133 reviews

Brightpearl

The retail operations platform for brands and retailers

4,3 /5 (133 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
4,2
Features
4,2
Ease of Use
4,3
Customer Support
4,3
91% recommended this app
133 reviews
Nick E.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

A work in progress

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/10/27
Review Source: Capterra

Finally, we have been assigned our TAM, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]. We had a 30-minute phone call scheduled to go through some issues that end up lasting almost 2 hours. During that call, he brought in other resources to help us understand where our issues are and areas of the software we need to keep an eye on. We have a lot of work ahead of us to get our account back on track, but we finally have someone to guide us on how to fix and prevent the issues.

Pros

Brightpearl is the only software on the market that has truly combined all technology necessities of e-commerce into 1 platform. That includes ERP, CRM, automation, connectors for platforms and other like Shipstation, inventory management like Demand Planner

Cons

The drawback for us and our situation is that when you combine all of the systems into 1 it can be pretty complicated. The reason this is a con is that Brightpearl doesn't have partnerships with 3rd parties that make a living off of implementation and customer success. Instead, Brightpearl manages 100% of the process. Our first 5 months have not been great because we are not proficient at utilizing the software. When we've asked for help they have been simply telling it is a you problem, not the software, but no guidance on what we should be doing. Instead, we just learn to live with the issue because we have nowhere else to go for help since no partners exist. We are supposed to have a TAM, technical account manager, for the first year, but we only had one for the first 3 weeks.

Response from Brightpearl

Hi Nick,

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback from our customers.

We acknowledge that keeping our success, support, and implementation teams in house isn't something that is commonplace in the market, but control over the quality of our support services and is very important to us hence we don't out-source them. Similarly the value for money that our customers receive from our fixed-price implementation, and all inclusive online training and support services isn't something that we would wish to limit.

I'm sorry that you don't feel we've supported you sufficiently until recently though. We will look into this internally and see what happened. However in the meantime it's great that you've touched base with your Technical Account Manager. I have no doubt that with him in your corner, your issues will be swiftly behind you.

Tom (Brightpearl)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Frankie O.
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Frustrated

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/08/08
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Do not jump from QuickBooks to this until you have truly run a lot of tests.

Pros

I love how this system allows me to have access anywhere and allows many reps to access the accounts.

Cons

I am beyond frustrated with the lack of support and weak reporting from this system. It often has slow days as well.

Response from Tom

Hi Frankie,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I'm glad to see that you're enjoying Brightpearl's cloud-based benefits. A lot of our customers love the integrated 'all under one roof' aspect of our software and I'm glad this is echoed with you. I'd like to respond to a couple of the other points you raised too:

Quickbooks. We have a number of customers who have moved away from Quickbooks to Brightpearl and have found it a great fit so I was surprised to read your comment. Customers like Growers House (https://www.brightpearl.com/expertise/customer-stories/growers-house) and The New Clothesline Company (https://www.brightpearl.com/expertise/customer-stories/new-clothesline-company). I hope the issues you had experienced are now behind you.

Support. We acknowledged that we needed to improve our Support response times, so we've grown our global Support team headcount by 40%. This has resulted in increasing the number of tickets with defects being solved by 62%. I hope you're seeing the impact of these changes directly yourself.

Reporting. We're continually improving our reporting as we know how much our customers use and rely on it. Over the last couple of months, we've made significant reporting improvements which you can read about in our feature notes (https://help.brightpearl.com/hc/en-us/sections/115000342626-Feature-launches). In a nutshell, many of the reports now download in the background so don't need to waste any time waiting for them. Again, I hope you're finding them useful.

Speed. I'm sorry to hear that you've experienced slowness whilst using Brightpearl. The improvements mentioned earlier will help, but generally speaking there are a number of factors that could account for speed issues. I've had a word with our Support team who have advised that you've not raised any speed issues with them to date. Speaking to them would be a great first step. When you do, it would really help them if you could indicate instances where speed was reduced and what you were doing at that time. You can contact them here: https://www.brightpearl.com/contact-support.

Thank you again, your feedback is important to us.

Best wishes,
Tom

Brightpearl

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Stuart K.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Manages the core of our business, finances and products.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/08
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using brightpearl for several years now and the core function of the system has been to centralise around the accounts and stock management for our business. This means it's super easy to keep control of the business critical systems. The system has grown and expanded and as a small business I don't need a lot of this but it's there incase.

The most important thing we have found is the super easy simple Brightpearl POS solution that is sharing the same core data for products/customers/payments as our website and accounts in real time so if the last item sells online then we don't over sell this in store at the weekend. We have two small showrooms and can have two separate pos channels that make it easy to deal with customers in store and telephone orders in the main program. Push sales from POS to backend and vice versa. It makes us more efficient and look more professional in store and on the phone.

Even as a small business we have constantly changing stock and a large number of products (over 11,000) so need control of those as simply as possible. Brightpearl has done that for us along with accounts functionality.

I hope as brightpearl expands it can keep true to it's roots of supporting small businesses with a system that would normally only be available to big business with big budgets. The core simple EPOS is just perfect for us with multichannel order routes to the dispatch desk.

Pros

the simple EPOS systems linked into the core of the system in real time. You have to do things by the book and can't cut corners in processes.

Cons

Sometimes you have to do things by the book and can't cut corners in processes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Philip W.

A Good Move - Improving All The Time

Reviewed on 2017/02/07
Review Source: Capterra

We carried out quite a bit of research and Brightpearl simply covered more of our requirements than anything else we came across. We setup Brightpearl aided by their installation service in Feb 2016 and its been a good stable platform since with very few problems along the way.

We use Brightpearl for our accounting and inventory managment which syncs with our Magento and Ebay stores, it also leaves the door open to Amazon if we choose.
For us, there are a few things that could be better to suit our needs, this mainly due to the limited stock update import size from CSV, limited size of updates over the Brightpearl to Magento API. Certain EPOS functions such as easier returns/credits and ability to utilise product custom options in EPOS could be improved / included. It is also crying out for easier options to integrate a decent customer account/loyalty system. Brightpearl however, did still provide more than other systems we looked at.

Taking above in to account, Brightpearl without doubt has been a good move for us and we have learned to work around most of our issues which are most likely specific to us. We as a company could never go back to what we had before and I would say compared to the previous system, Brightpearl saves us around 6 hours per day in staff time but has also added much improved reliability to stock levels on the website and Ebay.

A year on and we do feel positive about being on board with Brightpearl. Support (Free) is pretty good and the system is improving all the time, with what seems like quarterly updates including extra features and better usability. I understand that a brand new EPOS app is on the way soon and they are following that with a new Brightpearl to Magento API connector which will vastly improve performance with large inventory/product data updates, unfortunately this does not include extended functionality to cover our particular requirement - : (

My advice to anyone thinking about going ahead is spend the time prior to installation and get your product data, sku's etc spot on first. As long as you get your data correct and in sync with your website you should not run in to any problems.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

James H.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Brightpearl - I couldn't sell on multi-channels without this piece of software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/03/21
Review Source: Capterra

I knew from the outset that I would be selling across multiple channels including Amazon, eBay and our own website and so wanted software that could cope with the stock changes across each channel in live time. But as I was starting a new business wanted some accounting software too, well Brightpearl offers both and the accounting side of things is similar to Sage so is easy to get to grips with and our accountants were more than happy too.

Pros

Ease of use
Account package integrated into their core system
Inventory readjusted automatically across all channels as items are sold

Cons

Some aspects of the accounting could be more automated rather than relying on manual intervention
Some areas when selling on ebay internationally need manual intervention, will be better when this is not required

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Katie K.
Industry: Retail

Great Inventory Management

Reviewed on 2015/10/03
Review Source: GetApp

We use Bright Pearl for both in-store and online sales. Coming from the previous program we used, Bright Pearl was a huge step up in inventory tracking. You can know where each and every item is through the whole order process - from shelf to shipment.
I've also been greatly impressed with the help/support team for a couple reasons. First, the replies to your problems/queries are quick (and don't make you feel like you're talking to a robot). Second, when they tell you that they are working on a certain issue, problem, or "bug" that needs to be dealt with, they mean it. This support team actually follows through and makes changes and updates frequently, always trying to improve the software. That is something that, as a customer I really appreciate.

Pros

- great inventory management
- fast and current connection to online orders, stock, and inventory
- good reports system
- lots of apps available to help tailor the program to your business' needs

Cons

While Bright Pearl is easy to use, sometimes the amount of manual steps you have to take with some of the processes are tedious. I would love to see more steps become automatic, and fields auto-populate. (I will say that, since we started using Bright Pearl, they've already improved somewhat in this area, though there are still many more to be done.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Flo D.
Industry: Sporting Goods
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy To Use even for a Technophobe!!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/01/19
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using the brightpearl system for a while now. To start we had "one to one" training to start then used the You Tube articles to fill in any gaps. We have found it easy to use and have been able to rapidly expand our online sales with multiple sales platforms.
We would highly recommend Brightpearl to any business looking to make their stock control and general business so much easier. :)

Pros

Ease of use, plenty of help articles and great phone assistance too!

Cons

Can still be labour intansive for certain changes eg updating codes etc

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Justine C.

It's good enough to run my business on

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Brightpearl is both multicurrency and multi warehouse which is key to my business. It's easy to achieve this without heavy training.

Cons

I dislike 2 things. I need multicurrency journeys and they don't supply plus the report writing is complex and difficult to customise.

Response from Brightpearl

Hi Justine,

Thank you for sparing the time out of your day to review us. We love to hear from our customers, so thank you.

I'm really pleased to hear that our multi-currency and warehousing functionality are helping you grow your business. It's great that you find Brightpearl easy to navigate and use too as we designed it that way.

We'd like to hear more about your constructive feedback. We provide multi-currency as you've said in your review, but if you need this extended further then we'd really like to hear your thoughts around specifics. Likewise, our reporting is customisable, but if it's not doing what you need, we'd like to explore this with you too.

The best way to get this started is to drop a line to your Customer Success Manager and they will schedule some time with you to hear your thoughts.

Thank you, Tom (Brightpearl)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

John P.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

First ERP for Fashion Business

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/12/16
Review Source: Capterra

We are a fashion business working in both wholesale and retail. Brightpearl seems to be without peer in the price bracket it sits in and its ability to tie in all the channels our business work across.

Pros

Genuine open database with API and ERP

Cons

Not tailored to fashion so we have had to adapt and develop our own API driven analysis

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Greg H.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

We use brightpearl inventory management software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/11/29
Review Source: Capterra

We have used brightpearl inventory management software for a few years, and find it very useful to manage our sales and dispatch. The reporting is very useful. Great customer support too.

Pros

ease of use

Cons

make a mobile app version

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Abigail T.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Very helpful software!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Using Brightpearl helped us in so many ways. It really made our daily tasks more easier. We could generate reports that we are needed

Cons

Actually, I just used this software recently that is why I do not have any big issues in it..

Response from Tom

Hi Abigail,

Nice to hear from you. Thank you for posting your review.

It's great to hear how well Brightpearl has helped you; particularly in your day to day work. It's fantastic to hear that our real time reporting is giving you what you need too. I'm pleased to hear that you don't have any issues, but as you become more familiar with the platform, remember our global support team are there 24/7 should you need anything.

Speak soon,
Tom (Brightpearl)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Graham H.
Industry: Retail

Fantastic option for Multi Channel Retail

Reviewed on 2014/07/09
Review Source: GetApp

I have been using Brightpearl for a few months and it has transformed the way we do business. Moving from an hourly clunky file transfer system to a direct API connection to Amazon and Ebay has been revolutionary for us. Add to that we were paying a percentage of turnover for the hourly clunky file transfer system and we now have a fixed fee, regardless of our turnover, makes it a real win.
I must give a mention to the accounts package which is a godsend for us. If you are a either scared of, or bored by accounts, then Brightpearl will take the worry and the pain away.

Pros

Direct API connection to Amazon and Ebay
Fixed monthly fee
Accounts package integral to Brightpearl.
Software improving every month
Nice people to deal with

Cons

The warehousing side is still a little under developed but this is being worked on
No real sell through reporting or reports to help you forecast.

Susan H.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy To Use

Reviewed on 2015/09/28
Review Source: GetApp

Great easy to use multi-channel system. Lots of integrations available and easy to expand and integrate as the business grows.

Pros

Integrates with all shipping carriers as well as all major shipping channels - supports multiple stores on each channel.

Cons

Not cheap. but good value to money compared to other solutions. Can be tricky to set up but the team provide full support.

Response from Brightpearl

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're really excited that you're enjoying Brightpearl.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Christian B.
Industry: Consumer Electronics

BrightPearl

Reviewed on 2015/10/26
Review Source: GetApp

The product is excellent in almost every way! Keeps all your business needs in one place, whilst also keeping it easy to navigate! Used this in the sales department for my company, doing sales, fulfilment, stock tracking, stock buying and invoicing

Pros

Clear and easy to use, always improving and asks the community for help

Cons

You have to save everything often to make sure it knows what its doing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Tim elliott

Brightpearl is now vital to our business

Reviewed on 2014/09/03
Review Source: GetApp

Brightpearl is a multichannel ecommerce and accountancy system. It allows us to download all orders from Amazon, Magento and phone / mail order into one place. This makes stock management, order tracking and accounting much easier than trying to do the same with several sytems.

When we recently acquired another company, Brightpearl was invaluable in allowing us to easily integrate their website into our system.

I tested lots of other systems, and while not perfect, Brightpearl seems to be the best of them.

Pros

The multi Channel elements.
Inventory Management.

Cons

The cost can mount up if you have a number of users.
Reporting could be better.
As with any cloud based system there are problems and each user want different things from the system. They obviously can't cater for every request from every user.

Gareth lucas

We have grown 50% in the last year

Reviewed on 2013/04/02
Review Source: GetApp

We have been using Brightpearl for just over a year now; its a really easy to use and its saved us a lot of time doing paperwork and admin. Brightpearl
revolutionized our approach with respect to inventory management, purchase ordering and accounting. Our data
is now more accurate, we can run better reports, and our order processing is cut by half.
Before Brightpearl we were trying to function on Sage, the whole process for our business
was manual and very time-consuming. With Brightpearl we have gained the time back so we can chase suppliers and negotiate discounts for stock. You get full visibility of your business with real time accounts, you know where your money is and where its going. I would highly recommend to businesses looking to streamline their processes and grow.

Nick oliver

Brightpearl

Reviewed on 2013/10/20
Review Source: GetApp

We have three small shops and two web sites selling men's and womens clothing and shoes. We use Brightpearl as a point of sale system, stock control system and accounting system. It links to our Magento based web site and we will soon be using it to sell on amazon and ebay, Its a great system - easy to use and comprehensive. Very good.

Pros

Comprehensive features.
Easy to use.
Cloud based - no IT costs.

Cons

The only significant flaw which I really hope they will address soon is the integration with Magento is such that individual colour/size variations have to linked to a master product which cannot be sent automatically - very time consuming!

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Graphic Design

A gold mine for small businesses

Reviewed on 2015/01/27
Review Source: GetApp

Brightpearl has helped us grow in the year that we've had it. Order processing is a lot easier now with everything in one place. I have to admit at the beginning there were lots of bugs, and things not working as they should. However in the last 6 months major investment has gone into it, and its improved a lot and getting closer to the ideal platform. The support staff are friendly and will get back to you within 24 hours, however I have found that some bugs take months to fix!

Pros

Friendly and respond fast to any problems you might have.

Cons

Still a bit buggy.

Steve I.

Great software and service

Reviewed on 2017/01/03
Review Source: Capterra

Fantastic company to do business with. Integrating brightpearl into my business has simplified daily operations and increased efficiency tremendously. The software is comprehensive and not extremely difficult to navigate.

They are quick and responsive to tickets submitted online. Overall a great value for the money!

Pros

Easy to use. Great inventory and accounting features

Cons

Have to pay for phone support.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Lloyd T.

Excellent piece of kit

Reviewed on 2015/09/30
Review Source: Capterra

Our company has now been using brightpearl's service for a long time now (nearly 3-4 years) we are very happy with how it works with our business and how it has helped us grow as a successful company. The only disadvantage within brightpearl is that you can only have a certain amount of users logged in at a time but this can be changed if you are willing to pay more for the extra user log ins, which we have done. Other than that it is excellent :) .

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Joseph hankin

Bright Pearl Review

Reviewed on 2013/09/24
Review Source: GetApp

We have been working with Bright Pearl on our new e-Commerce venture. I am pleased to report that Bright Pearl's team have been very diligent in understanding our needs, and have supported us with our setup, implementation and on-going day to day business requirements to a high standard.

Pros

Very easy to setup and integrate into Magento, eBay, and Amazon for retail sales aggregation.

Cons

Generating reports on data sets can be time consuming.

Kay G.

Great Software Package to Have

Reviewed on 2017/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

Brightpearl is an easy straight forward package to use, all areas of the package are easily explained in the training guides that you can download. Brightpearl is a key part of our business all our business transactions are put into Brightpearl and its great to have all our financial journals logged in one place.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Baychic

Brightpearl has been a major help

Reviewed on 2013/06/25
Review Source: GetApp

I've used Brightpearl for the last few months to run the inventory/accounting function of my business. And I've seen a major improvement in visibility which has meant lowering my inventory on hand costs because I'm not overbuying.

Pros

inventory
accounting

Katie C.
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain

As a new starter at our company I was a complete novice 3 weeks ago!

Reviewed on 2015/11/06
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

As a complete novice 3 weeks ago the simplicity of the system has allowed me to confidently use BP in a very short time.

Cons

It would be interesting to have more marketing capabilities in the software such as analysis of customer journey, inventory analysis etc

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Bob

Too many multi-channel bugs

Reviewed on 2014/03/19
Review Source: GetApp

I have been using Brightpearl for a year & whilst the system has some good points and it is improving as time passes currently there are still far too many bugs to really say that I would recommend Brightpearl to any serious eBay & Amazon sellers looking for a good multi-channel tool.

Pros

good at accounting

Cons

Numerous eBay & Amazon selling bugs