590 reviews

Marketo Engage

Marketing automation for digital marketers

4,2 /5 (590 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,2 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
86%
recommended this app
590 reviews
Ruth B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Customizable to Your Business

Reviewed on 2020/06/18

Pros

Marketo is robust and can be configured to meet most business cases. It integrates well with many systems/services. For example, Marketo integrates better with Salesforce than Salesforce Marketing Cloud. There is a solid user group/community. Things like Content AI and Web Personalization take personalization across your digital marketing to the next level. Training is required to use a lot of features.

Cons

You have to build your own preference center. This doesn't come out-of-the-box. UI is bad, and Marketo Sky will help fix this, but it's taking forever for Marketo Sky to get to a point where I can actually use it. Many features do cost extra but you can pick and choose. Landing page templating is lacking without a dedicated devloper.

Imad F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great for all businesses

Reviewed on 2020/09/27

Can't live a day without the software. Sometimes I can't understand somethings, but they have loads of tutorials on their website and YouTube.

Pros

Whatever you can think of in terms of marketing automation, lead management and email marketing, chances are Marketo can do it.

Cons

You can just subscribe and start using it without a little training. And the functionalities are so many, that you really need to know what you are looking for to find it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Flexible and Adaptable, Best for Technical Users

Reviewed on 2019/07/22

The depth of configurability has been a huge benefit for our organization, a global enterprise company with a complex international business structure. While there are challenges in terms of getting users up to speed, much of what we accomplish we could not have done on our previous systems in terms of the complexity of scoring, routing, and lead management.

Pros

The ability to customize and scale has been the biggest benefit of Marketo, paired with the levels of complexity that can be used to refine audiences and reporting in ways that cannot be acheived in other platforms.

Cons

There is a significant rampup and onboarding period, the tool is designed for a more technical user, which can cause some frustrations and leads to a learning curve

Rachel T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes Small Teams Seem Big

Reviewed on 2017/12/20

The Marketo community is great and one of the highlights of working with this software. The support is robust and effective. While the aesthetic aspects of the forms, landing pages, and emails leaves something to be desired, it is more than made up for in overall functionality.

Pros

We have a really small marketing team, but we are able to create quality, complex nurture streams easily with Marketo. It also gives us valuable insight into who is engaging with our website and our emails. We couldn't imagine running our marketing with anything else.

Cons

While the functional aspects of Marketo are great, they are lacking in some areas like form design and ease of use for designing emails and landing pages. They have tried to improve all three but continue to fall short compared to other tools. You will have to have someone who knows how to do some basic coding if you want to go beyond their most basic templates.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Big Boy of Marketing Autumation

Reviewed on 2019/02/19

Overall - Marketo was killer! Onboarding was great and support with issues was helpful. My biggest advice would be to maximize their time on site by building funnels you actually can use!

Pros

Marketo allows you to automate anything. Whatever action you want to trigger from - you can. We were a large publishing group sending millions of emails each month. We needed ways to segment and identify the exact user we wanted. Marketo gave us those tools to do that quickly and easily!

Cons

Some of our team struggled to understand some of the terms and systems. It came very quick to some of the team and slower with others. I mention this because it seemed more like a mental block than ignorance. I also felt like we needed a developer to help make the dreams happen. It was just outside of our skillset so we needed some extra hands in the early days making all the connections perfect.

Zack G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Multiple Layers of Useful Features, Steep Learning Curve, Ultimately Worth the Price

Reviewed on 2017/11/09

I am in the non-profit space, which generally has too few staff trying to do too many things. When used properly, Marketo increases our capabilities beyond what any of us alone could accomplish through a typical email-blast service. That being said, it takes discipline, time, and maybe even a dedicated personnel resource (internal or external) to get it up and running where it begin to really serve your organization's needs.

Pros

- Options for Customization of Automation Campaigns and Landing Pages
- Extensive Analytical Tools
- "The Sky's the Limit" on how much your marketing team can do with this tool

Cons

- The Email Editor is difficult to use, in my opinion. But if you are comfortable with writing HTML code, you can bypass the drag-and-drop editor. Also, it may not be any more difficult than any other option (I don't have a wide exposure to email builders).
- The learning curve on the whole is steep. If you don't have a dedicated marketing staff person, you may be frustrated by how much time you need to set aside to learn how to use the various tools. But their documentation resources and training tools are very helpful.
- You have to pay extra for full-service tech support.

Shahid S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Marketo beats every platform in the peer space.

Reviewed on 2019/08/20

We just love this platform, it has improved our Sales-Marketing initiatives and we are able to achieve best results.

Pros

Lead Management- Marekto has helped us improve our lead management with better lead scoring parameters and tracking the movement of each lead help us drive sales.
Marketing campaigns- We are able to successfully deliver our email marketing campaigns and achieve high results, With Marketo we justify the ROI on marketing spend.
The email templates, the email scheduler, analytics, different dashboards are great feature and can boost your productivity.

Cons

This is the best platform, having said that it needs training to use more efficiently. So a training is required for new user to make optimal use of it.

Nick H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Head and shoulders above other platforms

Reviewed on 2017/12/21

Pros

Marketo has robust lead scoring and lifecycle management solutions. Lead scoring can be tokenized to create efficient and scalable.models.
Triggered MQL and Sales Alert Emails enable Sales to follow up with highly qualified leads.
Engagement programs that allow you to easily nurture leads through the customer journey.
Segment your audience and send dynamic content that is personalized to each segmentation
Smart list logic and campaigns allow for many different types of triggered campaigns

Cons

Some minor UX improvements: Be able to view a subject line without opening the email.
Improve Text version editor - Even MailChimp's is superior.
Create stronger de-duplication technology native to the platform.

Reto S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Full Power Marketing Automation

Reviewed on 2015/12/21

With Marketo you have a Marketing Automation Suite is great to create straight forward lead capturing campaigns but also sophisticated marketing campaigns with dynamic content and multi-dimensional campaigns.
It is a full Marketing Platform with a lot of features to save time and crate successful campaigns.
It works fine with Salesforce CMR and SAP C4C (Cloud)

Pros

Customer Support and Training. Never had such a professional, but also demanding introduction. But they know, why they are doing it. The Platforms possibilities are huge and will provide the success you need to afford it.
Almost everything is possible. Each step of a campaign can be adjusted. You can create your own reports at any stage in the campaign.
To copy a whole campaign, including landing pages, flows and all e-mails take just a few clicks. But what is really impressive; to adjust the copied campaign to it’s new date, location a.o. it’s another click and you are up and running.

Cons

If it is your first Marketing Automation Software, go and hire a consultant. It is hard to get into the system, if this topic is new for you. There are a few decision you have to take (structure) in an early stage that will cause more work if there are wrong or just missed.
Also because of its flexibility it is hard to understand and at it first few rather complex than logical. You definitely need do invest time to get it up and running.

Amanda T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Marketing Automation Manager

Reviewed on 2017/12/20

I have use Marketo for just about 4 years. I have found success in implementing new strategies through Marketo and increasing MQLs, SQLs, and customers because of it. Marketo will definitely be able to adapt to a dynamic company.

Pros

Marketo is easy to use and can be as custom and complicated as you need it to be. They have an extensive community that gives endless advice and will answer any questions you have. It is perfect for any sized company that is looking to grow and optimize their marketing operations.

Cons

I would like to see a little more from the analytics and SEO, but I believe the new UI will be enhancing these areas of the product.

Jenna W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Marketo is great, but you need the manpower

Reviewed on 2017/12/22

Pros

I love how powerful Marketo is! If you have the time and manpower to run creative, thoughtful campaigns and automation, you'll be a marketing rockstar and your sales team will be closing leads all day! The Salesforce sync is fantastic, as well as additional plugins and integrations that you couldn't even dream up yourself. Seems like they've thought of everything.

Cons

It requires quite a bit of manpower and effort to be able to use Marketo to its fullest potential. A small marketing team could struggle with new ideas, troubleshooting, and having the time to fully analyze the product's ROI.

Rebecca A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy to use but often frustrating and not dependable

Reviewed on 2018/01/02

Pretty decent CRM software with a few time wasting features. I'd like to see more product updates.

Pros

I've been using Marketo for 5+ years now. It's really easy to navigate, manage leads, create campaigns, and get basic reporting.

Cons

it can sometimes take upwards of an hour for the system to process leads and send an email to a larger sized list. Email reporting could be better. There have been several outages in the last year where everyone was unable to login to the system, all site forms were down, and anyone with emails scheduled to go out during the outage were pretty much helpless.

Erin O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Flexible, powerful tool for demand gen.

Reviewed on 2019/01/22

Pros

I have used Marketo for the past 7 years and I have always found it flexible enough to do what I needed it to. It has strong integrations with most leading marketing apps and is pretty easy to use. For simple marketing automation tasks (lead scoring, lead routing, nurture sequences, etc.) it's worked great.

Cons

Because the tool is pretty flexible, sometimes there are almost too many ways to configure and set-up programs. The email/landing page tool is starting to feel a bit dated and at times it can be a bit slow to search/query.

Nam N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes my day to day as a sales ops professional easier

Reviewed on 2016/12/13

As someone who works in sales operations, I was always intrigued with what happens to a lead outside of the normal sales cycle. I was able to get approval for training for Marketo and with my knowledge in Salesforce (admin certified), bridging the gap between both systems have been a game changer for our organization. I have really been able to take advantage of how a lead is marketed and nurtured to, so that when the lead is ready to engage with sales, they are a bit more qualified, making sales conversations easier and faster. We've implemented lead scoring, different nurture programs, drip campaigns, automated lead routing based on assigned quota, properly tagged leads based on what channel they've come from...I could go on and on. I love Marketo and I love what it can do alongside Salesforce.

Pros

The Marketo widget in Salesforce is great. It lets a seller know exactly what pages they visited on your website, which emails they opened, what they've downloaded, including dates and timestamps. This REALLY helps a seller prepare for an initial call and sets them up for success. Marketo's integration with Salesforce is great and because I was already Salesforce certified, it was pretty easy for me to learn Marketo.

Cons

It can be a bit slow to do some stuff in Marketo, it's not as fast as Salesforce.

Adam B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A solid tool with a lot of functionality and good direction

Reviewed on 2017/06/10

Pros

Marketo has a lot of companies that partner with them. They are a great company for Enterprise businesses.

Cons

All Marketing Automation tools are growing and have their own pros and cons. Marketo doesn't really have the whole Social tie in piece like Hubspot does, but it is able to tie into many via API. There are also some latency issues on the data processing side that gives us issues when we're bulk updating records or sending a large amount of emails.

Valerie A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fantastic product that gets the job done

Reviewed on 2016/01/11

Pros

Marketo is a very easy to use platform. With no prior marketing automation experience, I was able to master the functionality of the product by reading the documentation and reaching out to the members of the Marketo community.

The level of customization you can build into Marketo allows me to scale the marketing efforts of our team from a systems standpoint, whether it be workflows (smart campaigns), building email and landing page assets, or integrating with other Launchpoint vendors or the Marketo API, I am able to use Marketo to implement scalable solutions to my company's automation needs.

Cons

The integration with SFDC Custom Objects is great, but not complete in my opinion. For companies that use a lot of Salesforce custom objects and want to utilize the data on those objects for marketing campaigns, expect to need some assistance if you aren't a developer.

The Analytics section of Marketo (not speaking to RCE here) is very much "out of the box" reporting that doesn't allow for too much customization. Typically, I have to pull reports into Excel for further analysis. This is why it's extremely important for first-time Marketo customers to set up a proper naming convention to make reporting a bit easier in Marketo and for circumstances when you need to pull data into Excel.

Myca A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great marketing automation tool for the right organization

Reviewed on 2017/02/21

After a multi-month search for a new marketing automation solution, our team settled on three finalists: Marketo, IBM/SilverPop and Adobe Campaign. While all three platforms provided excellent high-end functionality, we ultimately went with Marketo due to the perceived ease of use and out-of-the-box functionality. We were not disappointed.

Pros

Our team was able to get Marketo up and running in 15 days to send emails. This is NOT a standard timeframe, and we have a dedicated and very motivated team.
Service and training to date have been excellent.

Cons

If you have a many-many database, think carefully and have good internal conversations before selecting Marketo. We moved from ExactTarget to Marketo, and discovered multiple challenges with our data structure during and after implementation. Long-term, we expect this to be solved with the implementation of a new CRM solution, but it has caused some short-term growing pains.

Claudia G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great platform for Marketing Leads and Customer Lifecycle communication

Reviewed on 2018/11/12

I use this platform for email marketing, registration forms and landing pages for my customers, I really find very helpful to have all this solutions in one platform, so I can easily target my communications and marketing activities in one place with a safe data base.

Pros

I love that it is an integrated marketing tool where you can manage your customers, comunicate with them and use different solutions such as email, forms, landing pages, ect. The best part of it is that you can do it all by yourself and adjust your communication to your customer lifecycle.

Cons

here is nothing that I dislike. I think this tool has what you need. When I'm having trouble with something in the platform I just look out in the tutorials and that's it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I can't imagine managing my leads without Marketo

Reviewed on 2018/03/07

Pros

Marketo enables you to easily track leads across the buyer's journey and also manage your leads to place them in product specific nurtures. There is a lot of information that you can store and act on for each lead in your database.

Cons

Marketo can be tough to learn at first, but when you get the hang of it, and begin to understand how it works, things start to click.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love this Marketing Automation Platform!

Reviewed on 2020/10/15

I love this tool, we use it day to day and I would highly recommend it over any other Marketing Automation Platform.

Pros

I love the ease of use and the organization Marketo uses, I also love how it is now integrated with so many Adobe services!

Cons

Sometimes there are glitches and it acts really slow and has you refresh a lot of times, or takes a while for things to load.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Complicated and Robust

Reviewed on 2019/07/16

Pros

Marketo is literally the most advanced platform I've used for lead gen and automation. You can accomplish pretty much anything you can think up. There is a lot of support in the Marketo forums that will help you solve Marketo's complex software.

Cons

Customer service is terrible. I can usually figure out the problem while they are telling me it's not possible. This has happened multiple times. No visual flow charts. Overall, it's a very complex software with a steep learning curve.

Dory V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Marketo - Takes the Gold for Marketing Automation Platforms

Reviewed on 2016/08/09

Pros

Marketo is probably the most robust marketing automation solution on the market. They have native solutions for many things that you might want to do from personalization to email deliverability, and if they don't have a native solution then there is a Launchpoint partner with an integrated solution that you can add-on.

Cons

There are definite shortcomings in some of their paid add-ons, and if you're spending extra money you might benefit from looking at another partner that specializes in what you want to add on.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Love Marketo for all of my marketing automation!

Reviewed on 2018/05/04

Pros

This is a super powerful and valuable tool. The amount of detail you can collect on your marketing contacts is amazing. You can then take that information and tailor numerous amounts of outreach and communication in a very personalized way. I love this software and after using other comparable ones, think that it is the best around.

Cons

There is a significant learning curve with this. Unlike other similar softwares, this is not as user friendly. That being said, once trained, it is easy to navigate.

Pieter L.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Marketo Admin

Reviewed on 2018/07/05

Lead history, data appending, scoring, email marketing, reporting, web tracking, and much more

Pros

Very user friendly. Straight forward making it easy for new people to use the program as well as having the ability to do complicated things for power users.

Cons

I wish the landing page editor were more like the email editor. Also sometimes it runs a little slow.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Lead Generation on Autopilot

Reviewed on 2018/12/06

Pros

Marketo was our go to lead generation automation tool for many years. They have everything you need to track inbound campaigns and monitor current customer databases.

Cons

Marketo is the biggest but they come with a hefty price tag. A number of lower cost competitors are starting to provide similar offerings at a lower cost point.