Revel Systems

The Best iPad Point-of-Sale System

3,8 /5 (286 reviews) Write a Review!

Revel Systems Overview

What is Revel Systems?

Revel Systems POS provides a single solution for iPad sales which is aimed at multi-location businesses. Revel has been designed to integrate with a wide range of businesses. Though it offers a complete POS solution, the application’s features extend beyond point-of-sale to include customer relationship management, inventory management, automated ordering, and more. Revel Systems POS integrates with many popular third-party business apps, allowing users to work it into accounting and reporting routines.

Revel Systems POS manages POS from a single intuitive interface. The app includes employee scheduling, inventory tracking and management, and detailed reporting, reducing the need for additional software.

The application provides customer relationship management (CRM) that stores customer data, including purchase history, preferences, and more. Revel Systems POS also offers hardware support, including a card reader that works through the 30 pin connector which also allows for charging the iPad. The application supports other POS-related hardware devices, including printers.

The software has a fully customizable API and a customizable graphical user interface (GUI) windows. Security features include PCI-P2PE compliance. Revel Systems POS also allows businesses to accept Bitcoins as a form of payment.

Revel Systems Overview

Pricing

Starting from
US$79,00/month

Pricing options

Free Trial
Subscription
Value for money

Request a free demo today to learn more about what our industry leading point-of-sale system can do for you and your business.


Revel Systems Features

Devices
Business size
S M L
Markets
United States, United Kingdom, Australia, China, India, Germany
Supported Languages
English

Media

Revel Systems POS in use at a catering business
Revel POS on iPad in use in a restaurant
Shoe sales with Revel POS
Revel Systems POS for iPad
Revel Systems screenshot: Revel Systems POS in use at a catering business Revel Systems screenshot: Revel POS on iPad in use in a restaurant Revel Systems screenshot: Shoe sales with Revel POS Revel Systems screenshot: Revel Systems POS for iPad

Revel Systems Reviews

Revel Systems Reviews

Overall rating
3,8
/
5
Excellent
134

Very good
63

Average
26

Poor
17

Terrible
46

Value for Money
3,5
Features
3,7
Ease of Use
3,8
Customer Support
3,5
69% recommended this app
Bailey R.

Great


Verified Reviewer

Pretty, but Problematic

Lots of restaurants and retail stores I frequent use Revel. I would try Revel again if given the choice, but I would make sure to get my employees trained in troubleshooting themselves to avoid the potential of a customer service snafu.


Michael U.

Only good if your needs are very Basic

Overall Revel is a total letdown and will be replaced by year end with a better system, lots of things we were promised could be done require using their "Open API" which costs more per month than the entire POS system does for 5 stations. We were not told about the API pricing upfront (or that there was even a cost at all, it was pitched like it was included in the regular fee) just that we could use the API to do everything we told them we needed to do, my project manager informed me of the API pricing during our implementation, when I called out the sales rep for never mentioning the additional cost despite repeated conversations about how critical this was she told me "its not my job to tell you the pricing for the API since that's not my department"

It is also very difficult to impossible to find and load an order in the dashboard by customer. You have to load the customers orders report, find the customer in the list, click show orders, note the order number, then go to the order history report and then you can click through to the order, why isn't the order number under customers order a hyperlink to take me to the order?

They made a systems change to batch process updates to the POS instead of in realtime, we have a custom app that we use for check ins when a customer comes into the store and it adds customers to the revel system so we can link them to a sale and track close rate etc. They used to sync in real time from the dashboard to the stations, after a recent update it takes anywhere from 30-60 minutes for the customers to pull down from the revel dashboard. I have verified they show up on the dashboard instantly as they should, there is just a major delay in syncing back to the iPads now that was not there before the update.

Reporting is very weak in certain areas, you can't view profit by anything other than employee which is worthless if you don't have pay rates loaded which we don't since we aren't using that aspect of the system.

When we receive inventory in the store, we upload it into the revel dashboard via their excel template this works about 75% of the time, the rest of the time it just silently fails, you will never receive any notice that it failed, where it failed etc. So now before I do any uploads, I do an export of what we have immediately before so when it fails I can compare to the inventory after the partial upload to figure out where the import stopped so I can import the rest.

I could keep going but bottom line is if your needs are more than barebones or you are not a restaurant you should look elsewhere for a much better solution.


Rachel L.

They will keep taking your money after you have finished with the software

The tech support people are nice. The sales team don't care. The accounts will take your money and not give you the service.


John W.

Good POS Software

Revel is a much better POS system than previously used. It makes opening and closing very simple. Inventory is fairly simple. I like the look of the software. Definitely recommend it.


Bailey R.
Industry: Museums & Institutions
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's easy to learn and accessible. Having it on an Ipad means that it's large enough to know what button is being pressed, and to move things around if need be. Having categories set up is great so we can keep track of how much change we need or how many people came in to visit the museum, that day.

Cons

It can get a little complicated especially with adding discounts to certain purchases which can be difficult for our older volunteers to get a hold of. But is really it, on the basic side of things, it works well and does the job efficiently.

Response from Revel Systems

Bailey,

Thanks so much for the feedback. We're delighted that Barker Mansion is making good use of its Revel POS!

If some of your volunteers are having a hard time adding discounts, you can have them visit the below Revel University page for video guides detailing how to complete a variety of discount-related actions within your Revel POS:
https://revelsystems.com/revel-university/categories/discounts-combos/

I hope this helps! Please reach out to us if you have any questions.

- Holden at Revel

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Pretty, but Problematic

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/15
Review Source: Capterra

Lots of restaurants and retail stores I frequent use Revel. I would try Revel again if given the choice, but I would make sure to get my employees trained in troubleshooting themselves to avoid the potential of a customer service snafu.

Pros

I work for a small college bookstore that recently transitioned from an ancient, outdated POS system. We were all so excited about Revel. It's sleek, easy to use, and much simpler than many of its predecessors.

Cons

The biggest trouble we ran into is that Revel is hopelessly buggy, and I would sometimes be on the phone with customer service for an hour before getting my problem resolved. For a small business with only one cash register, this was often a nightmare.

Response from Revel Systems

Thanks very much for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that our system fell short of your expectations, but hope you give us another chance in the future. We're constantly working to improve the quality of our products and services.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Michael U.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Only good if your needs are very Basic

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/23
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall Revel is a total letdown and will be replaced by year end with a better system, lots of things we were promised could be done require using their "Open API" which costs more per month than the entire POS system does for 5 stations. We were not told about the API pricing upfront (or that there was even a cost at all, it was pitched like it was included in the regular fee) just that we could use the API to do everything we told them we needed to do, my project manager informed me of the API pricing during our implementation, when I called out the sales rep for never mentioning the additional cost despite repeated conversations about how critical this was she told me "its not my job to tell you the pricing for the API since that's not my department"

It is also very difficult to impossible to find and load an order in the dashboard by customer. You have to load the customers orders report, find the customer in the list, click show orders, note the order number, then go to the order history report and then you can click through to the order, why isn't the order number under customers order a hyperlink to take me to the order?

They made a systems change to batch process updates to the POS instead of in realtime, we have a custom app that we use for check ins when a customer comes into the store and it adds customers to the revel system so we can link them to a sale and track close rate etc. They used to sync in real time from the dashboard to the stations, after a recent update it takes anywhere from 30-60 minutes for the customers to pull down from the revel dashboard. I have verified they show up on the dashboard instantly as they should, there is just a major delay in syncing back to the iPads now that was not there before the update.

Reporting is very weak in certain areas, you can't view profit by anything other than employee which is worthless if you don't have pay rates loaded which we don't since we aren't using that aspect of the system.

When we receive inventory in the store, we upload it into the revel dashboard via their excel template this works about 75% of the time, the rest of the time it just silently fails, you will never receive any notice that it failed, where it failed etc. So now before I do any uploads, I do an export of what we have immediately before so when it fails I can compare to the inventory after the partial upload to figure out where the import stopped so I can import the rest.

I could keep going but bottom line is if your needs are more than barebones or you are not a restaurant you should look elsewhere for a much better solution.

Pros

Overall they have a nice POS interface and it is pretty stable. Their pricing is also pretty good for the base system.

Cons

Functions are hard to find
Very much geared towards restaurants, so if you are in another business be prepared to see restaurant specific stuff all over you can't turn off
Material changes to the way things work with zero notice
Can only see profit margin by employee no P&L type report.
Inventory uploads regularly fail with no notice, and no way to tell what was added without doing a manual compare of before and after and trying again with the additional items.

Response from Sarah

Hi Michael,

I am truly sorry about your experience and I have shared your feedback with our sales management team, as well as the customer service team.

I am confident that once we get we get a bit more info from you, we will be able to come to a resolution in terms of API and reporting. Our customer service team will be happy to follow up on any outstanding issues you have.

Regards,
Sarah, Customer Advocacy Manager at Revel

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Rachel L.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 11-50 Employees

They will keep taking your money after you have finished with the software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/05/09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

The tech support people are nice. The sales team don't care. The accounts will take your money and not give you the service.

Pros

Everything in one place like online ordering.

Cons

Complicated and were happy to charge for any addition or even when the service was cancelled they kept charging and would not refund. They said they can not refund even though no service was provided. Problems with accounts and over charging was a common occurance during our two years with Revel. I would highly recommend people look at other systems before going with Revel.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

John W.
Industry: Sports
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Good POS Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/08
Review Source: Capterra

Revel is a much better POS system than previously used. It makes opening and closing very simple. Inventory is fairly simple. I like the look of the software. Definitely recommend it.

Pros

Nice clean look and fairly easy to find what you're looking for.
Good POS software that can help you clean up your POS offerings.
Provides fairly good POS protection and security for your business.
Closing and opening is very simple. Saves a good amount of time from previous system used.

Cons

When you have two items and only one is discounted, the discount shows in the second item as well. This makes it hard to get the price right. Have had to do a manual discount, rather than percentage to work around this.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

User recommendation
7,7/10
Based on 286 user ratings
Compare user recommendation rating with alternatives
Compare with alternatives

Revel Systems Pricing

Revel Systems Pricing

Starting from
US$79,00/month
Free Trial
Subscription
Value for money

Request a free demo today to learn more about what our industry leading point-of-sale system can do for you and your business.

Request a free demo today to learn more about what our industry leading point-of-sale system can do for you and your business.

Value for Money
3,5/5
Based on 286 user ratings
Compare value for money rating with alternatives
Compare with alternatives

Revel Systems Features

Revel Systems Features

API
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Automatic Notifications
Calendar Management
Contact Management
Custom Fields
Customer Database
Customizable Branding
Customizable Reporting
Customizable Templates
Data Import/Export
Electronic Payments
Email Integration
Real Time Data
Reminders
Reporting & Statistics
Social Media Integration
Surveys & Feedback
Third Party Integration
Features
3,7/5
Based on 286 user ratings
Compare features rating with alternatives
Compare with alternatives

Categories

Additional information for Revel Systems

Additional information for Revel Systems

Key features of Revel Systems

  • CRM Integration
  • Customer Accounts
  • Customer History
  • Customizable Templates
  • Electronic Payments
  • Electronic Signature Capture
  • Inventory Tracking
  • Mobile Integration
  • POS
  • Security & Encryption

Benefits

● Manage sales, customers, and inventory from the Revel Systems POS interface.

● Remain always-on, even during Internet downtime and power outages.

● Create custom sales processes and branded POS user interface windows with Revel Systems API.

● Schedule point-of-sales employees and manage payroll from a single software system.

● View and export a variety of POS reports.

Revel Systems FAQs

Revel Systems FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for Revel Systems.

Q. What type of pricing plans does Revel Systems offer?

Revel Systems offers the following pricing plans:

Starting from: US$79,00/month

Pricing model: Subscription

Free Trial: Not Available

Request a free demo today to learn more about what our industry leading point-of-sale system can do for you and your business.

Q. What are the main features of Revel Systems?

Revel Systems offers the following features:

  • CRM Integration
  • Customer Accounts
  • Customer History
  • Customizable Templates
  • Electronic Payments
  • Electronic Signature Capture
  • Inventory Tracking
  • Mobile Integration
  • POS
  • Security & Encryption

Q. Who are the typical users of Revel Systems?

Revel Systems has the following typical customers:

Small Business, Large Enterprises, Mid Size Business

Q. What languages does Revel Systems support?

Revel Systems supports the following languages:

English

Q. What type of pricing plans does Revel Systems offer?

Revel Systems has the following pricing plans:

Subscription

Q. Does Revel Systems support mobile devices?

Revel Systems supports the following devices:

iPad

Q. What other apps does Revel Systems integrate with?

Revel Systems integrates with the following applications:

Arcade, Como, Deputy, Elina, Homebase, Marketman, QSROnline, QuickBooks Online Advanced, Tanda, Workato

Q. What level of support does Revel Systems offer?

Revel Systems offers the following support options:

Online Support, Phone Support, FAQs