49 reviews

Infor Birst

Modern business intelligence and analytics platform

4,1 /5 (49 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,1 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
86%
recommended this app
49 reviews
Sean B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

FPL

Reviewed on 2019/09/23

Our biggest issue with Birst with users is the speed of accessing and displaying data in report. Overall, Birst is a great reporting tool that makes it easier for IT department to create / deploy new reports.

Pros

Ease of use for users as well as as easy management for system administrators.

Cons

Speed of accessing and pulling data on live reports.

Elisabetta V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Use of Birst in connection to M3 Cloud

Reviewed on 2020/07/22

I am not too satisfied. I see the potential of the tool but I believe there is still a lot to be done. Maybe it is in the "back" part of the tool or in the connectivity between ERP and Birst

Pros

interface looks nice for the final user and relatively easy to use after a brief training. Looks also powerful and easy to prepare new dashboard

Cons

The integration with M3 Analytics seems to have hick-ups, after updates we often need to reset something or copy data or re-adjust filters, that is annoying.

Bob A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Birst - Cloud BI & Analytics

Reviewed on 2016/08/10

Pros

What is unique about Birst is the way it allows customers to achieve the "Holy Grail" of BI - namely, providing both Governance and Agility in the same product. It does this in an easy to set up and use multi-tenant cloud environment, taking advantage of the use of virtual "spaces" which allow you to provide users with the right level of access to the right data, whether they are more advanced users or more casual users, whether they are located at the company HQ or in a remote location, etc. Birst calls this "Networked BI" and it is well worth looking into if you haven't yet.

Birst also is unique in the way it allows you to combine many different kinds of data sources, some in the cloud and some on-premise (if you want) into one Unified Data Model and then use that to create and populate what they call a User-Ready Data Warehouse. They use something called "Automated Data Refinement" (their own patent-pending technology) to create this data model and data warehouse for you with a minimum of effort on your part, saving you a lot of time and money, and making it much more feasible to keep the data model and data warehouse updated over time.

In terms of visualizations, Birst has a nice tool called Visualizer which is very easy to use, and a tool for more advanced users called Designer, which allows you to create pixel-perfect and very customized reports. Birst also fully supports the use of other front ends such as Tableau and Excel, which can access your many data sources using the User-Ready Data Warehouse created using Automated Data Refinement.

The company itself is easy to work with and is staffed with very knowledgeable people who are eager to help you succeed.

Cons

The online help is usually quite helpful, but there is some room for improvement in the search capability and some of the content.

Rick H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid Data Visualization tool

Reviewed on 2017/04/26

Birst has proven to meet or exceed our expectations in most areas. The visualizer and dashboard tools are simple to use. The admin tool is in flash and it is a little clunky at times, but it gets the job done and the complexity is hidden from our end users which was a key goal for us.

We are embedding it in our software and we were looking for a solution that excelled in visualization while also providing scalable management capabilities. Birst provides the full breadth of what we need while most other tools only provided a part of our full needs.

Pros

Visualizations and Dashboards. Flexibility on configuration and data management

Cons

Admin tool is flash based for now.

Laura W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Agile BI solution with superior data modeling and visualizations

Reviewed on 2017/04/26

Pros

With Birst, our organization was able to consolidate disparate data systems into one location and customize content.

Cons

While Birst has various modules and features available, select modules/features require extensive training to master.

Fraser D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful BI app, but difficult to master

Reviewed on 2018/12/31

Pros

- We used Birst to monitor a large project spanning 2 quarters. It achieved everything we required, especially in the tracking of KPIs, visualising progress on dashboards, and status reporting.

Cons

- In hindsight it, is was probably far too advanced for our needs, and there was a steep learning curve.

Dan L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Birst Review

Reviewed on 2014/08/29

Pros

I really liked the buttons. The buttons were very easy to see and use. It made someone who often misses things like me love it.

Cons

I really didn't like how slow the service was. I wish it was faster. Speed is everything for me.

Adam W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Birst OEM appliance client building software for insurance

Reviewed on 2016/08/10

Pros

Birst is a tool that is very flexible and has a UI offering that is very platform independent. They also have designed their product to follow the Kimball methodology for dimensional modeling which helps make the tool easier to understand if you are a seasoned dimensional modeler. They are visibly investing in innovations that are meeting or exceeding the needs of BI Community (Angular, iOS/Android apps, end-user data blending.) They have a very fast development team and release new functionality sometimes quicker than we expect.

Birst staff and leadership know us by our first names. They do try to build a relationship with their clients and not treat you like an accounting revenue stream. Their community is closed but very tight.

Cons

Being on the cutting edge, sometimes features don't work as advertised at first. It's usually a good thing to wait for a few maintenance releases after a new major release comes out if you have an appliance.

On the support front, they need not be so quick to recommend that you upgrade to the next release to address a defect, especially if it isn't due out for a few weeks. Sometimes it feels like rely on their community too much to help keep the ship going.

Being an application born in the cloud, there are some unpolished processes that appliance customers need to learn to get things to work from time to time.

Birst is growing and they are ramping up new staff all the time. If you don't feel you're getting the best answer to your question, you need to sometimes push them to get it.

Deborah J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Birst as a Single Software Solution

Reviewed on 2017/04/25

Birst has continued to evolve within its nitch; focused deliverables.

Pros

Ease of going from simple to complex. Integrated end to end solution. Birst has always said their success is measured on our success.

Cons

The cons are being eliminated by many of the new features, Pronto and Smart. While the Community is a great place to share and resource to seek answers, sometimes when you need that quick How To question answered you don't have the time to wait, it would be nice to have the Help Me now feature.

Leslie O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful Networked BI Capability and Friendly Data Visualization

Reviewed on 2016/08/16

Pros

Birst as a vendor has been fantastic to work with as they are passionate, communicate well and always ready to help. The power of being able to have "no more silos" is game-changing for the organization. Love the fact that end-users have a much easier time creating their own visualization versus having to rely on IT.

Cons

I am hard pressed to identify something here as I usually find that when I run up against anything causing me a challenge, it is usually a matter of just getting more experience.

Kevin W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great product but needs improvements.

Reviewed on 2014/08/29

Pros

This app has been really helpful for me in my day-to-day work. I was able to use this to save time at the office and also make me a much more effective worker. The software is easy to use and has a modern interface. I really like this product.

Cons

Sometimes, the app loads too slowly. I want a way to streamline my processes and make things faster. Another issue is the User Interface. Sometimes, it's too confusing. I don't know how to set up certain actions. It would also be nice if common actions were more prominent.

Mark Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Dazzles at first, disappointing in every day use

Reviewed on 2016/08/03

Pros

It is simple to understand.
First appearances offer a fresh user interface
Great community.
Good plugins for source systems
Cloud based

Cons

Its sluggish performance.
Numerous bugs that give the impression that the product is not well tested
Limited reporting and dash boarding capabilities
Bugs that lead to erroneous results, without giving and error.
Their focus on the US market

Gayasuddin K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Birst your Business!!

Reviewed on 2018/02/09

Overall experience with Birst is good as a developer. Great visualization capabilities and faster analytics with huge amount of data.
Happy Birsting!!!

Pros

Developer as well as User friendly interface.
Built in modelling ,drag and drop analytics.
Easy connect to data.

Cons

Complex BQL
Date fields handling
Less visualizations
Themes
Slow response in IE
Less available fonts

Laura L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It's awesome!

Reviewed on 2014/08/29

Pros

It's easy to use.

Cons

I like everything about it. It's really easy to use.

Weyland Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Interesting product

Reviewed on 2014/08/29

Pros

It was pretty easy to use. All my coworkers use it, too.

Cons

The user interface and the performance of the product are probably my least favorite parts.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Birst Administrator

Reviewed on 2020/07/17

Really pleased with the product, i highly recomend it.

Pros

Birst provide a very user friendly interface, and the dashboard development is really simplified. it takes a lot of techinally away from the development to let you focus in the dashboard creation.

Cons

It work great when you move the data inside Birst, but there are limitations for Live enviroments.

Dan R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Analytics for Anyone

Reviewed on 2021/02/16

Overall, I am impressed by how simple Birst makes something that can otherwise be complex

Pros

Birst takes care of a lot of heavy lifting for you, making it very easy to spin up complex data warehouses once familiar with the process

Cons

There is a learning curve at first and not the biggest selection of resources available, which can make things a bit tricky for a complete beginner without access to those resources

Deborah J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An Integrated Business Intelligence Solution

Reviewed on 2016/08/10

Pros

Birst is user friendly whether viewed as an Administrator, Designer, or Dashboard viewer. Being an integrated end-to-end single application solution makes it easy to administer. I have seen this company grow and yet their basic foundation remains the same "our success is judged by your success", they genuinely are driven by making sure each customer is successful in their Business Intelligence solution deployments.

Cons

For a while Birst was deploying new features and functionality at too rapid of a pace. They have now created more of a strategic phased deployment cycle and it is easier to manage the testing and migration to new versions.

Norman H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great value, better potential.

Reviewed on 2017/03/17

Having a fully integrated data store and data warehouse is a great value. Data connectivity is also very powerful while simple. Lastly Visualizer's interface is very intuitive and easy for adoption.

The capability to carve out a topic, build it and deploy stand-alone supports great time-to-market. The Network BI capability allows you to come back and merge, enhance. Very flexible.

Pros

Capability and options. You will have a hard time finding something this platform cannot do.

Cons

In some areas BIRST excels, but in others you can still find some rough edges.

Douglas T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

More than just a visualizer, a complete end-to-end solution.

Reviewed on 2016/08/11

Pros

The product provides a complete BI environment, from your data sources to the final analysis. Further, nothing is wasted in the process. Metadata is an important configuration component, not just a make-work project to be filed and go stale. This makes the final delivery robust, complete, and CORRECT.

The company itself embodies this complete solution concept by providing support in every aspect of an implementation. Unlike other vendors, their focus is on a well-architected business supported by the software rather than just the sale of licenses.

Cons

I least like the learning curve of the more advanced features. They are very powerful and based on standards, but are not often used by typical developers. Although a necessary evil, if you will, and mitigated by the support of the vendor, it takes a few passes to get your team up to speed.

I don't really have anything bad to say about the vendor. Perhaps that they don't have a strong presence in Canada is the only issue that comes to mind.

Shelby K.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Birst- Efficient an easy analytics

Reviewed on 2019/02/21

Great tool if one and the organization have the skillset to scale 👍🏼

Pros

scalable, moderately priced, functionality is better than other platforms, great for SMB and enterprise audiences

Cons

I’ve used many analytics tools and while birst is robust and quick it is not the easiest to learn for non-technical folks

Manuel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Birst

Reviewed on 2019/02/21

Using tool as a an app to collect, store, and publish data from other 3rd party apps and with internal systems. Great integration!

Pros

Great tool for reporting
Able to publish and send automated report cadence

Cons

Learning curve for tool take a minute to understand

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Birst

Reviewed on 2018/12/15

Pros

first to market in terms of providing etl and reporting all in the cloud

Cons

Product can do everything from ETL to reporting but is very basic in all the features. customer service can be improved

Augustin B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy of use and added value

Reviewed on 2016/09/02

Pros

Birst is an all in one product that cover BI problematics from data gathering to data visualisation without forgetting performance, security and user experience. Lots of technical aspect are simplified because there already packaged into Birst.
Ultimately it's a real time saver in my projects.

Cons

The End user data blending functionality can be limited because you can't make lot of refinement on user's Excel import data.

Dan K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The Future of BI

Reviewed on 2014/11/14

Birst does it all for less and faster and easier. We are not looking back after settling on Birst. They have truly built a platform that helps pull and transform your data all the way to delivering up succinct and valuable visualizations.