3,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
67%
recommended this app
244 reviews
Brandon T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Package/Freight Delivery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sage 50 Review

Reviewed on 2019/05/14

Sage has always been helpful through online or phone calls whenever you need them. Find the right consultant for you, and you experience improves.

Pros

There is alot of things that are already set up for you to just hit the ground running and a lot of items integrated into the system to help small businesses that need a solution but no time to customize a whole system.

Cons

Sage 50 allows for minimal customization from their out of the box set up software. This plays as an advantage, but does not allow you to get the information you want in the view you want.

Blake B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good for relatively simple manufacturing businesses

Reviewed on 2020/08/31

Good for the first $5M - $10M of a manufacturing business's life, but not excellent to go beyond that. Do yourself a favor and scale your software up as your business grows.

Pros

Anybody who has used any other accounting software packages will instantly understand Sage 50. It does what it's supposed to -- you can track money in, money out, and all via accrual accouting.

Cons

At a certain point, you outgrow it. If you're a relatively simple manufacturing business with only a couple product lines and a couple manufacturing lines, this works for you. Once you start scaling with multiple locations, cost centers, etc., you'll outgrow it.

Amish K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Sage 50 Accounting

Reviewed on 2017/02/24

Sage 50 Accounting is ideal for the small business that is looking for a comprehensive, customizable core accounting solution that includes: A/P, A/R , well developedBilling, Invoicing, Inventory Management and Financial reporting. Sage 50 Accounting integration with Microsoft Excel, Outlook and PDF are some of its other features. Sage 50 Acwell-developed program that is great for the small business to keep their books organized. Sage 50 Accounting recognizes that small businesses may not need some of the more advanced features that some of its higher versions have. This is why Sage 50 features are pretty basic, providing support for tasks such as project management, costing, invoicing, reporting among others.

Pros

Easy to Use.
Ease of implementation.
The flexibility of financial reporting.
A functional software for small uncomplicated businesses.
Integration with core Microsoft applications like Excel makes a good product for analytics export into a spreadsheet.

Cons

It is very basic. And also does not have many capabilities.
Finding Transactions can be a bit Tricky.
Check printing has its own set of problem.
Need to have a fair level of accounting knowledge to use it correctly.

Randy W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Sage 50 'Quantum' Canadian is very stable but limited. No significant new features for last 4...

Reviewed on 2015/06/12

Pros:
- Sage 50 Canadian is very stable, any 'crash' is almost always a hardware or operating system issue.
- Vendor technical support is prompt and helpful.
- Uses a solid 'Enterprise-grade' back end database.
- ODBC is free, and included.
- Free SDK is available.

Cons:
- Response to bugs is to provide work-arounds
- No significant new features since 2011.
- Screen designs are stuck on 1988. Data entry fonts are unusably tiny on modern monitors, and can't be adjusted.
- Features and prior bundled software has been removed, no longer supported, or flat out disabled:
. web store integration,
. Crystal Reports,
. ACT! CRM integration
. Simply HR Manager
- Numerous limitations in the 'Quantum' version to prevent use by all but the smallest companies:
. no transaction reports show purchase order numbers,
. ship-to addresses are limited to 99,
. multiple vendor shipping addresses are not supported at all
. if using multiple 'locations', inventory reports are wrong due to wrong beginning onhand.
. Multiple shipments to / from a single invoice are not supported.
. No way to report on Purchase Order vs invoice purchase amounts or pricing.
. No reports

- Designed for Accountants, not for business operations.
. 'Job Tracking' will record what you put in, but not tell you what to bill out.
. Year end process is unnecessarily convoluted and cumbersome for the business.
. Inventory 'available' isn't displayed during invoicing, only 'On Hand'.
. Only 2 years of sales statistics are tracked - current and prior year. Since current is always opened before the prior year is completed, there is never any point in time where a comparative report is of any use.
. Canned reports are inadequate and can't be customized.
- Time Tracking to Invoicing only works if you never have separate jobs for a single client - and who wouldn't?
- Inventory statistics are broken - Quantities are correct, but adjustments rack up the statistics on number of transactions (one sale, adjusted two times will show as 5 transactions)
- Virtually all inventory, sales, and purchase detail reports show all adjusted and reversed transactions, but don't output any indicator that they are just dead, junk data.
- Few third party software integrations
- Other Sage software does not work with it AT ALL. (Asset tracking, Time & Billing, CRM)

Sarah D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

It gets the job done!

Reviewed on 2018/06/21

The software is pretty self explanatory meaning I don't believe new users would require additional training in order to use the product. I think if they would develop a better adjustment scenario (ie. Journal Entry adjustments) I think this product would rate up there with QuickBooks. This product is definitely worth the look!

Pros

The customer service at Sage is extremely helpful! I have had to call multiple times, and each and every time they patiently help me through my problem. I think it's great if you have a small to medium sized manufacturing business and want something to keep track of everything.

Cons

Comparing the software to QuickBooks, I think there is a lack of efficiency in entering Journal Entries especially when you happen to find a problem that originated in a prior year. Other than that, I think the software is great for recording daily transactions and keeping track of inventory (for small to medium businesses).

Jennifer L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Basic accounting program with limited customization options

Reviewed on 2018/02/08

Cheaper than other larger programs, easy to use and manage.

Pros

The dashboard feature makes using the software and locating specific functions relatively easy. Invoicing, accounts receivables and accounts payables is straightforward. Program is cheaper than other larger accounting programs.

Cons

Inventory management features are very limited, pricing options are limited. Designed really for small, basic use . Limited customization abilities. You now have to upgrade and pay for upgrade every year because it is on cloud. Customer service is horrible, very rarely can solve any problems and wait times are very long.

Nathan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Implementation is the key

Reviewed on 2018/12/14

Overall I think it is a decent package for a small company implementing their first accounting package.

Pros

The program offers much promise to a small business. Many college students have exposure to this package. The package offers decent reports

Cons

Limits on reports pegged to buying add-on components. Customer service was not very helpful...unless you pay considerably more money.

Nicki M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

More bang for your,buck!

Reviewed on 2020/02/20

The use of Sage over Quickbooks is a total 360. It's so easy to navigate and find the transactions and reports you need to use.

Pros

I use this software at my actual job.
I like the ease of use so much that I am switching to using it at my second job.

Cons

Tax code formulas, if something is missing I have no idea how to correct it.

Jeremy M.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Sage 50

Reviewed on 2017/07/14

OK for a small business that just needs an off the shelf product that can handle most needs.

Pros

Relatively easy to use and has a lot of built-in reports. Can handle a wide range of functions. Price is reasonable.

Cons

It can be a little constricting in terms of functionality, not great when higher complexity is needed.

Denise W.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Works well for very basic needs.

Reviewed on 2017/07/11

Not a bad software for someone with less-complex functionality needs.

Pros

Ease of navigation/user friendly. Report creation is simple with a wide variety of reports available based on the business needs.

Cons

Limited functionality for more complex needs. Would like more detail in terms of customer and vendor info.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I really like this product for our company. We use it for payroll, all accounting, customers...

Reviewed on 2018/07/02

Pros

I use this product for all of our accounting, invoicing, accounts payable and accounts receivable, credit card, payroll etc.

Cons

If you should have issues or the system should go down you have to call customer service and sometimes it take awhile until the call you back.

Esther W.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A good accounting software.

Reviewed on 2018/11/22

Upgrades are difficult to do.

Pros

The accounting software provides a good paper trail to provide to the accountant and it is easy to follow the paper trail.

Cons

We find it difficult to upgrade as it seems when we upgrade we have to create a new title for saving the company.

Nancy P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Not very current

Reviewed on 2016/12/07

Very cumbersome to use with an outdated look. Reports are powerful but not always easy to figure out. Good at handling membership but not other "extras" like volunteering or events. Good choice for a very small organization without many records.

Pros

Simple to use

Cons

Very outdated

Nathan H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sage 50 cloud is brilliant!

Reviewed on 2021/02/11

Having used it for 13 years or so it's the best accounting software out there. The problem is.... it may be outdated before long due to Cloud software

Pros

The reporting features are almost unlimited. There are so many!!

Cons

The price, it is expensive in comparison

Ibrahim B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I am the users of the product

Reviewed on 2018/12/06

Pros

It serves as an accounting solution for some companies.
It helps to manage accounting systems in organization

Cons

Users friendly
Easy to post information
Easy to access information on the system
Proper accountings.

Emily W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 2019/02/14

Pros

I love how easy and user friendly it is. Everything is clear.

Cons

Wish there were more products that integrated with the software seamlessly. Most importantly POS.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It's good.

Reviewed on 2018/04/12

Pros

It does the job from an accounting front. From my perspective, it's very sensitive w/other applications and at times this will cause delays for communication between systems.

Cons

Sage seems very sensitive w/other applications and at times this will cause delays for communication between systems.

Phil K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not too special

Reviewed on 2018/01/16

Have been using this software since Peachtree Days. Not too happy with it anymore but I still use it for some smaller companies.

Pros

Ability to easily format Invoices and Statements. Good flexibility on use of account numbers and financial statement formatting.

Cons

Constant pressure to upgrade to latest edition. Now only available as a subscription service at a higher cost than competing software products. Seems to take a long time to load program.

Bianca G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

This is a great product for small to midsize business looking to have better control of their...

Reviewed on 2017/09/05

It was easy and fast to set up, I was able to bring in data from older versions of this software located in other servers and manager several different companies.

Pros

The user interface is intuitive, it's easy to install and get going on your own. Not a lot of updates to keep up with.

Cons

Customer service supports is awful. Setting up users permission can be complicated, you can't add new users when other users are logged in.

Jill P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sage Accounting--review by a 10+ year user

Reviewed on 2016/05/16

Pros

My training is accounting--I like the process and the robustness of the accounting for the price point.

Cons

It is difficult to customize reports. We are also constrained by the # of fields within the payroll module--as far as the category in which the employee worked. We also lament the lack of integration with our bank, microsoft programs etc.

Cory S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Accounting Made Easy

Reviewed on 2017/11/07

Pros

For the small company that needs an easy to use accounting software this would be for you. Easy to install. Good customer customer support when you have the support package.

Cons

Sometimes not the most intuitive software you can come across. Support can be a hassle going through the verification process but as long as your have the support package you are good to go.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very easy to use if you dont mess with the accounts

Reviewed on 2018/03/13

Pros

Easy to use and the pro of this software it can be sync with more software we use in the company.
The customer service is good also, as we did request for a help and we had over the pc help and sorted our problem.

Cons

They got one issue with the reports when you want to send the invoice via email and if you do install the updates it will mess arround with the software. So we need to wait for the customer service couple of days to come with a solution.

Nothing too big, but still essential.

Sara H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Functionality

Reviewed on 2017/06/09

Pros

The ability to view the entries posted and balances are updated real time.
Good for small to medium business set ups

Cons

Batch process takes a long time to process. ( interface from bank to SAGE). We update data from bank ( revenues) to SAGE and that function takes a long while to process.
Do not know how to create reports - My Reports in SAGE. The help sheets are not as clear as I would like it to be.
Unable to see the invoice document ( digital) in SAGE payables and unable to see any scanned supporting document to the GL entries. E.g. if the payable files ( hard copies) are not filed, we need to hunt for the document to understand the entries posted.

Amy S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good value for your money

Reviewed on 2017/11/07

Good software for the price. Has some great job costing features.

Pros

This software does an excellent job of helping to track and reconcile the full accounting process. Its reporting and comparative reports are excellent. It has great controls which allow for all changes to posted entries to be tracked

Job costing feature is excellent and the reports that are able to be produced work well.

Cons

The bank reconciliations have been known to frequently be malfunction because of entries that don't post properly. The solution is fairly cumbersome and requires unreconciling all past bank reconciliations. I have known some organizations who simply do there bank reconciliations outside of Sage 50

Tiffany B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use Accounting Software

Reviewed on 2018/02/12

Pros

I like the easy to use features of this program. While it is a more in-depth accounting program, I feel the developers took their time when designing this program. They make it simple enough for people to catch on quickly but complicated enough to get the job done. I also like being able to see my accounts in real time.

Cons

I wish they had an amortization scheduler built in. I also feel that it seems a little easier to hack than other software programs out there.