Trainerize

Personal training software for fit pros and gyms

4,6 /5 (601 reviews) Write a Review!

Trainerize Overview

What is Trainerize?

Trainerize is a web and mobile personal training solution for health clubs, fitness professionals and their members (clients). Trainerize helps fitness clubs increase their revenue by streamlining member management and engagement functions as well as automating online program delivery.

The Trainerize mobile app helps fitness businesses build and offer workout schedules and meal plans, and set nutrition levels to help members reach their target weight or fitness goals. Fitness clubs or fitness professionals can build, save and print training plan templates, workout details and fitness targets in PDF format, then copy and further tailor these from client to client. An in-app messaging feature connects trainers directly with clients and helps fitness clubs to improve member retention rates and stimulate engagement.

Gamification features such as badges - awarded upon the achievement of personal bests - or in-app chat-like messaging help to increase client motivation, as well as engagement with the software. Clients are encouraged to share their achievements on social media which provides advertisement for the fitness club. Trainers can also group clients into groups and offer group training mixed with workout activity which is auto-published into groups.

Trainerize can be branded with a fitness club or trainer's logo and a personalized video can be included on the desktop login page and mobile app.

With in-app payments for automated subscription collection and a trainer marketplace, Trainerize also assists fitness professionals with new client acquisition by matching clients with trainers based on their profile, services, location and specialty. Trainers can add their certifications, qualifications, etc. to further enhance their Trainerize.me profile.

Trainerize offers a free 30-day, full feature trial.

Trainerize Overview

Pricing

Starting from
N/A

Pricing options

Free Trial
Free
Subscription
Value for money

Free Plan: $0 (1 client only)

Grow Plan: Starting from $4.5/month billed annually OR $5 month-to-month (Starting at 2 clients)

Pro Plans: Starting from $18/month billed annually OR $20 month-to-month (Starting at 5 clients)

Studio Plans: Starting from $54/month billed annually OR $60 month-to-month (Starting at 16 clients)


Trainerize Features

Devices
Business size
S M L
Markets
United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, China and 5 others, India, Japan, Germany, Brazil, Mexico
Supported Languages
English

Media

The Trainerize mobile app
Display nutrition goals
Two-way messaging
Trainerize provides a weekly workout summary, meal plans and a calendar
Two-way messaging
Trainerize provides a weekly workout summary, meal plans and a calendar
Trainerize screenshot: The Trainerize mobile app Trainerize screenshot: Display nutrition goals Trainerize screenshot: Two-way messaging Trainerize screenshot: Trainerize provides a weekly workout summary, meal plans and a calendar Trainerize screenshot: Two-way messaging Trainerize screenshot: Trainerize provides a weekly workout summary, meal plans and a calendar Trainerize screenshot:

Trainerize Reviews

Trainerize Reviews

Overall rating
4,6
/
5
Excellent
409

Very good
163

Average
22

Poor
2

Terrible
5

Value for Money
4,6
Features
4,4
Ease of Use
4,4
Customer Support
4,5
95% recommended this app
Jacqueline L.

Great Software

I love the app and think it's a great concept. There's lots of room for improvement. I've been using it for about half a year now and I'm getting more used to it. But it wasn't too easy to figure out initially.


Karla M.

The good and the bad.

It is decent but always keeping my eye open for someone that offers the features I mentioned which are key.


Sara D.

Trainerize

I love that Trainerize gives us the ability to offer so much more than just a Personal Trainer. Our Team and Members love to utilize Trainerize. The diet plans and home workouts are awesome.


Frank L.

So Much Potential, Misses the Mark

I've tried 6 or 7 of the most popular personal training apps and decided to go with Trainerize. It's best at creating workouts quickly and easily, and has excellent client monitoring features.

Unfortunately, there are still a lot of bugs. There is nothing worse than logging a whole workout during a session with a client, and then the app won't save it - losing everything. It has essentially forced me back to pen and paper.
The integrations with fitbit and myfitnesspal sound impressive, but they don't import activity data. Makes no sense. If you can sync some of the data, why not sync the MOST IMPORTANT data? I have people tracking their activity with fitbit or with other apps - but now they have to enter it one more time into Trainerize.

Customer service is frustratingly slow, it takes three days to get a response - even when you purchase an annual plan that promises "priority support" and a "dedicated customer service manager." The response will always be, "our team will consider it." Then nothing.

If you want an app improvement, there has to be enough votes collected by the Trainerize community (which most users probably never take the time to visit) to work on it, even if the development team is fully aware of it and knows it makes sense.

They remove features without warning. Before, when you created exercises for the app, you could link to a youtube video OR use photos. In many cases, it made more sense to use a photo (stretches/simple exercises). After taking weeks to create, edit and upload all these photos for my exercise database, they removed the feature and lowered the quality of my photos so much that all the user could see was a pixelated mess. Their response was essentially "Too bad, so sad."

Without these (and some other) problems, this app would be unbelievable! But with it's continued crashes, it loses it's usefulness and can be more problems than it's worth. Might be fine if you're only using it for online training.

Recommendation: It's still probably the best app, but I will revisit the others. DEFINITELY, don't sign up for a year - go monthly for a while and see how it works for you.


Jennifer M.

Excellent Fitness App

Very easy and enjoyable to use. Has everything I need to track and communicate with clients in one easy spot.


Jacqueline L.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: Self Employed

Great Software

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/13
Review Source: Capterra

I love the app and think it's a great concept. There's lots of room for improvement. I've been using it for about half a year now and I'm getting more used to it. But it wasn't too easy to figure out initially.

Pros

1. I like the timers for the circuits and the rests.
2. I like the ease of creating the workouts.
3. All the video demonstrations are great.
4. The automated messages, reminders to workout, ability for clients to check-in.
5. Data! Weight charts, measurements, progress pics, tracking stats
6. Love how you can deactivate clients without having to delete their data.
7. The daily recap sent to email.
8. Ability to upload meal plans

Cons

1. I don't like how you can't modify a program from your phone. There are a lot of things you can't do from the phone and have to be at a computer to do.
2. It'd be nice to link the Apple Watch.
3. The check-in and start now is confusing to my clients. There should be one button to start the exercise and that should automatically check you in.
3. It would be nice if there was a fast forward or a skip for the circuits, just in case they need to skip an exercise. Maybe they're injured or for some reason can't do that one. Instead of waiting until the time is up, they can move on.
4. It would be cool for my clients to be able to watch the demo video during the circuit. Instead they have to pause the workout to watch the video. It would be great it the video played while the time continued so they can do the exercise while watching the demo video.
5. Should be a way to add drop sets or a variation of reps.
6. Would be cool to keep a client subscribed to a program and still be able to customize one or two things on their program without unsubscribing them/converting to custom plan.
7. Small issue, but I'll still mention it: on the newer iPhones, it's hard to fast forward the demo video because the slider is very low. The exercise doesn't start until he explains it so usually 5-10 seconds later and most people just want to get to the demonstration part.
8. Inability to send video over the messaging app
9. Would be nice to be able to load multiple meal plans

Response from Trainerize

Hey Jacqueline!

Thank you so much for your review and feedback!

We are so happy you like the ease of creating workouts and tracking your clients progress in Trainerize!

Good news, we will be integrating with the Apple Watch soon. We are also going to implement a feature that allows clients to skip exercises in interval workouts!

Stay tuned :)

- Team Trainerize

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Karla M.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The good and the bad.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/09
Review Source: Capterra

It is decent but always keeping my eye open for someone that offers the features I mentioned which are key.

Pros

It was somewhat easy to navigate and had good customer service.

Cons

NO group reporting for the challenge groups and no live training features in the app

Response from Trainerize

Hi Karla,

Thank you so much for your review and feedback!

We are so happy you like the ease of navigating with Trainerize and our Customer Service as well!

Good news! We are currently in the process of developing an in-app live-streaming workout feature many more exciting things! (habits, workout of the day, appointments) Stay tuned! :) - Team Trainerize

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Sara D.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Trainerize

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/23
Review Source: Capterra

I love that Trainerize gives us the ability to offer so much more than just a Personal Trainer. Our Team and Members love to utilize Trainerize. The diet plans and home workouts are awesome.

Pros

I love that Trainerize gives us the ability to offer so much more than just a Personal Trainer. Our Team and Members love to utilize Trainerize

Cons

We do not have anything negative that we could say regarding the Trainerize software. It works wonderful with out Team and our business goals.

Response from Trainerize

Hey Sarah!

Wow! Thanks for the amazing feedback and 5-star review!

We're thrilled that you and team members loved to use Trainerize.

We're excited about the next updates.

So, stay tuned for more amazing features!

-Team Trainerize :)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Frank L.
Company size: Self Employed

So Much Potential, Misses the Mark

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/03/14
Review Source: Capterra

I've tried 6 or 7 of the most popular personal training apps and decided to go with Trainerize. It's best at creating workouts quickly and easily, and has excellent client monitoring features.

Unfortunately, there are still a lot of bugs. There is nothing worse than logging a whole workout during a session with a client, and then the app won't save it - losing everything. It has essentially forced me back to pen and paper.
The integrations with fitbit and myfitnesspal sound impressive, but they don't import activity data. Makes no sense. If you can sync some of the data, why not sync the MOST IMPORTANT data? I have people tracking their activity with fitbit or with other apps - but now they have to enter it one more time into Trainerize.

Customer service is frustratingly slow, it takes three days to get a response - even when you purchase an annual plan that promises "priority support" and a "dedicated customer service manager." The response will always be, "our team will consider it." Then nothing.

If you want an app improvement, there has to be enough votes collected by the Trainerize community (which most users probably never take the time to visit) to work on it, even if the development team is fully aware of it and knows it makes sense.

They remove features without warning. Before, when you created exercises for the app, you could link to a youtube video OR use photos. In many cases, it made more sense to use a photo (stretches/simple exercises). After taking weeks to create, edit and upload all these photos for my exercise database, they removed the feature and lowered the quality of my photos so much that all the user could see was a pixelated mess. Their response was essentially "Too bad, so sad."

Without these (and some other) problems, this app would be unbelievable! But with it's continued crashes, it loses it's usefulness and can be more problems than it's worth. Might be fine if you're only using it for online training.

Recommendation: It's still probably the best app, but I will revisit the others. DEFINITELY, don't sign up for a year - go monthly for a while and see how it works for you.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to create workouts (and great flexibility to adjust workouts on the fly), many automated features, excellent client monitoring (including a new push notifications system).

Cons

Crashes, losing data, won't sync what counts, requires client to have internet connection, poor communication from customer service that responds to, but does not solve, problems.

Response from Trainerize

Hey Frank!

Thank you for taking the time to review us and provide feedback! We are sorry we weren't able to get back to you sooner, we recently realized we were able to reply to reviews on Capterra and are now trying to get back to everyone.

We are so happy you find creating workouts in Trainerize easy! In regards to the crashes, we are in the process of releasing a brand new version of the app (we invested over a year in rebuilding it from the ground up) that is going to improve the performance and overall stability of the app! If you would like beta access to try it out please email us at [email protected] and we would be happy to give you access!

In regards to MyFitnessPal, we can only sync the data they send us. We are working on improving our integration with them to hopefully include more data soon.

Thank you for your patience while we work to grow and improve Trainerize.

- Team Trainerize

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Jennifer M.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent Fitness App

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/09
Review Source: Capterra

Very easy and enjoyable to use. Has everything I need to track and communicate with clients in one easy spot.

Pros

So many things! I love the way you can build workouts and easily implement then into clients plans. Love that it tracks your progress from workout to workout. Also love that it graphs body weight, stats, has pictures, steps, habits and even a meal plan option. I seriously can go on and on about the app :)

Cons

I wish that there was a notes section by each exercise so you can add in a lil something about that exercise. Like if you used dumbbells or cables. Also when messaging it would be great if there was a send button and that the messages didn't send by hitting enter.

Response from Trainerize

Hey Jennifer!

WOW - thank you so much for your review and kind words! We're thrilled to know that you like the Trainerize app and the ease of building workouts for your clients.

Your idea of adding a note section for exercises, sounds like a cool feature to have in Trainerize's future.

Could you email [email protected] with more details on how that would look?

We can pass that on to the developers and they can get in touch with you if it is something they are going to add to Trainerize.

- Team Trainerize

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

User recommendation
9,1/10
Based on 601 user ratings
Compare user recommendation rating with alternatives
Compare with alternatives

Trainerize Pricing

Trainerize Pricing

Starting from
N/A
Free Trial
Free
Subscription
Value for money

Free Plan: $0 (1 client only)

Grow Plan: Starting from $4.5/month billed annually OR $5 month-to-month (Starting at 2 clients)

Pro Plans: Starting from $18/month billed annually OR $20 month-to-month (Starting at 5 clients)

Studio Plans: Starting from $54/month billed annually OR $60 month-to-month (Starting at 16 clients)

Free Plan: $0 (1 client only)

Grow Plan: Starting from $4.5/month billed annually OR $5 month-to-month (Starting at 2 clients)

Pro Plans: Starting from $18/month billed annually OR $20 month-to-month (Starting at 5 clients)

Studio Plans: Starting from $54/month billed annually OR $60 month-to-month (Starting at 16 clients)

Value for Money
4,6/5
Based on 601 user ratings
Compare value for money rating with alternatives
Compare with alternatives

Trainerize Features

Trainerize Features

Activity Dashboard
Attendance Management
Attendance Tracking
Automated Scheduling
Automatic Notifications
Billing & Invoicing
Calendar Management
Class Scheduling
Client Portal
Credit Card Processing
Customer Database
Customizable Branding
Electronic Payments
Event Management
Event Scheduling
POS
Registration Management
Reminders
Reporting & Statistics
Website Integration
Features
4,4/5
Based on 601 user ratings
Compare features rating with alternatives
Compare with alternatives

Categories

Additional information for Trainerize

Additional information for Trainerize

Key features of Trainerize

  • Activity dashboard
  • Assessments
  • Attendance tracking
  • Automatic reminders
  • Calendar
  • Check-ins notification
  • Client management
  • Client profile
  • Consultation form
  • Customizable branding
  • Electronic payments
  • Exercise library
  • Instructor scheduling
  • Lead management
  • Mobile notifications
  • Nutrition program
  • Print workouts
  • Social media integration
  • Training record management
  • Training templates
  • Two-way messaging
  • Wellness plans
  • Workout summary reports
  • YouTube integration

Benefits

• Create, deliver and automatically charge for digital training products (fitness plans, workouts, meal plans and nutrition plans).

• Engage members with meal planning and nutrition guidance, alongside training sessions, to offer a more efficient and holistic training journey. This increases the likelihood of member success and therefore plan renewal.

• Trainerize allows fitness businesses to view client-specific notes, fitness targets, progress photos and notifications when the client checks-in for a workout.

• Users can add rest periods during a workout session and build any type of workout including general sports, group training, interval training, cardio exercise and conditioning workouts.

• Trainerize integrates with world-class fitness apps (MindBody, MyFitnessPal, Zapier, Evolution Nutrition, Fitbit, Nokia) enabling businesses to manage clients better and track more stats through the platform. (ie. to track calorie intake (and total consumption of carbs, protein and fat during a day​)

• Trainers can access client profiles, notes, and consultation forms and share these between trainers to ensure that all clients are well taken care of by whoever trains them.

Trainerize FAQs

Trainerize FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for Trainerize.

Q. What type of pricing plans does Trainerize offer?

Trainerize offers the following pricing plans:

Pricing model: Free, Subscription

Free Trial: Available

Free Plan: $0 (1 client only) Grow Plan: Starting from $4.5/month billed annually OR $5 month-to-month (Starting at 2 clients) Pro Plans: Starting from $18/month billed annually OR $20 month-to-month (Starting at 5 clients) Studio Plans: Starting from $54/month billed annually OR $60 month-to-month (Starting at 16 clients)

Q. What are the main features of Trainerize?

Trainerize offers the following features:

  • Activity dashboard
  • Assessments
  • Attendance tracking
  • Automatic reminders
  • Calendar
  • Check-ins notification
  • Client management
  • Client profile
  • Consultation form
  • Customizable branding
  • Electronic payments
  • Exercise library
  • Instructor scheduling
  • Lead management
  • Mobile notifications
  • Nutrition program
  • Print workouts
  • Social media integration
  • Training record management
  • Training templates
  • Two-way messaging
  • Wellness plans
  • Workout summary reports
  • YouTube integration

Q. Who are the typical users of Trainerize?

Trainerize has the following typical customers:

Small Business, Large Enterprises, Freelancers, Mid Size Business

Q. What languages does Trainerize support?

Trainerize supports the following languages:

English

Q. What type of pricing plans does Trainerize offer?

Trainerize has the following pricing plans:

Free, Subscription

Q. Does Trainerize support mobile devices?

Trainerize supports the following devices:

Android, iPhone, iPad

Q. What other apps does Trainerize integrate with?

Trainerize integrates with the following applications:

APIANT, Contractbook, Exercise.com, GrowSurf, Iterop, Mailchimp, Maintenance Care, Mindbody, Retently, Twitter

Q. What level of support does Trainerize offer?

Trainerize offers the following support options:

FAQs, Online Support, Phone Support, Forum, Knowledge Base, Video Tutorials