IBM Cognos Analytics Reviews

IBM Cognos Analytics

4.2 (139)
Write a Review!
Business intelligence suite

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(139)
Value for Money
3.9/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
3.8/5
Customer Support
3.8/5
Sort by

139 Reviews

Gerson
Gerson
Overall rating
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great solution for your financial planning

Reviewed on 2018/02/22

Take your time and implement it right and the rewards will be very good.

Take your time and implement it right and the rewards will be very good.

Pros

It has integration with with other IBM products like business intelligence. The excel functionality is great for finances. The product to meet our needs perfectly for all our needs.

Cons

Creating reports is overwhelming at the beginning but if you dedicate time and resources there will be the face of your deployment.

Nabeel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cognos Review

Reviewed on 2017/11/18

Overall, if there is a company that wishes to automate it's reports and improve efficiency across...

Overall, if there is a company that wishes to automate it's reports and improve efficiency across their organization, Cognos is a must-have tool. There is a bit of upfront cost involved to get the reports created in Cognos but the efficiency achieved is almost unparalleled.

Pros

Cognos is an incredibly powerful reporting tool offered by IBM and it has a wonderful ability to be customized across different industries and companies. It can transform work efficiency but automating virtually any data that exists in a company's primary accounting and finance system.

Cons

Cognos is not very user-friendly and often times it can take a while for an individual working with Congos to get familiar with the functionality and the power this tool possesses. Furthermore, report writing and query studio functionality require some database knowledge so the true power of the tool is sometimes limited by these factors.

Curt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Cognos - Fantastic In Some Areas; Lags In Others

Reviewed on 2022/12/06

It’s a means to an end. Not perfect, but no tool is. Pretty much everyone I know in the industry...

It’s a means to an end. Not perfect, but no tool is. Pretty much everyone I know in the industry operates in a multi-tool BI environment. Cognos, like most, hasn’t been able to put together the full package.

Pros

Pixel perfect printing. Most competitors have tagged printing as a way of the past, but there’s still a half generation that relies heavily upon it. This can’t be overlooked.

Cons

The flexibility/functionality of the viz tools can’t compete with competitors. I think it also has a more difficult learning curve. It isn’t an intuitive tool.

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Full-featured, slightly behind the curve.

Reviewed on 2021/11/26

It brings a lot of functionality all under one roof. Our team found the "visualization" a little...

It brings a lot of functionality all under one roof. Our team found the "visualization" a little easier in Cognos vs Power BI, but the paginated reporting better in SSRS/PBIRS. We ended up transitioning entirely from Cognos to the MS stack and the broad consensus by the team is it was an overall welcomed upgrade. We're starting to consider Tableau or Looker, but returning to Cognos isn't on our horizon.

Pros

The ability to visualize data in many way all using the same utility is beneficial so we don't have to worry about multiple deployment/support patterns. Having an in-memory OLAP option made performance less of an issue compared to hitting an on-prem database directly for everything. The ability to add custom code allows for some really creative solutions to unique business problems in reporting.

Cons

We felt the interface and functionality was a little dated - our more technical employees were fine but the more analyst-type developers preferred something "prettier"/"friendlier" like Tableau/Power BI. It also got expensive for us which was one of the two the primary reasons we transitioned. This is obviously dependent on the number of users, so consider your own environment of course.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Business Intellegnce Software with Standard Reporting And Self Service BI

Reviewed on 2018/10/16

Overall it is a great product to use

Overall it is a great product to use

Pros

Cognos Analytics is a flexible software for Standard Business Intelligence Reporting as well as for Self Service Data Visualization capability. You have the option to connect to a variety of the Data Sources as well as Multi-Dimensional Cubes. The new invention of Cognos Analytics software provides a greater flexibility for enterprise deployments and upgrades. It has the new feature of NLP (natural language processing) for predictive analytics by IBM Watson.

Cons

Too many modelling tools (Cognos FrameWork Manager, Dynamic Cube Designer, Cognos Transformer) for modelling the content. Too many studios (Report Studio, Query Studio, Analysis Studio and Event Studio) for report development. Maintainence and cost is huge

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

IBM Cognos Review

Reviewed on 2017/02/23

My company has been using IBM Cognos for the past 4 years. When we purchased IBM Cognos it was the...

My company has been using IBM Cognos for the past 4 years. When we purchased IBM Cognos it was the best fit for our situation. It has been a valued piece of software in our business. It has given us the ability to tie data from multiple data sources. It has given the ability for our departments to run reports that we haven't been able to in the past.

Pros

The software is very intuitive. If you have knowledge of SQL, it is a very easy software to pick up. The Help portion of the Cognos interface is very helpful also.

Cons

Customer Support for this product isn't the best. We have been on Cognos 10.1.1 for a while and when it came up for licensing renewal, we were charged for a newer version of Data Manger. When we inquired about this through our support contract we were going to be charged for the new software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Invaluable Business Intelligence

Reviewed on 2019/09/06

Data is extremely vital to any organization and the ability to generate useful reports and...

Data is extremely vital to any organization and the ability to generate useful reports and dashboards on demand across multiple sources is invaluable.

Pros

Scheduling reports, configuring prompt pages on reports for users to run a standardized report with custom filters are both fantastic features that I used hundreds of times across all reporting.

Cons

Report building was intuitive for a power user but average users found it overwhelming. This just meant a bit more training from my department.

Michelle
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

This report writer is linked to our accounting software.

Reviewed on 2018/03/29

Pros

You can write your own reports and pull out the data you need from our accounting software. You have the ability to create advanced reports and format in multiple ways.

Cons

Sometimes the fields that are in Cognos do not match exactly or have different names from the actual software so it is a guess at what field you are pulling. The report studio portion is advanced report writing and in order to create these reports it is recommended to have additional training in order to make reports be beneficial for your company.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

IBM Cognos Report Studio

Reviewed on 2019/03/28

I would recommend for company reporting, works great with a big database

I would recommend for company reporting, works great with a big database

Pros

Complex reports can be achieved with IBM Cognos Report studio, great for setting up scheduled reports.

Cons

Interface is not user friendly, certain features are not logically placed.Charts are not great when downloaded into Excel.

VIKAS
VIKAS
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

IBM Cognos Analytics Review

Reviewed on 2021/04/28

It is AI driven, improves the business outcomes.It enhances decision making.Overall it improves...

It is AI driven, improves the business outcomes.It enhances decision making.Overall it improves business agility.

Pros

The best thing is "Quality reports can be run at any time and by any representative with a substantial log-in " at IBM Cognos Analytics.The AI enabled exploration and dashboard capabilities are easy to use and exceed expectations

Cons

It is not simple to use. User has to get the formal training to utilise it to maximum extent. Report pulling is not that much fast. It take quite some time to load and display.

CHANDAR
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

COGNOS

Reviewed on 2016/11/10

Cognos makes it easy to design reports that match the look-and-feel required by the client. Report...

Cognos makes it easy to design reports that match the look-and-feel required by the client. Report rendering time is also very fast. Browser support can be touchy and Dynamic Cubes are very hardware intensive.Cognos has strong out of the box capabilities with a wide array of add-ons, and good interoperability with other IBM analytics and data suites

Pros

Compatibility mode queries allow for custom ODBC and JDBC connection to made, so even if there is no native compatibility other databases can still be used as a source if needed.
Dynamic Cubes are capable of querying against millions of rows in seconds when properly set up with sufficient hardware resources.
Standard Reports are snappy, returning data and rendering quickly, as long as the pagination is kept to reasonable quantities.

Cons

Due to Active Reports packaging all of the data in the file and prerendering charts, file size can get quite large (easily several megabytes) and the initial load time can be quite long when opening it. It is best used for basic overviews and other times when some "flash" is needed, but not a large amount of data.
Configuring the interoperability with TM1 and SPSS is a little more on the technical side than most other tasks.
You could call the development process "Front heavy" meaning most of the development will be modeling. This means that it will take longer to end up with visualized data than other tools.

Matt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cognos pulls meaning out of any data

Reviewed on 2018/09/01

It gives big data meaning and helps us answer business question so we can make smart decisions and...

It gives big data meaning and helps us answer business question so we can make smart decisions and provide relevant and cleanly formatted data to our customers.

Pros

It is straight-forward and feature-rich. We have combined dozens and dozens of queries into a single report without any issue before, so it has that advantage over most of the alternative solutions.

Cons

The version of Cognos we are running currently makes it difficult to pinpoint the bottle-neck of certain reports.

Felix
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful tool for the good analysis of your data. can get quick information for quick decisions

Reviewed on 2018/06/08

Pros

Cognos is a very effective BI tool. you can create customized reports without having a very technical background ... It can be easily integrated with several data sources in a simple and consistent way and I find the interface to extract data on demand or send scheduled reports (Report Planner) excellent. good user experience with the drag and drop. . . versatility of the Live API to postgres, sql server and oracle databases. We use Cognos to deliver operational reports to all production units and great and very well presented reports and productivity indicators to senior managers

Cons

It is a very powerful tool but not as easy to understand quickly as other tools on the market for the same price .. The learning curve is broad. The initial configuration is not easy, the dashboard function does not have many options. Installation can also be a complicated issue and may require vendor support

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Complete Package for your Analytical Solution

Reviewed on 2019/09/11

It is good software but requires a learning curve

It is good software but requires a learning curve

Pros

The best thing about this software is that it is a complete package for your BI Solution. The software is good for Standard Reporting as well as Adhoc Reporting. The new Analytics software has dashboarding as well as storytelling.

Cons

Too Many client tools for the same purpose Like Transformer, FM, Dynamic Query Analyser, Data Manager and Decision Stream. Maintenance is the biggest thing.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love it!

Reviewed on 2019/04/15

Pros

I love cognos. I can run any report, any time... past/present/future. So many options. Love the ability to create shortcuts to the reports I use on a daily basis as well. Quick & easy to use.

Cons

The only thing I don't like is the reports don't always give a good description before running them.

Kim
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Almost unworkable product

Reviewed on 2017/06/08

A reporting framework that can be used to access back end data.

A reporting framework that can be used to access back end data.

Pros

Unfortunately, there is not much to write in this section. The only possible "pro" in all cases would be the flexibility offered in the product as far as setting up the framework. Other than that, not much to like.

Cons

User interface was slow and clumsy. The user experience was not smooth at all. There was no ease of use whatsoever. The retrieval times from the back end were even worse. We had to retrofit an existing n-tier system to use the reporting side of this software and it was a disaster. There is no way I would recommend to anyone to purchase this system.

Katherine
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cognos is it!

Reviewed on 2018/06/13

Pros

Cognos has such great data available and we use it through our HRIS - it has changed the way we report out on data

Cons

The only hard thing is getting used to the reporting, but once you learn then it is smooth sailing!!

Sue
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Ok tool

Reviewed on 2018/05/30

Pros

I had used the IBM Cognod Sales Compensation tool while working a global high tech company. It took a while to learn the system but once you figure it out then it was easy to use and configure the plans.

Cons

The only issue I had at the time was the very long time it would take to run a calculations. Average was an hour.

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Tons of Features, very powerful, not for a novice

Reviewed on 2019/12/05

I have been very pleased with it since getting over the giant hurdle that is learning how to do...

I have been very pleased with it since getting over the giant hurdle that is learning how to do anything at all in the product.

Pros

It can handle enormous amounts of data and allows a user to create extremely complex data models from almost any number of disparate sources

Cons

Super complex and difficult to learn. The least intuitive software I have ever used, and the help documentation is pretty much useless.

Tanzeela
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the most recommended Software for Dashboarding

Reviewed on 2021/02/14

Pros

I would definitely recommend this to people who want to create effective dashboards and reports. It has user friendly interface. I is good alternative for tableau or power BI.

Cons

It needs to upgrade a little bit to give features like Power BI

Kinjal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I am a BI developer

Reviewed on 2015/03/03

Pros

I like its functionality and different features. I also like the ease of use.

Cons

Cognos's support sometimes is not as it should be. The support should be quick and accurate, and Cognos should have more error details to track down the solution. The majority of time, the error doesn't provide meaningful info, so it is always difficulty to track down the solution.

Deb
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Expensive but Good

Reviewed on 2018/07/09

Pros

This product will do just about anything you want it to do. It does take more of a skilled employee in order to create things. However, anyone can run things once they are created.

Cons

This product is pricey, especially for a mid range company. It takes a lot of training and setup to get the product going as one would like.

Girish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Robust product with more options for customization. SDK should be free

Reviewed on 2015/02/24

Pros

Customization and more options to tune performance improvements. Many ways to connect databases like FM. Direct datasource, usage of stored procedure, and usage of database trigger is good.

Cons

SDK has to be bought as separate package, whereas it should be given free.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cognos Review

Reviewed on 2017/01/05

My prior firm switched from the other software to Cognos to leverage the data contained in our...

My prior firm switched from the other software to Cognos to leverage the data contained in our Pivotal database. This software was far easier to use to create reports on the fly.

Pros

I like the ability to create reports on the fly.

Cons

I do not have any dislikes other than the staged rollout of pieces of my prior firm's datamart.

Ric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

IBM Cognos Business Power

Reviewed on 2015/04/24

Pros

This software is very flexible and extensive enough to meet almost any of your needs. The reporting engine allows for complex queries and views that far surpass standard reporting methods.

Cons

While I was not involved in the purchase of the software it is my understanding the cost was a little high and this is not designed for novice users.