Microsoft Project

4,4 (1 277)
Project management & collaboration software

Overall rating

4,4 /5
(1 277)
Value for Money
4,0/5
Features
4,4/5
Ease of Use
4,0/5
Customer Support
4,1/5

89%
recommended this app

1277 Reviews

Gayan D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Project and Timeline Management done right

Reviewed on 2021/12/05

MS Project has been an absolute lifesaver when it comes to planning out projects with clear requirements.
The timelines and task tracking features give you a clearer picture of how your project is doing and if the project is going off track, allowing you to assess corrective actions you take according to the timeline changes.
It will take some time to create a perfect project plan through MS Project, but once done it will paint a clearer picture of the timelines/deadlines and what needs to be done to achieve those deadlines to everyone involved.

Pros

The absolute best way of setting and managing timelines of projects, and defining what resources/personnel will be utilized when so that they are also aware of what needs to be done to achieve a given deadline.
The tracking aspect of MS Project also helps in identifying delays and how these delays will impact the overall timelines and in turn the final delivery deadlins.

Cons

Could be challenging for a first-time user to grasp all the features provided by MS project, so it would be wise for to watch a few crash courses/tutorials before jumping head first into using it.
Some elements I feel could be more user-friendly without users having to go through obscure menu structures to find them.

Alternatives Considered

TeamGantt

Switched From

TeamGantt
Carlos hugo martin C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Experience with Microsoft Project

Reviewed on 2021/12/25

We use it for software project.

Pros

The flexibility with which a project can be done, as well as being able to relate tasks in an easy and simple way.

Cons

Managing resources can become very complex in the face of major plan changes. Agile project planning is artificial.

Alternatives Considered

Clarity

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Project

It is the most complete tool for use of small teams.
Jinnie A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Project Management Software

Reviewed on 2021/12/16

Poor functionality, limited compared to other options available.

Pros

Microsoft Project has a easy to sign up for free trial. It's compatible with Microsoft Office programs.

Cons

There are far better project management softwares available and I would recommend Asana or Monday.com over Microsoft Project any day of the week.

Matt R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Your best project in the cloud

Reviewed on 2021/11/30

when working in a construction company. I found this app very useful due to the different projects of each work. He has shown me the possible flaws of a design or project before it happens. I can make efficient and detailed calendars of activities.

Pros

When accessing the main menu, it gives you templates for various types of projects. When you get to master the program, it gives you ease and simplicity in its use, which is why organizing data is very easy. Streamlines decision making thanks to the data that is scheduled. Due to its accuracy in times it is easier to know the schedule of a certain project.

Cons

Its handling is somewhat complicated and tedious to learn. Which can stress some users with basic knowledge. Its economic availability is very high reaching the price of 620 $. so it is not available to entrepreneurs with a low budget.

Allyson W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Creating great projects

Reviewed on 2021/11/22

Although somewhat complicated to handle, I must also say that the courses are accessible online and you can get many formats, once I have mastered the part of the tools, they allow me to finish my projects in short times and with a variety of finishes.

Pros

It is ideal when preparing a work since it allows you to carry out the steps of the execution of the work in an efficient and orderly way, in turn allows you to modify the times if necessary. You can access its variety of tools and do a project quickly once you have the basic knowledge of it.

Cons

Its understanding is tedious since it has many tools, it could be said that it is something technical, its economic access is high, especially for small entrepreneurs. It is not cross-platform. Some courses must be taken before efficiently managing such a program. its desktop cost ranges from $ 600.

Ravi K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My best project helper

Reviewed on 2021/11/22

although a little complicated the way to learn through the courses. use it well when making diagrams and organizing civil works batches. Making the work schedule easy and flexible since it takes an order and time when executing the games.

Pros

a simple initial interface if it is difficult for us to carry out a project this program offers us a variety of templates to facilitate our work. Once you have mastered this useful program, you can finish any project quickly and efficiently, while allowing you to make Gantt charts only by entering basic data.

Cons

having so many tools makes it difficult to use it efficiently and it would take several courses. Its desktop version has a high price, taking its use away from low-income users.

Dr. nisha N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good product

Reviewed on 2022/01/13

It is a good experience if you are using office 365.

Pros

It is very similar to excel, has an easy to access homescreen and can be used simultaneously to work on multiple projects. It can also be used to generate multiple reports.

Cons

This isn't for beginners. Use of MS project requires a lot of technical expertise. There is no concept of communicating with project team members. It is difficult to integrate it with other tools like Salesforce.

Shinta S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Microsoft Project is powerful for project management, but a bit hard for first-time user

Reviewed on 2021/12/17

Pros

It is powerful especially for construction projects because it can keep the resources data like material, workers up to their limitations and their work hours. It also can track the progress and make complex Gant charts.

Cons

It is hard to use for a first-time user, because of the UI that shows many sophisticated features instantly. So this software is not too applicable for simpler creative projects. For the online one, it can not really be used by two users at the same time, so it is a bit lacking for collaboration.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

MS Project

Reviewed on 2021/12/03

Pros

This is your classic project management software

Cons

The software needs modernization, not much has improved.

Ahmed A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The ideal solution for project management and calculating completion rates

Reviewed on 2021/12/04

Microsoft Project Help in the proper planning of projects, as after adopting the plan, you will be able to use Microsoft Project to follow it in a correct way, as it will work permanently when updates are made by giving you a comparison between the actual and planned implementation, and through it you will be able to find activities that are not being implemented according to the plan , so that you keep it under surveillance permanently, which increases the chances of the success of your projects and finish them on time.

Pros

It is one of the best programs for project management, and to complete the scheduling and planning processes in the correct contractual ways, which allows the preparation of an integrated work program that includes all activities within the scope of the project. The integration of Microsoft Project with other Microsoft programs, especially Excel, facilitates the processes of entering activities directly from Excel tables, which facilitates the process of building work programs.
Linking activities to each other according to priorities is very easy, and also allocating resources. Microsoft Project enables you to find the critical path of the program, and also filters that can be customized as needed, among the distinctive things that benefit from Microsoft Project.
The update processes are easy, and also the calculations of completion rates for the activities and for the project in general are very simple, and you can also filter the delayed activities and know the exact amount of delay by using Microsoft Project.

Cons

There is nothing worth mentioning, I have used Microsoft Project daily for many years, and I did not find any technical problems in it, and all the results that I get by using it, are considered accurate and reflect the reality of the work in the project.

Norma C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Ultimate Project Management Software

Reviewed on 2021/09/14

Pros

MS Project has many powerful features for project management like gantt charts, budget tracking and task management that give users a ton of detailed options for managing resources. It's fairly easy to integrate with an existing microsoft environment and requires little to no maintenance once your custom templates are set up.

Cons

It does have a steep learning curve that can seem intimidating to new users and the overwhelming amount of feature capabilities can seem daunting. MS Project also does not integrate well with other project management software so that can definitely be improved.

Alternatives Considered

monday.com, Easy Projects and Teamwork

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Project

Zoho didnt provide the more detailed options I needed for resource management.

Switched From

Zoho Projects

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Project

We were already a Microsoft environment so the easy transition and integration with our other apps made the decision pretty easy.
Abraham C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft PowerPoint - By Abraham Chongkit

Reviewed on 2020/02/16

So far my overall experience with MS Project is a little more unique then expected and I would probably prefer more clarification on its compatibility and uses from Microsoft and their retail agents around the world before purchasing. The installation was pretty straight forward and I have not had any issue in regards to the application functionalities, and features. However, it did take me long to learn how to use MS Project and I would probably suggest that the help and instructional features could be adjusted to accommodate other users similar to my situation.

Pros

The great thing I like most about MS Project is that it's interface is quiet similar to that of other MS Office products, such as MS Excel. This familiarity gives me the confidence that the product I am about to use, is very similar to other MS Office products that I use on a daily basis. MS Project integrates well with Office 365 which allows me the space that I need to work remotely from anywhere when I'm outside the office, at home or sitting at a cafe having coffee while working on a task. Even when there is no internet connection, MS Project still works perfectly offline because it is a desktop application after all and your files are stored locally which allows ease of access when you need them. In addition to the user friendly interface of MS Project and its well designed features, I also love the built in templates that come with MS Project which is ready for use when I need it. The various templates have different themes and natures which gives you the flexibility to chose from according to the task you are trying to accomplish.

Cons

The least thing I liked about MS Project is that it took me a while to get used to the menus, and features such as the interface when i first started. It took a lot of practice and further research on how to use the product faster and efficiently because my first impression is that MS Project was not really user-friendly at the beginning. I think MS Project is a bit expensive and you need to plan and make an effective decision before you purchase the full license, and the reason I say this is because if you're a small business with a small budget then you can only afford a handful of user licenses, which means if your business will scale up in the future, then you have to purchase more user licenses to accommodate growth. Another con with MS Project that I found out is that it is only compatible with computers installed with the Windows operating system and you need to install the full licensed version to start using the full features of the application. I normally work remotely and I need an application that is compatible with other mobile devices such as android, apple iOS and Linux. I am unsure if MS Project can accommodate under these circumstances according to the application prerequisites and requirements of use for MS Project.

Hani V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

enterprise project management (EPM) system

Reviewed on 2019/10/15

Microsoft project is a famous and old tool for planning and controlling projects. I’ve used MSP in different IT and construction projects. It has almost all the necessary features for a project team. Project scheduling, cost management, resource management, risk management and portfolio management are some of its features. Also Earned value management (EVM) provide different Indicators for project evaluation. You could add custom field and formula to project based on your requirements.
For a year we implement this Microsoft solution on SharePoint site and we use it as an enterprise project management (EPM) software. It use SQL Server as database. Network project management was a great new experiment. In project web app (WPA) you could define different access level for project team and assign task to them. We also use Microsoft power BI and power view for designing charts and diagram to control the project status. It is also possible to use Microsoft Nintex as a workflow engine to implement simple processes on your team.

Pros

As a Microsoft tools it has a great integration with other MS solution as name above, but it’s hard to integrate with externals apps.

Cons

MSP is a classic project management tools that support different standard for project management, like PMBoK. But it’s not a tool for agile project management such as Scrum and Kanban.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Primavera Cloud and Redmine

Switched From

Oracle Primavera Cloud and Redmine
Joshua M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Project Management Tool for the Microsoft Power User

Reviewed on 2019/04/10

Overall, Microsoft Project does a really good job of allowing experienced project managers to create complex project plans for both large and small teams. The platform offers extensive schedule and resource management - enabling teams to accurately allocate their resources in order to achieve maximum efficiencies. My experience with Project has been positive. I work in a small to mid-sized team that creates implementation plans for customer recommendations. I have enjoyed the synergies that working with other Microsoft tools provides. Furthermore, Project has enabled me to be effective in those pursuits. It definitely takes some time to learn more complicated aspects of the program - but that time and training and can really benefit a team.

Pros

The greatest strength of Microsoft Project comes in the name. Microsoft develops some of the most popular and effective tools for modern businesses. Project integrates extremely seamlessly into the overall Microsoft ecosystem of work. This enables the platform to truly maximize on all the efficiencies created by keeping your work within one platform. Project also does a fantastic job of allocating and scheduling resources. Furthermore, identifying critical paths for a project is relatively straight forward. Project managers can do specific call outs for key steps along the way as well. There are also a lot of additional benefits for project that help the quality of life for anyone in control of a project.

Cons

Project is a complicated piece of technology. While creating initial project plans seem easy, there are so many features of project that not only go unnoticed - but also can be incredibly cumbersome to learn and master. An additional pain point that I have experienced has related to working on multiple project resources while also viewing the Gantt chart. Finally, sharing a project also holds its own difficulties as well - as users must have Project installed on their own device.

Cesar C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Manager for the control and development of projects of great impact in the company

Reviewed on 2018/08/31

Based on the experience of the use of the tool, the organizational capacity is more efficient and effective in each task, as well as the security and the status of the results offered by each member of the project. Another element to highlight is communications and how this allows improving the flow of information, thus improving the willingness of managers to take corrective action at the best times.

Pros

Of the positive things that Microsoft Project & Portfolio Management has, is that you can use a driver prioritization module to develop workshops in which executives openly discuss the issue importance of each business controller and thus be able to prioritize the strategies according to the established objectives. that's why it's an advantage to be able to prioritize commercial drivers at any level
within the organizational hierarchy Another element to highlight is the tool's management capabilities, which helps to capture the resource requirements at the beginning of the project's life cycle and all the programmed activities, providing visibility, certainty and assertive predictions about the demand future and the best thing is that it can be accessed from any device available to the members of the company.

Cons

One of the difficulties is the development of the chronogram of the different projects and the information that is offered to the teams involved in the different projects, as well as the possibility of associating one or more plans for the execution of the project and a baseline for the project. supervision, development and management and thus be able to generate changes in the various levels in a corrective manner. In addition, the implementation of the schedule change and operational capacity is difficult and prevents providing the project teams with an updated map for the execution of their tasks and therefore the delivery of a new baseline to verify progress and manage the change programmed by the bosses.

Stever jose G.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Be able to have a clear vision, vision and control to make decision

Reviewed on 2018/07/26

Have the possibility to manage the resources, projects carptera from the initiative or idea cycle to the process and project closure. and the collaboration in external offices with the executors or other leaders is very useful to measure impacts and make decisions.

Pros

Since we implemented it, which is quite easy, it is enough to have a 2010 project server and a professional project for the stations all in collaboration with a sharepoint farm. The implementation process took a couple of months to adjust the configurations and to be able to obtain the greatest possible potential of the solution.
in general we could use the graphs and diagrams in order to measure and make correct decisions to be applied in each case
the collaborative work increased to have a better follow-up of the tasks and be able to finalize or inform some deviation in time of each project
The support of the provider was very specialized for when we had to resort in some cases to the implementation and uses of the platform.
a great functionality was to be able to create project templates without having to go through the process of creating formulas within each file, something that is optional for each use but in ours we had formulas applied to be able to measure specific calculations that we needed.
Roi's early measurements were accurate in a high percentage which helped to clarify the landscape of the project area.

Cons

It is a very expensive solution, for which not all companies are willing to invest, not only in the platform but in the hours of R & D that the team must use to manage it, maintain it and work on the solution.
Another point is that it is not multiplatform and this in the cases that are needed is important to evaluate it or keep it in mind.
It has many features and it is a bit difficult to be an expert because of the number of functionalities that you have and you end up resorting to conventional methods because it is cumbersome to know where to find them.

Israel jose A.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Is a valuable project management resource suitable for projects of any size

Reviewed on 2018/05/06

Since I have been using Microsoft Project, allows me to quickly adapt proposals and ideas into organized projects. This very helpful when I need to present proposals because I can give a solid overview of the project's idea, estimate, in the early stage, and to control during the execution, all the resources and manage and predict risks. The linkages, not only are easy to use but also help me when dealing with complex tasks. During presentations, the Gannt window allows me to show timelines versus the lines of tasks and clarify any doubt and even make corrections. I am a fan of the shortcuts, and filters, they help me to zoom over critical points. I really appreciate the fact that I can import and Export tasks in excel formats, it makes my daily work and reporting very easy.

Pros

For any user used to Microsoft's Software Family, the interface and tabs of the software will be very easy to understand and to use. The drag and drop function for schedule makes it easy to modify any resource. It has the most important features that any project management software can have and It is very useful that you can track all the necessary changes, manpower loading, deviations on time, and costs to complete the daily project managing tasks, provide baselines, and formulate all the necessary estimations. The Gantt Chart provides a graphical overview of the whole project and combined with the reports and striking graphics make it easier to understand and present the planning and evaluation strategy. If not the time to start a project from the scratch MPP comes with a very powerful set of templates. Indisputably MPP becomes an ideal first choice for any project manager.

Cons

The first I must say is that you need a strong background in project management theory (critical path method, evaluation techniques and so on) in order to master Microsoft Project and smoothly use all the features and capabilities of the software without having a complex learning curve. Besides, it's not an intuitive program so it is adviced taking a training course, but yes, you can learn to use it by yourself by dedicating hours and discipline. In the other hand, you need to consider the size of your project and company, and considering that it is a monthly subscription (including access to the cloud) that you should pay for every user, it can end up being relatively expensive at the end of the month. The integration with externals apps is null so you need to do it manually. And well, there are some formatting issues, is really complicated sometimes and printed results are not always what is expected.

Hessel F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Essential for all users of MS Project who have multiple project files that share common...

Reviewed on 2018/02/25

The benefits to the organization have been phenomenal!

Prior to the implementation of PPM it was impossible to see what individual team members were doing. The team leaders were 'king' and could do what they liked and when they liked.

Our aim in implementing the product was to preserve existing process but to take the planning and execution of tasks to a new level.

We found it easy to use although there was a bit of a learning curve. We had a challenge on implementing as, for some reason, there was a bug in MS Project. It took about six months to stabilize the site but once it was stable, the problem didn't return. For those who are interested, in our case it was due to not having service pack 2 installed.

The challenge once we started using it, was to get management to appreciate the fact that accurate, real time reports could be generated and that they would be of immense benefit to them. It took a while until they realized it but once they did, the idea took off and requests flowed in for more views (reports) showing different aspects of the data.

We use the product to track tasks of resources located outside the IT division which was also an innovation that needed time to be absorbed. The philosophy had always been that the team leader was assigned the task and that he/she would delegate it to the team members. With the browser version, resources could see their tasks, update % complete and the project manager could instantly see what was happening. This turned team meetings into shorter, more focused events as there was no need to review tasks.

Pros

I like the way you can use it for managing resources.

It is very easy to assign resources to multiple projects and to see resource assignments and resource capacity.

I use resource assignments in PPM to report project progress and I find the reports easier to understand and more meaningful that the reports that generated in standalone MS Project.

I also use this resource assignment ability to slice and dice data so that I can see slipped tasks, tasks that have not started, tasks with no deadlines, grouped tasks per release etc. The sky is the limit!

The web-based facility means that resources can see their tasks without needing to have MS project installed on their computers and they also don't need to have any knowledge of MS Project. This makes it easy to deploy in a big organization where there may be budget constraints.

Cons

It hasn't kept the pace with competitor projects and the various new releases don't differ substantially with previous ones.

Here are a few things I don't like. I know it asks for only one, but I'd like to share some of the challenges.

* You can't send messages to resources from within tasks
* There is no place for discussion in a task apart from Notes, which are cumbersome and you can't then search for text in the note.
* You can't sort the list of files backed up. That makes restoring files a bit of a challenge as you need to be really careful before you restore a file.
* After all this time, the product is still not stable and there are still intermittent bugs to which there don't seem to be any solutions.
* the filter capability of the views is limited and you can't use brackets.

Jose de jesus R.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My experience in Microsoft PPM, a tool for the control of Projects in an efficient way

Reviewed on 2018/06/19

I would recommend it extensively because it is useful to the final user, to be able to know the tool before it can be acquired and to know the opinion of a true user who takes advantage of each component every day, I am very pleased to participate in this program and thus contribute my experience.

Pros

Generally within the environment where I perform this tool is very useful, because your way of organizing work is excellent, to me as a professional in the area of technology adds incredible benefits, allows me to see tasks in a single presentation, resources, project execution times, remaining time, as well as progress, at the management level it has the advantage of making the most accurate decisions regarding reallocation of resources, time and other elements that intervene in the projects that I control from my area. It is great as all the work team that is under my charge is integrated to the use of this tool and we can be synchronized under the same objectives of the institution.

Cons

Despite being a great tool for project control, there is no way to measure the productivity of the work team or individually, this would help a lot or a lot to give the incentives to achieve jointly, departmentally or individually, even more when you want to highlight the merits of the team. Likewise, the cost of this tool for a medium or small company would be difficult to acquire or would be underused since in small environments the management of the projects would not have as many elements.
However, I am very pleased with the kindnesses I have found in it.

Majid S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

General porous Project Management tool

Reviewed on 2019/09/11

General porous Project Management tool and not applicable in the complicated projects

Pros

Windows application is really user-friendly. I love the recurring task facility for creating repetitive tasks without the need of creating each task separately. Supporting the different relationship between tasks including FS. SS, SF, and FF

Cons

I wished it supports backward resource-leveling. It doesn't support the whole areas of the project management body of knowledge including Quality management and risk management in the best way.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Primavera Cloud

Switched From

Oracle Primavera Cloud
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best project management app so far

Reviewed on 2021/10/09

Being an experienced user, I have gotten hold of all technicalities involved in its operation and this app has always been highly resourceful in all my project management tasks. It has further helped my team in seamless planning and deployment of projects.

Pros

Managing a project is centered on service delivery as at when due and this software allows to keep track of all projects and schedules of all tasks. The Microsoft project is a very easy to use application even for beginners and its capacity for collaboration is seamless especially when working and viewing projects with other teams.

Cons

Time allocation to projects while working with multiple teams is a setback to the app. Some of the features are sophisticated but also requires a high level of technicality to operate them, it should also be noted that the Microsoft Project doesn't perfectly integrate with other project management apps. This should be attended to by the developers.

Hans L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best project management tool in the industry!

Reviewed on 2016/10/07

Microsoft Project is undoubtedly one of the best project management tool in the industry, whether you are working on projects in different fields such as IT, Marketing, Finance, Construction, etc. As long as I can remember, MS Project has been helping me deliver projects successfully. It's a software that is ideal for collaborating with my team and it aids in effective planning as well as allocation of resources. Probably the best feature of this program is the resource management aspect of it notably the workload tracking with everyone involved (team members, client, and vendors).

I normally use the Gantt Chart view since this is the easiest to work with and most common as well. I don't think I've ever worked with an easier software that can do simple changes such as linking multiple dependencies. In addition, this is more visually intuitive and you can easily manipulate the shape and colors of the bars (this is very helpful when dealing with multiple tasks).

Overall, this software is definitely one of the top ones out there. It takes a lot of practice to get used to it but having templates (especially the ones specific to your company/industry or whenever you are working on similar projects with identical deliverables [ease of use = tasks are populated]). One good advice for people who are interested in project management: learn this software early one if possible. I know many universities teach the MS Project basics.

Pros

Ease of use, visually presentable (especially when dealing with many tasks), most common software in the industry

Cons

It takes some time to learn the software so it can be intimidated to new users

Syamir K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Planning and executing project easily

Reviewed on 2021/05/04

Overall, i am still satisfied in using this software to managing and managing our collaborative project and it really helpful for us to tracking and finish our project in the allocated time. It has increase our effectiveness in planning and executing a project.

Pros

Microsoft Project is really good in planning and executing my project that my team and my colleague collaborate. It let us to distributing task among us and be clear which member are responsible for the task and avoid confusing while executing the project. The Gantt chart really helpful in planning the project time of completion.

Cons

You will need quite a considerable time of training to properly get expert and get comfortable in using this project management software to the maximum usage. Some of the feature or tools is quite hard to be understand the usage and the manual is not explaining the tools in details.

Thuffail T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Basic Project Management Software

Reviewed on 2021/10/23

I used Microsoft Project for small to medium level projects . The different tools were used for the proper planning of projects. Also the ongoing projects progress was monitored and assessed by the software. About 3-4 weeks were taken to familiarize with the software.

Pros

It is a software used worldwide by middle level and top level managers. It can be easily integrated with other Microsoft products and applications. This software can be used with or without internet. It has developed and improved its features over the years . The software has many tools for the effective management of projects. The tasks related for the projects can be tracked with responsible persons. The resource and budget allocation for each task can also be depicted. The progress of projects can be monitored when necessary. The responsible departments for tasks can be given access to the project, so that they can update the progress and changes related to their tasks. This can also be accessed from any place and it can be viewed and edited through the mobile application. It also supports the uploading or linking of documents needed for the project. Also it provides the ability of generating basic reports to be presented to the top level management.

Cons

This will not be compatible in complex projects. Its integration and collaboration is limited to Microsoft 365 based applications. It is not focused on a particular industry and its features may not be compatible with some industry based projects. The communication is limited as it does not support any third party communication tools. The project files can not be opened without the availability of the software. The mobile application is hard to be used in editing.

Norzihan I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Saves time in planning and collaborating project

Reviewed on 2021/01/28

This software has help me and my colleague to create shortcuts to planning, creating and deploying project.
The task can be marked with time frame and the system will send notification if the task is still not completed before the due date.

Pros

I really like template that are provided by Microsoft Project, it is highly customized to my project objective and my liking. The feature that i use the most can be pinned on the dashboard interface and keep it organized. Most of the user are using it, and there are no issue to shares the project file to my other colleague and they can open it without any compatibility problem.

Cons

Microsoft Project is quite pricey as we can't subscribe only the Microsoft Project itself, we have to buy all the software on the Microsoft suite to use it. If only they can let user to separately subscribing it, more user can will use it. Other thing that i dislike is, no video tutorial provided to teach user how to use the feature in the software.