229 reviews

Zoho Projects

Project Management, Collaboration and Bug Tracking

4,2 /5 (229 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,2 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
84%
recommended this app
229 reviews
Juan F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My experience in ZOHO is amazing. My life changed when I discover this program.

Reviewed on 2017/12/11

My experience in ZOHO is amazing.We are a company operating in 7 countries (Spain, Morocco, USA, China, Vietnam, Korea, France). We are about 120 active people in product and process development.
ZOHO has allowed a correct platform to do the communication between different countries.
Also, we have improved the project procedure implementation.
We are 150 people in ZOHO projects. We are working in several countries (Spain, Morocco, France, Korea, China, Vietnam, USA). Now all projects for new products, problems solutions, etc, are managed in ZOHO with a acceptable level implementation of the procedure.

Pros

Correct functionality for project management.
Available basics tools.
Easy and intuitive use.
Very Cheaper
High control of the activities by the managers

Cons

Not possible to install in our server. This is a problem for us (not big problems, but we prefer run in our server).
The GANTT view should be improved. It is not very clear, and complicated the export for communication with other people without access the system
Document for training is poor.
Not exist report system.
somo people has not clear the daily task.
The milestones are only informative (or I don't know the real idea of the ZOHO designers with this concept).
A little complicated for the project manager (this is my case).

Ken M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

This has been an easy to use and fast deployment app

Reviewed on 2018/05/01

Ease of use. Value for money. Useful features

Pros

This solution allowed us to become operational with our customers very quickly, and to provide a way to collaborate with them. The fact that it is online allows us to have common access with our clients and to provide transparency.
Previous to using this, all team members had their own versions of PM tools that were not compatible and made for a very frustrating experience when trying to collaborate.
Our clients like the fact that they have access to be able to contribute to the success of our projects.
Zoho as a company have made changes as part of our feature requests that continue to make the experience of using this solution more pleasurable.
Having a single price point for unlimited users and projects also made a huge difference when choosing a solution.
This is a highly recommended app for any size organization

Cons

There really isn't a downside considering the value for money. If the cost was inline with more expensive alternatives that have more features I could see that being an issue.

Adith K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Collaborate your team and manage your projects by using Zoho Projects.

Reviewed on 2018/08/04

Pros

The interface is simple, intuitive and easy to use. It is a project management tool with all basic functionalities. They provide Timesheets, which help you in tracking time. You can keep track of your all projects by switching between multiple projects. You can check out the Kanban view to keep a track of the internal tasks. The application helps to list tasks and subtasks, and you can assign resources to these subtasks. Helps in creation of reports and forms for your project. Customer service and support team are very responsive. The application is easy to set up and allows easy navigation and configuration. Integrated with other applications like Zoho Bugs and G Suite applications.

Cons

The free version lacks a lot of features in comparison to the paid one. The absence of a group chats feature. The application encountered errors while working with QuickBooks. It is quite difficult to work on the mobile phone version. You can’t add multiple employees to different projects at the same time.

Bheesam J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

it is s good tool for small/basic projects and comes with affordable price with lots of...

Reviewed on 2018/01/17

Pros

The best think i found about this tool is its customer support service and chat feature where you can chat with its representatives.
this is more suitable for small projects/team or an individual and comparatively cheaper as compared to the other products with the same functionalities and use. it provides use multiple views which helps user if in case he/she is not comfortable with the default view.
some feature really impress me like milestone,task-list,setting timer on your task, having multiple views to set, ability to restrict the client access to the limited/unlimited number of projects. in a small team it makes easy project monitoring overall for a small team size or individual i will recommend this product.

Cons

i have faced difficulty with its integration with few apps like Quickbooks and stuck with the reports when run across the projects. so suitable only for the projects under one umbrella.
Reports lack some data about the customer and projects there can be some data that can be put in the reports like project detail start/end time or type of the project.Privacy is the certain cons here as it lack the privacy in-between users to users and client.
Also a drawback which might have been resolved in new version of this software is the less number of filters while preparing for chart/reports.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great start, but needs to be tweaked

Reviewed on 2016/08/17

The core functionality of the platform is excellent - the way the flow works with projects, milestones, task lists, tasks, and subtasks support such a variety of project complexities, which is wonderful for a company like mine where our projects range in scope.

Pros

The time tracking is easy to use and a clean design. The ability to move task lists between projects and things is also a great feature.

Cons

There are some areas where you are prompted to load a file, but then when you try it tells you it must be an image. There should be tags or custom fields at the task level. Milestones should have an option to not enter a date as sometimes it is used for planning a backlog (for our purposes)

Also, an admin should be able to unfollow a project manually. I like that we are opted in to follow everything, but I have no way to remove projects that are not relevant to me whatsoever.

Another MAJOR con that isn't specific to projects is just how unhelpful the tech support staff is. They seem to only be interested in closing the ticket, so much so that they don't always read the entire question or bother to try and formulate an answer, they just give you a link to their help desk and send you on your way. That has been the SINGLE most frustrating aspect of any and all Zoho products we are using.

Anil J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The features at the price offered are best compared to similar apps.

Reviewed on 2018/09/24

Pros

It is a great tool for any business brand. It helps to manage the projects and tasks in a very efficient manner. It provides features for planning projects. You can create blueprints for your plan and follow up accordingly. This can be very helpful for keeping track of the progress. These records can then be used to update the sales, marketing, and other strategies accordingly. The project can be classified based on the priority of the tasks that need to be finished earlier. The team can be informed about the project and its updated on the same platform. It provides room for collaboration and sharing of essential information.

Cons

The features they offer during the trial period are way less than what it offers while we buy it for a monthly price. If one user has more than one projects with the same username and credentials, I have to manually copy all the details as it doesn't show up in the same window.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent and easy to use Project Management software for small companies

Reviewed on 2019/09/29

The experience was nice enough and the customer support was great.

Pros

This is hands down the best project management software for small companies that don't want or need the heavy lifting of software such as Microsoft Project but need some form of project management over simple whiteboards. Transitioning from the office whiteboards to Zoho Projects is easy. It is easy enough to deploy even to the lest Tech literate in the project team - all they have to do is see the tasks assigned to them and tick off things. The chat feature is a bonus. The invoice and time tracking features are great though only a few on the team actually end up using them :(

Cons

It is not as full-featured. And while on the whole, it is easy to scale up, once projects get complex, you start feeling the lack. But for most work, this is just fine.

Jason H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Zohoprojects - Lacks essential functionality

Reviewed on 2015/04/29

Zohoprojects looks good at first however there are some small bugs. More importantly there are MAJOR issues once everything is set up. Unfortunately we had to leave zohoprojects for privacy reasons.
Within the project management system as it is currently developed every user can see every comment and task for every other user in the project. We contacted zoho and there is no way of changing this.
Our setup currently is we have employees, contractors, managers and clients.
As far as zoho is concerned though all of the above make no difference as zohoprojects lets every user even the contractors see EVERY detail of every conversation and tasks between managers and clients.
Eventhough there are priviledge roles to prevent users from editing other users tasks they can still view EVERYTHING. Every login or message left, every detail, task, invoice etc generated for every other user.
Therefore two completely independent contractors for example could view absolutely everything that is going on with eachother. Absolutely ludicrous.
This is certainly a fundamental and very basic requirement which any project manager would expect out of the box.
Zohoprojects however seems not to care about it. We contacted them many times about this issue to find a workaround however there is none. We got a nice apology from India but unfortunately that is not enough. This lack of functionality can not be omitted. It is essential.

All it needs is a tick box within each project titled "Tick for Assigned users to be able to view tasks and milestones only"

In summary:
If you are intending to use zohoprojects to manage one or more contractors and employees for your business then DON´T. You could do more damage to your business through this lack of privacy functionality than good if you do. As every project user can see EVERYTHING that everyone else is doing including any login or sensitive information that is posted. There is no way of making any message or task private. Also ALL client information can be viewed by EVERY user also.
Zoho does have a solution to client information being visible to all the users which is to set up one project for clients and one for workers.
Surely that negates the complete purpose of the system in the first place?

All I can say is "It´s a shame".

Unless they fix it soon they will certainly lose huge amounts of customers and revenue just the same as they have now lost ours.

Pros

When there are problems with the platform a very apologetic response from India arrives in your mailbox explaining that there is no solution.

Cons

no privacy between users
no privacy for clients from users

Dan C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Online Project Management and Collaboration at an incredibly low cost!

Reviewed on 2018/06/13

Compared to other products that I've configured and used, this one takes the cake. It's just so easy. I find it much easier to work with, and that's resulted in greater productivity and visibility for my stakeholders.

Pros

Having used other products, I have found Zoho Projects to be the easiest to configure and use as both an administrator of the product and as a project manager. Every feature that I need to effectively manage a waterfall project from a scheduling perspective is included in this tool. Top that off with the Zoho Apps and collaboration features, and you have a ecosystem that that could rivals any of the larger providers.

Cons

There are some Agile features in Zoho Projects, but to completely implement an Agile PM approach, you should consider Zoho Sprints instead.

Jorge A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great software. A few display and navigation features could be twicked.

Reviewed on 2018/04/11

Optimize our internal procesess

Pros

User friendly interface. Easy of use. Nice graphics. Good charts. And most of all provides an easy acces tool for reports.

Cons

Some features are redundant (like timesheets) I mean you can access from several places and that makes it a bit confusing. The descriptor columns on the tasks panel are not adjustable, if i want to see just some info in my screen t print a report there is alot of blank space. The timesheet aproval could be optimized. Somethins require more than one click to be done (like the add user feature) and that takes extra time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great CRM!

Reviewed on 2018/08/23

Pros

Our company currently uses Zoho and has been for 4+ years. Great program--- does everything we need it to, it just takes time to learn the ins and outs and get everyone trained on the program.

Cons

Not as user friendly as other programs. Really takes time to dive in and figure out all of the features it containts.

Marc O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Zoho projects has meant a great advance in the management of our projects.

Reviewed on 2017/12/11

Pros

Great ease of use, we have invited contractors, we have not had problems. Also the updates are interesting, allowing to add new fields to the projects, allowing to make more statistics.

Cons

As a negative, I would highlight the lack of integration with Onedrive, the errors reported in the generation of email notifications.

Arlene W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use email system.

Reviewed on 2017/12/06

Pros

What I like most about this software is that it is free and comes with a lot of options for Zoho campaign items, tutorials and webinars. Also, cannot forget to mention no advertising.

Cons

Emails can be marked as spam but it would be nice if there was a feature to block unwanted emails.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A good enough solution for light-to-medium Project work

Reviewed on 2020/02/07

It is a very good tool if you need to collaborate with multiple teams instead of closed group. This makes it easy to share updates and keep data flowing. However, for serious project work, other dependable options are more suitable!

Pros

ZOHO projects provides the option to share projects with external to organization and internal participants , keeping up the collaborative nature of Project management. There is no limit on number of projects.Easy to manage multiple projects and share the updates.

Cons

The interface is not as polished or flexible as the other options- Microsoft projects or even EXcel. The Gantt charts could be made simpler and cleaner for better understanding. The Data dump is often in difficult to read/unreadable format with code appearing along with data.

Tanya C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome tool! Males managing and executing projects efficient and easy

Reviewed on 2018/03/11

Pros

If you have multiple projects that multiple persons contributing to the completion of the project. It allows for the seamless communication and tracking this ensures all aspects of the project are completed within the specified time.

Cons

The layout takes some getting used to, and you get the full function of the platform if you are using the related zoho platforms as well.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Value for money

Reviewed on 2018/11/29

Have had a good experience so far in scheduling the tasks to team members

Pros

This is a good software as it helps you get organised with your tasks

Cons

It seems like its still a work in progress software

Manoj K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

I have been using zoho for last one year in my company

Reviewed on 2017/06/21

Ease of project wise tracking of efforts for Profit/Loss analysis.

Pros

Easy to use by employees to fill their time logs on daily basis for authentic capturing of efforts.
Ease of extracting data for mining results.

Cons

Although new/updated Dashboard provide more details. It is becoming difficult for entering efforts in different project and different tasks and sub-tasks. Also it is bit difficult to edit and modify time logs entered earlier. Creating different subtasks is difficult as the project progresses.

Maria R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It works great for projects of any size really the issue comes with integration with other...

Reviewed on 2018/02/10

Pros

The software works well for project management. It can be accessed from a mobile app. That is quite an advantage. Time sheet management is good.

Cons

Reports from Zoho projects are limited ones. Not useful unless Zoho Reports is added. Customized options for setting up projects or users are not available or very limited.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Zoho projects review from a frequent user

Reviewed on 2019/05/26

It gives me an overall overview of project tasks on daily basis, many people sync their progress here and communicate task related info

Pros

Fast task creation, easy task categories creation, notifications for comments and such, ability to add files to comments, time estimates, task completion percentages

Cons

No good mobile UI, had some UI grid problems when switching from laptop screen to monitor (connecting it with HDMI to laptop)

Sarah P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Surprisingly underrated PM tool!

Reviewed on 2019/08/29

Pretty easily integrated with finance, email, and other projects - I enjoyed using it.

Pros

I came across this product by using their free email software and I appreciate the way Zoho has integrated many useful products into one platform, including Zoho Projects. This integration is what makes the projects app particularly convenient/useful.

Cons

It's not the absolute best PM software out there for professional, large-scale project management. It's more in line with Basecamp.

Ryan T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Zoho: The Easy Organization Tool

Reviewed on 2018/12/05

Our small team of programmers have been using Zoho Projects for a few months now. It is helpful in keeping track of who is working on what and the overall status of a project or fix. We have plans of eventually including our clients by allowing them to submit items and view pending issues.

So far, our small steps to adjust to utilizing Zoho Projects in our everyday work is going very well!

Pros

I appreciate the ease of differentiating our various clients (we set them up as projects) each of which has its own tasks and issues. I also like that assigning tasks and issues, logging the time spent and marking the status of an item is simple.

Cons

Honestly, I haven't run into anything I would consider a major flaw or inconvenience. At first we had issues with the email services, but the support team helped us resolve our issues in a relatively timely manor.

Himanshu G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful Project Management Software

Reviewed on 2018/02/09

Great value for money!

Pros

Lots of features and constantly innovating! Lots of things like milestones, task lists, tasks, and sub-tasks to manage your projects. Simple navigation structure.

Cons

Reporting tools can be improved; they don't have sufficient filters. Also, there isn't an easy way to see tasks staggered withing task lists or projects so as to get a complete view of a project.

Chris W.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Product at a Good Price

Reviewed on 2018/02/26

Pros

Good value! Great for project management and tracking the whole process from start to end for task completion for clients. Software is user friendly. Multiple layout features. Gives reminders to help you stay on course. Supports efficient project collaboration amongst peers. Has made my life easier!

Cons

In the beginning there will be a learning curve. Be patient to get comfortable with features. I needed to get a premium subscription to edit projects. The design could be upgraded. Wish reporting had more filters and included specific and detailed information about the project.

Kimberly J.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great so far!

Reviewed on 2017/06/27

Pros

The software is easy to use, and you become comfortable navigating through the systems rather quickly.

Cons

I had a few issues where I was wanting more customer service . You are able to have a live chat right from the app, but if I had known that before hand, it would have helped me out and saved me time.

Binal P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall it is best product in use. It will be more help, if it will be more user friendly.

Reviewed on 2018/04/12

Pros

1)Timesheet management.
2)Billable and Non billable concept.
3)Tasks Management for each user.
4)Export Excel sheet concept

Cons

1)If I need to close the task i need to click on it then only i can close it.
2)I f i forget to stop timer it didn't get stop