Shore

Shore

Online booking tool for SMBs

4.2/5 (27 reviews)

Shore Overview

Shore is a one-stop shop to digitize business workflows, providing the necessary tools to monetize existing customers, generate new ones and stand out from competition with state-of-the-art websites and customer retention tools.

CRM
Shore's cloud based CRM system includes state of the art scheduling management, an online customer database, a Newsletter function and many other features that help businesses to run more effectively and let customers book appointments more easily.

Web
Shore create state-of-the-art websites with designs which are 100% customized to the client's preferences. Shore also take care of OnPage SEO and Keyword management, making it easier for customers to locate a business via Google or other Search Engines.

App
Shore can also build custom mobile apps. The app can be individualized and created entirely according to a business's needs - containing all relevant information and the possibility to book an appointment within the app. Shore also host the app on Apple’s app store and Google’s play store.

Network
Shore's Network feature lists clients among 30 business directories like Foursquare, Facebook, Google, Yahoo, Bing and many more. Users are then able to reach out to more customers, engage with them and receive bookings directly, on not just one - but 30 different platforms.

Pricing

Starting from
$99
Pricing options
Free Trial
Subscription
Value for money

Devices

Business size

S
M
L

Markets

Europe, United States

Supported Languages

English, French, German, Italian, Norwegian and 3 others, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish

Shore Reviews

Overall rating
4.2/5
78% positive reviews
19
Excellent
2
Very good
2
Average
1
Poor
3
Terrible
Carl A.

waste of money. Very poor software and service. Using shore has made my life hell

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Nothing to like other than our clients giving us another thing to talk about whilst in the barber chair

Cons

Where do I start? The practicality of the software is shocking. The fact that all I've ever asked for is for my clients to have a login on the app they designed for us so when they book an appointment they don't have to fill in there details every time is poor and they can't in a year and a half resolve the problem. Then there's the being able to have me and my colleague on different time slots. How hard is it to have one barber operating 20-minute slots and one 30 minute slots. Also after a year and half my account manager only just tells me how appointments can be canceled by the client after months of asking. Lastly, there's the shore app keeps kicking me and my colleague out so every time we go to check our appointments we have to log back in. Not good customer service neither I've requested on numerous occasions that things be organized better on my app and website with no luck in getting it right. All in all a complete waste of my time and money I had been better off using another provider like Booksy or cue junky. The only thing that would make me happy now is being compensated for my horrible experience so I can set up my booking service elsewhere

Response from Shore

Hello Mr. Allain,
We would like to apologize and we're sorry to hear you're that your unsatisfied with our product and service.
We always try to implement our customer's feature requests, but unfortunately it is not possible to realize every request immediately.
We are still in contact with you regarding your issues with the Shore business app.
Please contact us if you are still unhappy with your website or app and we'll try to find solutions as quick as possible.
We're looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Your Customer Relations Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Michail K.

Hi, I use Calender since3 Years ago , I do a GOOD & MORE Business with this Service. I LOVE IT

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/24
Review Source: Capterra

I use Shore Calender since 3 Years ago ,
I do a GOOD & MORE Business with this Service.
I LOVE IT

Pros

EASY & FAST
Hi,
I use Calender since3 Years ago ,
I do a GOOD & MORE Business with this Service.
I LOVE IT

Cons

I do more MONEY with this Service
THANK YOU SOO MUCH
Hi,
I use Calender since3 Years ago ,
I do a GOOD & MORE Business with this Service.
I LOVE IT

Response from Shore

Hello Michail!
we're excited that you're so happy with Shore!
Thank you for your kind words!
We wish you the very best for the future and we are looking forward to a long lasting and successfull partnership!
Kind regards,
Your Shore Relations Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Charles J.

Best of it’s kind on the Market.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Review Source

Pros

Saves tons of time! Customers can book, cancel, and rebook all without my assistance 24/7. I can view the activity and have booking stats as well.

Cons

Had a problem with the time slots. That would seem to be a thing of the past. As a health care provider, customizing appointment times for patients without cheating them can be challenging .

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Anne M.

SCAM BUYER BEWARE

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/13
Review Source: Capterra

Nothing. I learned to watch out for scam artist companies more than usual.

Pros

Shore was easy to navigate to see that the software does not meet necessary criteria for my business.

Cons

I initially tried Shore as a booking software for my business. I was on a two-week free trial. In order to try shore plus, the software that actually allows you to see what your buying, you have to add your credit card info, or so I thought. I also thought I signed up on a monthly basis. There was an option to pay for the year or to pay per month. Or so it seemed. After trying shore plus for two days and realizing this software was not for me I contacted customer service. Customer service told me that I had signed up for a year and they were not going to cancel my account! I think it is ridiculous that I am being charged for a service I am never going to use. I saw nowhere that said I was signing up for a year. I would NEVER have done that. Why would I sign up for a year to try a service? Especially when I thought I was still on a two-week free trial. Shores must be hard up for money to keep someone paying for something they will never use! Dont bother with this company they will waste your time and steal your money.

Response from Shore

Hello Anne,
thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry that you are unhappy with our services.
As a potential customer you were given the opportunity to start a free trial for 15 days to get to know our product and its many features. During or after the 15-days trial, you can choose to click on ¿upgrade now¿ to buy different packages of our solution. When you have purchased a package, the duration of the contract is 12 months with auto-renewal (unless you have cancelled the contract before the end of the agreed contract duration). Before paying, you can choose between monthly and annual payment and there¿s an overview before finalizing the purchase in which it explicitly states, "Contract duration - 12 months" and "payment cycle - annual" or "payment cycle - monthly."

If you have any further questions, please contact our customer support team.
Kind regards,
Your Customer Relations Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

0.0/10
Judi W.

Shore has helped our business in ways I hadn't imagined.

Reviewed on 2016/05/20
Review Source: Capterra

When I first got a call about Shore's scheduling software, my automatic answer was, "This won't work for our business". I thought this because we are not your regular hair salon, but a salon that provides hair replacement solutions for anyone experiencing hair loss. After going through the program with the Shore sales rep, I began to quickly see how it COULD work, and actually WOULD be a fantastic help to us. We get a lot of people emailing to schedule a consultation, and in doing so, can take up to 3-4 emails just to get a time on the calendar. Now, most people go straight to the Book Now button, and "Wa-La"...appointment booked. New and existing clients are truly loving the program. They think we're cool now that we offer this service. The awesome thing is that I don't have to remember to send out email reminders since the program does it automatically. Our clients really like this feature too. We've only been using this program since early March, and think it's only going to get better. One last "pro" to mention (though there are many) is the ability to text clients through the program for immediate responses, and the written history of correspondence - don't have to look through a pluthera of emails. Anyway...happy Shore gave us a call. We thank them for their great customer service and support!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

User Recommendation
9.2/10
Based on 27 reviews
Compare user recommendation rating with alternatives

Shore Pricing

Starting from
$99
Pricing options
Free Trial
Subscription
Value for money

Shore offers multiple solutions and depending on the combination of solutions, the price varies.

Value for Money
3.9/5
Based on 27 reviews
Compare value for money rating with alternatives

Shore Features

  • Automatic Reminders
  • CRM Integration
  • Calendar Management
  • Social Media Integration

  • API
  • Activity Dashboard
  • Activity Tracking
  • Automatic Notifications
  • Contact Database
  • Custom Fields
  • Customer Database
  • Customizable Branding
  • Customizable Reporting
  • Customizable Templates
  • Data Import/Export
  • Electronic Payments
  • Email Integration
  • Mobile Integration
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Third Party Integration

Additional information for Shore

Key features of Shore

Benefits

Shore helps businesses to run their day more effectively,

Businesses are able to manage their OnPage SEO and keywords with Shore.

Shore provides businesses with their own custom-made app and access to 30 network platforms.

Benefits for customers include the ability to book appointments online more easily.

With Shore, customers are able to locate and stay connected with a business.

Shore FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for Shore.

Q. What type of pricing plans does Shore offer?

Shore offers the following pricing plans:

Starting from: $99

Pricing model: Subscription

Free Trial: Not Available

Shore offers multiple solutions and depending on the combination of solutions, the price varies.

Q. What are the main features of Shore?

We do not have any information about Shore features

Q. Who are the typical users of Shore?

Shore has the following typical customers:

Small Business

Q. What languages does Shore support?

Shore supports the following languages:

English, French, German, Italian, Norwegian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish

Q. What type of pricing plans does Shore offer?

Shore has the following pricing plans:

Subscription

Q. Does Shore support mobile devices?

Shore supports the following devices:

Android, iPhone, iPad

Q. What other apps does Shore integrate with?

Shore integrates with the following applications:

Facebook, Weebly, Wordpress

Q. What level of support does Shore offer?

Shore offers the following support options:

Knowledge Base, Online Support, Phone Support